for all those north of grafton

TOP PRIORITY FOR IMMEDIATE BROADCAST

SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WARNING
for GIANT HAILSTONES, DESTRUCTIVE WIND and FLASH FLOODING

For people in the
NORTHERN RIVERS,
MID NORTH COAST and
NORTHERN TABLELANDS Forecast Districts.

Issued at 7:23 pm Wednesday, 10 December 2008.

Severe thunderstorms are likely to produce large hailstones, destructive winds, very heavy rainfall and flash flooding in the warning area over the next several hours. Locations which may be affected include Lismore, Grafton, Coffs Harbour, Armidale, Tenterfield, Casino, Kyogle, Yamba, Maclean, Woolgoolga, Sawtell and Dorrigo.

An especially severe thunderstorm was located about 12 km north of Maclean at 7:15pm and was moving to the north to northeast. It has been producing giant hail (larger than 5 cm diameter) and potentially destructive winds.

Another especially severe thunderstorm was located about 10 km east of Casino and is also moving towards the north-northeast. This storm is also likely to produce giant hail and potentially destructive winds. It is expected to pass west of Lismore and move towards Nimbin over the next hour.

A third intense thunderstorm was located near Corindi Beach (north of Woolgoolga), moving towards Wooli.

Hail about the size of tennis balls was reported at Swan Creek (east of Grafton) at 6:15pm.
3 to 4 cm hail and winds estimated at 100 km/hr were reported at Coutts Crossing (south of Grafton) just before 6 pm.

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:21
hi mark
i am at brunswick heads and there is plenty of thunder and lightning but not much else and looking on the radar i think one of the cells will go through murwillumbah and the other through ballina.

so we should be ok.

i will watch it for the next hour to see what happens.

regards peter
AnswerID: 339131

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28
PETER

no worries mate, i had that warning emailed to me.
its still pretty wild down here at Maclean @ the moment,cheers.
FollowupID: 606654

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:44

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:44
Hi Mark

We can see it coming from the direction of Kyogle way, lots of
Lightning, all the Planes taking off from Coolangatta Airport are
skirting around it, and heading South West, I dont mind the rain but
it's the Hail we can do with out, hope you all are ok.

Daza
AnswerID: 339142

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:00

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:00
DAZA

we're ok here but batten down thoses hatches though.
FollowupID: 606666

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:59

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:59
the storm that passed over...........

AnswerID: 339145

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:33

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:33
Evening Mark

You can do your best and keep the storms away from Maclean this weekend please. Coming over to visit a mate.

I'll be over Friday about 12ish and leaving mid morning Monday and some nice weather would be nice thanks

PS we had another wild one here in Tamworth this afternoon - 15 mm in about 10 mins
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 606671

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:43

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:43
That one missed the GC, thank goodness. Must have been one of the few that have. The lightning and dark skies over the border (Moobah way) were awesome.
AnswerID: 339189

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:07
Any photos??

FollowupID: 606741

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:10

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:10
Sorry mate, camera was at SWMBO's work site. Xmas photos of the kids :((
FollowupID: 606742

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:43

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:43
Gday Mark,
Were getting blown away here too!!!!
Radar is showing heavy rain too!!!!