Diesel preferences

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:23
ThreadID: 64509 Views:3147 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
Lately I've been using all brands of diesel in the Rodeo (RA) but have found that it definately performs a lot better using the Shell stuff.

Is there really that much difference between them or is it just me.

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:29

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:29
I think you would need some expensive measuring equipment to notice a difference between diesel brands.

I buy 2 tanks a week for my landcruiser and I dont recall any one of them ever feeling any different
AnswerID: 341034

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 12:05

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 12:05
Yes I concur with that. Don't believe the diesel makes a difference however weather conditions and some other factors may do, which off course could lead one into thinking the vehicle suddenly drove better.
FollowupID: 608716

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:07

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:07
"Is there really that much difference between them or is it just me."

It's just you.

refer post 64416, reply 2
AnswerID: 341049

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:19

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:19
When the same tanker delivers to all the servos in the area how is 1 different from the other ?? Additives maybe ?? Doubt it ? that would mean another price increase wouldnt it ? Perhaps Shell stations have put a Fitch in the delivery line and BP have a Hyclone in theirs. Lol. Tailwind perhaps or just a slight lifting of the foot due to the season more likely.
AnswerID: 341050

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:41

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:41
No it's not just you.

For the years I was in Adelaide I found that the Woollies diesel returned worse economy in my 1HZ so I switched to Shell.

When I moved to NQ and later ran a 1HD-FTE I found that the Shell that performed ok in the 1HZ was now making the new engine slightly stutter off idle. It made coordinating clutch/throttle very difficult. A change to Caltex and it disappeared immediately.

Other interesting posts;
http://www.aulro.com/afvb/technical-chatter/27915-who-distributes-best-diesel-fuel.html

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/15792/cetane_value_of_diesel.aspx?ky=%22Engine+Performance%22&p=%2FForum%2FDefault.aspx%3Fs%3D1%26ky%3D%2522Engine%2BPerformance%2522%26pn%3D1

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/32423/Cetane_rating.aspx

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/36568/poor_diesel.aspx

Also search each petroleum co. for their diesel specs, FWIW.
AnswerID: 341053

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:45
Just to add - even though I use Caltex up here it is possible that it comes from Mobil, BP or another. That doesnt matter to me, what does is the diesel coming from the Caltex servo is noticeably better than that coming from the Shell servo.
FollowupID: 608738

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 14:38

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 14:38
I agree with offtrack where we can we buy from Caltex - just seems to perform better

AnswerID: 341061

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:33
I came across this on the No Boundaries site

Site Link

Makes sense to me, hope it does to others as well.

Fuel Tips - Only Buy or fill up your vehicle in the early morning when the ground temperature is still cold. Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground, the denser the fuel, when it gets warmer petrol expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening.... your litre is not exactly a litre. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the petrol, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products play an important role. A 1degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT TIPS IS TO FILL UP WHEN YOUR TANK IS HALF FULL. The reason for this is, the more fuel you have in your tank, the less air occupying its empty space. Petrol evaporates faster than you can imagine. Petroleum storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the petrol and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation.

ANOTHER REMINDER, IF THERE IS A FUEL TRUCK PUMPING INTO THE STORAGE TANKS, WHEN YOU STOP TO BUY, DO NOT FILL UP - most likely the petrol/diesel is being stirred up as the fuel is being delivered, and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.
AnswerID: 341088

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:48

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:48
lol! As if the ground temperature will vary much during one day. That's how a cellar works... there is little temp change over a day.

Over a few hot days... maybe a little rise in temp. The small difference in 70 or 100litres would be very small....

Now LPG...
FollowupID: 608776

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:44

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:44
Ask your Shell outlet who supplies them... you will probably find that all the other outlets are supplied from the same refinery... or storage.
AnswerID: 341091

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:50

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 16:50
This is how dodgy marketing works. Make claims that basically the same product is better because of it's brand name. People make subjective observations and a customer is gained.

I'd love to hear any measureable research to support this.
AnswerID: 341094

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:56

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:56
Nothing subjective about it at all mate.

If you want 'accountable' and measureable research carried out maybe get hold of the ACCC. 'Cause you know they get results...
FollowupID: 608792

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:23

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:23
Yep... subjective i.e. not objective.
FollowupID: 608849

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:27

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:27
Well I can at least inform you that my results were entirely objective.
FollowupID: 608850

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:05

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:05
Caltex/Woolies diesel always smells like it's got paint thinners or something in it.

On a trip through Queensland a couple of years ago, I filled up at Biloela....suddenly the old naturally exasperated 1HZ had a new lease of life. It was really flying up the hills (these things are all relative ok :-) ).
Wasn't just my imagination either, my partner even commented on it.
Next fill it was back to it's usual... err...'unhurried' nature.

Glenn
AnswerID: 341098

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 19:21

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 19:21
Was it at BP "Space" or BP "Orbit" haha funny old place Biloela...lived there in the 80's and still know the lass (lady now) whose dad owned BP Space and the caravan park behind it....and the local bus service!

FollowupID: 608809

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 19:15

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 19:15
BP have a new diesel on the market, Ultimate Diesel it's not available at all their servos yet but if you go into their web site you can get a list of their current sites in each State.

They claim it burns at 10 parts per million whereas their standard diesel is 50 parts per million.

Their petrol Ultimate definitely gets better mileage will be interesting to see how this new diesel performs.

Anyway I'm going to give it a go next time I fill up.
AnswerID: 341124