Kangaroo's

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:58
ThreadID: 71558 Views:3381 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
We have travelled from the south west of WA to Laverton across the Great Central Road to Alice Springs to Mt Isa and on to Winton, and we saw our first LIVE Kangaroo yesterday between Winton and Longreach…Heaps of dead ones………………………………...We have paddocks full of kangaroo’s at home

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:09

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:09
Gday cobber,
You probably have paddocks full of grass and water too?
There is more food and water away from the road at the moment so you dont see too many around Alice at the moment.

AnswerID: 379249

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:24

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:24
Maybe you've got your eye's shut Hairy... ;) I came back from Darwin 3 weeks ago and between Katherine and Marla there was hardly a km of road without a roo nearby and plenty of cattle hanging around the highway too...
FollowupID: 646612

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:20

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:20
Your dreaming........LOL
FollowupID: 646727

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:33

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:33
Wish I was dreaming, they had me on the edge of my seat...
FollowupID: 646748

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:35

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:35
Gidday Hairy

Cripes young fellar their getting stuck into you today.

Had a dream the other night. I was camped in the mall, and settled in for the night. A mob of Roo’s came by, ate me vegies, took the wine then pinched the dog for a pillow.

So don’t tell me there’s no Roos in scrubby town. By golly I awoke in fright

Kim
FollowupID: 646749

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 20:03

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 20:03
We got rules about illegal campers!!!!
Lucky you didnt wake up in jail.
FollowupID: 646754

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 02:51

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 02:51
You saw no kangaroos in WA at all?

Amazing.

Just how did your seeing eye dog get a drivers license anyway? LOL

AnswerID: 379280

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 05:36

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 05:36
I believe it if he was doing his travelling during the day
FollowupID: 646634

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 08:59

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 08:59
It was between Winton & Barcaldine that a kangaroo did this to our caravan on May 24th this year.Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 379290

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 09:44

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 09:44
Ouchies Fred, either the Jayco crumples easily or that was one big mother !

Your lucky it wasn't the car that got hit by that one.

I must ask......I don't suppose you have the shoo-roo installed on your car do you? Still trying to find out whether they work or not.

FollowupID: 646654

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 10:52

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 10:52
Paul, I only have the roo whistles, and IMHO they work to a certain extent. On this particular day, about 50 k's east of Barcaldine we encountered 4 oncoming roadtrains, empty cattle crates, over 200 meters of serious truck. I had slowed to about 40kph and moved right over to give them room, when I caught site of this black roo coming at us like an excocet missile from the left. I reckon if I had been doing 5kph quicker he would have missed us and said hello to a roadtrain.
Normally you can see them sit up and take off, but I reckon this little bugger was startled from his mid day nap by the roadtrains and didn't know where he was.
Spoke to a couple at Longreach that night, who related the story of a roo hitting the door of their caravan on the Nullabor one trip, tore it off and ended up inside the van. I think we were pretty lucky it got the corner of the van, and also didn't go under the van.
NRMA insurance is taking care of the damage.

FollowupID: 646666

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:09

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:09
I was responsible for the operation of a number of vehicles in western NSW some years ago, both FWD and sedans. We trialled 'Shoo Roos', whistles, upgrading the headlights, extra driving lights, all to no avail. Vehicular damage bills got so high that we finally were forbidden by management to drive out of town after dark except in exceptional circumstances.

The problem is the animal is blinded by the vehicle lights, becomes panicked and disorientated, and goes off in any direction. Unfortunately, you take up a fairly large chunk of the 360 degrees that's available. Kangaroos have exceptional hearing and I have been told that they can hear a vehicle approaching some kilometres away, so you really don't sneak up on them.

From my experience, and I have learned the hard way, is to avoid driving in that hour between light and darkness & vikky verky, and drop your speed substantially when you do travel in the dark. Even then they'll still run into you, front and sides. Tucking yourself in behind a semi trailer doesn't work either, as the prime mover will cause them to move and you'll still run into one, or they will hit one and you'll collect it. I recall one night taking something like 6 hours to travel from Wentworth to Broken Hill, because of the roo population on the road.

As I usually tow a van these days, we get off the road well before dark, but it still amazes me at the speed some people will travel at in the rural areas at night, even in unprotected sedans. Some of those small cars that are now being produced, if striking a large roo at speed would really have a problem.

My advice keep of the roads at night or really decrease the vehicles speed.

FollowupID: 646736

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:48

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:48
Travel at night outside the agricultural areas, particularly towards dawn and you'll see all the kanga's you want.

I cleaned one up outside Tamworth Airport a couple of weeks ago, directly opposite the rest area, in picanniny daylight, I missed his/her two mates.

Fortunately Mr. ARB didn't let me down.
AnswerID: 379361