Fuel Prices BARGAIN

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:42
ThreadID: 63447 Views:3059 Replies:18 FollowUps:9
Have you all noticed that when fuel prices were erupting like Krakatoa, this forum was full of threads about it.

Petrol has dropped from $1.70 to $1.18 in the last 5 weeks and no-one is excited????

I assume diesel has dropped accordingly, but as we only have Petrol/LPG vehicles I haven't taken much notice.

With that sort of drop and 2% interest rate decrease we should all have a very Merry Christmas.

Most households should be some $100 to $150 a week better off.

Happy times my friends.

Reply By: Wherehegon - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:46

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:46
Hi Jim, I noticed today that the LPG around the corner from me has dropped 2c to 60c/ Unleaded was $1.18/diesel $1.52...... WHG
AnswerID: 334749

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:48

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:48
Hi Jim, here in Perth there is at least one outlet that was selling Petrol for $119.9 ltr, it was on the news however under the $119.9ltr was diesel, $147.9ltr, we use diesel that's why I noticed, fuel should still be lower considering the cost of oil, my thoughts only.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 334751

Reply By: Col_and_Jan - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:03
Up here in Bundaberg, even with the Qld petrol subsidy, ULP is still around $1.35, with diesel about 15c more.

LPG has hardly moved, still around high 70s to mid 80s per litre.

So you may be happy with your prices, but where there is limited competition (I could mention price fixing), prices move very slowly downwards.

Col
AnswerID: 334759

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:23

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:23
Yes happy times for the employed, not so good for the poor souls getting laid off close to x-mas.........So if all of us enjoying the savings maybe chipped a $20 to a local charity maybe more could feel the happy times.

Just a thought (if it is still allowed)

Stefan
AnswerID: 334767

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:43

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:43
Counted three missing so far....lol
FollowupID: 602558

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:28

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:28
Just paid $1.51.9 for diesel today...last time it was $1.67.9...at Australind WA
AnswerID: 334778

Follow Up By: Neil & Lynne - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:56

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:56
$1.499 in Bunbury at Woollies Forum yesterday.

Neil.
FollowupID: 602601

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:32

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:32
Jim,
I posted an article last week about the 39% drop in wholesale price of LPG as of November 1 which has yet to hit the pumps. As nothing has really happened yet I sent an email to the ACCC to prompt them.
When the wholesale price was on the way up it sure did go up at the pump but it looks as though they have forgotten how to turn the numbers back!!!!

Should be about 34 to 36 cents per litre.

Rob
AnswerID: 334780

Reply By: psproule - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 05:42

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 05:42
I'll still whinge. It's still $1.40 for ULP and $1.60 for Diesel in Wagga Wagga. As usual we are being reamed by what appears to be a nice little price fixing racket we have down here. You only have to drive 40km south to see the price drop to near city levels. We may as well live in Birdsville.Hang on, last time I was there it was cheaper than Wagga.
AnswerID: 334798

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:13

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:13
Mmmm $1.50 a litre of diesel, or $30 a jerry can...my dad still tells me once upon a time, diesel was cheaper than petrol...8c/litre vs 12c/l (1970)
Im looking at buying a Prius as soon as they come out 4wd.
FollowupID: 602589

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:59

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:59
Who said petrol would be $2.00 a litre by Christmas?????????
AnswerID: 334804

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:08

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:08
still got a few weeks yet!
FollowupID: 602586

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:16

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:16
Took the words out of my mind :)
FollowupID: 602590

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:50

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:50
The people who said it would be $2 are the people who got the world into the financial mess it is in now...........speculators

They create rumours about things so stocks go up in value, flog them off at the inflated price, wait for the storm to settle, buy up again at the cheaper price and do the same over and over again.

FollowupID: 602593

Reply By: png62 - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:09

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:09
It's the fuel retailers that are going to have a "great" christmas - with the profit TAKING that is currently going on. As stated above - the wholesale price of all the fuels has fallen dramatically - where is the dramatic fall in the retail price?

ACCC = a bunch of wimps who couldn't organise a "decent drinking session" in a brewery !!!!!!

Price fixing by fuel retailers is a nationwide problem - try buying fuel in Tassie !
AnswerID: 334809

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:30

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:30
My tank is half empty on this subject...(as opposed to half full)
When will Toyota be making a Prius 4wd??
AnswerID: 334813

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:57

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:57

I filled with Diesel at our local Servo on the Gold Coast yesterday,
it was $1-36.9 with the Woolies Discount,and ULP was $1-15.9.

Daza
AnswerID: 334815

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:04

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:04
No drops here, I paid $1.67 for diesel at weekend at Somerton just outside Tamworth, I needed it, Tamworth is still $1.52
AnswerID: 334816

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:17

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:17
Saw on tele last night that petrol was selling for $1.08 in some places in Sydney... but when they showed the sign the diesel was still $1.49.9.

How the hell can they justify diesel being 40c more expensive per litre....

And I wonder why I am not getting excited yet!
AnswerID: 334825

Reply By: Dan - Yal - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:34

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:34
still over $1.90 for deisel in TomPrice. No competition here.

Dan
AnswerID: 334843

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:28

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:28
At the risk of sounding controversial in a forum dedicated to driving; perhaps we could look at this another way – is ULP too cheap?

Before I’m lead off to a ritual stoning there are a few things that should be taken into account in my defence for uttering something so sacrilegious.

Often the argument is put forward that diesel was always cheaper than ULP and that it is cheaper to make out of crude oil; so what has changed? Transition to low-sulphur diesel fuel has affected diesel fuel production costs and a significant increase in global demand for this fuel has changed the demand / supply equation.

Global demand for the mid-distillates, which includes heating oil and diesel fuel, has increased dramatically with strong demand from China, India, Europe and the United States. This has come at a time when global refining capacity is stretched to the limits.

In India diesel accounts for around 30% of new vehicle sales and this is increasing and expected to push towards 50% over the next few years. Diesel cars in Europe accounted for just over 50% of all new vehicle sales in 2007. In the early 1990’s this number was around 14%. That’s a few million more diesel vehicles every year.

China is in a class of its own, sucking up diesel at a rate of knots as it emerges as an economic powerhouse; and this isn’t going to change.

In Australia, industrial and commercial interests are by far the largest consumer of diesel. Retail diesel sales accounts for a very small percentage of actual sales and does not attract the same level of discounting that ULP does. Whilst that creates some angst, less face it this isn’t unique to fuel. Anything that is in demand that has a small consumer base with little purchasing power will usually face a similar issue. That isn’t to suggest we are ‘being screwed’ it is just that we pay the ‘full’ price. Try booking accommodation in Broome during the Grey Nomad migration; not surprisingly the price is much higher than off peak for much the same reason.

But back to the point; diesel is an essential commodity that is entrenched in industry and our economic structure. Mining companies need it, transport companies need it, rail companies need it, why, because we still need goods transported around the country and we continue to dig resources out of the ground. What this has meant is demand for diesel has proven to be relatively ‘inelastic’ regardless of price.

By comparison, demand for ULP, both in Australia and abroad has proven to be ‘elastic’. As the price has risen consumers have cut back on consumption and consequently demand has fallen. If this wasn’t the case we would most likely be paying more for it.

There are a number of ways the spread between diesel and ULP could narrow. Two stand-out. Firstly, the price of diesel could fall relative to ULP, or conversely, the price of ULP could rise relative to the price of diesel.

Given the global demand for diesel I doubt price pressures will see any substantial change in its price structure, other than influences such as more refining capacity, which is unlikely in the near term, or falls in the price of oil.

Perhaps we should be careful what we wish for, otherwise the fuel retailers might just take the hint and close the gap by reducing the discounts on ULP and we end up paying more for it than we currently need to……..

I’ve also posted this to thread 63428 as it dealt with a similar question.
AnswerID: 334851

Follow Up By: Goona - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:04

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:04
Often the argument is put forward that diesel was always cheaper than ULP and that it is cheaper to make out of crude oil; so what has changed? Transition to low-sulphur diesel fuel has affected diesel fuel production costs and a significant increase in global demand for this fuel has changed the demand / supply equation.

Less but you pay more interesting!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 602707

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:39

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:39
Interesting, when fuel went through the roof verything went up with it, they blamed the cost of fuel,now its gone back down will there be a price drop ??? " answers on a post card "
AnswerID: 334854

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:13

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:13
Still a buck fifty for diesel here in Perth!

Maybe time for a little civil disobediance - boycott a few brands maybe to get the fricken message across that we are sick of being ripped off!

The situation in untenable - its time we took fuel distiibution OUT of govt and oil co's hands - nationalise it simple & run it as a non profit essential service!

Cheers!

AnswerID: 334857

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:32

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:32
Be bloody careful making sensible suggestions like that.

You'll be branded a Communist :-)

FollowupID: 602632

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:37

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:37
"Its time we took fuel distiibution OUT of govt and oil co's hands - nationalise it simple & run it as a non profit essential service!"

Can you you please explain how do you "Nationalize it" and also take it out of Gov hands??
I thought to "Nationalize" was to entrench it in government hands??

Beside which can you please explain how government distributes fuel now??

FollowupID: 602634

Reply By:- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:38

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:38
Filled the tank at the United just out of Beaufort in Vic yesterday for $1.45 / Litre of diesel.

Kept an eye out on the drive from Sydney to my home in Millicent S.A. on 12th/13th and most places had diesel from $1.49 to about $1.53 a litre with United above the standout.
AnswerID: 334969