Rain on Barkly Tablelands

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:20
ThreadID: 64844 Views:4866 Replies:11 FollowUps:23
Hello Folks,

Received these photos of a road train that was travelling the Tablelands Highway recently. Believe this is at Creswell Creek.

Driver was spotted by helicopter pilot who just happened to pass that way, on way back to the station, and was later rescued.

The truck is just visible in the distance, in top photo.

Bet his bunk was wet LOL

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:27

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:27
Great shots - my favourite photo of the area is the complete opposite of that - dry - dry - nothing - two brolgas and us!!
jules
AnswerID: 342821

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:28

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:28
Great shots - my favourite photo of the area is us on the road - nothing but little bushes and dry - dry - dry - and two brolgas
jules
AnswerID: 342823

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:29

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:29
Oops!! sorry doubled up.
jules
FollowupID: 610553

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:41

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:41
Mmmmm, I was due to be travelling that road in a couple of weeks. Already delayed to mid to late Feb due to the need for some minor surgery.
Looks like we may have been delayed anyway. Guess I might as well cool my heals and have the surgery.

Norm C
AnswerID: 342824

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:48

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:48
G'day Norm,

A bit early to be heading north? Seems like they are having a serious "wet" this year. Hope the "minor" surgery goes OK.

FollowupID: 610556

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:55

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:55
Hi Theo,
We always expected to have to watch the weather and road conditions.
Our plan was (and largely still is) to head up as early as we can after the wet and fish the wet season run off for barra.

About 6 weeks now till we can get away, so we'll see how things are then.

Norm C
FollowupID: 610558

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:19

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:19
All the best and I hope the fishing is great - leave a couple for me will you. I'll come and get them in about 2 years - will you still be there?

FollowupID: 610563

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:40

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:40
Will I still be there is 2 years?
Well, no. A bit much of the country left to see for that. But we will be back from time to time as it is a favourite area for fishing.
Current plan would have us elsewhere in 2010, but back up there sometime during 2011.

Norm C

FollowupID: 610566

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:44

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:44
I like my fishing and the comment was a bit tongue in cheeck. Would take very little to convence me to stay a while but the bride has already warned me that our travels will not be just one big fishing trip. What she doesn't know won't hurt her I reckon.

Should be on the road myself around 2010/2011.

Take care and catch you later
FollowupID: 610567

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:35
Beatit I have the same problem when visiting Tassie.LOL
FollowupID: 610664

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:46

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:46
Great photos Bob. I was wondering how many times the driver has done this trip (I know you won't know) in the wet and made it through without any problems. Just goes to show that even the experts can get it wrong when dealing with road conditions and weather. This looks seriously deep.

AnswerID: 342826

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:37

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:37
G'day Beatit,

Yeah, you're right, they are great photos. Wish I taken them, would really have bragging rights.

Don't know anything about the truck or driver, but would suggest that the truck comes from the Isa, and does a weekly to Booraloola, and stations along the h'way.

Someone suggested he pulled it on, then got to the point of no return.......bit hard to back a triple!!!!!!

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 610738

Reply By: nomadoz - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:53

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:53
This is serious floods!!, all trough the 80s 90s I use to virtually lived in that area, but never seen anything like this, use to flood at the Georgina in the days before the bridge, but never west of it in the NT, is it a coincidence? Or just like the Fitzroy in WA

AnswerID: 342828

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:41

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:41
Nomad,

Would have been like this in 1974-6, wet as buggery.

Pretty sure Creswell Ck drains into Brunette Downs, into Corella Lake.
During '74, 25% of Brunette was under water, due to a heavy & extended wet season. Brunette is over 12,000 sq km in area!!!

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 610739

Follow Up By: nomadoz - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:35

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:35
Hi Bob
In that case my theory of the Georgina Bridge contributing to floods in the NT side of the border is unfounded
74- 76 was before my time out there, in the 90 92 we use to have lot of trouble with the Georgina and Inca creek, never had any trouble on the N T side

Joe

FollowupID: 610757

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:15

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:15
Joe,

There would have been a lot of people that spent a lot of uncomfortable days & nights on the road, waiting for Inca Ck to go down, over the years.

At least at the Georgina, everyone could adjourn to the Post Office Hotel to dull the pain of boredom, eh.

FollowupID: 610794

Follow Up By: nomadoz - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:43

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:43
Yes, if you where lucky to be on the right side
Lost count of the number of days & nites I spend on either side of Georgina, Inca. Cloncurry, Boundary Cr. West of Richmond, I miss those days, can never be repeated.

Joe

FollowupID: 610798

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:58

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:58
Bob was he trying to drive through the flood or did he breakdown/get bogged and subsequently caught in the rising waters??

AnswerID: 342829

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:43

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:43
John,

Just think he pulled it on, without checking the depth. Pretty wide by the photo, at least after the event, and if it were too deep, the current may have pushed the tralers off first???

Maybe he was heading home to see the bride....LOL

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 610740

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:22

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:22
G'day Bob

Here is a pic of the Barkly Hwy between Avon Downs and Soudan
Courstesy of DougT and the NT News

My mate, EO Member George (NT) and his missus, are stuck in Boulia with roads closed in all directions. Looks like they are going to be there for a while

PS We only had 249mm for the whole of 2008 here in the Flinders area.

AnswerID: 342832

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:30

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:30
Happy 2009, Willem,

Looks like you've stolen Doug's thunder, with photo, lol.

In "their" wisdom, they've built the new highway up above the old level, to make it flood-proof. Pity someone hadn't told the engineers that the water then needs to go somewhere.

We were working at Avon Downs back in mid-80's when a similar weather event occurred. Flooded the Avon Downs station homestead as it has done this time, but there was not the road damage as much of the old highway still existed. Did damage a huge amount of fencing, which took a big group of young blokes, & a Jetranger helicopter, 3 days to repair.

Don't think road out of Boulia will stay closed long, Willem.Well, to Mt isa anyway.

You certainly wheeled us on the rain front too, Willem. Finished the year with 78.6mm. Already this year we have had 63mm. The Diamantina flood arrived here mid-morning yesterday, and is currently close to our "average" height. This biggest flood since January, 2004, and the best flood since June, 2005.

Best late Christmas present ever!!! Probably means we won't be Winton residents late next week, as planned.

FollowupID: 610736

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:32

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:32
The Barkly Hwy near Avon Downs

3 survive causeway drama

AnswerID: 342834

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:35

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:35
WILLEM....................
What ya doing

FollowupID: 610564

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 19:37
The experts should advertise this photo, might make those idiots stop driving over heavily flooded creeks. There is a double flood way near Eromanga if you get through the first one doesn't mean you get through the next that's around the bend. A bit hard to back a road train in 4 ft water when its rising, specially if the air intake faces down. Amazing flood photos.
FollowupID: 610634

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:50

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:50
Doug,

Thanks for the link. Some good shots of the highway, in a not-so-good way.

Looks like they'll have a weight limit on it now, and much of those destroyed sections will be one-way only.

The change to Port Augusta route will give the Shaws, Hillman & Baskett drivers a change of scenery for a month or more, no doubt.

How's the weather in Adelaide River?

FollowupID: 610741

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:14

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:14
The weather here is just perfect

FollowupID: 610750

Reply By: Mudripper - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 13:12

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 13:12
The truck's new name is 'Titanic'

lol
AnswerID: 342838

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:51

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:51
Good one. LOL

FollowupID: 610742

Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 13:15

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 13:15
Great photos

That's just West of where I broke down last October. Glad I was recovered before the wet started :-)

This was scary enough for me when I was going up the West Coast in '05 (near Tom Price)

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 342839

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:53

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:53
Malcolm,

Not good country to break down in anytime. Even less so when its wet.

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 610745

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:27

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:27
Hi Bob

Not good to breakdown at any time, let alone the outback ;-)

Check my profile for picture on Barkly Tableland ....

Dirt track photo I was towing same van with a '98 V8 Fairlane - never had one problem.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 610754

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:25

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:25
It looks a bit different from 3 weeks ago, when I drove my new OKA back from cairns.

I was originally going to be coming back this week, but as was it ready before Xmas I went then.

Steve.
AnswerID: 342857

Follow Up By: Blackie911 - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:39

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:39
Well it's finallly started raining here in Bedourie , even though we've been cut off from Isa for 3 days already, now Windoorah is cutoff as well. It will be interesting being here in the wet.We are currently working @ the Simpson Desert Oasis Roadhouse for another 3 months as we travel around Oz. So call in & say hi if you're travelling through,when it dries out.
Cheers Blackie
PS so glad we've got the tinnie with us for fishing in the Gulf in April - may need it sooner?!?!?
FollowupID: 610668

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:01

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:01
Steve,

Even the OKA would have needed water wings to pull that water on, eh.

The Tableland h'way is good change from the Stuart, even though I think its a little further. Bit rough up towards Cape Crawford, as I remember.

We went that way a couple of years ago, heading to Cooinda. Good run through there, with not much traffic, in July.

Blackie,

That sandy ridge you're living on is going to shrink a lot over the next few weeks. Probably be standing room only for everyone, at peak flood height. One good thing, there won't be any room for the mozzies to land LOL
Will be a picture afterward, eh?

FollowupID: 610747