Salvator Rosa,Carnarvon National Park

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:10
ThreadID: 70076 Views:3976 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
Hi all.
We are heading to this area in July.
What is the best route from Roma? North via Springsure or west via Tambo.
We will be towing a golf outback pop top.
Thanks for any advice.
Vince

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:52

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:52
Hi Vince you will cop corrugations either way but the road in from the Tambo end is narrower and only graded once a year and you'll have the exp. of fighting the tripple trailer road trains going to "Cungellela" property.
After working in that shire for 12mths (left 9mth ago) I doubt it will have changed.
For park conditions best bet would be call Alex Whitehead, the Senior Ranger in Springsure. He can also tell you what the road from Springsure out on the Dawson Developmental Road, Cungellela Road and Salvator Rosa Rd's are like.

If it rains more than a couple of mills whilst you are in the park stay put as the last 9km into the park (Salvator Rd) is all Black soil and is prone to sink holes forming and there is always cattle on all 3 roads and some bulldust holes just for good measure.
I have had a bow wave of bulldust being pushed along like water by the bullbar and struggling for traction in low 1st at various times in the summer on Cungellela Rd. Just use caution and you'll be OK.

I used to do the trip in the hilux from Springsure to Salvator in 1/3/4hrs but most people would safely do it with a trailer in 3 hrs. After 12mths and 100,000km of that pounding my ute was completely rooted.

Have a great trip
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 371471

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:05

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:05
Thanks for the info Dave.
Is Ka Ka Mundi worth visiting as well?
Vince
FollowupID: 638708

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:09

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:09
St George is well worthy of a visit in the last week of September LOL

Dave,

The lowlux would have survived longer if it was your car and not a work car LOL

FollowupID: 638709

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:17

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:17
A bit like your falcooon ay.....
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 638710

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:27

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:27
Watch out Kev.
We will turn east & head for Calliope on our way home.
Vince
FollowupID: 638714

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:30

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:30
Don't forget to drop into Bundy on the way home or the shire office in Miriam Vale on the Bruce Hwy. Let me know if you are comming this way.
Don't worry about Kev ....he is a maroons (morons) supported.

I can hear the flack comming......
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 638716

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:49

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:49
Vince,

Don't bother with Bundy or Miriam Vale ;)

But Calliope has always got the welcome mat out

FollowupID: 638722

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Friday, Jun 26, 2009 at 07:19

Friday, Jun 26, 2009 at 07:19
Hi Dave,

It's a small world.........

About 40 years ago I was managing Main Camp Stn at Casino and the owner Don Miller tried to buy Cungellela from the Knobb's family. At that time it included the lease of the now western end of the park. The sale fell through when it was discovered that NPWS were going to take over the lease for the NP. I do remember driving the Landcruiser in from Springsure and I will guarantee that the the road was worse back then than it is now.

Now I live in San Diego but have some properties in the Childers/Bundy area

Bruce

FollowupID: 639185

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:16

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:16
Ka Ka Mindi is quiet and is less maintained than the others. Last time I went in there I got lost driving thru grass 2 foot above the roof of the lux. Don't go in there if it has been raining. If you are in the area then it would be worth the trip if you have the info sheet from the parks to ensure that you saw all the attractions in each park. Even if you only do it to say "yep did them all"
The Goodliffe section of the park is mainly just a road thru to Tambo but it suffered $700k of damage in Feb last year and I had only spent 30k to repair it when I left there. I have heard that they canned the rest of the repairs. Again Alex will be able to help with road conditions there. Don't go up there at all after rain. If you have trouble Goodliffe station is on Ch 26 UHF (James Speed really nice bloke) and Cungellela in on ch31 (i think)
In any case there are some huge (8ft) king browns around and some scrub pythons 15ft+, heaps of dingoes, goannas, roos etc.
2015 Fortuner

AnswerID: 371477

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:25

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:25
Dave.
Sounds like a great spot to leave the wife LOL
Vince
FollowupID: 638713

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:19

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:19
Vince also check out going to Mt Moffatt, I have been to both and think Mt Moffatt is the nicest of the two. Can not remember much about the surface of the road but a call to EPA in Injune will get you the info.
AnswerID: 371478

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:23

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 12:23
Hi Bruce.
Went to Mt. Moffatt a few years ago.It was certainly a great spot with excellent camping spots.
Vince
FollowupID: 638711

Reply By: Yackandandah - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 23:57

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 23:57
We went in throughTambo iand out thur Springsure in our 99 Lux towing an offroad trailer. Road through Goodliffe section very interesting unlike the road out through Springsure very boring - radically cleared. Had the whole park to ourselves!
AnswerID: 371890