How old are forum members and visitors??

Submitted: Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:25
ThreadID: 69285 Views:5413 Replies:78 FollowUps:27
Reading a lot of forum and blog posts there seems to be a huge variety in members ages.

I am 28 and my wife is 26 and love getting out there in the bush away from the city. Things will be slowing down in the next few months with a baby on the way but as soon as it seems ok will be back out as much as possible.

The older members have the experience and the younger ones need the experience, where as the younger ones have the experience with the www and the older ones need it lol.

As the topic says how old are you??

Happy birthday to Pesty, Ozrover and Charlie.

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:28

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:28
I can't believe that I'm as old as the bloke in my bathroom mirror.

But dammitall, my son is your age!
AnswerID: 367266

Reply By: perthburts - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:29

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:29
mE = 44
SWMBO = 40
Eldest child = 12
Next = 10
Next = 8
Next = 6
Dog = 4

An'even' year for us in an 'uneven' 2009
AnswerID: 367267

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:37

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:37
Well Im 68 on Sunday and have been using computers since my son was 3 and hes 25 in a few months so I guess I might beat you.
Started on a Sinclair then a Commodore Then an Atari 600,800 1040 then a PC DX4. Used any of these ?????
Have built upgrade units for several of them and chipped Playstations till I could do it blindfold
Had several drives and software that could copy nearly everything.
Have spent several years doing hardware fixes for a friend who had a PC consultant business.
Do I need any more qualifications ???????? to use the net.

As we say sometimes Hire a young one while they know everything.

ROFL
AnswerID: 367270

Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:13

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:13
hi graham.what do you do in your sprare time. regards perdo
FollowupID: 634989

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:50

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:50
Ahh memory lane. DEC PDP-11 with magnetic core memory....
FollowupID: 635000

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:29

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:29
To Twintrail
Mostly all in the past
Am now on extended holiday and about to invade WA

FollowupID: 635004

Follow Up By: Member - steveinoz (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:11

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:11
Like Graham H I am 72 and have been computer wise for the past thirty years.
I do not consider my age as old But just a bi older than I was last year. Cheers...

FollowupID: 635075

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:36
Mr B, do you want a few 11/83 or 11/84's as you can only use so many boat anchors!
FollowupID: 635148

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 08:04

Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 08:04
LOL, Paul. All ancient history now. Can show you where an 11/83 met a watery end in Moreton Bay ;-)

FWIW, my first programming effort was on paper tape... Now THAT shows one's age ;-(
FollowupID: 635449

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 17:09

Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 17:09
Up until 12 months ago these things (PDP11 series) were used to communicate and co-ordinate the traffic lights here in Mexico,thats probably why they were always up the chite!!! but time and too many sets of lights meant they couldn't keep up and crashed more than they ran.you can only restart them so many times in a day before that becomes a nightmare.
FollowupID: 635518

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 02, 2009 at 07:51

Tuesday, Jun 02, 2009 at 07:51
That doesn't surprise me. Most of those type of apps were probably written in Cobol and would cost a fortune to update.

Speaking of old tech still in operation, did you know that the space shuttle's computers were built on a 186 processor? There was a world wide hunt on a few years ago to find spares to keep the thing flying...
FollowupID: 635638

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 02, 2009 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jun 02, 2009 at 18:59
No i didn't know that,mmmmm i think you would be better off with a 186 at the helm rather than a 386 ggrrrrrr!
FollowupID: 635705

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:38

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:38
Luke,

we've only been members for a couple of years. Me recently 44, Missus: 33. Son: 2.5. Giddy-Up!

Travelled Oz in 2002 with a mortgage and a car loan, and did the "lap" in 6 months on a budget of $500 a week. Came in $600 over budget simply because we forgot council rate payment!

Looking at doing it again soon, but now the budget has doubled! Missus hasn't worked since Oct 2005.

Cheers, Matt
AnswerID: 367271

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:16

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:16
Myself 25, missus 27. I have a son who just turned 7 2 weeks ago. Very young when he was born yes, but dont regret it. If it wasnt for the birth of that boy i wouldnt be here today. He loves everything i do, camping, fishing and just generally being out in the bush. He isnt in my care though, still with his mum, too young to leave the nest still. I love this forum because of the older members. Wisdom and experience, just cant beat it. You really could learn you everything on here i reckon. Its easier then asking the old man for some advice.
And safer half the time, dont get treated like an idiot. I hope i can pass on what i learn here to my son and his mates when there older.
AnswerID: 367274

Reply By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:18

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:18
G'day Luke,

I've been a member for about 7 hours ...... but I've been here hanging around for quite a few years.

I'm 47,the cook is 42 and my kids are 12 and 13.

Old enough to have some experience..... but young enough I've actually got a bit of a clue about the www ;-)

AnswerID: 367275

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:29

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:29
Hi Luke

Me 62 wife alittle younger

2 daughters 39 and 35

2 grandkids 9 and 7

thought you might get a bite on the web thing lol

we have always loved getting out and about.

have had tents camper trailers caravans and enjoyed each one of them.
Last year we bought a 2000 A'Van sportliner just right for 2 and we love it
see profile

all the best
AnswerID: 367279

Reply By: Member - Troy and Kate - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:32

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:32
G'day Luke,

Me, 36,
Wife, 36,
1st, 12,
2nd, 10,
3rd, 7.

Have just started the big trip around oz, for about 12 months or more,
have picked up a lot of good advice on the forum's and will continue to gain more experience on the way around.

Happy days,
Troy
AnswerID: 367280

Reply By: andson - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:33

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:33
Hi Luke,

My husband and I are 28 love travelling in the van, recently did (what we call a big trip) across to the east coast only restrictions are family business and work. This website is great helped us alot and the advice and feedback is fantastic.

Mrs Andson
AnswerID: 367281

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:45

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:45
51 in a few weeks

AnswerID: 367282

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 00:14

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 00:14
Hi Luke I'm sixty at last. Navigator not there yet. Techie son 23. Cheers. JB.
AnswerID: 367286

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 03:32

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 03:32
Seventy this year (I want to spell it as it doesn't seem to hurt as much as showing it in numerals) and 62 for the cook.

Both still active and we've both enjoyed a great skiing season in Switzerland this year - we've been living here for the last 2 years but returning to Godzone in July.

On our return I plan to build a campING trailer and get back out where we enjoyed many years before leaving for overseas. That includes the CSR, GRR, WA NPs, Lawn Hill, Innamincka, and a host of other great places.

Modestly computer literate and when I have troubles I get help from the 10 year old upstairs.

Enjoy what's ahead of you Luke, it's a great country and a great life.

DB

AnswerID: 367290

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 03:35

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 03:35
Sheet, am I in trouble now.

The cook is 61, not 62.

H-e-l-p.

FollowupID: 634992

Reply By: Member - Steven C (VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 04:18

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 04:18
I'm 43, (still feel like 23 on the inside),
The Wife is little bit older (Cougar),
1st boy, 14 (with an 18 yr old attitude),
2nd boy, 12
3rd boy 10,(with a 12 yr old attitude, don't know where he gets it from??),
and the little girl (9) :)
AnswerID: 367291

Reply By: didiaust - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:30

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:30
I tell people who ask me that I aged between menopause and death

Di
AnswerID: 367294

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:37

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:37
I'm 43, I feel a little bit younger than that :)
Fysh is 40 next month, HEHE,
Been copping crap for the last three years, well it's her turn Now, lol ;))
Daughter one, 10 1/2
Daughter two, nearly 9
And the young fella just turned 7 last month.

Fysh convinced me about ten years ago that I was older than what I actually was.
It wasn't until I opened a card from her sister that read " Happy 32nd birthday'
I was lead to believe I was turning 33.
We never question SWMBO, do we?

AnswerID: 367297

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:45

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:45
Some have mentioned about Computers,
First computer as such was an old 586.
I quickly screwed that, LOL
Next was a Compaq Presario Slimline. 20G HD, 256 RAM, Windows ME.
Didn't that little baby earn it's keep?
A very good mate, helped build my next computer which I still use now. Nothing to flash, I've just learnt to keep all the crap off it these days. :)
I find there like a tradesman's tools.
Being a Carpenter, it's a tool. Don't be frighten of it, use it to your advantage.
And above all, don't be frighten to ask.
If you don't ask, you'll never know. :)

FollowupID: 635116

Reply By: toyocrusa - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:46

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 06:46
Hi Luke.Live in NSW. I'm 62,Wife 64. Coming up for 42 years married. Daughter 41. Son passed on(would be 40 soon) Grandaughter 14. Twin grandsons 13. Since 1972 we have done interstate trips to Qld,Vic,Tas and WA quite a few times and have done one full lap of OZ when the kids were 12 and 13. We have had many great experiences and met some fantastic people. I have only been using computers for about 10 years and have figured out that you have to be a "computer" to use the computer.Nonetheless I keep trying. Enjoy your new baby when it comes cause before you know it they are teenagers. Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 367298

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:08

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:08
63 and 62 and cramming it in while we can..........so much to do and so little time.
Only get one go at this!

AnswerID: 367302

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:04

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:04
Peter & Margaret - Hows the trip to the Cape going? :-)

Wife is 51 and I am 50. Off out West this weekend to the Mitchell River somewhere. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 635095

Reply By: Member - Stephen B (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:30

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:30
Me 46 next month
Minister 48
daughter 15

All of us love to get out and about as much as possible.
AnswerID: 367307

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:30

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:30
Me 63 next month, her 60. Not long sold our tent trailer becaause I'm getting "soft".

Expect to take delivery of our small off road caravan next week to keep travelling/exploring.

Sons are 35 and 33.

AnswerID: 367308

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:36

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:36
Hi Luke

Enjoy your baby, they bring fantastic happiness to your life and also plenty of worrying times also, but the happiness outways this.

Me - 52 going on 35 and learning everyday
Wife - 48 and performing like 28
Daughter 1 - 30
Daughter 2 - 26
Daughter 3 - 20
Grand daughter - 9
Grandson 1 - 6 1/2
Grandson 2 - 4 1/2
Boss of the house - Red - Red Cattle Dog 16 years
Most troublesome child - Hank - 12 week blue cattle dog

Only been able to do many short trips away camping and treking the east coast and highlands areas and tassie. My business takes up so much of my time, employing people and paying taxes to the government plus our house in Phuket and travel there.
Saw more of Australia from a boat than actually explored to date.
Had many camping trailers and 4wd's over the last 25 years and many enjoyable camping trips on Stradbroke, Moreton and Fraser Islands with the kids and friends.
Currently building my own tandem off road camper / caravan combination getting ready for that long planned trip and exploration of our great land.

I learn so much from this site and all of the experience that comes to us. Everyday when I read the forum about the inland, cape and west coast trips and the people who have done them and or doing them, my mouth waters and I loose concerntration and start dreaming and think "lucky buggers" but with all things going to plan, that will be us next year.

Can run a computer ok, self taught and trying learning the navigation stuff with all the gadgets I have bought.
Maybe this is why everyone calls me the gadget man, but I am sure I am not alone when reading some of the threads on this forum.

Good luck and health to you and your family and everyone out there and happy travels.

Me and my family

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 367309

Reply By: stevesub - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:48

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:48
Both of us are not far of the big 60 and semi-retired. The memory is starting to go, the body is slower and larger than it used to be but it does not stop us. We had a saying a couple of years ago "Don't follow us, we don't know where we are going - and we don't care"

My latest one is "So many beds, not enough nights". This is because we spend at least 6 months of the year anywhere but home. Luckily I can work anywhere NextG works like right now. Home, we love it and for whatever reason, we never spend enough time there, we are too busy living and working on the road.

Computers, yes, been using them since 1978 so I know a tad more about them than the average punter. I am my own IT fix it man now, especially as we have 3 Windows laptops, 1 mac laptop and 1 mac desktop.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 367312

Reply By: Member - KC (TAS) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:49

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:49
Me I'm only 36................ and 240 months...swmbo is 55..number one daughter is 38, the other 5 vary in age....computers ... need I say more. Mind you, there are a lot on here with "the knowledge". I spend a lot of time in the archives and the answers are in there, and some other stuff.
AnswerID: 367313

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:51

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:51
Wrong side of 50..

Grandaughter turns 1 next week ;-))
AnswerID: 367314

Reply By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:00

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:00
I am 57. Wife passed away a few years ago.
Daughter 1 is 31
Son is 29
Daughter 2 is 26
Grandson is 3 months and 9 days

I have been travelling the past 5 years mainly swagging it. Tomorrow morning I am heading to the Kimberley.

I built my first computer a long time ago from a kit. It was called a Microace. A bit similar to the Sinclair. It had 1kb memory which I upgraded at huge expense to 2kb. After that I had a Microbee. After a succession of pc's I now have a HP pavilion dv5 laptop. I did a lot of programming in Basic with my first computers but I only have a vague idea of how the latest one works.

AnswerID: 367317

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:01

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:01
21................in my dreams . My daughter is over 30, son is 28. I'm old enough to know better and young enough to do it again :)))
AnswerID: 367318

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:08

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:08
Im a couple of days over 37, Misses is 30(I think), two boys 11 and 9 and our newest addition, our little girl 4mths.
We're been camping/touring since we got married and travelled extensively on the mainland.Packing ATM to head off for three months, leave in 7 days....yeehaa.
AnswerID: 367319

Reply By: Member - Fred G NSW - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:12

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:12
G'day Luke. I have a son called Luke. He and his twin brother Adam are 21. From there on the kids ages are 36, 38, & 40. 7 grandkids amongst them.

I am 61 and SWMBO is 59. I actually dont' look anything like the bloke I occasionally see in the mirror :-) We avoid eye contact for obvious reasons.

We are currently on the road and wll arrive In Alice Springs today. It's 53 years since I was last there.

Fred & Christine.
AnswerID: 367320

Reply By: toyotabits - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:24

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:24
G'day Luke, what an interesting topic! So many people fessing up!
I am 68,
no 1 son 45
no 1 daughter 43
no 2 son 19
no 1 grandson 16
no 1 granddaughter 12
no 2 granddaughter 12
no 3 granddaughter 3
no 1 best friend 14 (98 dog years) doberman
no 2 best friend 6 months doberman

I have flown myself over most of Oz for a lot of years as well as camping/caravanning. Now fitting out an Arkana 75 series 1HZ turbo as a camper & in 6 - 8 weeks doing a large circuit around Lake Ayre for 2 weeks, work gets in the way most of the time, Birdsville last races, do lotsa weekend trips, Burrendowan Picnic races a couple of weeks ago, still water ski a lot, self taught computers, built a couple for myself over the years, did a lot of pig shooting years ago, I spent a week in Moree hospital after collecting a bullet myself! Raced cars & a gokart into my 60's, Still enjoying every minute.

MY LIFE IS LIKE A ROLL OF TOILET PAPER - SHURE GOING VERY QUICKLY TOWARD THE END!!

Regards, aussiedingo
AnswerID: 367324

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:26

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:26
I'm 69 this year. Director of Home Affairs is 66. Married 44 years come D Day (6th June)

Sold our camper trailer in 2005 and bought an Off Road so we could take on life as volunteers in remote locations. Still paint houses for a buzz but only inside if possible.

First computer was an Apple IIe. How many have even heard of it. Currently changing from Microsoft to Mac. Got my grounding on an "in house" system using Olivette hardware and built on BOS. Ran an entire distribution business in 1988 using a 186 with 10mb memory. Backup was on old four and a half floppys. Thought we were in heaven when we upgraded to 386.

Great to see so many of the younger generations getting out and about so early. We left it too late so we are having to play catch up with the years.

Kevin J

AnswerID: 367326

Follow Up By: toyotabits - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:34

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:34
G'day Kevin, is your car the white patrol I was beside earlier in the week with an EO wheel cover? KN'K SWIMBO driving?.... dingo
FollowupID: 635005

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:55

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:55
White LC but no wheel cover. Just EO sticker on back window....Kevin J
FollowupID: 635007

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:26

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:26
Hi Luke

Caz - was born in 1969 so has issues with 2009.............
Matt - 37yrs
Daughter No: 1 9yrs in August
Daughter No: 2 7yrs going on 37yrs........
AnswerID: 367327

Reply By: Amy G - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:33

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:33
Hi everyone, I am a bit of a newbie around this forum... I am 26 and my lovely bf is the big 30 ;)
AnswerID: 367329

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:35

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:35
G'day Luke,

I am 44

wife is 41

Daughter 15

Son 13

Daughter 11

4 weeks to the day before we leave, we have 8 magnificent weeks up in the Kimberley region.

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 367331

Reply By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:39

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:39
G'day Luke.

I'm 62 and SWMBO is ... (well, a gentleman never reveals a lady's age) :-)

The 'kids' are 36 and 33 and the grandkids are 5 (going on 25), 3, and 8 weeks.

Reading the replies here, I'm actually quite surprised that the forum members have a large 'young' component and are not all old pharts like us. Very encouraging for the survival of the ExplorOz species.

Computers? I got my first Apple ][ in 1979. 48KB of RAM (that's KILObytes, not Megabytes), a cassette drive and monochrome monitor for the grand total of around $2400. I got hooked on them and it's all been downhill from there as it started me off on a new career path. At last count there were 9 PCs in the house so I figure that I can probably find my way around the www, thanks Luke. :-)

As SWMBO has decided that she wants a few more home comforts 'on the road', we're looking at upgrading our camper to a small dirt road van.

AnswerID: 367332

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:40

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:40
I cracked 32 today,

The boss lady is 30,

Eldest Daughter is 5

Youngest Daughter is 2

AnswerID: 367333

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:02

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:02
G'day Luke.

Me 44.
Wife 22. Oops, I mean 42
Daughter nearly 18
Son 14

We don't get away much either as our kids are very involved with sport. Son has football training 3 nights a week, games some Friday nights and every Saturday. Daughter is a gun netballer. She wants to go to a metro based club next year. We need more days in the week. Haven't used our boat since February.

Louie
AnswerID: 367341

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:07

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:07
I am 27
Wife is 26
Bub is nearly born
Dog is nearly 5 years
AnswerID: 367342

Reply By: Nic I - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:32

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:32
Me: Two score and thirteen - looks good written that way.

My Beloved: a few years less, but looks far younger.

Garden: Old and demanding.

Cats: Three, 2yo - lazy.

IT: That's my job. Sick of looking at screens, so no computers on weekends.

AnswerID: 367349

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:36

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:36
Hi Luke,
I am 58 - often must be invisible since hair turned from black to grey, or appear deaf as young sales people speak very loudly to me!!!

Husband is 60, eldest daughter nearly 34, son 32 and twin daughters 26. Grandson 16 months and another one just cooking.

Previously high school teachers and forced to be computer and internet savvy early in the 90's - sometimes have to give our girls information re using both these days! Not into the technical stuff though and pay a young ex student who now has his own computer business when I need assistance.

Currently sitting in van park for up to 7 weeks near Geraldton waiting on our Navara to be back on the road. Needs a part from Spain but still under warranty. Wondering whether Nissan orders are sent via www or pigeon! LOL

Left our home on the south coast NSW mid March, crossed the Nullarbor in April and visited parts of the SW of WA , started up the coast North of Perth and were due home in late August ...not sure now how much further we will get before heading back east!

We Love travelling this great country and exploring the places away from the cities, walking in National Parks, hubby is a keen fisherman. Life seems so much more enjoyable when days and holidays arent interrupted by work.

Our 'kids' are friends rather than aliens these days and becoming a grandparent has to be one of the most enjoyable experiences in my life.

Wishing you well with the baby and your travels.

This is a great site and has been very helpful to us in so many ways since I became a member in January after lurking around as a visitor for some months before then.

Cheers heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 367350

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:53

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 09:53
G'day Luke

Me, i am 49
Missus 49 also
Son, 1 is 31 in August
Son, 2 that would be you...lol....29 in august also
Son, 3 is 27 in about a weeks time
Son. 4 is 25 in November
G/daughter, 1 is 6
G/daughter, 2 is 5
G/daughter, 3 is 4
G/daughter, 4 is 1
G/daughter, 5 is almost 1
G/son, 6 is also almost 1
and G/kid??, 7 is due in July...umm that would be your first child...

We travel as often as we can, not as much as we used to and we would like to...big trip coming up in July, about 6 - 8 wks up the Cape....cant wait!!

Oh and computers, well i know enough to get me by...and that will do me...

AnswerID: 367355

Reply By: westskip - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:13

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:13
Hi Luke
Me 69 this year
SWMBO 66
Son 1 42
Son 2 40
Daughter 1 38
Daughter 2 34
Grandchildren (7) 10yo to 1 yo
Since 1991 lots of trips up west coast. 2006 Perth-Darwin-Adelaiide-Perth (5 months) ,2008 the big lap and next year back on the big lap to visit some of the places we missed. Son1 and family now living in Darwin so we need to travel there at least once a year.
AnswerID: 367359

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:27

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:27
G'day Luke,

Me 34
Wife 30
Son is almost 5
Daughter almost 2 "dads little princess"
No.3 is due in 6 weeks, cant wait!!

Taking kids bush can be pretty testing at times but at the same time very rewarding. The look on my kids faces is "priceless" when they see new things for the first time like Kangaroos, wombats, dingo's etc. They love looking back over photo's of where they have been already, we make books from every trip for my sons show and tell at school, he proudly gets up and holds the entire class in his hand. My kids so far are pretty well traveled and start jumping out of there skins when they see dad's truck getting packed up...They love it!

Good luck with the new arrival hope all go's well.

AnswerID: 367360

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:43

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:43
Hi Luke....both my wife and I are in our mid to late fifties.....sounds old to some....maybe.... but we still feel young on the inside...LOL.

The outside plays up occasionally.... : )

AnswerID: 367362

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:06

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:06
Gee, I must be in the middle somewhere, I'm an Australia Day Baby, born in 1957, that's half way through last century.. That makes me 52 and my wife is under 40, so she keeps me young.. two boys Paul 14 and Adam 12 and the Patrol coming up to 6 yo.. So they reckon you are only as young as ,, anyway, we wont go there!!!! Hope to see some of you old codgers and the younger ones around the tracks sometime!!! LOL!! Michael

AnswerID: 367366

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:22

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:22
64 and 68 for us so we are getting out and seeing what we can before we run out of puff. Troopy is 21 but having recently had a complete heart transplant is rearing to go!

Computers - we have had multiple computers in the house since late 70s, and John was using them at work before that. But there is always new stuff to learn and sometimes it gets a bit challenging. Our grandkids use them like we used a telephone - part of life.

Its wonderful to see how many younger ones are both on this forum and also travelling around.

AnswerID: 367370

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:34

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:34
Live life like there is no tomorrow, age is only a statistic!

My stat is 49....
AnswerID: 367371

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:40

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:40
Well looks like we are the grand father & grandmother of the group 81 & 84 this year.
Hope to have a few more years of exploring yet, but health problems are starting to catch up.
AnswerID: 367372

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:09

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:09
I should have added we started exploring / camping in 1954 . Seen most of Aus but now not so adventurous .
Lots of good memories, some exciting,wife may say frightening times, but always got ourselves out of any problems.
Experiences many & varied, most good, some we could have done without .
1st 4wd in 1966, shorty LC, 1st REAL adventure in it , 1st trip to Cape York in 1968.
16week trip around Aus in 1970[18,600miles] & the story continued up to today.
They were the days when country people [property owners]welcomed strangers because the idiots had not started to travel & cause trouble & making demands.
These days unless you are known it is not the same reception. Some of the easiest going , generous people I have ever met have now closed their properties to strangers.
In all those years we have never called for help from any property owner & that was what impressed many of them. We always asked permission to explore & to camp & were never refused.
FollowupID: 635045

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:18

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:18
Turning 35 this year and the husband is 37. The brain thinks it is way younger than my true age..
AnswerID: 367380

Reply By: LeanneW - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:00

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:00
Hi Luke,

I'm 33, and my husband is 36. We have a 4yo daughter.

Leanne
AnswerID: 367386

Reply By: tim_c - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:29

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:29
Hi Luke, I'm 29 (still hanging onto that for another couple of months!) and Mrs is similar age. No little 'uns so far... (just married last July).

I'd suspected that many on this forum were retired, but it seems that so many aren't. It's great to hear from so many who are out and about travelling with their families - that's what I'd like to do.
AnswerID: 367389

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:43

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 13:43
OK I'll fess up - done this once or twice before. There are a whole lot of new names here. I'm 54 and the bride is 52 we have two sons 30 and 28. Seriously got into the outdoor life when we moved to Brisbane in 1989. Boats and 4WDing have been part of this lifestyle change. Moving to Caravaning now but still have the camper trailer for a couple of trips - one planned next year to the Cape (again by popular demand!).

I have to use computers but hate the bluddy things, I'm good at most things but take my time which seems to annoy others.

I have less than 2 years till retirement and some serious travel - hope to catch some members then.

AnswerID: 367394

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 14:38

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 14:38
Me 59
AnswerID: 367401

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:10

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:10
Gday Luke,
I'm 52, my wife is about the same!
3 daughters: 28, 27, 24
1 son who's 25.
1 granddaughter 11 months old, and hope to have plenty more!

One daughter is interested in bush travel and owns an 80series.
I organised my first outback trip when I was 21, and been doing it on and off ever since.
AnswerID: 367406

Reply By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:26

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:26
Hi Luke
Well as somebody has already said you really have gotten them to fess up so here goes:
me and wife 57 but she beats me by a few months
1 son 37
1 son 29
1 daughter 26
1 cat 17 !! as they say cats don't have masters, they have servants!

Me - semi retired and loving it
wife - still working but able to take LSL so we have been able to do trips both here and o/s for the last 13 yrs
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

AnswerID: 367409

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:31

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:31
G'day Luke,

I am 49, wife is 49 and 2 sons aged 26 and 24, both who have left home so it is just us at home now plus our 2 dogs.

I left the ambulance service after 25 years a little while back and when I left I was the manager for operations so computers and IT work was right up there for me. I was fortunate enough at that time to take an early retirement and our plan was to do a lot of travel etc. You know what they say about plans.

Both of our boys are electrical contractors and things became so busy for them that I now work with them mainly just managing the workflow etc so the travel has stopped a bit of late and I am really enjoying working with them. The other half didn't get off unscathed either as she is an accountant and she has picked up helping with that side of their business.

It felt really funny at first working for your kids but after a while it all falls into place and at the end of the day we just want to see them do well for themselves.

As a side issue you have certainly grabbed some responses to your question and the forum users are a pretty diverse bunch hey?

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 367412

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:52

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 15:52

(So far, average age from replies is 51 !)
AnswerID: 367414

Reply By: Member - Adam S (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 16:03

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 16:03
G'day Luke, you posed a good question, it has been interesting to read the replies.

I am 43
Wife 43
Daughter 16
Daughter 12
Son 10
Daughter 8
Son 6

I think we will call it quits now.

Cheers, Adam.
AnswerID: 367416

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 16:16

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 16:16
G/Day Luke

Well I'm 61 and my Cook is 63 going on 36.

No 1 Son is 39.
No 2 Son is 35.
Grand Children range between 12 and 3.

Got everything we want in life.

As far as Computers go I'm a Dinosaur, but who cares if I have a problem I get the office girl to fix it, thats what we pay her for.
AnswerID: 367419

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 07:34

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 07:34
Same age and position here Luke - guess we can't really complain - well on the other hand , why won't Nissan put a decent modern diesel in the Patrol ------

FollowupID: 635328

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:01

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:01
Hi Luke,

I'm 65 and John is 72.
No1 daughter would have been 44 but died 20 months ago.
No2 daughter is 43, son-in-law 43, granddaughter No1 14, Granddaughter No2 10. We are a small but close and loving family and all love camping.

Our granddaughters will be joining us for 8 days in Darwin/Kakadu/Litchfield in late June - can't wait. We leave home (near Canberra) next Wed returning end July. Home for August and off to WA for all Sept & Oct.

John was using the first CSIRO Sydney computer (Siliac?) in 1961/2 (it took up a whole room) and has been using computers ever since.

I started using Wang for word processing in about 1980 and moved to a 'Fat Mac' a year later. Using ever since but can't be bothered keeping up with anything more that I need to.

Always remember you can't love your children too much. Enjoy!

Min
AnswerID: 367428

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:15

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 17:15
John n Min,

Please excuse me for intruding into your privacy. You're the second respondent in this Thread who has lost a child. I just couldn't imagine losing either of our kids, both adults now.

There's an expression that it's a tragedy to outlive your children. The older I get, the more I believe that. And you have experienced it. And I suspect that the pain is no different regardless of your child's age.

My sympathies to you and the others in this Thread (apologies to them, I can't see their post while making this entry. So I can't refer to them by name).

And I really agree with your last comment. How true is that !!

Good wishes.

FollowupID: 635098

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:28

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:28
Luke

I am 55, look about 55 but feel about 40 - but sadly think like I'm 18. Can still hit the driver 280 metres.

Leader of the Opposition is same age.

Likely to be in harness until 70, unless owner/trainer retires me sooner.

4 sprogs from 17 to 31.

AnswerID: 367444

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:33

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:33
Sorry, I seem to have put a dampener on this Thread with that last Follow Up.

Getting back to the original question:

I am 58, while Mrs Bush is, well, let me say this, 40 years ago she was quite taken with this 18 yo toy boy.

Two children, boy now 33, girl 30. One grandson, another in October.

We are retired and looking forward to catching up with everyone at St George.

cheers from Mandurah in WA.

AnswerID: 367448

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:44

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:44
Hi Luke

Me 38 and a bit. Daughter of truck driver travelled most of Aus
John 37 Not many roads in QLD not travelled
Jason 10. 8mths pregnant crossed the Simpson French Line. First 4x4 trip at 3 months Landcruiser Mt Park. 1st Bday on Fraser.
Mick 8. Day due went on a 4x4 rally still came late.
The boss Claire 6. First camp Levuka 4x4 park. couple months old.
Planning the big lap cant wait.

Sharon
AnswerID: 367451

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:30

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:30
Sharon,

your old boy must be as bad as me, I dragged my 8+ month pregnant wife down the B/ville track and into the flinders for an EO gathering a few years back, just made it back to Brissy with 2 weeks to spare before my daughter was born. My sons first camping trip was when he was just 5wks old. We got back on the road full time after 7 weeks idle while my son was being born and settling him into our routine. Up until he was 9mths old he only knew the back seat of the Patrol, then he wanted to get out.....AND MAKE US GET HIM OUT HE DID!! About then things started to change big time for both us adults. Me still out on the road (workin...at least thats what I call it) while mum and bub stayed home.

Cheers from the happier side of 40...just.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 635128

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:58

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:58
Trevor I dont know what is worse, travelling pregnant or the ones saying I shouldnt. That passed thank god I wish Mick had the time in the car as much as Jason did in the early years. Im still walking up steep hills with him while Jas and the little boss laughs at me as they pass in the car.
Its funny now but when we came over the F/L we met up with some older folk and helped them accross. They recond the baby was going to be a girl because the balls would have been shaken off.
Isnt it great how many families are travelling. Didnt realise until this question of age was raised. You can tell the oldies, they know their stuff from experience.

Happy travels

Sharon
FollowupID: 635133

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:10

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:10
Yeah Judy was told not to even contemplate going to Fraser Is, let alone Birdsville or anywhere close to that "in her condition".

I had back-up plans and securities and told her it would be easier to come with me rather than looking after our son on her own while I went (I was going regardless- selfish bugger that I am).

The "oldies" do know their stuff and are a wealth of info on this forum. Cranky old farts sometimes though!! (bait on, line in the water)

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 635140

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 00:11

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 00:11
Yeh good one Trevor backup plan my @rse it would have been more like.......Hey Thomas have you met you your new step parents This is Leigh and ross and uncle brian now see you all in brissy...hahahaha.
We were all prepared for the worst but good old Judy came through. ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 635169

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 17:07

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 17:07
No problems with Leigh looking after my boy but you got tickets on yourself if you think I would trust my son to your devilish ways Mr H. Coupla days under your guidance and he would be pulling pranks at every turn. Even young Brian would be more parental guidance than you and I reckon that's saying something considering I call Brian Mr BHP in the pranks department (the silent acheiver).

I was more interested in just getting to Warraweena and having Phil G close by, with his background I reckon it all would have been fine even if young Samantha did decide she wanted to be a crow eater and arrive early.

TIC of course,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 635256

Reply By: Levenx (Sth Coast NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:51

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:51
Hi Luke

Me 35
Nev 36
kids 13, 11, 20months

We've just gotten back from our outback tour and now have very itchy feet.

Lexie
AnswerID: 367454

Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:54

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:54
G'day Luke.
i'm 67 early next month. Di has just turned 63. ,This is the second time round for both of us . together for 20 years.
Di has 2 boys 39 and 40,3 grand kids 5 ,9,and 15.
I have a boy 41 and a girl 40 ,2 grand kids 1 and 13.
We both retired 9 years ago and spend most of our leisure time travelling and hope to continue for may more years.
Jeff.O

AnswerID: 367456

Reply By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:12

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:12
63 this August.
End of June got a month off, hope to go to The Palmer (Again), the Mitchell, The Walsh, The Hodgkinson then to Karumba for fishing
Love the bush

AnswerID: 367459

Follow Up By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:21

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:21
More! 1 daughter 36, 2 grand children 5 1/2 and 4.
Computers; 1st Microbee, 2nd Amstrad Twin floopy, Amstad sing HD 10MB, then built up on PCs to modern due core processor, 2gb ram, 2 dual layer dvds, 2 320gb HDD and 1 700gig HDD, Allthe pcs I have put together from scratch. Reasonably savvy with computers.
Love the bush

FollowupID: 635112

Reply By: sweetwill - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:35

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:35
hi all
what a good topic, me myself and i are 62 cheers for now bill.
AnswerID: 367461

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:41

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:41
I'm a very ugly 47 and the GLW is a spectacular looking 46.

We hit our Silver last October.

Two boys, 23 and 20. Both wonderful boys, achieving well and have never given us a moments (significant) worry.

The 23 y.o. moved out a year ago and the 20 y.o. flew the coop last week.

We love them dearly..........but life has begun.

AnswerID: 367462

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:19

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:19
Jim, They reckon beauty is only skin deep!!.............. Hang on a minute... just getting some advice on the side here.... OHH !! Apparently UGLY goes right to the bone!!! Sorry!! LOL!! Michael

FollowupID: 635123

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:04

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:04
Beauty is only skin deep, in my case they couldn't find it with a pick and shovel.

FollowupID: 635135

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 09:21

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 09:21
That reminds me of a very funny sticker I saw .....
"It's OK to be ugly but you're overdoing it." LOL

BTW that's not directed at you Jim, I also avoid eye contact with the mirror LOL
FollowupID: 635185

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:49

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:49
I would love to claim being under 50, but under 70 is the truth (68)
Mrs Disco is 4 years younger.
Both of us are second time rounders, (she divorced, me a widower)
Mrs Disco has 3 stepsons (all mine) aged 41, 39 and a younger one who
died in 2003 at 30
I have 2 stepsons 39, 32, a stepdaughter 42 (all hers) and have 5 grandkids
11(M), 10(F), 8(F) and 3(M) plus one who did not make her 1st birthday.

Ill health limits what we can do these days but we enjoy doing what we can, in and around WA.

Disco.
AnswerID: 367465

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:48

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 21:48
Me 39
Mrs 35
Daughter 2.5
5 month old bump still to be determined(have to wait 4 more months for confirmation)

And happy birthday to Kev and the other birthdayers!!!
AnswerID: 367503

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:13

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:13
Thanks Paul

FollowupID: 635181

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:12

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:12
Hi Luke and the rest of the gang,
I am 57,mrs fisher is 54, have five kids from 30 down to 13 and a 7 year old grandaughter.Our kids are his , hers and ours but my oldest stepson is my best mate(he has got a imaculate 02 Jack as well, I am jealous lol) . I miss my step daughter 28 terribly(moved to big smoke) as she is the only one of the older kids who use to come fishing with me. My baby (13) has just started shaving and his only interest at the moment is downhill mountain biking(looks blxxdy dangerous to me)
We are both working full time at the moment but love the bush,camping etc. Both use to bushwalk(mrs fisher more so) but both now have stuffed knees, hoping to get up to St geoge to see everyone if the three of us have time off.
Cheers Pete and Sal
AnswerID: 367508

Reply By: Luke SA - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:24

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:24
Bloody hell didn't expect a response like this........... It has only been up for 24 hours.

Thanks to everyone who replied, I have read them all and was good reading. The computers part was TIC but I enjoyed your responses to it. Some of the earlier computers some of you are talking about I have never even heard of let alone used one lol...... ok you older ones win with the computers lol

Enjoy your travells

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 367510

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:40

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:40
Well there were a few suprises here on how young a few are for their experiences!
But I guess experience is in what you've done and seen as much as how many years are behind you.
As for us:
Me 39 (but not much longer)
Her 35 (and not impressed if I remind her)
Boy #1 12 (with the complete knowledge of the world of a 16 yr old)
Boy #2 9 (but a has it stacked against him so he looks and thinks only 6-ish)
And various animals that seem to be giving me more grey hair every day.
As for the WWW first machine was a Sinclair that had to turn the screen off to think and eventually moved up to the magnificent Apple II E and on from then, still have a couple of very expensive boat anchors hiding in the study somewhere.
Only got our first 4wd about 5 yr ago but still managed to do a few long trips in our sillier days in various cars that probably shouldn't have been tried. Got 1/2 way round a big lap in an old Camira just before oldest boy showed up and made the decision to head for home while a family grew up around us. Now we just manage a week or 3 a yr to get away and most times its to somewhere new and different but work, a mortgage, and demands and requirements of the boys ( especially younger ones needs) make us armchair travellers as often as not.
Brian.
AnswerID: 367512

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 23:58

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 23:58
After reading all the replies on here, i'm starting to think i'm the youngest member here at 24 years old... The missus is 24 also, and we have 3 kids, eldest daughter is 6, youngest daughter is 4, and the boy is almost 1. We all love getting out there & going camping away from the city as often as we can... Next holiday is Cape York in 5 weeks, and we can't wait.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 367516

Reply By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:50

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:50
Hi luke,
me 27 as of a couple of days ago, wife 28
my Dog 5
her Dog 8 month (little Bast%$d dog)

go camping as much as we can, planning a 1 month trip from Canberra to Adelaide to Alice, across the simo back to Canberra. cant wait....enjoying fitting out the truck for it too.
AnswerID: 367544

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 10:46

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 10:46
Born Albury NSW September 1950, makes me 58 years young
Other half's just a babe @ 52

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 367733

Reply By: A J - Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 22:08

Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 22:08
Luke SA

I am 57 years old retired from work (finance industry) - the wife is 46

Starting travelling around this country in 1972 - have written and number of articles for Overlander Magazine over the years.

Went to a place in the NT where our wives were the first white women in there for 30 years and out children were the first white children to go in - and that was about 1992.

A J

AnswerID: 368046

Reply By: Mick^M - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 10:02

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 10:02
UMMMMMMMMMMMMM right side of 55 wrong side of 53...................:D
AnswerID: 368802

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 13:35

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 13:35
Hi Luke,
Somehow missed this post earlier!
As my username suggests, birth date in '45, so that makes me nearly 64. I keep thinking I'm 45, but my body is starting to tell me otherwise!
Been retired since 2000, been busy ever since.
Been in the tech/electronics field all my life, mostly on microwave systems, and as I was often in the bush, that got me using FJ45s, 55s and HJ60's back in the late 60's - 80's.
Mostly IT stuff in the twighlight years of my employment incl Y2K stuff (comms, rather than PC technology), but did work on Univac mainframes for 2 or 3 years back in the early 70's.
Still dabble in electronics to keep the mind active, and know just enough about PCs to be dangerous.
Always enjoyed going bush, so in the late 80's decided that a 4wd would be better than my old XE "red rocket" or my ageing Fiat 124 sport, so bought a new Maverick. Upgraded to a Patrol GU in 2000, still got it. Will prob still have it when I croak. Prefer to travel with no trailer, so a tent is the go and the wagon fully loaded, but must admit I'm leaning towards more comfort in my latter years, and 4 months on the road can be a bit testing.
cheers,
Gerry
AnswerID: 370674

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:57

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:57
I only just opened this thread. What a fascinating read. I became aware that, without realizing it, I had begun to get some sort of picture in my head about what most of you regulars look like. My mental pictures will now have to be updated. Please don't ask what I imagined you might look like and I wont ask what you imagined I might look like.
me: almost 67
her: jeez, I've forgotten her birthday again, but it's about 7 years less.
Computers: Well, a Commodore 64 was my introduction and I discovered the internet while doing research at uni which was about the only way to get onto internet in those days. Before web browsers. Computers OK. GPS and mobile phones are a worry though.
AnswerID: 370738