Our ,1st Trip into Outback
Submitted: Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 19:48
Member - Tony Z (NSW)
This is our first trip into the UNKNOWN will be leaving(1/8/09) and I would appreciate all info on my planed trip
!Just became a new member!
1- Leaving Central Coast via Coonabarabran -
Walgett -
Bourke-
Wanaaring -
Tibooburra onto Cameron's Corner this is the easy part
2- From CC onto
Innamincka up via
Bore Track then after staying and doing the
Dig Tree circuit going up Downs Rd to
Birdsville for a few days
3- From
Birdsville to
Boulia then across Plenty Hwy to Alice again for a few days
4- onto
the Rock via
Glen Helen Gorge - Kings Canyon
5- After spending 3/4 days at
the Rock (hoping to climb it as I did climb it in the 1978 but wife hasn't) will head of to Finke - Mt Dare then Dalhousie spending 2 days relaxing in the Spring
6- Dalhousie to
Oodnadatta then via Mt Barry to Cooper Pedy then down the Hwy and back home maybe see
Adelaide
We will be travelling in a 2008 Diesel Pajero shod with Bridgestone Duller AT's LT (3 spare's for 4wd & trailer). I have read all I can on Out back travel and will be towing an Off Road camper Trailer, I have a good selection of recovery gear, Tools & will carry fuel &
water when needed . We don't need to rush this trip 4/6 weeks
All info will help us greatly, as will road conditions
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:09
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:09
Tony,
you seem to have a lot covered re set up & route, I would suggest that on your way to
Glen Helen you take a side trip into
Palm Valley, (south turn off opposite
Hermannsburg) leave the trailer in the
camp grounds and drive the last couple of K,s into the valley car
park and go for a walk down the Valley and up the escarpment back to the car
park, a must see, it is a special place, my favourite place in the West MacDonnall Ranges, a true
oasis in the wilderness.
Note: go in shorts and be prepaired to wade through the crystal clear
water at times and you will be rewarded with a rare site in the otherwise arid desert.
Colin.
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:12
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:12
Just got back last weekend from near identical trip in reverse with same vehicle (07), tyres and KK camper Trailer. We effectiovely would have done your trip in a touch over 3 weeks. It was too rushed, but we were limited by school holidays.
We had not a single problem, bar smashed Anderson plug on CT. If your tyres are all fairly good and you are pushed for space, I don't know if I would bother with 3 spares, only 2, but suppose it will stop "Murphy's Law" being invoked.
Make sure you have a good stone guard on CT and for additional security, back window of Paj covered.
Roads were far, far better than I expected. Worse is the 100km either side of Dalhousie, then the 70-80km Meernie loop from Grose
Bluff to Kings Canyon.
Stay at Kings Ck Station not Kings Canyon resort. I didn't think Dalhousie was worth the punishment on the direct road in from Mt Dare, so if you are going there take the longer way in from Eringa(?).
Arckaringa Station between
Oodnadatta and
Coober Pedy (
Painted Desert) was great and only $10/ adult (no charge for kids).
Glen Helen was a bit of a disapointment to us, may want to investigate some of the NP around region instead, especially if you have just resupplied from Alice.
You could spend 3-4 days properly exploring all the gorges on the road between Alice and
Glen Helen, so if your time is limited be selective. Serpentine was good, wished I had time to go a few km up it.
Onlly carry fuel if you reckon you are doing legs more than what your 88L
tank will let you @ 17L/100km (my worst 100km stretch) Contact me if you want any further details.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:34
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:34
Mark,
Re: "Onlly carry fuel if you reckon you are doing legs more than what your 88L
tank will let you" By that statement are you talking about EXTRA fuel or just your main fuel
tank(s)?
My travel rule is, and always has been, top up your
tank(s) when you can, because you just dont know if the next leg even has fuel & sometimes you may have to go on to the next place, and I know from bitter experience, that can happen.
If I carry extra Jerry cans, then as soon as possible use them to top up your main tanks, so as to not have extra fuel possibly being carried on a roof rack and the potential of roll over due to that extra weight up top.
It's a long walk to the servo if you get it wrong.
JMHO, Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:41
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:41
Thanks Mark we can't wait
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:16
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:16
Gidday Tony
There are a couple of sections you mentioned that I haven’t been down, but your trip sounds pretty easy to me.
Just keep an eye on the weather.
A lot of the Shires close the dirt roads after 10mm of rain.
Slow down on the Gibba, which you'll find on some parts of the trip.
Have a good trip
Kim
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:00
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:00
G'day Tony,
Hope you have a great trip and suggest if you get the chance, as you will be going via Finke etc that you might want to detour into
Chambers Pillar if you have a bit of time to spare.
We found it was best to
camp there overnight so that you be up early in the morning to get the good photos (if you're interested in that sort of stuff).
Reply By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:23
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:23
Thanks for all the info seems that we have been a bit overly worried about this trip but as you all know the unknown will getb the adrenalin going.
We will try to see all we can in Central Aust. and I am sure it will be the start of a wounderful experience. I will be getting all the info I can when we
camp off fellow travellers .IWe CAN"T Wait
I give the wrong date of setting off it's 1/9/09 not Aug.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:36
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:36
Tony
Reviewing my trip after getting back, the best website advice I got (other than comments on the
Forum) for vehicle preparation was from the Mt Dare and
Oodnadatta Pink Roadhouse websites.
Have a good look at them.
Speed (and or stupidity) is the biggest contributor to vehicle problems on gravel roads. It is tempting to increase speed when things seem OK, only to find a pothole, loose gravel, badly cambered corner etc too late.
I asked similar questions when doing my preparation, have a look at the great answers I received for the West Mac ranges on thread 66292
Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:25
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:25
Hi Tony,
Looks like you have got plenty of good advice, I have been to most of the
places you mentioned. Ormiston Gorge on the
mereenie loop is worth seeing also. Have a great trip.
Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:45
Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:45
Sounds like a great trip, you've got the gear, go and enjoy.
Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:19
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:19
Have you thought about remote area comms? Would suggest taking either HF or satphone if something should go pear shaped.
Reply By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:45
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:45
We'd like to thank you all for your response and hope we meet on the road some day. It'll be a great first adventure, the start of our ongoing road trips in this vast changeable country of ours