4.8 Fuel Consumption

Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 02:30
ThreadID: 63580 Views:4217 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Here are some figures from our recent (May through September - 16 week) Australian loop.
Vehicle;
Nissan Patrol 2002 4.8 TI 5 speed Semi-automatic
2" over standard lift
285/75R16 Tyres
Loaded outside with full length roof rack with 45kg fuel, 80kg water, spare wheels for Patrol & van, 50kg tools, 20kgs 'gear'
Loaded inside with Mum, Dad & 4 kids (11, 9, 7, 5), DVD, laptop, hard-drive, 'more gear'
Camper Van:
Jayco Hawk (on road version with underslung axle)
18kg gas, 45kg fuel, 90kg water, 35kg battery, 80kg 'gear'

Total Km travelled: 22410km (over 4000 on gravel Oodnadatta Track, Marinie Loop & Savannah Way)
Total fuel used: 5645litres
Average $/Ltr: $1.704
Total Fuel Cost: $9620.00
Ltr/100km: 25.2 (best was 21, worst was 29)
Km/Ltr 3.97

Experience for Mum, Dad & 4 kids : Priceless

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:50

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:50
Sounds like fair value for hauling maybe 6 tonnes around Perthburts , and as you say the experience is definately priceless.
AnswerID: 335659

Reply By: Goona - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:58

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:58
PerthBurts,

Sell it mate and get a 4.2 Turbo Patrol. You know the truck. Same load as yours but as you know with Boat on top and outboard boat fuel safety gear fishing gear etc but 2 less kids well the girl would say 1 less as she often counts me as one and getting 6.666klm/lt diesel and 39.84lkm/lt of gas.

Goona
AnswerID: 335760

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:05

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:05
That would make a lot of sense?????

Trading down from 180kW to 114.

Some of us actually like to to keep pace with other vehicles and are happy to pay a little extra for fuel.

His better option would be to fit LPG and get better power than diesel at half the cost.

FollowupID: 603442

Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:42

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:42
Best Off road,

Wrong!!! 4.2 diesel, 3 inch dump pipe and straight system, Variable pitch turbo, tweaked injector pump, Boost 14psi, Gas Injection. All up first mods gave me 40% and Gas gave me another 30%. Quite right 114kw standard. Therefore 114 x 40% = 159.6kw then this x 30% = 207.4kw. Now this is only the power. Then you have an unbelievable amount of torque with that as well. Trading down!! Don't think so!!!! Agreed if you have the car then change to gas but range out in the middle of no where and the availability of gas as I have just found is not every where.

Goona
FollowupID: 603453

Follow Up By: cheetah - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:03

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:03
Jim, We all know your passionate about gas. Its time you did a trip around and through oz fully loaded and towing. Some places dont have gas and most that do are expensive, over a dollar a litre. Get out and do it. Diesel is the only way to go. Im towing a 3 ton 23foot van with a fully loaded 100Td and averaging 17.5l to the hundred over 26000kms this trip and still going. Have never got to a place with no diesel but lots with no gas 0r very expensive gas. Your continued arguement is based on city driving only, which is infact a good one but for long term touring and towing its Diesel unquestioned. What you say just doesnt make sense.
FollowupID: 603467

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 01:31

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 01:31
Goona,
To start with your diesel cost 7-10 grand more to buy ( Can someone correct me here if need be please, I'm guessing) plus about 6 grand on mods, He's got 185 kw straight up. A lot of ULP can be bought for 11+ thousand dollars.
Also if you really think that your 4.2 is putting out those kw figures then you are sadly mistaken, put it on a dyno one day and expect a rude shock.

Pezza

FollowupID: 603487

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:08

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:08
Agree with you there Pezza, the mods alone add up to more than 3/4 of perthburts fuel bill for the big lap.

Yet to see any Diesel out perform my 4.8, although I haven't come up against a 200 yet..... now I reckon that would be interesting.

Would also like to see the dyno report on where you claim these figures Goona, Im assuming you haven't plucked them out of the air.

FollowupID: 603561

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:10

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:10
Pezza,

Please note the figure I have stated is fly wheel figures as all manufacturers state. The reason I stated % figures of increase are thus, Once you increase tyre diameters your power and torque goes down. I could easily go to any dyno and fit a set of 235 tyres and get an increase in power and torque. What is the use of this. Nothing but a piece of paper that is worthless stating I have had massive gains. Another reason why is the slip factor. I run aggressive mud tyres and these on a dyno do not grip all that well and the final figures are somewhat distorted therefore if you have slip at the start and the same slip at the end then the % increase is the best measure. I have personally witnessed a Commodore lose 80hp due to slip and this was with non aggressive tyres as you would have on a 4wd. After they strapped it down the power went up by 80hp and nothing else motor wise was touched. Did you also know that dyno figures can be distorted by changing the atmospheric pressures? This will also give you a false read out. What is the point. I can feel mine has gone up significantly. Yes I do have Dyno read outs when the work was performed and this is where as I have stated got my increases from and not from thin air. I was there while they were doing it and saw the before and after with no playing of the dyno. With regards to your comments on putting out these sort of figures, yes mine has had a bit of work but spare a thought if you were also running a massive intercooler, ceramic pistons and upping the boost to 25psi. This would blow mine to the weeds and figure way in excess of mine is easily capable of achieving in a 4.2.

Ingo,

Yes I have got dyno reports on my output but these are back in Brisbane and unfortunately I am in WA on a 7 month trip around Aust.

Goona

FollowupID: 603600

Reply By: Member - Bob W (VIC) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:28
Hi, I must say I think the figures aren't that bad, I've heard a lot worse, and I agree with Jim,fit gas to 4.8, 180kw beast and I think youv'e cacked it,so to speak. This year I travelled from Melb to Kakadu return in my gq diesel ,it cost me a small fortune. Now I have purchased a V8 cruiser on gas for future touring duties and the tough as gq for weekend fun in the bush. For my touring purposes duel fuel is the way to go....
AnswerID: 335771

Reply By: Vicar - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:23

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:23
Perthburts,

Gday mate, posted the other day about 4.8 economy. How did it perform with all that weight? I read with interest the comments on the 4.2 diesel, I have had 4 or 5 and done the powerups, by the time you do all that work, you still don't have the power of the petrol and diesel is so much dearer. A powerup to acheive the figures lsited in this post would range from 6-8k. That's a lot of fuel and it does not really increase the value of your truck.

What sort of k's are on the clock? What sort of maintenance have you had to do etc. I'd appreciate your input.

Vicar.
AnswerID: 335930

Reply By: perthburts - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 01:54

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 01:54
G'Day Vicar,

With close to 300kg on the roof, and towing close to 2 tonne, the performance of the Patrol hardly changed. Sure I knew the van was there, but the 4.8 took hill inclines and decents in its stride. Honestly, I never went wanting for more power. We travelled without incident for the 22,410km save for 2 blown tyres on the van (my fault for not fitting new before we left)
She’s just clicked over 161,000km – post the trip
Work/Maintenance done;
By me before we left:
2” over standard lift (Dobinson springs & shocks)
Polyair air bags to the rear coils
Fitment of TX3220 radio and aerial
Fitment of 32mm2 +ve & -ve cables, 100amp fuse, ABR Isolator, 175 Anderson plug from cranking battery to tow-bar for charging my auxiliary battery located in the van (My Patrol is a TI with ABS – no room under the bonnet for a second battery)
Fitment of Power Inverter to power-up 240V gear in the cab
Fitment of five 12V outlets in the cab plus one 12V ‘Engel’ outlet
Replacement of long life spark plugs – what buggers these are to change!
New oil & air filters, new engine oil
Work/Maintenance done on trip;
Replaced all 3 V belts (in Marree SA)
New oil filter & engine oil (whilst in Sydney)
New brake pads (all 4) – got this done by somebody as discs needed a light skim
That’s it!!
Work done/to be done now at home;
New vacuum solenoid for rear factory locker – done
New filters and all the oils – to be done
New 285/75R16 BFG AT/KO’s as the ones used on the trip are US - to be done

Hope this helps,
Regards, Perthburts
AnswerID: 335994

Follow Up By: Vicar - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 07:09

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 07:09
Thanks for that.

So sounds like it's a pretty reliable truck, they are serviced every 15,000? The semi auto box, any dramas or have you heard of them being unreliable?

Thanks for the above!
FollowupID: 603657

Follow Up By: perthburts - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 00:54

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 00:54
Vicar,
No problems with the box. heard a once that they tend to slip after towing heavy weights for long periods, but we didn't have any issues.

FollowupID: 603844

Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:25

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:25
G'day perthburts

Just curious what was your cruising speed on the open roads with the trailer?

Ingo

AnswerID: 336343

Reply By: perthburts - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 15:37

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 15:37
Forgot to put that info in........

Most times 96km/hr
Never below 90km/hr
Up to 130km/hr (rushing to get to Karumba for the sun set) - interestingly, the fuel rate didn't change much at the higher speed)
AnswerID: 336456