Maxxis Tyres

Submitted: Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 07:35
ThreadID: 69524 Views:2562 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
I'm about to change my tyres on the 100 ser L/C ,I have BF Goodrich all terrain T/As 275 -70 -16 and had them on my 4 runner but I was not all that impressed with them this time around and was thinking of trying the Maxxis in the same range ,I'm not sure if I want to go up in size but I will decide when time comes ,I was also told that they are about to change the pattern but I might not be able to get it as I need them very soon ,so any advice with these tyres would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - ranger1 - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:16

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:16
I have a set on my work vehicle which is used pretty hard with a fair bit of off road driving (Mostly sand)

Tread is wearing very fast and after only 10000kms am already looking at whats next for the truck.

Also have a set on my truck which are also wearing quickly and that is treated like a baby.

Tyres were the 751 range from memory.

Try something else, maybe coopers or similar.

AnswerID: 368496

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:33

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:33
I have just fitted some to my Patrol - after having MTR's on - a big difference in road noise ( much quieter)

done a few trips to bega and back ( sydney) and all looks good so far - done some light off road work with them - so far so good

will keep a close eye on them -- i think i paid about $200 each fitted for 265/75 r16's

Boc
AnswerID: 368497

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:38

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:38
Hi Boc ,
If you dont mind me asking ,where did you buy yours from as I am in SYd also.
FollowupID: 636072

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:41

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 08:41
Bob janes - Human hwy ( hume ) Liverpool just south of Hoxton park road he only had 4 left and may have wanted to get rid of them as i pushed on price

Boc
AnswerID: 368501

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 16:25

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 16:25
thanx mate
FollowupID: 636130

Reply By: Falco80 - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:14

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:14
I've had a set of 305/70R16 Maxxis Bighorns on my 80 series for the last 2 years and i'm happy with them. They can be a bit noisy on the highway, but on the dirt and mud they are great. I don't believe they are the best in sand...an A/T would probably be better. They have heaps of tread life remaining at the moment and i've had friends who have gotten 80-90,000k's out of a set. For the price i'm happy!

Dan
AnswerID: 368509

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:15

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:15
I reckon they are a good tyre for the price. They are certainly cheap compared to the big names. Have a set on my wifes cruiser and they have worn ok, I would expect 70,000kms from them for mainly on road use.
AnswerID: 368510

Reply By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:24

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 09:24
GDay John
I had 265/75/r16 on my series 80 when they first came out. I think they were 751s. I had 70K on them and probably had a bit more to go but was doing a long trip so changed them.
I would think twice about Coopers. A mate of mine has them on his Patrol, has done about 30K and they are cracking on the sidewall and have chunks coming oiff the tread.

Howard
AnswerID: 368511

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 13:19

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 13:19
Pretty normal for Coopers !!!!
FollowupID: 636104

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 13:44

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 13:44
and the same reason i dont have them .. its funny tat tire shops push to sell them , so they must have a good margin in them

when i say no thanks they fall apart -- the tire guys say yeh they know of the problems ......

goes to show you need to know what your buying before you get them as the shop guys just want the $$ and not give good advice based on fact

Boc
FollowupID: 636108