Member - dajo trad
planning trip to
Karumba for mid next year and timing will put us in
Bourke for a night. We have heard a lot of bad reports about
Bourke. Are they true?? Any comments on caravan parks would be appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 12:40
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 12:40
gday mate
when we stayed out there we were warned not to go into town but to stay on the outskirts of town @ a caravan
park next to the river.
not sure what that
park was called but i remember that it was next to a hotel.i can also remember we drove across a bridge to get there,cheers.
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:26
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:26
It is Kidmans
Camp @ Nth
Bourke
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:56
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:56
N N
thtas the one,cheers mate.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:12
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:12
Mark, why the pic of Kev??????
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:20
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:20
hahahahaha definitely Kev
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:00
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:00
Dajo
We stay in
Bourke on a regular basis when en route to the coast.
We stay over at
Bourke Riverside Motel. Although I have heard bad reports about
Bourke I haven't seen any activities that would alarm me and have walked around the streets at night. The motel does lock its gates after dark though...lol
There is always a good feed at the local RSL across the road from the motel
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:11
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:11
I have stayed there too (3 times) and would recommend it to ANYONE.
They even have theme rooms, historical that is. An
oasis in time of drought.
I also like
Bourke, and have walked it streets at night around the cbd, and have had no problems at all.
Eats; at RSL opposite or the Bowling club two blocks away.
Nice place, drop into
visitors centre and see Stewart, he will give you some great
places to visit.
Cotton Gin, Fred Hollows grave, Mt Oxley, Gundabooka & much more.
Cheers Colin.
Reply By: chocolate teapot - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:26
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:26
Hi dado trad
have not stayed in town but am encouraged by willem's comments - have however stayed at the
park by the river - called Kidmans
camp on outskirts
Interesting place much more maligned than it deserves - badly needs cashed up visitors to contribute to the local economy though - perhaps you can help
Thought the lock and weir on the outskirts of tow, inland marine court house and the victorian bridge (near kidman's
camp and the stockade (perhaps not original) of particular interest
Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 14:43
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 14:43
We heard the same reports a few years ago. We had no problems at the
North Bourke Kidman's
Park. Excellent facilities and a resident bush poet when we stayed for one night. The
North Bourke hotel was very crowded in the front bar. All part of bush travelling. The council has a historic diesel generating plant that they run up on occasions. I believe it was once used in the old
Sydney Powerhouse. Quite a performance goes on to get the thing to fire up!
Kingo
Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 16:54
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 16:54
Hi dajo,
We stayed in a Motel right next to a Bridge over the
Darling River on the way out of Town in walking distance from the Motel there was a Pub and a small Store Takeaway come Service Station.
We have stayed there twice it was great spot had no probs.
Cheers Scoof . :-)
Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:54
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:54
There's a great frree
camp area called May's Bend. Turn right at the large packing shjed just north of the Kidman
park and go in a few k to the river. Can't get lost. Nice and quiet area.
Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:05
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:05
Yes I'll back up the sugestion of May's Bend. Right on the river, fabulous location. If you go to the
Tourist Info Centre in town they can give you a mud map for how to get there.
teege
Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:05
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:05
Yes I'll back up the suggestion of May's Bend. Right on the river, fabulous location. If you go to the
Tourist Info Centre in town they can give you a mud map for how to get there.
teege
Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:04
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:04
Sorry, didnt realise it would post twice - kept on getting that silly error message.
teege
Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:39
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:39
My one and only overnighter in Burke was one to remember.
Jan 2004. Driving West along the highway into Burke @ 6pm. 45 degrees....and we thought we could see a storm approaching. Yippee we thought, looking forward to the rain. Then the dust storm hit us! bugger.
Anyway, made it to Burke and being just a tad too hot to pitch the camper trailer we opted for an airconditioned unit at a Caravan
Park just on the right as we hit town.
It was 10pm before the building had cooled down enough for us to even walk inside it. I recon the clapped out aircon cooled it from @ 60- 70 degrees inside to a very lovely 40!!!! I recon it was still 30 when we left in the morning. It wasn't a good night.
On top of that, we had some very shonky looking people getting around the
park admiring my fishing gear and other bits on the roof so I decided it best to take everything off the roof rack and store in the unit, so I at least had a reasonable chance of it being there in the morning! The 20 minutes unpack and re-pack in the morning gave me some piece of mind.
Anyway, we didn't actually have any trouble at all so guess that's a good thing.
Good luck.
P.S next time, I'd even drive through the night not to stay there and if it was
Wilcannia...
well, arm yourself!
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:57
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:57
Regularly stay at the Major
Mitchell Motel with no dramas.
Also stayed at Kidman
Camp a couple of times.
Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 07:10
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 07:10
Anyone going to
Bourke this week and visiting Fred Hollows grave site do me a favour and slip over a few rows left and give my wifes GGGranmother gravestone a wipe over for me its in the Presbyterian section under Jean Taylor 18th December 1885 and Im not going to make it and you never know when old GGGrandmother in laws will come and haunt you.
Reply By: Member - dajo trad - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:36
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:36
Hey thanks to you all for your info - feel all is not as people have told me so we will stay the night and have a look around - thanks again
Reply By: aka - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:13
Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:13
There is a bloke who does a tour of the area he craps on a bit but it still a good tour I think it is $25 a head goes for about 3 hours
Reply By: Racey - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 22:37
Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 22:37
We stayed at Kidmans about 9 months ago it is a very comfortable park. Talking to a few people around, we were advised the trouble makers around
Bourke had been given the flick. So much so the local council were on a mission to have the shops remove the steel shutters etc.
You will find
Bourke relatively safe.