The logistics of travelling with 4 kids, 2 dogs! F250?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 14:06
ThreadID: 70610 Views:9939 Replies:17 FollowUps:37

Related Pages

While my husband tells me that this is a "logistical nightmare", I am sure it can be done somehow.

Firstly thanks so much to all the kind people who answered my last question (my first ever) about how big a caravan we will need, especially Graham. Based on the opinions here, we have decided to go 23ft maximum, hopefully closer to 22. Tare = 2300 (a guess so far as it is being custom made).

Anyway...

Our situation: 4 kids, (ages 3,3,5,7) us, and 2 dogs (kelpie and border collie)- taking the dogs is our only option. Travelling 1 year leaving this Decemeber

After much adding up figures, talking, debating etc, we have worked out that we can (by weight) tow this caravan with a landcruiser although there is only room for about 50kg of stuff in the car and obviously we will be packing very light in the caravan. After a few suggestions on this forum, we have looked into the F250.

Here are my questions about that.

1. As we have 4 children, has anyone converted either the front seat into a 3 seater bench seat, or the rear seat into 4 seatbelts- could be a bit squishy but the kids are little. Obviously I need to got to a car place who do these conversions to see if it is legal but just after some thoughts first.
2. Any advice on buying one ie age, number of kms etc. We would want to spend $50,000 at a maximum -even spending that on a car makes be sick.
3. And I know that most men, including my husband, would disagree, but the idea of taking the kids to school and ducking out to the shops in one of these once we return from our trip is not my idea of fun. Do they have a good resale value?
4. If we travel with the dogs in there and leave them in there for short periods while we do some sightseeing, has anyone got any ideas about what we would need ie canopy for shade, bar to tie them to?

I think that is all. Thanks for your help once again, Leah

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 14:37

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 14:37
Hi Leah, firstly congratulations on making the big decision re a big lap around Oz.
I havent any advice re vehicle choice, but you are wise to be very aware of weight legalities. You wont thank me for this, but my advice is..lose the dogs.
Yes I know all that, but you will not be welcome at most commercial camping
parks, barred from all National Parks & will not endear yourself to fellow
campers when your dogs invade their space, or, heaven forbid, bark. No ,I dont
hate dogs, quite the contrary, but I feel all the restrictions are not in their best interest either. You will be occupied enough with 4 young kids without the
added load of the hounds. Not sure of the legality of leaving animals in a locked
vehicle either, can be fatal in hot weather, & leaving them tied up outside may
result in them being pinched, or worse,legal liability if they cause damage or injury. Your choice, of course. Anyway, have a great trip......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 374191

Follow Up By: bruce - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:30

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:30
Your husband is right...it would be a nightmare , going away camping for 3 to 4 weeks with just the 2 of us and a spoilt 12yr old desexed female jack russel is fine , but we have been to the northen parts of our country twice on extended trips ...3 and 5 months and not in our wildest dreams could we even contemplating taking her with us....she stays home and sooks and sulks and we worry how she is , but in our opinion she is much better off at home and we are better off without the extra worry and care that is needed if she is with us...cheers and happy travelling
FollowupID: 641410

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:54

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:54
Thanks for the advice. I appreciate all the advice about the dogs and I am sure I would give the same advice to someone if they were trying to decide whether to take the dogs or not. It will be tricky BUT we have noone to look after them. We are not dog fanatics who will never leave our dogs- infact they are outside dogs who are probably a bit neglected at times. Having said that, it is just not an option to leave them home so it is either travel with them and make the best of it, or not travel at all. We are now just trying to work out the best way to travel with them.

I was not suggesting leaving the dogs inside a car but in the tray of a ute, with perhaps a partial shade of a canopy. I am not sure how this would be different to leaving them outside at home on a hot day, where they can sit in the shade if they want to. Surely that wouldn't be illegal- tradies do it all the time!
FollowupID: 641413

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:47

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:47
Have just spent 8 weeks up north and the temp hasnt been under 30 any day.

Leave the car in a park for an hour and you cant touch the steering wheel when you get in Inside temp would be in the 50s and would kill the dogs very quickly.

Even in shade in Darwin it doesnt make much difference.
If found left in car would probably result in having a conversation with a cop as I believe its illegal to do so.
Would you leave one of the kids in the car????? think of the dogs as a kid treat it the same.
AnswerID: 374197

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:59

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 15:59
As far as the F250 is concerned I would seriously suggest you go the way of uprating the van as I suggested and would have a better resale value as well
It would be cheaper than buying a decent F which a good one would be well north of $50,000.
As they are not importing them any more they are actually dearer than they used to be.

Hard as it may be to contemplate I feel leaving the mutts with a friend for the duration will be the kindest to all.
EG Kakadu is beautiful and its all in a National Park. Litchfield is great for kids. no dogs!!!Katherine Gorge and Geike the same. all the best bits hard to go to.

FollowupID: 641415

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:21

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:21
Hi Graham,

We will probably still go the option of uprating the size of the van- just thought the option of the ute might work a bit better with the dogs. It is not really hard for us to contemplate leaving the dogs with friends or family, in fact it would be great.. any offers? But no willing takers. All either have dogs or no yards to keep them in. We will put them in kennels while visiting national parks etc or with dogsitters. Costly and maybe take a bit or organising but the alternative is not to go away at all.
FollowupID: 641421

Reply By: Marny - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:10

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:10
My mate has a f250 long bed ute with suicide doors and it is a 7 seater (yes 5 seatbelts in the back) with a massive tray. cheers marn
AnswerID: 374200

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:16

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:16
Thanks for that. Did he have it modified to have that? I am not really 'in the know' when it comes to cars!
FollowupID: 641418

Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 18:41

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 18:41
This is the type of F250 you need to be looking for, this is the 4x4 but there are 2wd versions with the same configuration.

F250 Crew Cab

The 5 seatbelts in the back are for children under twelve so no problems there. You can only carry 3 adults in the back.

If you put a bench seat in the front you will have issues with children under twelve in the front seat. Don't know if it's applicable in all states however not legal in some.

Most of the F trucks are direct bolt in between bucket and bench in the front but the bench seats are often the 40/20/40 split where the centre also doubles as the arm rest.

The late model single cab split bench seat will bolt in in place of the bucket seats and console of the king and crew cabs. However if your going this way you would be better off finding one with the split bench already in as you would need an engineers certificate to change the seating capacity.

Canopy on the back for the dogs.

Ross
FollowupID: 641441

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:29

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:29
Hi Ross,

Thanks for that. It is nice to have someone answer the question about the car rather than the dogs! Funnily enough, we are in Adelaide and the car you linked to is the one we looked at yesterday! Just a little expensive though but we will keep looking. Pardon my ignorance, but this car only had 3 seatbelts- do some come with 5 or is it just that you know that it is legal to convert it to 5 seatbelts? I would much rather that option than putting one of the kids in the front. It does not seem overly safe. Thanks very much for your help, Leah
FollowupID: 641445

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:26

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:26
Dont want to rain on the parade again but there was a thread on here a few weeks ago about kids in front seats and it seems its illegal to have kids under a certain age in front seats of cars with airbags
Especially in front facing baby capsules.
maybe 5 in the back is best.
Cheers hope you are getting closer to a selection.

FollowupID: 641463

Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:18

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:18
Hi Leah,

Amazing coincidence.

You could probably get a petrol 5.4l version for around $50k but unlikely to find a 7.3l diesel in that price range.

As said, I don't think you can legally have kids under 12 in the front anyway.

You would need to check the compliance plate and the placarding in the vehicle re seating.

The one I looked at had 5 belts in the back and a placard stating the seating arrangement, eg 5 people under 75kgs or 3 if more than that. Don't know if that was the exact wording but something along those lines.

Ross
FollowupID: 641530

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:28

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:28
Thanks Ross. I am going to follow this up tomorrow. We saw one in Adelaide today- only new in at a dealer and we also enquired at a car modification shop and they said the seats are 10cm too short to put into 4 and suggested the best option would be to put a seat in the middle at the front which would be okay for our 7 year old as there is no passenger airbag. Still I will look into that further- not sure if it entirely safe or not yet. But the car was $49,000 with 195,000km. It might have sold already though as someone was enquiring this afternoon. Seemed like a good price.
FollowupID: 641616

Reply By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:13

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:13
You should either not take your 1 year trip seriously or not take dogs. Get a list of national parks and strike the lot off your travel plans.

If you are that serious about the dogs stay home.

AnswerID: 374221

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 07:23

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 07:23
and strike a hell of a lot of campgrounds and caravan parks off your list
more each day ban dogs
you will have to go and clean up all the doggy dooos and control your kids
you will certainly be told off by other campers if you dont
dogs in camp grounds are a disgusting hygiene and health issue
why inflict your dogs on others. nobody wants your dogs other than you
FollowupID: 641517

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:16

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:16
"you will have to go and clean up all the doggy dooos and control your kids
you will certainly be told off by other campers if you dont
dogs in camp grounds are a disgusting hygiene and health issue
why inflict your dogs on others. nobody wants your dogs other than you"

that might be a little over the top?
most campgrounds that allow dogs have the dogs in a separate area, which negates many of these issues.

Staying in a campground requires a degree of tolerance by its very nature from everyone.

A suggestion would be those who vehemently hate being around dogs (and children?) only patronise campgrounds that dont allow them?

This isnt intended as a provocative response, so please do not take it that way.
FollowupID: 641548

Reply By: MARIC - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:14

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:14
Leah,
Yes you can do it your way, we travelled with 4 kids and 2 dogs a Labrador and German shepherd in a short wheeled base daihatsu, trailer and tents for a couple of months, kids 11, 9, 7, 4, yes it was a bit of a hassle, but it was fun, regarding where you go the book "camps Australia wide" gives you lots of information on where you can go with and without dogs and also free camping if you are into that www.campsaustraliawide.com is the website. I cant help with the conversion about seat belts, but when we bought our little champ it was already fitted out in the back with additional belts and the dogs stayed in the back with sliding windows open and drooling everywhere ;o)), and we mostly travelled in the Kimberley summer and winter as we were based in Port Hedland at the time.
Hope this gives you some more encouragement and keeps your going
...... cheers

AnswerID: 374234

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:17

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:17
Thanks for the encouragement. 4 Children is a juggle as it is isn't it- add the dogs and it is a happy chaos. I will get those books. Thanks for the tip.
FollowupID: 641481

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:30

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:30
Hello again, did you leave the dogs in the back of the car with only the windows open? We are just trying to work out if they would be too hot or not. What sort of temperatures were you in? Thanks for your help, Leah
FollowupID: 641618

Follow Up By: MARIC - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:50

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:50
Leah, never left dogs/kids in vehicle when parked, always tied dogs up to bull/towbar one at back and one at front (some times felt like tying kids up and taking the dogs ;o) ...), temp hi 20's to 30's which would equate to over 40/50's in car you will have to play it by ear, Last year up north left Jack Russell in car at Broome (June) but parked under shade of tree and windows down a bit and went shopping and had no dramas at all. Basically you will just have to use common sense
FollowupID: 641673

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:15

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:15

I cannot tell you what you should or should not do but I can tell you what I would do in your situation.

This is how we travel when we are not overseas and this is also what I would do in your situation except I'd leave the boat at home and hang up another caravan (max 18") to sleep 4 kids.

There are so many advantages over any other solution in my opinion but your mileage may vary.

Points to consider:
Vehicles like this are not readily available unless you pay a premium. We have imported the vehicle ourselves and had it converted. Takes a bit of time but is a lot cheaper.

Truck campers like this are rare in Australia. You get the smaller Northstar though.

I left the truck at it's original GVM (5.2t - not downgraded to 4.5) so one needs a truck license and an articulated one for that matter when you tow.

Separating a large van into two units has its pros and cons of course.

The 3 year old's may not be comfortable yet to sleep separate, ours were ok though at this age. It gives you a lot more peace and privacy.

You can buy a much cheaper van, have more payload and a much saver and comfortable vehicle when carrying loads and towing.

The truck is available with a front bench seat.

good luck with your decision.

gmd

AnswerID: 374235

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:21

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:21
Thanks for the advice. That is an impressive looking setup. My kids are a bit little now but we certainly hope to travel in the future too so that is a setup we will keep in mind. The peace and quite sounds very tempting!
FollowupID: 641485

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:26

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:26
Gidday Leah

I generally head off north each year and can tell you that plenty of people travel with their dogs. There’s a bit of an adjustment to be made, but it’s not that hard.

From what I’ve seen, most people leave their dog in the caravan with the air conditioning on, and a bowl of water if their sightseeing for a couple of hours.

The dog(s) will soon learn not to bark in a caravan park if you train them along the way.

The dogs should remain tethered in the park, and with a reasonable amount of rope to let them move around a bit. A good walk also keeps them active.

In the bush it’s a different story, particularly isolated areas where many dogs wonder off, never to be seen again. It all comes back to supervision and a bit of care.

In this situation (particularly with kelpies and Collies) never let the two run together. One of the dogs should always be chained, whilst the other runs around a bit.

Finally I'd stick to the Landcruiser. You can install air bags at the rear end, or even opt for a suspension upgrade which will be a lot cheaper. Have a great trip.

Kim

AnswerID: 374237

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:26

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:26
Thanks Kim. I agree with only letting one run at a time-almost have to apply the same rules to the kids! The first caravan park I called which admittedly it is for a booking over christmas near Sydney, said that the dogs cannot be left unattended in the park and must sleep inside the van and not the annex. Is this typical of most parks? I might have just chosen a stricter one but it is Hills Caravan park Sydney. Leah
FollowupID: 641487

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:44

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:44
Its me again We were in a park last week that charged a $50 bond for good behaviour of the dog and if you didnt clean up after it or it annoyed people enough to get a compalint you lost the $50.

Think it was the new park at Point Samson but others have similar rules.

Definitely no leaving dog in park when you not there, always on a leash
(not always observed I have noticed).

Most also have the sleep in the van bit but dont actually come around and look if you get what I mean. Just dont have dog hating neighbours.

So many parks so little memory. Cheers

We at Tom Price and freezing as its only 12 outside Jeez big doona tonite

FollowupID: 641495

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:33
Hi Graham.

Thanks once again. Only 12 outside for you! Hope we don't run into that sort of weather- with our 400kg limit in the van there is no room for heavy doonas! Only 1 sheet to share. Leah
FollowupID: 641619

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:27

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:27
Reciprocal body heat is quite acceptable in extreme situations

FollowupID: 641643

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 23:03

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 23:03
Hi Leah,

I wont go into the "dog" thing, but I'll pass on some info about F250's. Our family looked at this option recently to *maybe* replace the Prado. The 250's we were looking at were the 7.3L turbo diesels. What we found out was;

F250's have not been imported into Oz since late 2005. This because they dont meet our emission laws.

A F250 today secondhand, is getting the same money as when they were selling brand new! ~$65k - $ 70k.

Build quality is Ford Falcon-esque. Not as good as a Toyota or Nissian.

Depending on where you live, rego will be more expensive due to their GVM. More truck like than car like price wise.

Met a QLD bloke in Batemans Bay recently who used F250's on his working property, and had bought a Chev Silverado to tow his Bushtracker 3.5t van instead.

What a unit! Huge turbo diesel with a decent interior to boot. Price was $140k on road. :-(

We've decided to stick with the Prado a while longer, but still like the F250's!

Cheers, Matt
AnswerID: 374255

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:36

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:36
Thanks for that Matt. Must be a boy thing- my husband seems to get a huge smile on his face each time he sits in a F250. We are still looking into them but have been warned by every dealer to buy an extended warranty because they will send you broke to fix-as another person mentioned on this forum.
FollowupID: 641621

Follow Up By: squidkidd - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 17:15

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 17:15
Yeah, dad bought the 3rd last one in oz, and it went good for a month, then we took it back for its first service... and saddly has never been right since
its been trucked to perth sevral times, gets fixed, works for a little while, then dosent.
most of the problems have been to do with the electrics, or the fuel system, but have also had many problems with the transmission, driveshafts(snapped a few)
i do not recomend the 7.3 v8!
it has good resale value, but i dont see why, the are absolute rubish!
(give me a hilux anyday-haha thats what a drive)
also for a v8, the power is crap.
and dont get me started on economy
when it works, about 16l/100k
when it dosent, you can lose a whole tank in 100ks
esp when the ecu is pumping so much fuel out the exhast, it becomes a 3ft flame thrower

the only good ftruck ive been in is the f650 in paniwonika
and that, is like a 4wd limo....,.
FollowupID: 644602

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 01:15

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 01:15
Leah

Had it just going on 3 years now and only done some 20,00 km's in that time.

Cost around $82 K when I bought it Xmas 2006 & I spent over $20K modifying it to tow long distances.

IF you find one of these, like the one listed above in Adelaide, you will need to do a bit too it to be suited to long distance travel (long range tanks etc).

They DO have the room in them you seek.

That said - I don't think modifying the seat belts in the rear would be legal, coz the outside pair are on self re tractors etc etc.

The biggest issue we have had was a common electrical short in the computerized system that controls the engine.

It was in WA's Pilbara region, the vehicle was still under Ford Extended care warranty BUT, at the time there was no Ford dealership anywhere within 1000 kms in either direction (Broome and Carnarvon were the two closest).

Very costly to truck the vehicle that far to get repairs effected - so - we went with the heavy duty diesel fitter repairs services available in the northwest mining service center of Karratha.

5 months later and over $10K worth of bills that Ford Warranty wouldn't cover later, we finally got it repaired properly.

I honestly would tell you as an owner of a F 250 to buy something else - maybe a nice 100 series TD Cruiser 100 series.

There are a lot of short commings not commonly known here in Australia about the F 250's.

In the states -- the same truck would bring 10 grand second hand they are that common.

The price here is due to the rarity - it doesn't reflect their sophistication or reliability.

They have some annoying short comings - like you cannot direct cold air conditioned air onto you feet while traveling - the controls just don't allow it.

The floor pan with its rubber mats gets REALLY hot from reflected heat off the road and the fact that with a RH conversion the giant 4 inch exhaust runs right under the drivers foot well.

The big 7.3liter turbo diesel exhaust gets damn hot too....on my Exhaust gas Temp gauge temps of 450 C to 550 C (4 to 5 times the heat of boiling water).

In America in winter in the snow - this would keep your feet toastie warm.

In Australia in Summer, the skin will peel off your feet! Pretty sad not to be able to cool those feet with air conditioned air!

You could wear shoes but your feet will squelch with pools of sweat!

These are just things from hard won practical experience long range towing with the F truck.

You will get 5 km / liter towiung that van - and diesel up north can cost almost 2 bucks a liter - work out your fuel bills based on those figures!

The only good thing is - the Big F 250 will pull that van on the highway at 100 kph all day with ease! Even big road trains going past won;t push you all over the road with their wind buffeting the F truck weighs nearly 4 tonnes without the van - so sits on the road like a brick.

Honestly If I were you I wouldn't embark on the trip your contemplating in a F truck...

Everywhere we went up north there was a Toyota dealer. Not so Ford!

The F trucks DO hold their price well, I reckon i could easily get today what I paid for mine almost 3 years ago - due to the rarity factor.

Best of luckwith whatever you choose to do.

AnswerID: 374265

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:41
Thanks for all that information. I went to a dealer today to look at one who recommended getting the extended warranty- which made us both a bit wary since he had not recommended the same thing when we were looking at the landcruiser. I quizzed him pretty hard about the warranty after reading your post. Up to $2500 per claim and as you said, we would have to get it to a certified dealer at our own cost. Having said all that, we will probably not quite make it to WA so hope we might break down in the more populated areas. You can only hope! Anyway, the landcruiser would be fine perhaps but I am worried about leaving the dogs in the car while we are out and about in the hot weather. Will let you know how we go with our decision.
FollowupID: 641625

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:36

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:36
These F trucks are renowned for eating up auto transmissions - when towing heavy loads and all the dealers recommend the extended care warranty to help amortize the costs of a new transmission, when it inevitably happens.

The new trans is anywhere from $10K to $20 K depending what you get!

I spent quite a few grand modifying mine in the auto trans area to keep it cool, on hot days when towing. Again a symptom of a truck designed & built to haul 5th wheel vans etc in snow country - not hot outback Australia.

Forget ANY type of deep water creek crossings - because these vehicles are allergic to water - a cloud in the sky, and the electrics go haywire and EVERYTHING operates on electricity in these vehicles, even the otherwise reliable Diesel engines.

They do have their good points - but I think its important folks get to know about the downsides of them as well.

Best a luck with it.

FollowupID: 641645

Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:27

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:27
Hi Leah,

We have travelled many parts of Australia with 3 young kids (now teenagers)which was absolutely amazing and you will all love it, best wishes with working out the logistics, get the Camps Australia Wide book as suggested above it will be a great help.
Best suggestion I can make is it take your time, get to the campgrounds by mid afternoon so you have plenty of time to get sorted out before dark.

Cheers Tina
AnswerID: 374276

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:42

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:42
Thanks Tina, we will keep that in mind. We also hope that our kids will remember these trips for many years to come. Leah
FollowupID: 641626

Reply By: getmethehelloutahere - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:22

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:22
Anything is possible, just comes with some compromises. Sitting at home waiting for the perfect situation instead of going is a BIG compromise. Some people travel with $150k Winnebago, some with a XD falcon and Kmart tent. You do what you can. Good luck with the travels.
AnswerID: 374300

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:44

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:44
Thanks for the wish of good luck. We are TOTALLY confused at the moment. Seems like the more info you get, the harder the decision is. Still we can't wait to go away. That decision was the easy part!!
FollowupID: 641627

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:16

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:16
You could also consider the next step - a twin cab 4wd truck. Check the specs on the Canter and Isuzu:
Canter 4X4 specs
Izuzu 4X4 spces
AnswerID: 374313

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:48

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:48
Thanks for that. We looked at the Hino and Iveco today. Do you know much about the small trucks? Do you also know if the models you mentioned come in automatic? We are much better at driving an auto and figured that if we are learning to tow a caravan then perhaps we should stick to an auto we are comfortable with. The Iveco dual cab was nice today but there are none I've seen second hand and about $65,000 new once the tray in the back. Would solve all our weight and dog problems though and there are 4 seats in the back. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for the PDFs of the Canter and Isuzu. Leah
FollowupID: 641630

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:48

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:48
Gday Leah,
I have no personal experience with either - just been doing the research on them as a possible next vehicle. I like Japanese vehicles.

In both, you'll need the mid wheelbase models to have a dual cab. I think you can choose between 4.5T and 6T GVMs - the 4.5T is offered, so that it can be driven on a standard licence. Both have 3.5T towing capacity.

There is a write-up of an Isuzu dual cab in the current 4wd Custom Action mag.

The Canter is getting popular with the conversion people - google EarthCruiser and you'll get some idea of the mods people do to make them more capable as 4wds - usually larger single wheels/tyres and raised suspension. The Canter also has a 4.9L common rail diesel that boasts a lot of torque. Usually have to add an extra longrange tank. I have no idea what the fuel consumption is!
FollowupID: 641647

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:06

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:06
Whoops -wrong magazine. It was a Canter dual cab and was in this months or last months 4wdAction magazine - page 76, edition #135.

Also the www.truckworld.com.au site has some secondhand dual cabs for sale. I've not seen an automatic.
FollowupID: 641697

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 13:12

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 13:12
Hi Leah

Sounds exciting!

Someone has posted on the Mitsubishi Canter, and maybe converting one of these might be the go. There is also the OKAs’ they might be worth a look.

I guess the big thing you need to consider is comfort, especially if you intend to be on the road for a year or so. Most four-wheel drives that we are all familiar with will struggle with the comfort aspect once you put two adults, three kids and two dogs in.

Thinking outside the square; have you considered two vehicles, one as a tow vehicle for the Caravan, the other you could pull a trailer if you wanted to. Whilst this will increase your travelling costs (by double I guess) at least it provides a much better level of comfort.

Good luck with it anyway….

AnswerID: 374328

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:50

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:50
Thanks for your advice. I love your quote of "Those who think it can't be done...' It's so appropriate. We might have to stick to one car as we are struggling to come up with the money just for one. Is the OKA a small truck also? I will have to check it out. Thanks, Leah
FollowupID: 641632

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:36

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:36
Hi Leah...

There is a OKA Group (I think) and there was/is a member on here that has one. They have been used for mine transports and tourist operations mostly.

Can't give you any more detail than that.....

I can't claim the quote...but I like it!

FollowupID: 641700

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 14:34

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 14:34
Hi Leah,

The base model F trucks (XL) are a 6 seater 3 across the front bench seat. Don't know about legalities but I would put my 7 yr old in the front if that was my situation and vehicle. XL F trucks are quite a bit cheaper too but still probably over your budget unless you get a really high mile one or the petrol v8. Either way it will be hard to find in the price range but good luck. They have great resale and this is why you will pay so much for one now.

Don't know about your dogs but all of mine have been fine either tied up under my vehicles or staying under the vehicle when I say stay (all have been well trained). I would not hesitate to take any well trained dog if travelling, they are part of the family and will protect you and your possessions whilst doing so.

I would think many later model Cruisers or Patrols (probably other makes too) would tug the van (Gross maybe 2700kg from your Tare estimates) without issue. I have dragged a van weighing 3T (at times) for many of hundereds of thousand km in all conditions with my Patrol and not the van or Patrol have any dramas getting back from anywhere I have been. The van has well over 250 thousand k's on it and the car pushing 400 thousand but still I don't hesitate taking either into remote country when I want. To me there is plenty of options for you and your family but only half the fun will be deciding which one works better for you all, the most fun will be in getting out there and doing it.

Good luck to you and the family. Enjoy!!
Trevor.
AnswerID: 374335

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:56

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 21:56
Thanks Trevor. We will enjoy it for sure! So if you are going somewhere sightseeing for a couple of hours or so, do you leave your dogs tied in the carpark to the car? Ours are well trained and pushing 13y.o. now so a bit more mellow but I think I would still worry if a kid came and poked them or something that they might snap- the kelpie anyway.

Do you think that you could leave them in the back of a landcruiser with the boot open and side windows open or do you think that it would get too hot? I am not being cruel- just not sure what sort of air flow you would get in this situation. Spoke to a car trimmer today who said they could make up a mesh barrier for the back of the car so if the boot is left open, the dogs can't get out and people can't steal the car. Still I am not sure if it would get too hot still .Thanks for your help, Leah
FollowupID: 641633

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:19

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:19
When I was younger (late teens to 21) I had a cattle dog and never used to lock the car, windows down and the dog would get in and out the windows as she pleased but I was very confident nobody would steal anything with her around the car. These days we have a lab x ridgeback, she is quite a bit more sedate compared to my cattle and is quite happy to laze around under the car or tied to the a-frame of the van for hours on end. Each dog owner will have a different method of travelling with their companion but this works for us.

Tie your dog to the bullbar and go sightseeing or hiking, in my opinion other people shouldn't be close enough to your vehicle to see if your dog will defend it's owners vehicle. I have also seen the mesh barriers in the back of landcruisers were you can leave windows and tailgates open but have never talked to owners to see if the dogs are OK left like this. I would much prefer to lock the car and leave the dog under the vehicle so it has opportunity to go to the toilet without upsetting me by going in the car.

Happy travels,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 641667

Reply By: Member - John & Julie ACT - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 16:01

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 16:01
Hi Leah
One thing that I don't think has been mentioned since I have been following your threads, is using a camper trailer. At the Sydney caravan and camping show there were quite a few that have either a queen or king sized bed, another area where you could easily sleep 4 littlies, and a further huge living area.
We met up with a family a couple of weeks ago out of Boroloola who were travelling for a year in a mini bus pulling their camper trailer. Their kids were 7, 5, 3 and not quite 1.
Friends of our carry a collapsable dog enclosure which looks quite strong-also have a dog run with a length of rope tied down at each end and the dogs lead fitted over so it could run the full length of the rope, some in the sun and some out, and not get tangled up.
In your previous thread, you were talking about having an ensuite in your caravan. Using our caravan shower this morning I was thinking that you would have trouble showering three year olds without getting soaked yourself, and you also need to be careful that water doesn't get down the base of the window, and with kids showering, there will be water going everywhere! You could carry a porta potty, a shower tent which doesn't weigh much and a camp shower for you and hubby with one of those large rubber buckets for the kids to bathe in.
On another angle, we have a 200 series landcruiser and are pulling a 3 1/2 ton loaded off road caravan. The cruiser does it easily and our consumption rates are averaging out at 20ltrs/100 kms towing, and that includes roads like the Savannah Way (dirt, corrugations, bull dust, etc.), highway travel and city driving.
All these ideas are just that, ideas and options.
Good luck, and I hope you have a great time.
AnswerID: 374352

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:00

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:00
Hello there. Thanks for your suggestions. A friend of ours mentioned the camper trailer today and we might look into it further. The dog enclosure that your friends have, do they use this in the caravan park or when they go out and have to take the dogs with them? That is my greatest concern- wanting to go out sightseeing for a couple of hours, not being able to leave the dogs in the caravan park and then not knowing where to put them. I am sure we will meet some people with good ideas along the way but some info before we go helps alot. Thanks, Leah

PS And yes, showering with 3 year old twin boys will be a messy experience, you are right!
FollowupID: 641635

Follow Up By: Member - John & Julie ACT - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:33

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:33
Hi again Leah
Our friends use the enclosure while they are in the caravan park. We are currently in Darwin and have noticed that people in a van near us also have one of these enclosures, although it would not be high enough for your dogs I think. It is about 45cm/1 1/2 ft high, but I am sure that a higher one could be sourced or made.
One worrying thing is that someone suggested leaving dogs in the caravan with the aircon on while you go out during the day. One of the caravan parks we stayed at recently had quite a few blackouts during the day, which could leave the dogs at real risk in the hot weather. We were also next to a van at a different park, where the people did just that, left the dogs with the aircon on. It does become quite annoying as their aircon was very noisy and kept cycling on and off.
I am sure that you can sort out your means of travel and thoroughly enjoy your year on the road with family and dogs. Go for it.
Julie
FollowupID: 641671

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:35

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:35
Hi Leah,
Just having a look through rvpoint and found this really good set up. Looks like they have 4 kids too.
Keep positive. Something will turn up. Sally
http://www.rvpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?ItemID=2980228&TabID=204545
AnswerID: 374389

Follow Up By:- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 22:04
It looks like a fabulous setup doesn't it. I might email them and ask them how they went. The van is a bit longer than we will probably order but the dual cab truck looks great. Trying to keep positive but at the moment we just sold our house, are moving in 3 weeks in with my parents, have just bought a block of land to build on while we are travelling- life is very hectic and I would like to get at least this part of the decision making done soon. Still I guess if life wasn't so hectic now then we wouldn't enjoy the stress free lifestyle of touring around so much. Thanks once again for your help, Leah
FollowupID: 641637

Reply By: Itchyfeet8 - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:47

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:47
We are planning to something similar next year (once the business has sold) but with only 2 kids and no dogs. Despite not being in quite the same boat I have gone through most of the same questions you have been asking yourself. I have gone through the "Go Big, Comfy & Expensive" as well as the "Small, Simpler & Cheaper" options. We ended up somewhere in between, as we are likely to be in the van for a couple of years.

I decided to go for an Expanda 18ft with the bunks, towed by a petrol/LPG cruiser. You could consider an expanda, as the 18ft can have not just the two beds at the ends but a set of bunks inside as well, in place of the slide-out lounge. This has the benefits of being relatively light, so it may give you more options for a tow vehicle (probably not, though, a 2.5t limit is cutting it a bit fine).

Have you considered putting a double dog-box on the drawbar of the van? That way the dogs aren't taking up interior space, and they always have plenty of ventilation. You could even rig up some extra shade over them for when you go out and leave them locked up. Logically, it shouldn't be much different to a ute box. You may have to relocate the gas bottles inside the front boot.

Another option I looked at but binned was the light truck idea. A real pity, as it would have solved alot of problems with carting stuff. It came up on another caravanning forum a few months ago, and got a reply from someone who used to fix the vans belonging to a traveling circus that used to tow with trucks. He said that the stiff suspension in the trucks transmits and magnifies (due to the rear overhang) any bumps in the road to the van's drawbar, causing cracks in the bar and joinery problems inside. My parents have an Isuzu N-series based campervan, and I have first hand experience of the rear suspension so I had to agree with him.
AnswerID: 374485

Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 21:40

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 21:40
Hi there, that is a great idea re the dog box. A small truck that might help you is the Iveco 50c17 which we looked at which has the option of additional supsension to make the ride smoother. We looked at the dual cab version which can seat 6-7 and it comes in auto if preferred. Worth a look! That way we can tow a heavier van and put the dogs in the back. Hope all the planning goes well, Leah
FollowupID: 641787