Two trailers behind a 4WD?

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 00:35
ThreadID: 64128 Views:10057 Replies:17 FollowUps:17
I am wondering if anyone has seen it done?

We have a Jayco Outback camper and I have recently bought a sport quad bike, but we can't take both.

I had thought about getting a new camper that will carry a quad, either on the drawbar, which I'm not a fan of [too much weight on the towbar] or on the roof, but the problem with both options is if we stay away from the riding area, say in a caravan park, we have to pack up home every day to go riding.

An even bigger problem would be the quad on the roof. It's a sport bike with a modified sport exhaust. Can you imagine me starting it up every morning to ride it up the ramps onto the roof at 7.00 in the morning after we've packed up house.

SO. My Jayco has electric brakes, it does not exceed the Patrols towing capacity, so I'm guessing the camper chassis would have to be able to tow, and I would have to be licensed to drive it.

The quad weighs less than 200kg and will fit on a standard 6x4 trailer.

I imagine the next big problem would be getting pulled over by every cop in every town wanting to know what the hell I'm up to.

I've seen it done in the bush, but not on main roads.

Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 00:54

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 00:54
Muzz,

You would have to check with Dept transport - but I believe in WA at least, that it wouldn't be legal.

Yes you could get a HC or MC (Heavey Combined or Medium Combined) truck license ro drive a rig with more than one trailer...... but even for the trucks there are roads that road trans (effectively what you would become) arent allowed on specially within the urban limits.

I'm sure that leaving Perth on the major highways headed north or east - you'd have seen whats called "Road train assembly areas" where road trains pull in and drop one or two of their trailers, and head off to the port or kewdale etc with just the one trailer as a normal semi - then either another couple of local freight co, prime movers hook up the extra trailers one each and drag them to the freight yards as a normal single trailer semi.

Yes - we do now see quite a few B doubles travelling around the place hauling grain and ore etc and milk even..

Whether theres any loophole that would allow your proposed rig to be classed as a B double - I don' know - you'd have to check with the relevant authorities!

Obviously backing it in to any capsites etc would be a slight nightmare (but ptobably over commable).

The ideas not silly - I've seen pics of USA holiday makers in their winnebagos with camper trailer behind and boat behind that, but again this is ONLY legal in SOME states of the USA - so you can't go on a trip across the nation or up nto Canada so rigged.

I've heard stroies about it being legal in South Aust, the Northern Territory for example, burt again I reckon you'd want it in writing

I'd be keen to hear what you eventually do find out....I'd actually thought about towing a couple boats instead of just one, and for prospecting a camper trailer with a couple quads on a trailer behind that!

Mae sure and post up any factual information you are able to come up with please and the source - plus any licensing requirements for the driver, max lengths & weights etc.

Another possibility MIGHT be f you had say a F truck or similar - with a 5th wheel attachement just like a semi....

The fact you are actually driving a truck (over 3500kg's towing capacity with 5th wheel ~ 5 tonnes I believe) MAYBE theres an ability to THEN tow a trailer behind what essentially becomes a MR (Medium Rigid) combination? (The equivalent of a small B double?).

I would think the GCM (gross combined mass) and GVM (Gross Vehicle Mass) etc would all come into the calculations - as well as lengths weights braking and clearance lighting - maybe an escort vehicle if your overlength and so on...

Best of luck with this one - you'd need someone from Dept Transport, familiar with all the towing regs - etc to get the right advice!

AnswerID: 338890

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:03

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:03
Pretty much everything you have said has been going around in my mind for a month or so.

I hear what your saying about road train assembly areas but I have seen triple trailer road trains on the bypass road in Geraldton and I have seen double trailer set-ups on Roe highway going on to Kwinana freeway. I don't think such a small rig would contravene those laws.

As far as I know the road train assembly areas are for heavy trailers where the combined total weight when in combination is over a set limit.

FollowupID: 606561

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 07:11

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 07:11
Muzz

Your best option will be to have a tandem axle car carrier trailer built, transfer the Jayco minus its running gear on to that and make a space at the front or behind for the quad to fit.

I have actually seen a setup like this in WA while we were camped at Carawine Gorge. Fella drove in with a tri-axle trailer with camper in the middle and two quads, front and back. Was towing with a F250

In South Africa you used to be allowed to tow two units behind your vehicle. I have seen a BMW with a Caravan and Trailer Sailer in tow. Many also tow a 6x4 behind the caravan for whatever reason.

AnswerID: 338893

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:07
Thanks Willem, when you say without its running gear do you mean wheels / axle etc?
FollowupID: 606562

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:14

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:14
Muzz

Yes....it's just an idea...lol. And it should be cost effective.

FollowupID: 606564

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:54

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:54
That's kind of what I don't want to do, because a few of the places we go riding we stay in a caravan park and the dunes are between 25 and 60 away which means packing up house every day to go riding.

We often stay in a van park because a few of the families have little ones and it's a lot easier having hot showers and a laundry after flogging around on bikes all day, and one or two couples don't like camping at all.

I'm happy to stay in a van park to go riding with this group of people, they are safe riders but fast riders, they have similar attitudes to us as far as not annoying other people and not leaving rubbish and they respect laws and private property. Most importantly the women get on, and don't mind the fact that us blokes can be gone for hours at a time.

Unfortunately there's a few people who ride quad bikes and dirt bikes who couldn't care about anything and we don't want to be like that.

In the end we may end up staying in an on site van or the like.
FollowupID: 606571

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:15
Hi Muzz

I don't follow your line of reply.

Maybe it was meant for another answer in this thread?

FollowupID: 606583

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:18

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:18
Ring the Dept of Motor Vehicles, I would say NO it is not legal.

Unless the towing vehicle is over 4.5ton GVM

AnswerID: 338897

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:46

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:46
Quite apart from the legalities involved, I would think there would be some engineering dramas about the stresses on the chassis of the Jayco.
They would not have been made to have another 500kg trailer swinging around on the back of it.
It probaly wouldn't be too far down the road when the Jayco breaks in half.
I think the way to go would be with a ute, you can put your quad on the back and you can tick off during the day and leave the camper where it is.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 338901

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:48

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 08:48
A bit ironical, you can see my rig pic, I tried it hahaha

FollowupID: 606424

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:58

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:58
The yellow bus near Camerons corner ,what u pay for it ? Got a big steel bridge in Sydney for sale if your interested ?? LOL.
FollowupID: 606435

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 16:19

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 16:19
speaking of that , you know the Eiffel tower was once sold to scrap metal merchants? - they were told to keep it hush hush.....

Money exchanged hands - seller nicks off --- new owners come to collect --- get arrested ...... LMAO --- scammed

Boc
FollowupID: 606485

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:26

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:26
There has been an earlier thread on the forum about this and the answer was ITS ILLEGAL
AnswerID: 338906

Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:18

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:18
I'm from WA and do recall seeing an article in our morning newspaper's motoring section about a bloke from Albany who towed a boat and a caravan with a GU Patrol ute....the artiticle would have been two to three years or so ago at a guess.
He had to have current road train licence to drive the rig.
Was quite interesting to see his setup as a photo was included, however I am not sure if he could cross into other states with this rig setup.
Regards Alan.
AnswerID: 338915

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 12:34

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 12:34
what about a Jayco Homebase caravan
AnswerID: 338923

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:13

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:13
Had a look at them on Sunday at Bayswater Jayco. In the latest Basecamp model they have extended the storage area by 60cm so it will now fit the largest of bikes or Quads. $45 - $48K tho!

FollowupID: 606563

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:15

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:15
Yes Nudie we did look at those. There was two of them up at the GasDash race in Carnarvon with the family and a quad bike in each.

There is only two of us and we do still go offroad witht the Jayco on our big holidays. The base station is pretty big for what we are after.
FollowupID: 606565

Reply By: Member - OzGazza - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 14:05

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 14:05
I've been thinking about the same issue. I hadn't thought about the reason why putting it on the roof of the camper trailer (hard floor type) wouldn't work - thats what I was going to do. But your post (Muzz) got me thinking that you might be able to adapt one of those folding boat trailers. i.e. Put it on the roof of the trailer for the long hauls and switch to the folding boat trailer once you get set up.

We usually don't camp in caravan parks so I anticipated using the quad bike directly from camp - but I see your point.
AnswerID: 338937

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:35

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:35
Gaz, we looked at several hard floor campers at the outdoor & adventure show in Perth a few weeks back, and we decided that the Cub Camper will be the one we get if that's the way we go.

We also enquired about a small fold up trailer and we were quoted to have one made specifically for one quad bike and one gerry can for fuel.

It is a consideration at the moment, but I'm also thinking it could be fun and unique to have my own little road train.......
FollowupID: 606567

Reply By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 14:20

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 14:20
i have seen in nsw and winabago towing a small car on a trailer and also towing a boat behind that. i cant see any problam with it if the first trailer is build to tow the second trailer. im sure you could go down to a trailer builder and get him to fix it all up for you no worries.
AnswerID: 338939

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 16:28

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 16:28
I've just been on the NSW RTA site on a towing matter, & it states to tow more than one trailer with a vehicle under 4.5t is
indeed illegal.........oldbaz.
AnswerID: 338963

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 20:15

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 20:15
I know a bloke who loads his Troopy up so much before he goes camping, it would go a touch over 4.5 T I reckon.
So he would probably be OK with 2 trailers :>)).

FollowupID: 606519

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 20:28

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 20:28
G`day Muzz,
There is a custom made C/T in the trader section that carries a Quad Bike.
Not what you asked I know but you might get some info from the seller.

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 338996

Follow Up By: andson - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:28

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:28
Hey,

Just a quick note, if you want a idea for a great new "Toy Hauler" chuck me an email shane@mandurahholden.com.au.

thanks.

Shane
FollowupID: 606544

Reply By: andson - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:29

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:29
Hey,

Just a quick note, if you want a idea for a great new "Toy Hauler" chuck me an email shane@mandurahholden.com.au.

thanks.

Shane
AnswerID: 339019

Reply By: Dion - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 22:35

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 22:35
Why does it have to be towed behind a 4WD.
When I first was doing this, it was with a 7x4 single axle towing a 6x4 single axle. This was towed behind my VB Commodore, as the Gutlux was just way too slow, the old 2.2 diesel was only just hanging in with 4th gear.
Later I brought a 7x4 tandem trailer myself, the first thing I did with it when I got it home was turn it upside down and add a towbar to it as well. Subsequently the original 7x4 single axle was converted to tandem.
This all happened whilst I had the VB Commodore, it was quite happy pulling the two 7x4's and the 6x4 loaded chokablok full of cut redgum. Yes the VB was pulling three trailers together.
As part of fitting the towbars to each of the trailers, I also installed and wired in a trailer plug so that all the lights would work on all trailers.
When I was putting the towbar onto the first trailer, I was doing it over at the truck yard whilst the government ispector was there examining prime movers, tankers and dolly's for there Road train certification and he thought it was a marvelous idea, he was particurly pleased that I had put enough thought into to wire in a plug for the trailing trailers.
Now the VB has gone, although he VS ute I had, had a crack at it too (three trailers). The repalcement gutlux, a 2.4 with exchange 2.4T engine could maintain an acceptable gallop on the black top with the two trailers loaded with redgum.
My brother and myself are building another tandem trailer, and guess what, it will also be fitted with a towbar and plug, so watch out for four trailers. Either one of my RA's will do a decent job at towing these.
I can't add a photo here of my efforts, because I'm not a full member, but for any doubting thomases out there, drop your email on here and I'll be happy to send photo's, perhaps someone who is a member could then attach my photo's here. Alternatively there are some photo's on the 'Campfire' one of the trailer threads in the Overlander Forum, and also Mr Alan Nixon, AKA "The Uteman" did an article on this including the towing of three trailers in one of his Ute books, Volume 4.

Dion.
AnswerID: 339031

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 00:04

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 00:04
What about brakes?

Is it legal?

Who's your insurance company?
FollowupID: 606572

Follow Up By: Dion - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:19
Muzz,
the legalities, who know's? It was 20 years ago that I did the first of these trailers, and as already stated, in the presence of the Government inspector that certifies vehicles for Road Train compliance.
Since then, I have not had an issue towing out on the road, although this is limited to two trailers at a time, never the three.
I have never been stopped by any authority because of towing more than one trailer on the highway.
Brakes, the less said about them, the better.
For insurance, each trailer is not insured seperately, but is covered by the towing vehicle.

Dion.

FollowupID: 606844

Reply By: ferris - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:27

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:27
Quite simple to tow more than one trailer behind a car.

First you get a multi-combination licence and then you buy a 4by that is road train certified. See I said it was easy......lol.
AnswerID: 339034

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:34

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:34
What is wrong with converting the Nissan to a dual cab ute. You could tow the Jayco behind it and drive on or off at the sides. A short tray and a box in the front. Keep yourself in control too then instead of dual trailers.
AnswerID: 339035

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 00:08

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 00:08
John, I'm not sure my employer would appreciate me chopping up his nice new Patrol!
FollowupID: 606573

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:15
You could do it like this.
Is this a 4th wheeler?
AnswerID: 339053

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:20

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:20
hahahaha What a ripper!!!! Looks like he's only got 3 wheels on the float, but at least all the lights work,,,hahaha
FollowupID: 606584

Reply By: denver - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:13
Muzz,
Similar issues, I recently made a decision and ordered a Complete Campsite camper trailer. Quad goes on the front (towbar). I have a heavier quad (farm style) and did some pretests and the ball weight is within legal limits for my Landcruiser. Your 200 kg would not be a problem.
Most likely will also try to convert portable boat trailer to carry quad once camp is set up.
Camper comes in heavy duty off road and I have talked to others who have taken similar trailer thru simpson Desert so you should be ok as far as offroad or taking where ever you want.
Several other companies said they could do it but Complete have been doing it for a while and did not blink an eye.
Have a look at their website or once I get mine let me know and I can shoot you some photos and feedback.
Let us know if you come to any conclusions
AnswerID: 339158