moveing map on laptop

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 23:34
ThreadID: 65473 Views:2228 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
G'day all, how do I get moving maps on my old laptop? I have globalsat usb mouse (data logger), mapsourse, maps4oz, shonky, but it only shows google pics. I would like to use real maps like shonky etc. thanks, aussiedingo

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 07:07

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 07:07
You will need a program like OziExplorer on your computer and suitable Raster maps (such as Natmap 1:250000) , Shonky and T4A are Vector maps, and for use with Garmin gps.

OziExplorer
You can buy Ozi here

Natmap

Neil
AnswerID: 346270

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:02

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:02
Firstly you will need a programme that can relate GPS data to a mapping programme, the correct mapping software and a cable to connect your GPS to your laptop.
I have been using OziExplorer for about 4 years, with the Natmap series of maps and works a treat I recently updated to a BU 353 GPS mouse, that works perfectly and like other users here on EO can very highly recommend them. I have found there are time when I need to leave the vehicle and take the hand help GPS, but would like to keep moving maps going. Once you have used a good moving map set up, it gives you so much confidence when you are in very remote places to see just how far you are from your target.

AnswerID: 346274

Follow Up By: toyotabits.com - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:35

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:35
thanks stephen, can you get Oziexplorer & Natmap as freebies? & how do you aquire them, also is there street maps as a navigator available, thanks again, aussiedingo
FollowupID: 614263

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:56

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 08:56
Hi aussiedingo
The down side is that you will have to purchase both OziExplorer and the Natmap Series of maps, both available here from Exploroz.
Once you have used them like I said above, they are worth their weight in gold. You can get a street maps to link with the OziExplorer, I think it is a Gregory Series, I could be wrong. If you are still unsure, get in contact with someone near you and get them to give a demo of their moving maps and you will see why it is a number 1 must have when heading bush.

FollowupID: 614266

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:18

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:18
The HEMA CD maps (4x4 series) all work on OziExplorer, cost about $130 from memory, and come with Auslig 1:250,000 for the whole of Australia as well.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 614358

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 10:36

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 10:36
OziExplorer is downloadable for free, but will have some restrictions, such as the ability to save tracks, routes, waypoints, etc.
Pay about $120 for a licenced version and you will have one of the best products around. (You can upgrade the downloaded and installed "evaluation" product for a full version without reinstallation)

NATMAP Premium 2008 is also available for around $120.
You may be able to download in dividual "freebie" Maps from the NatMap site, but they will be low resolution. A full purchase will give you total coverage of Australia.

Pay the money and get the proper solutions mate.

AnswerID: 346297

Follow Up By: toyotabits.com - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:23
g'day sand man, I have just downloader ozi maps & after unzipping them I can't get them to open, what should I do to open them? thanks
FollowupID: 614384

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 10:55

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 10:55
Hi toyotabits,

From the OziExplorer Web site:-
(These maps are in OziExplorer OZF2 format and include the map file)

How to download and use these maps with OziExplorer

1. Click on the link and "Open" the file to install the files to your computer or "Save" the map in a folder on your hard disk for you to install later.

2. Install the files to your Maps folder, a subfolder of the folder where OziExplorer is installed.

3. After running OziExplorer, click on the Load Button on the toolbar.

4. Select Load Map File from the dropdown menu.

5. Highlight the map file in the dialog and click Open.

Note :
If you have not purchased OziExplorer, you must run the Trial version of OziExplorer, these cannot be used with the Shareware Demo version.

FollowupID: 614518

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 10:38

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 10:38
Download nRoute (free) from Garmin. Worth a try.
AnswerID: 346298

Follow Up By: toyotabits.com - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:21

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:21
thanks dio I already have nRoute on the laptop, how do I sync the laptop to recognise my gps mouse, hranks, dingo
FollowupID: 614383