Great spot to get stuck.....
Gregory, Keep, Dommet.

http://www.tinyurl.com/OKA196-PnM
AnswerID: 340005

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:48

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:48
Looking at you website. It's a nice tricky little drive across the East Baines River near Bullita. Had a hairy moment there so years ago when the Landcruiser slid towards the abyss(dark green water)...lol

FollowupID: 607572

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:13

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:13
Yes Willem. Not a difficult crossing at all, PROVIDED you stick to the right line...

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 607606

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:29

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:29
All he needed was a Sat Phone to tell the missus he was going somewhere else other than first advised and he probably would have been found faster.

AnswerID: 340006

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:44

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:44
EPIRB even cheaper ...
FollowupID: 607558

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:51

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:51
... but search and rescue more expensive
FollowupID: 607559

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:56

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:56
... a one-day search not as expensive as a week ... there were media reports in WA Monday that the cops had basically given up as they thought he was doing a runner ...
FollowupID: 607562

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:06

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:06
No charge for an EPIRB search if it is genuine.

Peter.
OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 607564

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:15

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:15
lets not get distracted abt costs etc ... my point is that this bloke broke quite a few rules that more experienced travellers than me on this site stress all the time lets not let the media turn him into some sort of crocodile dundee hero... if he had gione where he said he was going, taken a phone or an epirb all the trouble would have been avoided
FollowupID: 607566

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:50
Agree with Rocco2010 but the fortunate thing is that his brother had hired a helicopter to look for him, if he hadn't done that he would have been in dire straits I'd reckon.
Despite his failures I can't understand the cops not pulling in a chopper to have a look around the area, then again we are not privy to all the facts I guess.
This site is a great source of life's experiences and this is a great example of doing what we say we are doing, or going where we say we are. I believe some of the WA cops highly experienced in bushcraft has prepared a survival guide, I downloaded it some time back, but as usual haven't read it yet because I can't find it on my PC, but I'll make an effort now.
Paul & Fiona
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 607574

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:55

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:55
Paul/Fiona if you can't find it I'm sure it is still in the Members File swap area. If not PM me and I'll email you a copy.

FollowupID: 607576

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:59

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:59
Armchair experts every where , read the article before making judgements on the location variation , he knew where he was.
FollowupID: 607577

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:03

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:03
yeah and for 8 days people were looking in the wrong place ... he was found 70ks away from where he said he was going
FollowupID: 607579

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:17

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:17
So rocco u have never ever taken a wrong turn ?
FollowupID: 607608

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:24

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:24
Took one today Axel, but i wasn't up the creek in the Kimberley during the wet season zat the time so it didn't matter
FollowupID: 607611

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:25
Oh and Rocco please tell us all what 'rules" he broke ,, going fishing ? taking a wrong turn? telling his wife where he was going? or did he break the "rules "by staying with his vehicle when it became obvious to him that he could not start and or extract itfrom where he was ?
FollowupID: 607612

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:27

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:27
Oh i give up...
FollowupID: 607613

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:31
Axel makes some good points.

This bloke got lost, but had the savvy to survive.

We can all learn from this. Stay with your vehicle and keep alive. The vehicle has items that you won't in the middle of nowhere.

FollowupID: 607617

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 23:53

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 23:53
Found it in File Swap Dunc, thanks for the tip. I've probably saved it somewhere really safe, so safe I couldn't find it. I'll be print that one out for sure and then I'll find the original, probably on the laptop.
Paul & Fiona
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 607638

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:02

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:02
He didnt sound to be in much danger from what I heard....
Unless of corse the esky was getting low!
FollowupID: 607753

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:53

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 19:53
The report I read on MSN said he thought he was in the Keep River Region. So as far as he was aware he was were he thought he was.

AnswerID: 340015

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:18

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:18
Why is it that many people think that "taking an EPIRB" is equivalent to "planning to get lost" or "planning to have an accident" ???
AnswerID: 340019

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:32

At least he and the dog stayed with the vehicle, rule number one,
and sounds like he had a few survival skills, and a lot of luck.

Daza
AnswerID: 340037

Reply By: Kroozer - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:54

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:54
Maybe next time he will take a map.
AnswerID: 340039

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 22:09

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 22:09
Pure speculation on my part, but having drven there myself, I don't reccon a Kununurra resident gets to Cape Dommet without knowing where he was.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 607623

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:22

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:22
A map isn't much good to you if you think you know where you are but are wrong... having a map doesn't stop people getting lost.
The fact is with a GPS and a map and an EPIRB and a SATPHONE you can still get lost,stuck etc.. he did everyithing right in his circumstances.. jeezus I hope none of the 'experts' on this forum never have their car break soemthing that they hadn't "planned' for and were thus carying a spare for..

I'd love to see how some of the so called experts on this forum travel.. I wonder if they tow a spare 4WD in case the one they are driving breaks.. long and short of it is - You can not plan for everything - mother nature will smack you down if you think you are better than that and if you are lucky you may live to regret it.

No matter how well "prepared" you are, you still need to have survival skill like this bloke. Contrary to all the armchair/ drivers seat experts spruking their well found knowledge on this forum because they have been survival instructors all their lives and have endured so many survival situations themselves (pardon my slight hint or sarcasm) This bloke epitomises how to travel in Australia. Everything he did was right once he was in a situation he couldn't recover himself from....
FollowupID: 607662

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 16:10

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 16:10
Yes,
absolutely agree with the 'Coyote'
""Everything he did was right once he was in a situation he couldn't recover himself from.... ""
As to how he got into the situation is not relevant

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 607725

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 01:40

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 01:40
70Km's?

Pfft - 2 nights walk he'd a been home drinkin beer instead a waiting for a chopper ride!

Epirb & Sat Phone he'd a been home same day.

OK he's an idiot (for not going where he said & getting bogged & not takling communications equipmet - but at least he survived by obeying a few rules like stay with the vehicle.

At what distance does that not apply?

3 miles, 5 miles, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50?

Be kinda stupid staying with the vehicle, for 8 days only 3 miles form home wouldn't it?

So eggspurts - how fars too far to walk out?

I seem to recall once, getting bogged in the Pilbara on the road betweenMillstream and Roebourne after crossing the Chichester Range and getting within sight of Pyramid Hill (Pyramid station) after about 5 inches of rain that night when we camped on top of the chichester ranges.

Walked about 30 - 40 miles to the Roubourne Turnoff and got a 4wd from Pt Hedland to come pull us and the fuel tanker truck that was bogged behind us out of the mud!

Now the main roads were wise enough to close the road after the rain - from the Roebourne end - but NOT smart enough to fly a light plane down the road to see how many comming up from the Mt Newman and Millstream areas and were caught out by the unseasonal downpour...........so basically - once the roads closed - no ones comming to get you and it's every man for himself - thanks heaps main roads!

Yeah I coulda stayed with the vehicle and maybe a week later when the main roads people opened the road again maybe help
would have arrived

Or

I coulda taken a supply of water with me and walked for 2 days including the few hours I caught and rode one of the station horses, up to the main road turnoff to Roebourne and got help for everyone else stuck back there on the "closed" road.

Back then there were no sattelites or sat phones or epirbs...for the common man ~ 1975 from memory.

So whats the "stay with the car rule" as far as distances go?

Theres just been 5 inches of rain - puddles of fresh water everywhere - hence why everyone is bogged out....the roads straight - you have a good landmark in Pyramid hill visible from both directions....and I shoulda stayed with the vehicle?

Heck the way o see it - 70Km's is walkwable in 2 days at best 3 at worst - they guy was there 8 days andf mightta died.

Unless he was impaired from walking he shoulda walked home, taking water and food with him.

Heck some a these running marathon people run 70km's a day in training!

I just wonder how much this "always follow the rules" advice might forget the use common sense rule first choice?

Stay with the vehicle at al costs - even when theres a public telephone box 3 miles down the road (or station, settlement, community etc) - yeah sure thing!

Look it won't affect me these days coz I carry sat phones (plural ) and epirbs (plural), but at 70 kms - heck I'd walk out rather than sufffer the embarrassement of being exposed publicly for getting stuck in the first place.

IF the walk out option goes bad - well THEN use the epirb or Sat Phone!

If it;s further than i recon I can walk and run - then yes - use the epirbs and sat phones or do as he did an stay and make camp until help comes...

But really 70km's is kinda borderline for staying IMHO....depeding on the conditions - 44C and no rain OK 70 klicks is a long walk - but high 20s at night and raining?

Sometimes I think the press write this stuff coz theres no real news.

AnswerID: 340051

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:27

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:27
Right on Flywest...

The principal of survival "stay with your vehicle" is a "principle". it is not menat ot be a do or die rule that applies to all circumstance. it is especially important if you are LOST. If you know where help is and you know no one is coming looking for you, then you would be a twit to sit there and wait.. commonsense is fast becoming "uncommon' these days as we all become dependant on our satphones/epirbs, spare 4WD/helicopters etc..
FollowupID: 607663

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:29

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:29
yea ive walked out before
however i knew where i was, knew where the nearest homestead was and knew there was road near there. also knew there was some water on the way if need be

as It turned out no one was at the homestead and no cars came along the road. ended up using the phone (door was open) and there was no problems for my personall saftey once i reached the homestead
FollowupID: 607700

Reply By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:10

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 09:10
Clearly, for every fishing trip he goes on he should have just packed a spare 4WD and/or a spare ehlicopter and a spare engine for his spare 4WD. Funny how it seems these days everyine assumes that if you turn off the buitumen you need to carry EPIRBS and SATPHONES etc.. how much STUFF are you gonna carry on every little fishing trip??? no matter how much STUFf yo take, things can still go wrong.. If he had an EPIRb/SATPHNE etc, who knows, maybe the batteries mght have gone falt as well.. when it all comes down to it it.. no kmatter how well prpepared , how many spares and "extras' you carry.. you can't plan for everything so he clealry knew what he was doing.. stay with the vehicle. make sure he had rpotection from the elements and most importantly water.. he could have lived there indefenitly... people who think you shouldn't leave a bitument road without an Epirb or sat phone should try and 'break away' from this deopendance on modern technology if you want to escape and travel/adventure.. this has been done for over a centruy ebfore we had SATPHONEs.EPIRBS etc.. next well will literally be expaecting everyone to actually carry a spare helicopter FFS...
AnswerID: 340071

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 11:13

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 11:13
But this situation could of been a different story if it was hotter,if there was no water or food available or if he hurt him self.

....if not found, how many days....years was he planing on being stuck there for?

What would of happened if he was not found!

Surprising how something good can go so wrong so quickly.

It seems most people value there lives under $400.00.

If he had died out there it would of read in the media "another outback traveler perishes" and then go into detail of how stupid he was.

So it seems if you carry stuff to get you out of trouble and do everything by the book you get no recognition but you do every thing wrong and survive you become a legend.

AnswerID: 340076

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:18

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:18
The point here is that he did everything right with the circumstances he was presented.. The proof is in the fact that he didn't only survive by the skin of his teath or by luck. it sounds like he actually managed to thrive in his circumstances. He wasn't found clinging to life after doing a series of stupid things.. he knew the priorities of survival and addressed them appropriatley and thrived as a result.. Yes, things would be different IF it was hotter, or IF it was colder or IF it was windier. IF it was different, no doubt, he would have responded differently that is - IF it was different.... What IF he had a SATPHONE, but had dropped it and the antennae broke??? The Experts here would say he was an idiot for not having a spare one of those too??????

How much 'stuff' to get you out of trouble is enough????" The answer is "IT DEPENDS" . You could carry 4 HF Radios, a SATPhone and 4 EPIRBs, then when some spinifex starts a fire under your car burning it to the ground in seconds... apparently, according to the "experts' on this forum you are an idiot because you didn't carry a spare car fully equipped with a replacement everything..... how stupid of you for not foreseeing this and planning for it....
The fact is you can NOT plan for everything. Part of the very reason many of us adventure to the great outdoors is becuase it is an escape, an opportunity to break away from civilisation etc.. no one can expect to allow for every cirsumstance in their trip planning. Everyone needs to apply common sense.. The EGGSPURTS on this forum may have some believe that if you can't afford and EPIRB, then you shouldn't be travelling in Australia... What a load of hogwash.. If you can afford one.. good for you.. if you want one.. go get one.. if it makes you feel warm and fuzzy then thats great for you, but good luck to you if you assume that you don't need to plan for the possibility of being stuck or lost simply becuase you have an EPIRB or a SATPHONE.. They aren't much good if you have had an accident and are unconcious, or they are burnt, or the batteries are dead.. The POINT with these devices is that - they are nothing more than AIDS to survival. In fact not even that.. they don't offer protection from the elements or water, althey offer is a location AID to assist other to find you. None of these devices gurentee survival in ALL circumstances. In fact they don't even GURANTEE to ASSIST you to be located in ALL circumstances... my two cents worth: Be very wary of ANY remote area traveller who claims he/she has all the location aid bells and whistles therefore he is an expert on survival.. the phrase "All the gear and no idea comes to mind"

If it's recognition people want because you drive around Australia with a trailer full of bells and whistles and survival "aids" then, for what it's worth... congratulations.. and, if you never need them - even better for all.. but be very carefull in assuming that because you have the latest and greatest bells and whistles you are "un-touchable". Mother nature / God / Fate/ (who/whatever it is you believe in) has a nasty way of brining those who take the outdoors for granted back to earth.. usually with a resounding thump...
SURIVAL in remote areas is more than carrying an EPIRB or a SATPHONE. For what it's worth. it seems pretty clear that this guy did exactly what he should have done given the circumstances he was presented with.
I wonder, just out of interest, how many people have ever discovered that their all saving - Satphone/EPIRB was U/S. tut tut.. I hope it wasn't in an emergency situaton that you found this out. According to the survival experts that this forum is bringing out of the woodwork - how silly/stupid of you. you should have had even more spares...
- Opinions are like Ar$e H0les.. every one has one..( myself included)... but not everyone wants to see yours/mine. I certainly don't profess to judge someone because they acted differently to me. in the end.. the gy got out not just alive,but fit and healthy.. clealry what he did worked. end of story...
FollowupID: 607679

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:48

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:48
One of those "Aids" to survival may have saved his family a week or or so of worry and grief and later some money in helicopter hire.

Not to mention the time effort and cost of tax payer funded S & R??

FollowupID: 607707

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 14:47

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 14:47
I think he basically did the right thing, told his wife where he was going, Stayed with the vehicle, survived ok.
I do think a simple EPIRB or satphone could have just saved S&R costs and worry.
I think anyone who is heading out on their own should have one or both with them.
Its just basic security i think
Just my thoughts
patrolman
FollowupID: 607712

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 20:58

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 20:58
Coyote I take it you are referring to me as being an "EXPERT"!

Unlike yourself who is trained in high level jungle survival I am just a poor city slicker with little to no survival skills who can afford all the bells and whistles to help me lower the risk of something happening to myself or someone close by.

As John said how much worrying did the people close to him have to endure and what human resources was wasted due to someones stupidity and inconsideration to others.

So a helicopter at $1000.00 per hour would soon pay for a UHF radio, sat phone and an EPIRB.....maybe his brother is smarter then him and give him some gear for Xmas.

People become to blazay with safety in the out back.

Oh thats right if anything happens I blame someone or something else....that will fix everything!

I have very little time for people who have a careless attitude when it comes to safety.

FollowupID: 607774

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 08:42

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 08:42
Nah mate, no one in particular.. just that on this forum the consnesus seems to be if you get lost/ bogged, get stuck, then you are a twit. my point is that even the best prpepared expeditions can have things go wrong.. there area lot of people (not specifically you) or jump in an judge base don the fact that they have travelled around th eblock 2 times or whatever and never needed to 'survive'. the point I'm trying to make is.. yo can do everything right and things stil lgo wrong.. I am frustrated with ALL of the experts coming out of the woodwork pronouncing this guy to be wrong becuase he didn't have a satphone etc..
Nothing personal
FollowupID: 607816

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 14:25

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 14:25
G'day Footy,

I learnt a lot thank you. Certainly a robust discussion on the subject of survival and plenty of food for thought. I guess having all the gear helps but some reminder about common sense is also good -way too easy to forget unless reminded occasionally.

AnswerID: 340101

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:39

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:39
I Guess the media beat up into a "crock dundee" because the guy can catch rainwater and a fishand light a fire - kinda gets up my nose.

You know I reckon the media, sadly wouldn't know a REAL Crock Dundeed type if he bit em on the proverbial.

How rediculous do the media get -Heck - I survided 3 days in my flat on nothing more than a 6 pack of beers and 3 packets of potatoe chips - the guys a national hero - lets enter him on reality TV survivor! :rollseyes:

There are REAL people out there - who work in tourism forestry wildlife and so on who actually are the real deal.

Example of media beat up.

Malcolm Douglas - the crick farmer from Broome was describ4d on National ABC TV (By George Fungus from memory) as "The crocodile hunter".

That year Steve Irwin was born!

His American promoter wife self describes him as "the crocodile hunter" and another Australian Icons reputation eraned over a lifetime is STOLEN - and used by the hollywood promoter / wife to make $ MILLIONS for herself and family and the Australian Media swallow it! :Rollseyes:

The simple fact of stealing Douglasses title should have been sufficient for the Australian media to have shunned Irwin for TV.

I know I've met Malcolm - and trapped fauna with Aussie Wildlife Icon Harry Butler Fished with Buschy & Starlo - and THESE guys are the real deal - not some larger than life show pony that was sold to gullible Yanks!

Why we swallow that media crapola really bugs me!

This guy camps out fishing for 8 days and is now Crocodile Dundee?

I remember now why I prefer the internet to readng papers or watching TV!

Sadly we have to post "media" to the internet!

The internet is for people who can still think for themselves and don't need to be spoonfed their daily propaganda dose by See Eye Ehh owned media magnates, who want to control us and our lives and tell us what to think.

Maybe it should be against Internet protocol to post links to print or TV media?

Pretty soon there will be no real Australians left - we are already a damn minority in our own country.

Promulgating this sorta media beat up sensationalist crapola only re-inforces it IMHO.

The guy went fishing with his dog - got bogged, stayed a week and caught a fish made a fire and dismantled his car coz he didn;t know enough to fix it!

Maybe if he did a tafe course on car maintenance & repairs - he wouldn't have needed to be rescued? Maybe if he did a 4wd course he wouldn't got stuck?

Maybe if he had a sat phone and epirb he'da got rescued the same day and saved a fortune in chopper hire?

Maybe if he hada gos and could read a map he wouldn;t have got lost.

Non of the things he did show him to be a crock dundee type to me...maybe I have higher expectations..

AnswerID: 340111

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:49
Higher expectations than a beat up story from a wet behind the ears newspaper reporter ? That wouldn't be difficult.
FollowupID: 607723

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:57

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:57
"Maybe it should be against Internet protocol to post links to print or TV media? "
That way we'd just read people's own opinions gleaned from their own experiences, what a great idea...NOT.
As the police said, they're glad he's OK. He showed a bit of nouse and was lucky. He made mistakes.
Everyone does. Including all the brand names that you mentioned :))
FollowupID: 607724

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:11

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:11
Yeah ....nice one Footy!!!!
Poor bugger goes fishing, has a few too many, gets bogged, his Mrs had the $hiits because he was fishing and told the cops she didnt know where he was.
Hes says bugger her...Ill stay for a couple of days till I polish off the esky???

NOW because of you! Poor bugger is being made out to be either Crocodile Doodoo or a complete Dill!
FollowupID: 607756

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:14

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:14
Hairy, you're right. It's all my fault !
FollowupID: 607757

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 01:28

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 01:28
[quote]As the police said, they're glad he's OK.[/quote]

I'll bet they are!

I wonder if they still will be, once he finds out they quit looking for him - and files a few complaints of dereliction of duty with internal affairs!

Fair dinkum - the Police of this state are not FIT to be charged with the responsibility of search & rescue.

IF you wanna be found alive - and you have a SAT phone etc 0 the LAST person I'd be calling when your life depends on it is police.

Maybe SES would be the better agency to accept that role and half a them are twits - so whats that say about the Police capability in this area of search & rescue?

Truly - the agencies we have in this area (SES & Police, specifically) having worked with BOTH agencies in these areas worry the heck outta me!

If you are down to the point you are relying on them finding you - then better hope you paid up your life insurance before you headed off, coz your odds would less than 50/50 depending on those two agencies IMHO.

Says a LOT that this guys bro found him when Police couldn't be bothered looking and had given up!

I don't know why our agencies are so full of young bucks these days with no experience or committement (OK a generalisation) but in trut when you see the dregs of society they constantly have to deal with and the scum salary they are paid - who in their right mind with half a brain wold do as the govt is beseeching and "step forward" to serve?

Standards of professionalism have dropped across the board in our public service.

Maybe its the "pay peanuts - get monkeys" cause and effect.

All I know is - I don't rely on police much these days for anything of any importance.

Sad to tar the lot wth the same brush - I've known a LOT of fine officers and workedwith quite a few over the years - any with any brains and who were any good, got out of the force!

Sad indictement really.

FollowupID: 607803

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:29

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:29
This event reminded me that an EPIRB should really be the minimum bit of safety equipment for outback travellers.

So this morning I sent in feedback on the Outback Survival article here "that a reference should be made to "an EPIRB is the minimum recommended for outback survival in an emergency" ".

This afternoon I got an email from Damien saying that it's been done - that's fast !

AnswerID: 340362

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:31

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:31
Mike, excellent. Well done and also Damien.
FollowupID: 607956