Are you a reader? Books that is.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:57
ThreadID: 63843 Views:3585 Replies:27 FollowUps:11
I rarely read novels, but have recently started doing so in the bush.

The GLW is an avid reader and has taken to packing me a few books. I find the serenity of the bush and a quiet read to be a most relaxing experience.

Any suggestions of good authors would be appreciated.

Not into soppy romance stories, but just about anything else will suit me. The GLW gave me a book to read about an Irish Family existing during the Potato Famine, seriously fascinating.

Really enjoyed The Davinci Code and another by the same author. Also have read some crime stuff by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg. Archer writes some good stuff, "As The Crow Flies" was hard to put down.

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:08

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:08
Hi Jim,

A good young Aussie author who writes some good fast paced fiction is Matthew Reilly. His first book I think was titled Ice Station and it is very good.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 337148

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:13

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:13
Fast Paced .... sheesh ... if they were a video / dvd it would be like watching in fastforward ... lol

Didnt enjoy the speedracer one set in tassie tho ... All the rest have been great .. fun .. reads.
FollowupID: 604862

Reply By: Member - len W SWANSEA (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:13

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:13
Matthew Rilley, Clive Cussler, James Paterson, are all good easy reading action books there are plenty more others will suggest ......len
AnswerID: 337149

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:14

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:14
Surely you have already heard of him, but Tom Cole would have to be my favourite. Absolutely love his books. He is an absolute legend.
AnswerID: 337150

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:35

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:35
Second that.
FollowupID: 604874

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:20

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:20
Reading is such an individual thing. I read voraciously but quickly tire of anything that I don't have an interest in.
Historical epics are a no no for me. I prefer Australian novels, history, exploration or crime.
If you want something to read without much effort on a train, plane or in the bush then these three aren't bad, especially if you
don't normally read much.

Easy Australian crime books
AnswerID: 337154

Reply By: Member - Daryl C (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:35
Hi Jim,

I read a lot & enjoy a good Aussie book.

Someone in a forum recommended a book called Hell West & Crooked by Tom Cole. Its a great read.
I have finished it so I will give it to you when I pick up my drawers.

Happy camping
Daryl
AnswerID: 337159

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:49

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:49
I read too much.

Often two or three books at the same time.

Not sure what you like, but Matthew Rielly is pretty good for fast fast action.

Used to like the almamacs from the Australian for something factual.

Or read Stephen Gould for factual strange science, who is now dead but used to write for newspapers in New York. Biologist by training I think.
Or our own Dr Carl.

For something a bit heavier, to slow you down, try Thomas Harding, or Tolstoy. Usually takes me about a month to read War & Peace, at just over a 1000 pages.

Or something more local, try Len Beadell. Just got given his collection of six books for a Christmas read.

Usually keep away from fiction, but the seven books of the Harry Potter series are pretty good, when I can pinch them off my son.
Only got through the first 5 so far.
AnswerID: 337162

Follow Up By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:25

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:25
"often two or three books at a time" lol. When i first read War and peace, i can remember having another book going. Have to be in a serious reading mood for that one. Very enjoyable read though.
FollowupID: 604881

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:54
G'day Jim

Of late I have taken to reading a lot of Australian history. Busy with Australia, A Social and Political History. Very interesting but heavy going.

I was very fortunate recently when a kind person gave me two volumes of the prosework of Henry Lawson. A fascinating insight in the years bewteen the two world wars in Australia. Also read this year the 4 volumes of Winston Churchills History of the English Speaking Peoples

I read a lot about early Australian Explorers and plan my outback treks around some of their exploits.

AnswerID: 337165

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:24

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:24
Ummm ......Seems I got my wires crossed with the world wars as HL had passed on by then....lol
FollowupID: 604871

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:43
Willem, if you like history and find Churchill interesting, Try any of the Michael Dobbs novels based on Churchill and WW2. Fascinating reading with more than enough little known factual stuff to make the novels plausible. Dobbs is obviously a Churchill admirer, but he includes the warts and all.
And pardon me for a family plug, but if you like history, I think my brother's book on Gallipoli is essential reading. Not widely known in Australia, but very popular in Turkey. It examines Gallipoli from the Turkish perspective and puts the whole campaign into perspective.
Gallipoli. The Turkish Story. K. Fewster, V. Basarin, H. Basarin.Allen and Unwin.
FollowupID: 604886

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:25

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:25
received the biography of General Monash last Christmas.
Interesting not only for a view of the Aussie troops in WW1, but also a look at Melbourne and Australia pre and post Federation.

Keep going back to the diaries of Ernest Giles too.

That book set on Henry Lawson are good, also the a similar book set of Banjo Paterson. Interesting his writings from the Boer war, as well as his prose and poetry.
FollowupID: 604919

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 20:35

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 20:35
Thankjs for the book tips, fellas

FollowupID: 604982

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:00

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:00
Nelson de Mille (US), David Baldacci (US), Vince Flynn (US), are good Thriller writers.
From OZ: Ion Iddriess for true stories of the early 20th century outback , Lennie Lower's "Here's Luck" for a great humorous story from the '20s, Tom Cole's been mentioned and both books are rippers, Mary Durack for Oz history.
AnswerID: 337167

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:19
If you would like tales of the Australian bush (mainly Qld) then go to Central Queenslan University Press there is a good selection available on line. I have Battlers of the Barkly by Alf Chambers and a couple by Marie Mahood. They are excellent reading. I actually purchased these from some tourist info centres on my travels - keep your eyes out.

AnswerID: 337170

Reply By: Ballfyboy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:26
I will give a book to match the author. If you like these than "chase the author". I have very eclectic taste:-)

Nelson Demille, Gold Coast. (some of the driest humor ever)
James Clavell, Shogun. (stratagy)
Peter F Hamilton, The Reality Dysfunction. (science fiction)
Bill Bryson, a short history of nearly everything. (perspective)
J R R Tolken, The Hobbit. (timeless)
James A Michener, Space. (talk about well researched)
Dava Sobel, Longitude. (fascinating story)
Lance Armstrong, It's not about the bike. (determination)
Harper Lee, To kill a Mocking-bird. (still relevant.

Where do you stop....... Sorry, I suspect you will see a few birthdays through with these. Enjoy!
AnswerID: 337174

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:06

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:06
Too busy to read novels these days and seldom read biographies but read Peter Cosgrove's which was great. Liked Kokoda byPeter FitzSimons a year back. 18 Hours by Sandra Lee. The SAS in Afghanistan. Soundls like all military, but the leadership study was interesting in all. I left text books behiind in 2000. I have a few other histories about though too, Australian ones.
AnswerID: 337185

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:08

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:08
Andy Mcnab & Chris Ryan
AnswerID: 337186

Reply By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:14

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:14
Jim,
If you da vinci code you will more than likely like all his books.

Matthew Reilly books are fun, no brainer books easy to read.

Jessica, Bryce courtanay.

Classic novels, Count of monty christoAlexandra Dumas(still my no1)
Atlas Shrugged, The fountainhead, Ayn Rand.

American history, Bury my heart at wounded knee, Dee Brown.

Christian Jacq books.

The list is indeed, endless. Nothing beats a good book though.
AnswerID: 337187

Reply By: steved58 - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:19

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:19
pillars of the earth you won't regret it!!!
AnswerID: 337189

Follow Up By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:34

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:34
Thanks for the tip on that one. It is on my list now.
FollowupID: 604883

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (WA) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:18

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:18
The sequal to "Pillars of the Earth" is "A World Without End" and it is every bit as good as the original.

Leachy
FollowupID: 604922

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:28

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:28
I love James Patterson...as he has a few "series" of books that are very good.

he also just wrote a Fiction about a boy with Tuerette (sp) syndrome which was bloody excellent !!!

AnswerID: 337192

Reply By: Member - Lord Cochrane (SA) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 01:04

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 01:04
A few of my favourite books you might enjoy:

'Eagle in the Snow' by Wallace Breem - Historical fiction about a Roman army officer stationed on the Rhine at the beginning of the 5th century AD. www.amazon.com/Eagle-Snow-Wallace-Breem/dp/1590710118

'Red Army' by Ralph Peters - 80's WW3 A could have been of WW3 in Europe written entirely from the Soviet perspective. www.amazon.com/Red-Army-Ralph-Peters/dp/0671676695

'Dark Star' by Alan Furst - 1930's espionage thriller, this is an excellent book that brings this period to vivid life. www.amazon.com/Dark-Star-Novel-Alan-Furst/dp/0375759999

'Stranger in a Strange Land' by robert Heinlein - SciFi , a classic novel by one of the genres greats a novel you wont regret reading. www.amazon.com/Stranger-Strange-Land-Robert-Heinlein/dp/0441790348

AnswerID: 337208

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:29

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:29
If your into the heavier, thought provoking stuff....

Andy Capp
Superman
The Phantom
Spiderman

Even read....Men are from Mars, Women from Venus. Applied some of the advice given and the missus was like putty in my hands. Got a bit too girly and romantic for me so went back to the Nissan MQ Service Manual. [now thats an excellent read].

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 337220

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:50

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:50
hey Lionel...you got any of those hard reading books mate ?

I haven't read a comic in years and better get some...hahaha
Love your work

FollowupID: 604925

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:59

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:59
I was given the Rex Hunt biography, after reading it I've found his life has been very interesting to say the least and I enjoyed reading the book immensely.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 337223

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:05

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:05
When out & about, I like reading true adventure books. Of course the Beadell books, Kay Cottees trip, the young guy that sailed Lionheart around the world, and the like...

AnswerID: 337234

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:12

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:12
Jim,

I read two books a week when I am away camping. I camp by myself and read at the camp fire with an LED headlamp while my potatoes are cooking in the coals.

Three books by James Clavell I have just read again after a 20 year break :
Noble House
Taipan
Shogun
These are historic novels about China and Japan are hard to put down.

Willie

AnswerID: 337236

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:53

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 09:53
I get all my books in the form of MP3 audio from Bolinda.com
I listen to the stories great selection and price, makes driving on those long trips pleasurable.
AnswerID: 337240

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:00

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:00
I am reluctant to mention this book - because if you start it before you leave for camping, you will not move from the lounge chair for a week (or 4).

You have been warned.

The author is Raymond E. Feist.
The book is "Magician".

For pure fun - Bill Brysons book "Down under" is a good laugh - a Brit view of the dangers of visiting OZ.
If you have an interest in science : "Entanglement" (the greatest mystery in Physics) by Amir D. Aczel.................Keith.
AnswerID: 337241

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:47

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 10:47
Hi Jim

Peter Watt – Australian Author who’s first foray was a trilogy starting with Cry of the Curlew.

The trilogy has Australian pioneering days as the backdrop. He has written other novels that run similar themes.

Highly recommend to you, especially if you want something with a local bend….following is a link to his website.

The Landy

Peter Watt
AnswerID: 337250

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY-(MURRAY)(Vic) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 12:26

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 12:26
Gday Jim
So old mate, after you have done all those suggested, you come and see me and i'll lend you a good book.
Murray

AnswerID: 337271

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:34

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:34
Hi Jim, as a builder an absolute must would be The finger prints of god, nothiing to do with religion but an amazing journey through history of the pyramids etc, also one I couldn't put down was Project saucer, but be aware its one of SIX, so you have to get them in sequence, it's a book of fiction based on fact, what a read, its got rape, murder, slavery, espionage, name it its there, it will make you think hmmmmm, I wonder........
best wishes,
AnswerID: 337301

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:38

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:38
Thanks to everyone for their repiles.

Should be enough there to keep me going for many years of camping trips.

AnswerID: 337317

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:14

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:14
I know a good book.
Diesel engine maintenance 101.
AnswerID: 337422

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:50

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:50
I would suppose it is a Tome and runs into many pages.

Not sensible reading for the educated.

FollowupID: 605071