End of and Era

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:09
ThreadID: 67202 Views:2458 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
Well I sit here on the floor, no furniture left in our house, ready to move into our temp house(read tambo camper housed in big shed).Tomorow we move the last things out and shut the door.This was our first house, all our kids born and raised here but time for a change.
So our Tambo will be our home here until June then our home on the road for three months.Big decision but I know we are doing the right thing, we will be free to travel our great land and do as we please(well nearly).
Hope to see a few of you guys on the road soon.

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:13

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:13
Good luck Nick and family. One big adventure coming up.

Back to KN?

Drop in for a cuppa on the way past one day.

AnswerID: 356191

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:44

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:44
Keen to head up north again but at this stage im not sure what we will do.But we will see alot more of our great country.
I keep an eye out on jobs in Kununurra everyday waiting for the perfect job to come along(with all the perks....)
Thanks Nick
FollowupID: 624207

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:16

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:16
I wish I had the courage to do just that Nick , but I keep saying "just need a few more dollars"

On the other had I left Tassie 50 years ago , so if you need a place to camp in Melbourne and surrounds just say so.

AnswerID: 356193

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:48

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:48
We have been saying we would do this for a few years now and finally thought"enough is enough" so here we are.Life is to short to wonder.
Thanks for the offer.
Nick
FollowupID: 624209

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:30

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:30
Nick, don't think of it as the end of an era, but rather the beginning of the next one.
Good luck and keep us all posted .
AnswerID: 356199

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:50

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:50
True , so true.This is our next big step.
Thanks Nick
FollowupID: 624210

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:53

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 21:53
Nick , I can remember the feeling when both Jodie and myself, closed the door on our storage shed for the last time after getting the last bits of camping gear out before we left for our journey 2 days later. You will have a ball, good luck and safe travels when you finally leave.
AnswerID: 356206

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 22:01

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 22:01
I know that feeling, we packed up and left for Kununurra a few years ago and recall quite well shutting our front door for "who knows how long".
Carnt wait until June, camping out beside a river somewhere isolated with galahs and corellas screeching in the trees above, that is living.
FollowupID: 624212

Reply By: PradOz - Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 22:26

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2009 at 22:26
The end of an era and the beginning of a new one. I am sure your new adventure will have as many or more happy memories in time to come. Go for it and have a great time...
AnswerID: 356211

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:06

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:06
Will do .
Thanks Nick
FollowupID: 624391

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 06:56

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 06:56
That's one small step into the van and one giant step into the future for Nick. Best wishes for a successful mission :-)

AnswerID: 356233

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:07

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:07
Cheers Nick
FollowupID: 624392

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 08:53

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 08:53
Hi Nick,

Good on you!!! We did the exact same thing last November, it wasn't our first home, it was our second home, however we built it, choose the paint, tiles, carpet ect ect - I do believe there is a grieving process (I went through it) however this is a NEW chapter in your lives it truly is exciting.

We have absolutely NO regrets (I do wonder what they have done to the house........ it was only 5yrs old and they had SO many radical plans for it...... but I just have to detach myself from it all).

We hop on the Spirit of Tassie on the 3rd of May - can't wait to experience Tasmania!!!! in just 4 mths we have seen so many places and experienced so much. It does take a little while to adjust to living in a caravan/trailer however once you get past that its all good.

Would love to catch up on the road sometime.

Caroline, Matt and the girls
AnswerID: 356259

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:09

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:09
Gday guys, glad everything is going good ' on the road'.3rd of May, about a month before wwe head off so if your passing through Chudleigh, call into Moto Mechanical workshop and say gday.
Cheers Nick
FollowupID: 624394

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:29

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:29

Sure Nick, will be good to met you.

Matt Caz And kids
FollowupID: 624554

Reply By: Member - Bushpig - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:42

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:42
Hi Nick
We have now exchanged contracts and settlement on our house will be 15th June. So now counting down the days. Like you we are a little scared about locking the door and walking away. We pick up our van on the 1st July so we will be homeless for 3 weeks. Still trying to con sister-in-law in Sydney into some free accom. I will leave the the other half and pooch there and I will fly to Hervey Bay to pick up van and then come back for them. Just realised this is a great opporntunity to escape!!! No can't do that!! See you all on the road in July.
Cheers jack (and Linda)
AnswerID: 356296

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:11

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:11
Well this time tomorow we should have settled and be free....
Be glad when its done and dusted.
Nick
FollowupID: 624397

Reply By: Luke SA - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:47

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:47
Good onya Nick

I wish I was at that stage of my life, being able to go away when ever and where ever, with nothing stopping you. Living week by week on the road.

Best wishes

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 356454

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 16:46

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 16:46
Thanks Mate
Nick
FollowupID: 624647