Bit of bull tish, but I think it's true

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:25
ThreadID: 66116 Views:4280 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
It must have been back in the mid 80’s touring around Europe, Asia and the USA that I came to the conclusion that their restrictive camping would never occur in Australia.

How wrong I was. In fact I think it’s worse given the size of our country.

I hear the regulations are for the betterment of the bush, but in my mind I’m losing access to my country. I was born an Australian over sixty years ago and reckon I’ve put my fair share in.

I look at a map and told I can’t do this or that. I can’t drive there, look at any bloody thing without a permit and corralled into some tourist camp ground

I want to turn off a bush track, drive in for a couple of K’s and have some solitude with Damn Dog. We leave nothing behind apart from her contribution to global warming.

For example, I’ve spoken to many couples visiting Woomera on the way north who asked if there are any camping spots close by. The obvious answer to that is the Lake Hart area but they balk at the isolation.

Makes me wonder sometimes if we’re becoming a cautious bunch of dills and accepting more and more bull tish as a way of life.

Kim

Reply By: robertbruce - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:51
KDD you've got it exactly right ... it seems its about profit and who back yard your in...

native title, the federal fencing grant and the alcoholic/tenting/homeless have probably complicated things for everyone but lands at a premium now and who's backyard your exactly matters now much more than 10years ago...

one thing hasnt changed tho' ...

the later the model vehicle you drive the better the towns toilet paper are....
AnswerID: 349961

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:55

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:55
Yes - Pretty (no make that Ugly) sad!

Many folks are simply too scared about and unfortunately ignorant of how to go about surveying the lie of the land for a good camp. You know the same old "Out of sight, not showing much light in the night to attract the two legged insects and bugs as well as the usual insects and bugs, natural wind barriers, escape route for storms or unwelcome guest appearances" etc and so on!

Born in 1948, which makes me 60 years young, there have been so many experiences of camping out and about. My lovely wife also enjoys the same. Our kids do as well.

It pays to be cautious and observant, but not the paranoid stuff about today!
Cheers - Mobi

AnswerID: 349963

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:00

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:00
Like you most likely do Kim, many of us do just pull off the road a little way, without really knowing exactly whose land we are on, therefore unable to ask permission. We 'leave no trace' other than tyre marks. We stop when we need to - to carry on driving could be dangerous. In most of the places we find, there is evidence that someone has been here before - such as camp fire residue. We have bush camped near Woomera, but i can't say where.

In the 1960's we toured Europe with our parents, and except when needing to stay in towns or cities, we generally 'bush camped'. We did have a few unusual overnight stops.

AnswerID: 349965

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:05

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:05
G/Day Kim

When you think about it, at least at our age we have had the
opportunity to enjoy more Freedom and less restrictions than
the future generations to come, they will have to see it on a screen
or read about it in books ect.

Daza
AnswerID: 349968

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:33

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 22:33
I think Mobi Condo has got it right, don't get too paranoid about all the changes we are seeing.I normally do a fairly big trip (3-4months) every year in N orthern Aus., mainly Norther WA, Northern Territory, and N.Queensland and every year there seems to be more restrictions as to where you can go where you can camp, permits for this permits for that etc. Ican tell you whether right or wrong it has not stopped me from camping "bush" and bypassing all the BS that seems to be trying to control every movement we make when going on holiday in your own country. Thank God Ihave seen most of this country in the "good old days" and can only hope there will be something left to see for my grandkids.Ithink I understand the bush camping scene quite well and have my doubts about the benefits of creating all these so called free camp areas which are riddled with rubbish, stinking toilets,and overcrowded camp sites.Maybe there needs more control but I will continue to travel my way as long as possible.
AnswerID: 349970

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 23:30

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 23:30
Tripping up the centre a couple of times at the start of the 90s we just pulled off into the scrub to camp.

Later trips, it was very hard to find a spot that didn't have a couple of wires fence strung up....

But.... I still find to manage private camp spots here and there.

.... sometimes in the middle of the 'big smoke'!
AnswerID: 349979

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 23:59

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 23:59

A lot of councils are to blame for the rubbish to. The bins are full, most haven't got grates over the to stop the birds scrounging and when they eventually do turn up and empty them, what is on the ground from the overflow stays there.
The thing that annoys me most is the amount of unburied faeces and toilet paper around the place. They cannot even be bothered taking a spade for a walk or using a stick to make a reasonable depression. If the do half of them are not covered over.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 349982

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 06:16

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 06:16
Kim,

The problem as I see it is two fold.

Firstly, I rarely find a campsite that doesn't have rubbish left behind from previous campers. This ranges from cigarette butts and cans to old fridges and broken chairs.

Secondly government (of any flavour) react to this problem in the wrong way. Their solution is to restrict camping areas. What should be happening is some control. We almost never see a Ranger these days.

If Rangers paid regular visits, made their presence felt, took down rego numbers etc people would be far less likely to desecrate the bush.

AnswerID: 349997

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:05

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:05
ditto
FollowupID: 618322

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 12:14

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 12:14
Jim,

You nailed the issue in your comment. Making new laws to prevent lousy behaviour is cheap and it attracts votes. Policing these laws is tedious and expensive, so it's not done.

R.
FollowupID: 618366

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 07:53

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 07:53
G'dy Kim,

Spot on and I also agree with the sentiment expressed here. I have always considered myself a law abiding citizen and would normally go out of my way to obey the rules. However I have, like you, become increasingly concerned by the level of control exercised by various interest groups through the government of the day.

There is no doubt that these rules are aimed at the lowest common denominator but I'm not 100% sure about that either. I only have to look at National Parks where for a fee you might be able to camp so long as you are happy with all the conditions.

I am starting to feel comfortable with the notion of a little civil disobedience.

AnswerID: 350001

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 07:55

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 07:55
Kim. In my limited experience, also include:

Population: increasing, so the % of travellers also increases, ie the % of thoughtless clowns.

Immigrants: They are forced to know about Aussie icons like Bradman, Kelly, Centrelink and Mateship before entering the country, but bring with them their culture, some of them have been brought up amongst mountains of trash and thats the only way they know how to live, [and travel].

Tourists: Probably come through an area once and dont plan to return, someone else can clean up behind them !

Mining companys: That little, out of the way gem of a campsite, you go to a couple of times a year, suddenly is full of pegs and markers, ribbons, sample bags, a couple of dented 44gal drums hit by taggers because the access has been improved.

Government: Far too many people have to justify their jobs. They must sit there day in day out staring at the ceiling, tapping their little pencil on the desk, thinking of ways to pizz off people.
You only have to read some of the idiotic, petty rules and regulations they come up with, the sub-commitees that pass them to ask your self....what were they thinking.

As I say, my experience only.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 350002

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:38

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:38
Gidday Lionel

Don’t get me started on government (I work for a council).

In all fairness there are good things done by committed people, however it’s the philosophy that mucks up the process.

If I ever made a film about government, I’d be hard pressed in deciding if it would be promoted as a comedy or dark drama.

Kim
FollowupID: 618523

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:46

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:46
Kim

Good point.

One sees, reading this forum, how people have been brainwashed over recent years.

I am amazed at the replies on this forum sometimes

You need a permit
It is illegal to remove this or that from your car or fit this or that
The Police will take notice of you
Your insurance will be void

In the days gone by, before IT(Information Technology) was around, there was little problem in doing things and going places.

If you needed to go across private land you called in to the homestead and said G'day and asked the question and most of the time the answer was positive. If you fitted a Bull Light on your bullbat few people took notice. There was no Blame Game

Now the 'Authorities' bombard the internet with Permits, The Law, where you cannot go and what you cannot do. This may be due to a population increase as Lionel has mentioned or diverse ethnic ways of thinking by those who are in control of such things.Or w have to protect you from possible litigation so that everone else around you may feel safe that it wasn't their fault!

Remember the New World Order of the mid 1990's? Government Control of the people. Governments around the world are trying by stealth to control people. Just see how Centrelink operates on a daily basis. We vote for governments in a so called Democracy and they in turn exert power over us in a subliminal way, governing more for themselves than for the population as a whole.

Recent tragic events in Victoria have brought about the report that Governments and their agencies have been arguing for 8 years about installing an Emergency Alarm System to warn the citizens of the land of an impending disaster. Nothing has come of it so far.

I am a law abiding citizen though sometimes I harbour thoughts contrary to that. I go my way staying within the parameters of the law but do not cringe at going places when I feel I want to or doing things which might be perceived by some as illegal. Its a numbers game. The negative chances are slim.

Keep your mind open and disregard the detractors in life.

AnswerID: 350008

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:57

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:57
Hear!!!!!!! Hear!!!!!!! Willem

Worked out the other day we have 60 staff at work looking after 80 workers, all they do is create paperwork to keep their jobs, they pick all the petty things and do jack s*#t about the important issues.
FollowupID: 618329

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 17:30

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 17:30
Kim,

You reflect my sentiments exactly. In a post on another subject, I moaned about the fact that we as Australians were denied access to our country. Quite a few people agreed with me, but I got my head kicked in by a couple of people replying, who believe that a certain group of Australians should possess country that is inaccessible to the majority of us, without some petty bureaucrat issuing a passport.

But Mate, no-one gives a stuff. Look at the services that are available to us travellers. Rest areas are now so limited in size that unless you get in early during the cooler months you risk having to drive on and get accommodated in a caravan park. I only know of a couple of places in the N.T. & S.A. where you can actually bush camp off the Stuart Highway, though S.A. hasn't gone and fenced off the highway totally (yet). I took particular note last year of the fences that are adjacent to the main roads and there is hardly any roadway now where you can drive off into the scrub & stop overnight.

In rest areas the toilet facilities are pretty crappy (no pun intended). Is it hard to provide an adequate supply of toilet paper and clean them. All I can say is thank goodness my van has a loo. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise that during the cooler months down south, we head north. So why can't the facilities and adjacent areas be maintained in a clean and tidy manner. It's too bloody hard and no-one gives a stuff, that's why!

Despite all of this Kim, I'll still go north and west, and I'll continue to go until I wind up in God's waiting room.

I write to the state politician's about the facilities available for travellers and tell them, as I won't accept their crap about how great things are. Sometimes you feel that it's a waste of time, but hey, it keeps some clerks typing skills up to date. Also it gives the bludger's something to think about except their own brilliant political career, well for a few seconds anyway.

I would encourage other members to do the same. Constant pestering gets things done, particularly in an election year.

A good topic that has elicited my interest.

Seeya

Dick
AnswerID: 350102

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) has - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:07

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:07
Dick,
I think maybe your a bit hard...
you say: "So why can't the facilities and adjacent areas be maintained in a clean and tidy manner.
It's too bloody hard and no-one gives a stuff, that's why"

Dick, my question is: who will pay for or 'employ' someone to drive out to this 'free camping area' or some place that's obviously nowhere near any town, to clean up the mess left by fellow travellers, as it would be many, many hundreds of klms away from any town.
Then you have to consider ALL the camping areas in the Kimberley's that would be a full days drive from anywhere.

Maybe some are cleaned once a week or maybe fortnight now, unfortunately if you get there on the day before it's cleaned it will be filthy, but on the day after it's cleaned it will be 'ok'

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 618530

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 07:46

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 07:46
Mainey,

I don't think I am being too hard.

You will find that the main highways are usually patrolled by highway employees on a daily basis, checking on the surface, damage, dangerous stuff that has recently occurred. This happens in NSW anyway, over your way I can't say for certain. If this can be done, why then can't a program of keeping facilities clean and attractive, be implemented. Its not dissecting the theory of relativity.

When we travel, and I mean us old farts, the fortunes of the towns we pass through are quite often increased, and I'm positive that the 'grey nomad' lot are appreciated with relish by business people when the season starts. If they take our dough, why can't there be a reciprocation.

You know all state governments and local councils push tourism. In my opinion nothing buggers this up as much as poor facilities. As an example there are a couple of towns in NSW where people just don't stop, there being no decent toilets or parks to use. They suffer, you only need to pass through them to see this.

In many cased here, local government uses contractors to clean rest areas & the facilities. You know about contracts with govt. organisations. The cheapest submitted wins it.

And...what you pay for is what you get.

But who gives a stuff? Well I do, and I'll harass the powers to be to gain improvements. If we just sit on our bottoms and perform B.O.H.I.C.A. we get zilch.

seeya, mate

Dick
FollowupID: 618654

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) has - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:59

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:59
I've only been in WA since 1997 having lived on the east Coast all my working life, when I arrived here it was on a 'round Aussie holiday'
I've only settled into a normal home 14 months ago.
Over here the distance between towns is 'staggering' to say the least, in some cases almost 1,OOO klms and most are at least 5OO Klms apart.

The rest area's can't be cleaned on less than a weekly basis, and as I said if your there on the following day all is good, if it's at the far end of the cycle then it's filth.

The cost of having a vehicle and staff capable of driving between towns more often would be prohibitive I believe, I don't expect it.

On the East Coast it's possible because the towns are so close together, so dam cosmopolitan and green over there (usually) over here is just red desert or brush on each side of the road for many hundreds on miles (Klms)

I appreciate your sentiments, and I believe they are workable in the eastern States, but could not be a viable proposition over here simply because of the huge distances between the towns.

We have contractors here that remove the 'roadkill' as often as is possible, but even that's done irregularly because of the time restraints and huge distances involved.

Mainey . . .

FollowupID: 618732