Camping near Lark Quarry

Later this year we plan to visit the Lark Quarry and will need to camp in the vicinity for a night. Any suggestions

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:08

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:08
G'day Fred

Went to Lark Quarry last year as part of a 6 week trip. There is no camping allowed at the site and from memory, the lands on either side of the access road from Winton to the site are all private.

This link below gives lots of info

[url=http://www.queenslandholidays.com.au/destinations/outback/things-to-see-and-do/lark-quarry-dinosaur-trackways/index.cfm]

There is a local caravan park at Winton that does trips out and back most days.

Great place - enjoy

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 353064

Reply By: Member - Jeff C (NSW) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:19

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:19
Hi Fred
We visited Lark Quarry last year, very interesting. Came from Boulia via "old cork stock route". Turn off just east of Cawnpore Lookout (great views). If you like secluded bush camping there are some beaut spots all the way to the Diamantina River (Cluffes Bridge) just before the old cork turnoff. Other options are at Winton c/v park or Bladensburg National Park which has a couple of nice spots by the river. Have fun..hope this might assist...Jeff
AnswerID: 353067

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:57

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 14:57
There is a free camp a couple of km's out of town on the road to Lark Quarry.
I can't remember the name but I'll try to find it for you, good access and lots of shady spots.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 353071

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 15:11

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 15:11
It's Long Waterhole 2 km from town

http://www.experiencewinton.com.au/(3qfjsha2tomvgnivrnwgz1na)/Default.aspx

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 621256

Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 15:02

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 15:02
Jeff is right there are plenty of camp spots to be had along the Diamantina near Old Cork as long as you clean up after.

You can go down to the river behind Old Cork Homestead and if my memory serves my right there is even a barbie there.

Photo is of the Diamantina not far from Old Cork.Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 353075

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 23:25

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 23:25
Heaps of rubbish left there in August when we called in. Pretty disgusting the way it had been left.
FollowupID: 621356

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 16:51

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 16:51
What about Opalton - make it a round trip.
AnswerID: 353094

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 17:21

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 17:21
We have stayed in Bladensburg N PK at Bough Shed Hole campground on the banks of a creek. Has pit toilet, a few fireplaces I think too. Had a pop top van at the time. Gound it very quiet almost deserted.

There is also a free camp just out of Winton, or if the road into the quarry isnt fenced, maybe you could pull just off the road but out of view, and camp for the night.
We did that in a few places along the Boulia - Winton road last year. Take care if it rains at all though as the roads quickly become impassable.

Regards Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 353098

Reply By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 19:46

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 19:46
Fred,

About 70kms south of Lark Quarry the Mayne River crosses the Jundah road and there are plenty of good spots to camp there.

Viv
AnswerID: 353123

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 20:18

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 20:18
Fred,
We were there last year, but it was too late in the day to make it to Winton. Camped about 10k north of Lark Quarry in the mulga - out of sight off the road on good flat ground. We were a long way from any homestead.
Like others have said, Bladensburg and Old Cork are good.
AnswerID: 353141

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 23:31

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 23:31
We did that too Phil, towed the Karavans into the bush through the some clearings and only 120m from the road, we wouldn't have been seen by anyone who passed. There were three of us too.

We heard next day that some camp near the air strip, by the Telstra tower a few kms before Lark Quarry. I think there is a dam in there too.

As some have said there are notices by one property owner against camping and the Winton Information Centre will only give information close to town. I understand their position. They were good value and gave specific information if you knew what else to ask.
FollowupID: 621357

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:47

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:47
John,

And a good time was had by all. (Pictures to prove it)

You forgot to mention the old switchback on your tracks so that I lost where you went!!!

Area very flat and we camped about 10 to 15km's from the quarry.

Made it for the first tour at 9.30am or 10.00am.

A very easy start to the day and then onto Old Cork for lunch and 20k's out of Boulia in a creek bed that night.

Gotta find that 3G service eh John.

Also good water at the rest area on the way into Boulia on the right.

All in all fantastic and Lark Quarry is an amasing story.

Unbelievable.....but true!!!

Garth
FollowupID: 621446

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:33

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:33
Hehehe, JohnR and Garth,
Glad that others find it too late in the day to make it to an organised campground :-)) Nothing nicer than a peaceful quiet camp in the mulga. Nice clearing, flat ground, plenty of privacy and a nice fire to cook on.
Of course you "leave no trace" when you leave. We had a great night there.

FollowupID: 621465

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:36

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:36
Ah, Garth. It was a great trek and great company, even though I managed to throw some off my tracks. More friends at Boulia that we were to meet. I agree, that Lark Quarry is an education, especially with Dinosoar Bill as our educator. Jim was amazed I reckon. I wonder if he has provided Sandy with a Next G phone yet? LMAO At least she has a heater.

I am having to make a bigger circle than we had that evening though when they all arrive here. I have heard from another with your surname that is coming. Looking forward to the group here. May be 15-16 Karavans.
FollowupID: 621466

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:54

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:54
Phil, it was planned actually. We went looking down there having been told about the place for NO CAMPING, we thought about others and were told about the area by the phone tower by a guy in a minibus as we drove down.

We wouldn't have left anything anywhere apart from some ashes and cinders buried. Our foot prints were minimal.

I reckon our camp prior to Boulia would be under water at the moment though now as we were in a creek bed there.
FollowupID: 621471

Reply By: Damo1970 - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:51

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:51
We were at Lark Quarry last week. We were staying at the caravan park in Winton so did the 220km round trip.

As others have said there is no specific campgrounds or free camps near the site itself but i suppose it would be easy enough to pull off the road & camp in the scrub.

To follow our travels go to www.marshallsoz2009.com
AnswerID: 353176

Follow Up By: Member - What The(QLD) - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:59

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:59
Fred
We stayed on the air strip close by. I don't know if its used or not arrived after dark left before sunrise. There were about 300 of us on a rally. We bush camped.
FollowupID: 621354

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 08:06

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 08:06
Yep, the airfield is used, airbourne sightseers, flying doc
FollowupID: 621362

Reply By: happytravelers - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:58

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 22:58
Unbelievable, all these replies from people who were there last year. We were there last year as well and I didn't see any of you!!!
Back to your question Fred, we used the caravan park in Winton and just drove out for the day. Well worth stopping in Winton if you have a day to spare, if not as others have suggested, there's plenty of places to just pull off the road for a quick overnighter.
Jon
AnswerID: 353177

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:46

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:46
Last week in our case
FollowupID: 621443

Reply By: Macleod - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 09:36

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 09:36
We were there in 2007 and camped at Carisbrooke Station - it's 35km south of Winton. It took us a little over half an hour (I think) to get to Lark Quarry from there. They've got a website with all their info - here's their directions...35km from Winton on the Boulia Road, then turn left at the Cork Mail Road, (Well signposted) and follow for 50km to Carisbrooke Station.

AnswerID: 353201

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 07:33

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 07:33
I was there last year as well.
I camped at Bladensburg National Park, drove along a 4wd track to Scrammys Lookout, fantastic spot, not a fast track but the view makes up for it when you get there.
Next time I pass through Winton I will camp up there again.
Russ
AnswerID: 353344

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 07:40

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 07:40
Image 15 in my profile.
FollowupID: 621494