How safe is bush camping these days?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 20:55
ThreadID: 63474 Views:10789 Replies:27 FollowUps:24
This Thread has been Locked
I have always stated that Australia is the safest place in the world to bush camp and I have done so for 40 years. Recent events however have clouded that view and I am thinking that I may need some sort of defence mechanism apart from the dog. Three incidents in three weeks on our recent trip through Victoria has made me feel vulnerable. Maybe its because I am older and not so fit as I used to be.

Incident 1: We made an overnight camp at Lake Lachelles(very dry) at Hopetoun. Boiled the billy and had something to eat over a small camp fire. Across the 'lake' a party was in progress with lots of doof doof music. This didn't bother us. After dark a car drove by and shone its lights on our camp deliberately. Didn't take much notice. As we were in transit Judith and the dog sleep ijn the car and I sleep in the trailer. Was sound asleep just after midnight when the dog went off its brain. Voices close by the camp, lots of foul language, male and female voices, but they decided to beat the retreat and left again. Decided to pack up and go an look for another place to camp.

Incident 2:(Part of a letter to Parks Victoria) We were camped at Waanyarra Recreation Reserve(Waanyarra Picnic Grounds) Dunolly District on Thursday 30th October 2008. There were 13 camps there, all amateur prospectors, doing metal detecting in the area and camping, there on an individual basis.

At around 9am in the morning a car drove into the Picnic Area, very slowly, and parked facing us, whilst we were cooking breakfast over a camp fire. The driver did not get out of the car. I then noticed the driver handling what looked to me like a rifle with a telescope attached.

Members of our small group became alarmed. I was not sure what to do but walked over to the car and asked the driver, a male person most likely in his late 60's or early 70's, what he intended doing with the rifle in an area where there were people walking through the forest with metal detectors.

The person became quite aggressive and stated that the Waanyarra Forest was a designated area where shooting was permitted and that he was going to test out his new rifle and that he had a permit from Parks Victoria in Maryborough which stated that he could do just that. I pointed out that there must be some mistake as it would be a very foolish thing to give permission for, especially in a forest area, which is known to accommodated persons pursuing gold detecting activities. He agreed that it was stupid but declared that it was his right to do so. He also stated that on a previous occasion other campers had complained to the Tarnagulla Police but that the Police had sided with him and not them. He also stated he found people camped in the the forests when out fox-hunting at night. He was of the opinion that it would be 'too bad' if a stray or ricocheted bullet would hit a person walking in the forest.

At this point in time a retired Policeman in our group took over the conversation and in a short while persuaded the shooter to go and sight his rifle in another area away from people.

Incident 3: On the way home on Monday night we made for Murrabit close to the Murray River and found a lovely campsite at a bridge crossing just north from there. At 1.10am a car, running with a hole in the muffler and being hard to start, shone its lights on us. Then took off again and then stopped about 30 metres away. Two blokes, so drunk that they were unable to stand up most of the time, staggered around trying to put a tent up. The language was uninviting. Fearing that they might turn their attention to us, despite the dog barking quite loudly at this point, I quietly packed the gear away in the trailer and we drove off to find a better place to continue our rest. The blokes shouted at us as we drove past them.

Out in the remote parts of this country I have never met with odd happenings such as these and maybe we will need to concentrate our camping in those areas instead of near the more densely populated areas.

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:09

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:09
Not nice at all Willie.

My long passed FIL was an old frail man (not anyhting like your size) who loved his camping. He was a retired farmer and always took a shotgun and rifle with him. Primarily for the purpose of hunting, but also just in case he had to defend himself and the MIL.

The debate about carry firearms has been had on this forum. I choose not to, but perhaps as I get older I will have to reconsider.

AnswerID: 334903

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:14

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:14
Willem, Ithink you ended your post with the very thoughts Ihad when reading the unfortunate experience you had.I, like yourself have been and camped all over the country but now make an effort to get well away from the the few rabble that seem to take enjoyment in ruining other campers enjoyment.As you know I am a firearm owner and love my hunting but that stupid indevidual in your incedent 2 should NEVER be allowed to own a firearm and I would have made sure the police were aware of his behaviour.Other than that , hope you continue your travels and maybe we will catch up again soon--I'll have some more coconuts for you!
AnswerID: 334904

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:18
HI Willem, I must say that i have never had any problems bush camping, maybe just lucky. I do try and camp out of sight from the road, and i do have a few friendly persuaders hidden in the van and the patrol.
cheers shane.
AnswerID: 334907

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:51
Hi Willem,

I also agree with your last sentence. All encounters I have had I can put down to being near a town and the easy access for the scum that live in these towns, especially on weekends on the coastal fringe of NSW. Remote is best. Another deterrent is cost; we recently got back from 10 days on Moreton Island which costs a fair bit to travel to by ferry and there was an influx of campers on the weekend but little in the way of weekend warriors or party animals etc.

AnswerID: 334913

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:22

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:22
Hi Willem

It goes to show the benefits of touring in the outback. Sure hope that during the next six months at home you can save up for the next six in the outback.

AnswerID: 334918

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:24

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:24
Willem, sounds like your home away from home...
Are you sure that your neighbours weren't following you ? :))

Like you, I much prefer to camp in remote areas. I'm much safer by myself than within ground access of the great unwashed.

Watched a couple of Bogan Brats baiting the local shopping centre security guy yesterday. The scary part is that one day they might grow up and go exploring in a no doubt stolen 4wd. I hope they stay away from me, because I have no patience for having to endure what that poor security guard had to endure.
He was lucky that he didn't touch them, but he ended up calling the police anyway.
AnswerID: 334919

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:24

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:24
G'day Willem,

After we left you and the gunman at Waanyarra , we went straight to Dunolly Police Stn and reported the incident. Amazingly, at 10.00 am on a weekday, the station was closed. We made a report on a phone at the front door, to somebody ( possibly in India) who was totally disinterested.

I am glad it turned out OK. Although the guy seems to have been a half-wit, he was not a psycho.

I found two bits of gold at Avoca, Mary found six and Peter found three. Did you do anymore detecting. Did Fred do any more ?

Willie.
AnswerID: 334920

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:33

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:33
Have sent you a MM

FollowupID: 602720

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:06

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:06
First thought when I saw that rifle come out BUGGER, WHY DIDN'T I BRING MY SHOTTY.

I will not make that mistake again, as I like to shoot rabbits.

Now you can all rage away that I'm a gun loony.

Willie
FollowupID: 602749

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:09

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:09
Bro.

"Now you can all rage away that I'm a gun loony"

We already knew that LOL

FollowupID: 602963

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 21:30

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 21:30
Even your relatives cut you down.

How are you young fella?
FollowupID: 602983

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 23:09

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 23:09
Willie,

I could'nt be better. Sounds like you blokes had a bit of excitement in those Vic forests. I assume your major concern was you did'nt want to waste time detecting his spent rounds LOL There's enough 'treasures' around without adding to them :)))

FollowupID: 603003

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:43

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:43
You've had a bad run there Willem. Possibly a sign of the times & certainly as you suggest worst in areas easily accessed. Have only had minor such incidents over the years but as I normally travel in larger groups we're less likely to feel threatend.
Is intresting that in some camps even in the outback we get individual travellers pitch their tents only metres away from our group despite there being unlimited sites, no doubt looking for a little security.
Another good reason for travelling with forum groups, tour companies & clubs.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 334924

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:55

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:55
Hi Willem, sounds like you need a big, hairy, ugly and intimidating minder with you on your travels.

Give me a little notice and I'll come with yah.

If you need somebody more aggressive, I'll bring the missus....LOL

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 334959

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:14

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:14
i know just the bloke, hey HAIRY
FollowupID: 602727

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:20

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:20
Thanks for the offer Lionel

Handy. Yeah, Hairy does spring to mind but then I would need to tow an extra trailer just to cart the beer!!!!!

FollowupID: 602729

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:40

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:40
Hi Willem,

The dog is your best friend in these situations I believe. I have been bush camping more nights than I am at home over the last 10years or so, and can count on one hand the number of "incidents" that I would say have made me think twice about camping in the same spot again. I am generally the one pulling into a camp spot at 10pm and leaving at sun up so probably just the sort of person to drive other peoples imagination into overdrive, but that is most people's drawback from enjoying a peaceful isolated spot (thier imagination).

Just by confronting someone interrupting your camp is enough to turn the table of balance in your favour most times. This is a job generally done by a dog when you have one with you.

Try not to worry about that that hasn't happened (one of your "incidents" turning out nastier than they did). Sadly we will all meet our match at an appropriate time, just try to enjoy the time allocated to you in this great country of ours and all will be wonderful.

Continued, safe and enjoyable camping.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 334970

Reply By: Member - Mark - Exmouth WA - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:17

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:17
Willem,
i only bush camp and mainly here on North West Cape where I live, I can really get away from everybody camping over here its great, I dont think I could ever bush camp on the east coast, would be out of my comfort zone, I always camp with my two dogs and they are the best early warning system I have, unfortunately the Gun Laws are that tight that its difficult to obtain a rifle.

AnswerID: 334973

Reply By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:22

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:22
Willem

Your tale reminds me of the only ugly incident we have encountered in thirty years of travelling and camping

We (wife, young son, 1year old, and self) were camped with a mate and his wife in Francois Peron National park(1996) some 50 kms from Denham when the camp site was "invaded" by several beer swilling men who proceeded to create havoc all night swearing, fighting, driving around in their Hilux, the only reason that they left was they had squashed one of their number between a tree and the Hilux causing severe injuries

Not the types to respond favourably to a request that the noise be moderated etc

Quite a terrifying experience but thankfully not repeated to date

Jaap
AnswerID: 334989

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:22

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:22
Victoria - say no more! LOL!

Cheers!
AnswerID: 335005

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:52

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:52
Every so often over 16 years I have had similar events.... part of the thrill of camping out?

Generally things are fine though.
AnswerID: 335015

Reply By: Volvo driver - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:43

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:43
G'day, first post, re the Waanyarra "incident"
after reading this thread l'm really,really alarmed..
why wasn't the SWAT team assembled, then sent in strike team style and sent out after this "gunman", after all he must be a crazed desperado of the worst kind,

what was he thinking, going out to hunt feral animals in a State Forest??
got there only to find that the spot he was going to park his vehicle in was surrounded by a group of people ( who, quite possibily had whipped their own knickers into several knots ) who didn't like the legal recreation that he was about to engage in and who got stroppy enough with him to confront HIM about what he was doing,

l, for the life of me, can't see, based on what has been posted here, what this "gunman" has been guilty of, or why anyone would even consider going to the police about, specially as it is in the bush, where people DO hunt feral animals in State Forests but l suppose the people who get concerned about "incidents" and " scum" such as this man "obviously" was don't actually live in the bush,
and l do know the area well, my grandfather's name is in that groovy graveyard just down the road from the reserve,
AnswerID: 335081

Follow Up By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:49

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:49
Yeah your right, the bloke who posted this thread was on his first bush trip, never been out of the city.
FollowupID: 602808

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23
Volvo driver

The alleged 'gunman' as he has been named, is probably only guilty of gross stupidity.

The Victorian Government goes to great lengths to promote prospecting and fossicking in the Golden Triangle and so we tourists and amateur propectors come to visit the area to try our luck.

I would say that hunting or target shooting in the same area at the same time as prospectors are walking about, is just plain folly. What are we to think when confronted by this kind of behaviour. I for one will give the Victorian bush a miss from now on.

When making assumptions about what people do and what their experiences are then it is best to do some research on the matter before mouthing off. Go to my website as posted within this thread and have a read

I grew up with guns and spent many years hunting and target shooting. I am a licenced lirearm owner with a registered firearm so I know the laws pertaining to gun ownership.

FollowupID: 602814

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:43
Shooting in that situation should be fine
IF he followed all the safe shooting rules such as know where your bullet is going.
i guess were spoilt in most places in australia in that we can go shooting where others arnt around.
places like america in season the woods are full of shooters.
I remeber watching a show once where familys swiched the bush for the city and VV

one scene they could hear gunshots and his wife said lets call the police. the husband answered - this is the country of course people are going to be firing guns
FollowupID: 602818

Reply By: Holden4th - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23
Willem, I'd have to agree that your dog is your best friend at the moment. Then again you were in Victoria and any part of the state can be accessed within a few hours and hence the proliferation of bleep s.

The guy with the rifle is a worry - Ivan Malat and Belanglo State Forest immediately comes to mind (even though it's in NSW).
AnswerID: 335091

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:46

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:46
I have also had similar incidences -- one was on stockton beach !! i certainly don't sleep as well as i used to when away as i have kids with me so my parental instinct kicks in .....

kids have a great time however -- i end up going home tired from lack of sleep ...

Boc
AnswerID: 335103

Reply By: dieselman - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:48

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:48
G'day Willem,

If ever your near Swan Hill again give me a yell and I will be able to guide you to a few QUIET campspots on the Murray. Or you can camp in the backyard - I only sight my rifles in after lunch hahaha.

Ben
AnswerID: 335104

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:22

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:22
G'day Willem,

Very scary indeed, especially the bloke with the rifle.

What can I say that you don't already know.
Go North mate!

AnswerID: 335112

Reply By: Volvo driver - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 06:24

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 06:24
well Willem, l had read your profile BEFORE l posted, l specially liked the bit where you mention the paranoia surrounding firearm ownership these days... which l find ironic...but you certainly don't mind doing your bit to scare the sheeple witless regardless of what you had written in your profile, eh?
Victorian State Forests are for everyone to use, your mob has no more right to use them than anyone else dos despite your " l was here first" attitude,

just like the drongo who also scratches around in the dust there that's made an almost permanent camp near the reserve, who "thinks" the amenties ( what there is ) are for his personal use only, who disrupts community functions there because HE doesn't like people using "his" water
what sort of reaction were you hoping for from the " gunman" by accosting him in his car and verbally harassing him, when he had done NOTHING WRONG, were you hoping for a confrontation of some sort?
YOU alone caused this problem to escalate, the other bloke had done nothing wrong, as anyone with any sense can plainly see, in this country your considered innocent until proven guilty, not the other way around,

l am fairly confident that if the positions were reversed you would get just as as annoyed as this bloke did, after some knucklehead tries to tell you to knick 'orf,
AnswerID: 335156

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 06:58

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 06:58
Not sure what your problem is Volvo driver other than you seem very intent on 'stirring'.
Granted, the State Forests are for everyone to enjoy, within reason.
The scenario/situation that Willem commented upon clearly showed that some irresponsible person deemed it was his right to go into an heavily populated forest area with other people about and fire his weapon, yeah right!!
Commonsense dictates that any weapon testing is done where one can clearly see the trajectory of the bullet.
To enter a forest area with a weapon complete with a telescopic sight belies logic.
That a retired police officer felt the need to intervene might just give any sensible person some indication of the stupidity of the person mentioned.
I am absolutely confident that if some dropkick placed you in the same position, you could only hope that someone like Willem was there to intervene on your weak-kneed behalf.
If this is the best you can contribute to this site maybe you need to rethink your attitude, you do yourself no favours.
FollowupID: 602863

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:02

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:02
Well Volvo driver

Nowhere in my profile is paranoia about firearm ownership mentioned. I might have written it here on the forum though. It would seem that you may be well known to this forum under another name.

My view is that guns and detecting do not mix. You might as well go down to the golf course with a shotty and shoot rabbits on a Saturday arvo when a game of golf is on

Obviously you are a local with an axe to grind. The alleged 'gunman' showed his rifle in a public place so that it was visible to all. This is what he did wrong. The fact that he dispalyed his rifle in a public place, which at that time was occupied by amateur detectors, was as stated before, a gross act of stupidity. And against the law.

The people around me became alarmed so I asked the person in question what his intentions were.

You can keep your Waanyarra Forest and I will do my best to tell others that it is potentially unsafe to go detecting there

FollowupID: 602865

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 10:23

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 10:23
a quick search reveals that hunting is in fact an encoaraged activity in that state forest by DSE vic.
there are enough rules and regulations preventing us from enjoing large areas of Australia without people trying to make up their own.
fact is the unfortunate guy was harassed while going about his lawfull business. you were lucky HE didnt call the cops.
if your group didnt like it they should have gone elsewhere
FollowupID: 602886

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 11:08

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 11:08
Willem ....

I can understand your concerns ... you must have felt just as intimidated as those campers many years ago in a NPWS area who had to put up with an individual - legally and traditionally hunting possums ...... with a shotgun.

Legally ??? ... after the court case.
Traditionally ... ???????

State Forests in NSW are also regularly used as approved shooting areas. Signage is plainly posted on access tracks.

Pulling out a firearm to go shooting, in the midst of a group of campers .... wellll ... thats going a bit far - common sense would dictate going to a quieter area - especially with the modern day paranoia about firearms by the general population.

In general ... I am less concerned about a person in the bush with a firearm ... than I was, about a young inexperienced police officer who made a grab for his pistol because my dog had snarled at him after the officer had stuck his head and hand into my vehicle unannounced.

FollowupID: 602891

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:10

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:10
Davoe

Go back to sleep! You missed the point

Oztroopy

LOL Last year I was invited to count into a device(RBT) on the outskirts of Sydney. Told the officer I have cranky dog in car. Officer obliged stating he would keep his distance. Dog growled loudly at Officer as we drove away and he said 'Nice doggie'

FollowupID: 602897

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:30

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:30
You can look up the info on Waanyarra Forest here.

Must say I'd be surprised if a gun appeared, given how it is promoted, and no mention of shooting or firearms anywhere:

Quote:
There are many activities you can enjoy in the forest, some of which include:
• Walk or ride along the bush tracks and appreciate the
beauty of the forest;
• experience the bush as a living museum– search for
clues that give us evidence from the past. Remember
to leave everything as you found it;
• smell the eucalyptus after the rain; watch the changing
colours of the bush as the seasons come and go;
• look for the delicate wildflowers that endure tough
conditions;
• enjoy the sight of kangaroos bounding through the
forest and surprise a lonely wallaby resting in a pool
of shade;
• search for mud nests made by native wasps making
sure you look and don’t touch;
• be delighted by echidnas as they waddle around the
forest floor;
• marvel at the large bull-ant nests
• listen to the hum of insects, the crackle of dry leaves
under foot and the call of the many birds in the area.
• see native wildflowers growing in their natural setting.
FollowupID: 602905

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:51

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:51
phill I should have saved the link i wont look it up again as it was a PDF and took ages to downlaod on dial up but was on the vic DSE site and specifically encoaraged vermin shootung in the state forests of the ironbark region including that particular forest.

i am unsure what point i missed except a man was harassed going about his lawfull business.

cant see a problem with a guy taking his gun out in the carpark-where else is he going to do it.

Apparantly his attitude was off - tends to happen when people harass
FollowupID: 602957

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:55

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:55
Site Link

page 3 under activitys to enjoy

sorry but i cant C and P off of a PDF
FollowupID: 602961

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:16

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:16
Gday Davoe,
Yep, one sentence hidden within a general 8 page forest PDF, and no reference at all in the Waanyarra Forest pdf. Doesn't seem like they are encouraging shooting in their forests.

Having a rifle in view of a prospecting group in the front seat of a vehicle in a State Forest is very intimidating to 99% of today's Australians. The guy carrying the rifle may have been lawful, but he's a turkey for showing it.
FollowupID: 602964

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:29

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 19:29
Davoe

I did not say it was illegal. I said it was stupid

And that is why I said that you had missed the point.
FollowupID: 602966

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 20:13

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 20:13
Phil G (SA)

A public document listing allowed activities in an area, is hardly hiding anything - and one would imagine that it is a general ruling applied to all Vic forests as no specific areas were defined.

Had I have been at the location where Willem had his encounter, I would have been more concerned if the firearm owner tried to disguise what he had. The person had every right to be there, as did Willem and his group. I dont doubt that he had been using that area for most of his fifty odd years too ... compared to daytripping fossickers with "new" access rights ... no offence Willem ... just a bit of perspective.

I can only presume by Willems account that the firearm owner was as belligerent in his attitude about his right to use a firearm in a designated area ... as you are in your attitude of being fearful of an inanimate object.

Its the attitude that is the problem, not the object, and that caused Willems post as I understand it. Had the person simply stepped out of the vehicle, with his firearm in a carrier, asked what area Willems group would be using and then wandered off in the opposite direction ... I'm sure there would have been no need for Willems Post at all.

Personally, one of my thought is ... a bunch of rowdy fossickers "brandishing" shovels and metal detectors could be equally disturbing to others, as from experience, a broken ankle, from tripping in a unfilled fossickers hole, is much more likely than a bullet wound, when out and about.
FollowupID: 602971

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 21:23
Its not a general forest document is specifically pertains to the bendigo forest management area and shos that forest on the included maps as well as includes it on the list P6

regardless it would seem he was perfectly within his rights. that some people thought it was silly was just there opinion and if they didnt like it they should have left .
as for showing the rifle?
sounds more like he was just checking out a few things and getting it ready - thats what i would do. i cant see the problem with people seeing your firearm while taking it out in an area where shooting is legal. it was just a rifle- not kiddy porn theres nothing wrong with seeing one.
As i said you might not have liked his attitude but ask yourself what attitude would you display if a group of people decided to gang up and tell you what you shouldnt be doing for no other reaon than they didnt like it.

maybe next time your driving the beach at robe a group will approach you and tell you to bugger off because your vehicle might create a danger to their kids playing on the beach
FollowupID: 602981

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 15:10

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 15:10
Not just Victoria, here in nsw, I recently had fishing gear stolen and a boat ransacked while we slept.

My new and extremely territorial German Shepherd sees to it now that we have no visitors.......... funily enough any who have got near our camp have scuttled off after she announced her presence!

I have guns but unfortunately Kevin doesnt give me the right to bear arms, although I'd be happy if he did!

The mongrels walk amongst us, and try to hide among the rest of us humans!!
AnswerID: 335227

Reply By: Volvo driver - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:18

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:18
Dennis, " heavily populated area"??
LOL LOL, mate it ain't Burke St, or Sydney or London, it's a State Forest, where, if you wish, you can buy a permit to hunt in from the DSE, this forest is not a fifty acre paddock, by the way,
no-one knows just where this "gunman" was actually planning on shooting before he was provoked in to an argument with Willem, you'd say anything in the "heat of battle" with some knuckle head, eh?,
if he was just checking his sights for accuracy, 50 metres, or at the most 100 would be plenty and l can assure you that there is plenty of places where he could've done that, after parking his vehicle at the reserve, without accidentally plugging ( or even seeing ) those other Forest users,
l repeat, it is legal to hunt in Vic State Forests,

Willem.. golf courses??.. now you're just being rather silly, eh?
you know that hunting on golf courses is illegal as opposed to hunting in State Forests, which, of course isn't illegal,

do you actually know what you're talking about re " displaying firearms in a public place"? actually l already know the answer to that, you're just using the old urban myth/ half truth/ straight out lie scenario, along with a bit ( ok, a lot ) of bluff 'n' bluster, eh?
please post the link that says it is illegal to display firearms in a State Forest..
l await your reply.. but l'm afraid it'll be a long wait..
going by your OP, do you actually enjoy going camping anywhere??
AnswerID: 335237

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:41

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:41
This from the Victorian Firearms Code of Practice

TRANSPORT OF FIREARMS
All firearms should be transported in a properly constructed carry case or carry bag. All firearms should be completely unloaded and where applicable the bolt removed.

REPLY by email from Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment

Thank you for your recent enquiry.

DSE do not encourage target shooting in State Forest as repeated firearm discharge is disturbing to the public.

Persons can legally hunt in State Forest, provided they are appropriately licensed. However, we always advise hunters to check with the local DSE office before they go hunting as there may be some areas where hunting is not permitted.

With regard to target shooting, if it is only a few shots to sight the firearm prior to hunting then that is fine (provided they use a proper target and not trees - as trees are forest produce and they can be prosecuted for shooting/damaging trees.

If the customer wishes to undertake target shooting, then they should go to a shooting range of a local firearms club.

I have forwarded your email to the Forest Officer at the Maryborough office so that he is aware of the situation you encountered.

The following link to the website may be of assistance to you: http://www.dse.vic.gov.au/ or http://www.dpi.vic.gov.au/

If you require clarification or have a further enquiry, please do not hesitate to contact the Customer Service Centre on 136 186 between 8am - 6pm weekdays or email customer.service@dse.vic.gov.au

I reiterate that shooting and detecting does not mix within the same boundaries

You may cast as many aspertions about my lifestyle as you wish, it doesn't wash with me.

Volvo driver....says it all

FollowupID: 602955

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 17:04

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 17:04
We share your concerns,
Didn't think shooting was legal on public land in Vic....
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 335244

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 17:13

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 17:13
Incident 2 could be a bit alarming. It depends on how he was "handling" the rifle with telescopic sight, though. Must admit, I'd've been a bit wary. I suppose it depends on attitude in confronting the guy and for that matter his attitude on being confronted. I suppose he could've put p[eople at their ease, easily enough but if he was aggravated I don't suppose he'd be too sympathetic.

It has to be said there are plenty of ratbags around and you're lucky if you don't encounter them over the years. If you go really remote and hidden, that could make you more vulnerable if accosted by some nutter or yob.

Touch wood, our experience has been limited to selfish, noisy ba$tard$, which is annoying, but could be worse.
AnswerID: 335248

Reply By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 04:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 04:46
Willem, you just can't get those words out can you?
those words being " l wuz wrong " in this case,
maybe next time instead of trying to bluff your way through something ( and looking really, really silly ) you should really do some research before starting a uninformed tirade against someone who had a perfectly good legal reason to be there, after he'd been to the dunny, of course,
you can reiterate your OPINION as many times as you like but that's all it is..just another opinion mouthed of by someone who doesn't have a clue and which is not backed up by the laws of the state,

to willie,
it's not really surprising that the police station in Dunolly was closed, it's a small country town, not Sydney but the person you spoke to over the intercom thingee was a Victorian Police Officer and the reason he was disinterested was because the " gunman" had not committed a crime, correct?

AnswerID: 335320

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 07:21

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 07:21
Once again

There was no question about the legality of using firearms in Vic State Forests and that is what I have said from the beginning. It is about the stupidity of the situation.

Every post you make on this issue you mention something else. Now it is something about being to the dunny. This is not correct. The person in question did not get of of his car.

You may carry on as much as you like about the legality of the situation. What I wanted to know was what the person's intentions were. I am entitled to walk up to anyone anywhere and ask them any question.

This person was obviously there to provoke as he stated that he had been there before in a similar situation and had caused the police to attend the scene.

As for your answer to Willie. There you are wrong again. A few months ago we had cause to ring 000 on a Saturday afternoon at the scene of an accident and the line went through to a Telecentre in India. This was not denied by a police spokesperson after querying that at a later time.

Trying to belittle me is a waste of time as it is water off a duck's back. You won't win.
FollowupID: 603024

Reply By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:33

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:33
Willem...

" There was no question about the legality of using firearms in Victorian State Forests and this is what l've said from the beginning "

oh, really?
on Fri Nov 14th at 06.02 you wrote...

" the alleged gunman showed his rifle in a public place so that it was visible to all. This what he did wrong, ( can you tell me another way of how he is supposed to get his firearm out of the car in a public place?? l'd really like to read that one, that'll be good for a few more laughs, now back to YOUR quote ) The fact that he displayed his rifle in a public place, which at that time was occupied by amateur detectors was as stated before, a gross act of stupidity.
AND AGAINST THE LAW,"
the last four words are in capitals to highlight what YOU posted,

hardly what you've said from the beginning is it, eh?
seems to have been a complete turnaround in attitude from you now that you realize that this farce was all YOUR doing and the other poor bloke did absolutely nothing wrong and was entitled to be hunting or whatever in State Forests,

try admitting that you were wrong in just about every detail of what of what you posted about the gunman,

it will bring you inner peace,

AnswerID: 335344

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:30

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:30
Ok - guys. That's about enough on this subject please. This debate is going now-where fast. it appears you'll just have to agree to disagree.

For the sake of the post degenerating into personal attack I shall lock it here.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 335357