Three in five Australians against 4WDs on our roads !
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 09:36
Member - Willie , Sydney.
In my wife's Sunday Telegraph (p19) article this morning -
"Four wheel drive vehicles should be banned from city and suburban roads, most motorists say.
Three in five Australians are against 4WDs and SUVs being allowed on our roads for regular driving."
The serial pest Harold Scruby, was also quoted with the usual nonsense.
It's a pity that all 4WDers do not stop buying this rag. Then they might start writing different articles then . Maybe somebody should tell them that the Toyota Hilux was the third biggest selling model in Australia this year and actually top seller in a couple of the months. That's quite a few peed off readers.
Willie
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:21
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:21
You should get out more, Sir Willie.
Go find something to do in the garden or pull something apart in the Bushtracker instead of reading rubbish jn the Sunday paper....LOL
Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:25
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:25
as if this will ever happpen LOL
Follow Up By: robertbruce - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:24
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:24
is happenning in europe, consider the new design requirements for small cars
Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:00
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:00
Robertbruce,
Fair call but is there anywhere to go off road in Europe?? It is a little different to Australia. We have real bush here and real off road situations that do require a 4wd to get you there and back.
Goona
Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:58
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:58
we all know this bleep pops up from time to time.......it is a slow news week. Always is between xmas and new year.
Anyway we don't have a Government smart enough in this country to even come close to implementing a ban like this. Have a cold one put your feet up and have a laugh, or better still go for a drive down George ST
Sydney! LOL
Stefan
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:13
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:13
Actually Im surprised it hasnt already happened ......
We've got and had plenty of ones ... dumb enough to do it ... lolol
Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:14
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:14
Anyone silly enough to read newspapers will be gullible enough to fall for such baseless articles. Although I must admit, nothing worse than trying to negotiate traffic in vicinity of schools as mums in their Toorak Tractors vie for the best positions to impede traffic flows and drop their little darlings off.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:15
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:15
I blame the brickies of the world for this phenomenom.
The buggers use different mortar when they build schools and shopping centre's to what they use in houses.
This special mortar emits a low frequency signal in the exact range that disconnects the female "brain"
I do trust this helps you better understand schools and shopping centre's,
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:32
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:32
Willie .... put that paper where it belongs .... in the bottom of the budgie cage .... lolol
Considering the amount of soccer mums and so
forth out there driving the things .... How on earth did they find 3 in 5 Australians ???????
Obviously the paper sent a reporter to
Canberra where they just polled the staff of that Australasian College of Road Safety mob.
The pathetic joke of the whole situation is that we are paying for these comments to be directed against us. e.g. Taxes / Motoring Group donations / Road Safety ( pfffft ) Grants etc. are how these lot survive - biting the hand that feeds them.
Pretty damn amazing how funding is allocated when you get into it. Mate had a
young family member die in a car accident. Looked into funding / grants to run a
young drivers course or something similiar for his classmates, while the importance of careful driving was fresh in their minds .... no money to do that ... but plenty of of tax money available to run a car themed disco or spraypaint walls with pictures of cars.
Reply By: zacc - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:41
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:41
i heard it was 6 in 10
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:29
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:29
or was it 12 in 20, double numbers look better for the paper
Reply By: escapesilv - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 12:03
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 12:03
Several years back at a fly reunion, my brother in law had the stupid idea of having a go at 4WD's.
Guess what he is driving today???? and thinks its the safest and best car you can drive!!
they all turn around on their unfounded comments.
Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:08
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:08
Well I was just out pulling an inspection plate off the rear of my transfer case to check play on my input shaft.
Had I known about all the people out there who think 4wd's should be banned, I could have pulled my front drive shaft out and turned the old girl into a 2wd.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:04
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:04
Yep, I only drive in 2wd in the city. Transfer lever does the job.
Follow Up By: JandK - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:07
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:07
Hi Motherhen, we also drive a 2wd in the city. We have a 2 door Mistibushi Pajero. We live and work an hour away from the city but luv
camping and the outback. We can not afford 2 cars, soooooo we needed to compromise on an car that suited both the city and outback livestyle along with the budget. How come we didn't get an invterview with the Telegraph?
Follow Up By: JandK - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:54
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:54
ps. my 2 door pajero has the same engine size as a 4 door but is classed as a short wheel base and can also be driven as a 2wd whilst driving on bitumen.
Follow Up By: Cruiser Crazy - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 22:04
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 22:04
My front diff is tit's up.
So, officially, I am a 2wd'er
Do I know belong to the crying 3 of the 5, because I only got 2
wheels pushing me forward?
Reply By: Rusty NE VIC - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:33
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:33
lets hope that they remember that their porsche, passat, audi, teritory.and quite a few others that they may drive are also 4wd
and my old 60 no lockers 1 front wheel and 1 back wheel will drive so its a 2 wheel drive they can jack it up and check
up here its more like 3 in 5 drive a 4wd
keep safe and a happy new year
Rusty
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:08
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:08
Hi Willie
I only go to the city when i have to, but on the rural roads, it is something like four out of five in 4wds. Obviously that paper only asked the question of people in a certain demographic area. I like the budgie cage suggestion.
Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:08
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:08
get out there guys and start winning more votes
we only have another 11% to go
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:33
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:33
Many more than 3 in five Australians don't read the Sunday Telegraph !
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:57
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:57
Obviously this survey wasn't carried out in
Birdsville during the races LOL.
D
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:40
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:40
What does this Pic tell ya ,
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:50
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:50
Gday Doug
As you now there were 6 landcruisers, 1 Hilux, and 2 OKAs on my front lawn on Xmas day.
There would nearly be 2 4wds per adult in
Jabiru.
By the way did you leave a pear of glasses here.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:59
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:59
4 out of every 5 people in
Jabiru are discerning enough to own the ultimate 4wd, a Troopy!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:38
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:38
Hey Doug,
That Pic could of been taken outside our Primary School.
And that would only be the Ladies that help in the Tuck
Shop.
Some people need to get a life.
Can I just add?, I traveled up and down the Pacific H/way this weekend between Byron &
Grafton as we do each Christmas to see the Outlaws. and all 4wd's behaved themselves, it was the idiots in sedans, wagons, sports cars, small utes, all over loaded, that took risks and put others at risk of an accident.
We're not all brain dead morons, that drive 4wd's.
Well done guys.
Just my 2bob's worth.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 21:10
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 21:10
Gday Hairs,
That pic could have been taken in front of my sons school too.....only difference is they have windows in them.
Hahahahahaha
Reply By: lindsay - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 16:27
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 16:27
Also a poll in the Herald Sun today I think. Vote there is slightly ahead for 4 wheelers in cities.
Reply By: JandK - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:06
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:06
We have a 2 door Mistibushi Pajero. We live and work an hour away from the city but luv
camping and the outback. We can not afford 2 cars, soooooo we needed to compromise on an car that suited both the city and outback livestyle along with the budget. How come we didn't get an invterview with the Telegraph?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:00
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:00
You don't support their agenda.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: JandK - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:27
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:27
Hi Geoff, yep you're right. Have a great 2009
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:46
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:46
You too J and K,
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: JandK - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:56
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:56
hi Geoff,
Just had an another look at the photo you have of
Lighthouse Beach. I did a quick web search of
Lighthouse Beach and it says you can take dogs there. We have a small spoilt RSPCA dog that we try to accommodate when we go on holidays. Can you take dogs on
the beach and can you
camp on
the beach.
cheers Kathy
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:12
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:12
Hi Kathy,
As far as I know dogs are Ok but
camping isn't allowed on
the beach.
There are a couple of
camp sites nearby.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: JandK - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:19
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:19
Thanks Geoff, I will research to see whether we can take Boysie, (yeh odd name but it came with the package), to the
camp sites.
Kathy
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 09:54
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 09:54
A similar article appeared in the
Adelaide Sunday Mail.
Unfortunately, some people may believe the drivel that Scruby and his Ilk sprout.
For what it is worth, our "other vehicle" is a Holden Commodore SV6.
In my experience, driving this gives the worst view I have ever experienced. Also, looking through the rear view mirror gives a very limited view. The rear spoiler blocks at least a third of the view, which is already restricted due to the body shape.
Definitely a need for a rear view
camera on these vehicles methinks.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 11:13
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 11:13
Im not a big fan of those white delivery vans but thats life!!!! Michael
Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:00
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:00
3 out of 5 four wheel drives should never be allowed on any road !
Most people who drive 4 wheel drives have no need for them and never use them. We have a few locals here with low profile tyres on their 4 wheel drives. Every afternoon I watch women picking up kids in insane road monsters.
IMHO there should be a simple 4 wheel driving
test before a license to drive one is granted and the same goes for towing any form of trailer.
I have no problem with people who use or need 4 wheel drives I do have a problem with Toorak tractors driven by soccer mums.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:10
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:10
You'd have loved the 3 litre Nissan I saw on Pennant Hills Rd in
Sydney this morning.
Polished to perfection alloy bull bar, the biggest Light Forces made, black in colour polished to perfection without a single scratch and a Safari
Snorkel.
The bit that really set it off was the 24" rims and ultra low profile tyres!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:30
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:30
I rest my case :-) LOL
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:02
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:02
And an air tight case it is too!
;-)
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:13
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:13
That guy is someone that would like one of those black Range Rovers but cant afford one,,, Michael
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 06:48
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 06:48
How can a
SYDNEY newspaper say "3 out of 5 Australians"?
3 out of 5 people in
Sydney AREN'T Australian !!