Thoughts camper trailer vs caravan?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:26
ThreadID: 72332 Views:13118 Replies:15 FollowUps:25
Hi everyone,

Now that we have our Jackaroo we are getting closer to starting our journey around OZ. As far as acommodation (for a family of 5) goes I think we have two options:

Buy a camper trailer or buy a Jayco swan or Expanda?

I have a few questions for all of you knowledgeable people!!

** If we were to buy a camper trailer (around the 4K mark) we are worried about storage and set up. Where do you store the stretchers, clothes, bikes, kitchen items etc. From the pictures I have seen there doesnt look like much storage room. How long do they take to set up and take down? Are they ok in the rain? If we spent less on the trailer we will have more money to spend on other things, like hiring a cabin in a holiday park if we need to.

** Spend a bit more on the Jayco and be a bit more comfortable, easier setup but then spend more on petrol costs as it would be a lot heavier to tow. Maybe take a tent for the nights we feel like camping? If we spend the extra on the Jayco money will be a bit tighter.

Any thoughts?

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:42
4K on a camper trailer for 5 going around oz. I some how find that a hard find. Our camper 8 years ago was $4500 and very very basic.
AnswerID: 383573

Reply By: just goin - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:04

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:04
Hi There,

Definitely a swan if thats all you can afford for such a trip but a caravan would be your best bet....

Also just a few words on costs....
Not sure what you have budgeted for your trip but we are on a lap of oz at the moment with our two kids and thought we had allowed a reasonable weekly allowance for accomm, food, fuel and the odd souvenir and tour.....but we are thousands over budget and many other travellers with kids like us have said the same thing - so make sure you have extra $$$ available if you need it.

My advice in trying to stick to a sensible budget is too try and free camp as many places as you can....its hard with kids as we found not having a toilet at hand and showers etc so we havent free camped hardly at all...but tours and misc thing add up too and if you want to see the MAIN attractions it can be difficult to avoid such costs....

We bought a new camper trailer for our trip and at the very last minute sold it and upgraded to a van just before we left and so so so glad we did. It has made the trip much more pleasant and organised and has allowed us to stay sane and on the road for 3 and half months now without too many arguments.....

The fuel isnt much more than with the camper as you dont have to carry as many things with a caravan and the extra weight of the van balances out what you dont need to bring....like stretchers, tarps, tables (if you dont want), plastic boxes etc....

Happy Planning
AnswerID: 383575

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 11:45

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 11:45
Just goin,

You say you are thousands over budget, just curious what was your weekly allowance when you left.

FollowupID: 651314

Follow Up By: just goin - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:05

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:05
$1000 per week we budgeted. Broken down this includes allowign $50 a night for accomm which we have paid many times. Groceries, fuel, souvenirs, tours, misc car and van services etc to included....

We are closer to $1500-$1600 PER WEEK....

As at DAY 92 of our travels - our total fuel bill to date is smack on $3000 and we have travelled 15,700km thus far - so it hasnt been too bad considering we are towing a caravan....our accomm costs to date = $3400....to give you an idea....

More free camps would definitely be making a huge diff to our costs outlayed but with two kids under 5 that can be difficult sometimes as well.....

Hope this gives you some informative info
FollowupID: 651376

Follow Up By: luckymum - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:11

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:11
just goin: we have budgeted $1,000 per week too. Interesting that you have spent much more than that. Its so hard to budget for all the little things. Hubby is really keen to free camp but Im not because Im the one thinking on a practical level! What are the free camps like? Are they populated? (think the movie Wolf Creek makes me a little scared!!)

How long are you travelling for?
FollowupID: 651482

Follow Up By: just goin - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 15:27

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 15:27
Hi Lucky Mum,

Best thing to buy is the latest Camps 5 Australia Book - it has all the free camps in it that you could possibly want. Please bear in mind though - even though it is a free camps book NOT all the camp sites are FREE....you will see many have $$$ signs and then when you see the actual camps and what you may need to pay (it may well not be a huge fee) and then weigh up what you can get at a van park escpecially when you are travelling with three kids - often you will do as we have and leant toward van parks....

A free camp every other night is fine - but many are just a basic toilet if you are lucky and a dirt patch and maybe a tree....you will know which ones are GOOD and FREE as their will be tons of grey nomads there for nights and nights..... I would recommend any free camps that have a river near (not near croc country of course) or NP's that gives the kids something to go off and do. What we found with our 2 kids was there wasnt much point sitting at a free camp all day in the heat and dust and no power and therefore bored, hot and whingeing the whole day or days....theres no fun in that for anyone. Also you have to realise that if you are planning on 5 months (same as our trip) then there is a lot to see and you want to be able to have showers and toilets and power avail to get things done easier and then you can get out the door and sight see as thats what you are travelling for...it is different to a 2 week school holiday trip to just one destination....you have to get out and see all the things at each destination and thats also why we have gone over budget as their is so much to see and worth doing (tours etc) that you have come so far and dont know if and when you will back so you make the MOST of the trip and do these things which cost money (families even more so)....you cant budget for that BUT like I said just make sure you have another stash of money to access if you find you need it....better to have the option then have to go home or worse still go to all these wonderful places around oz but you cant experience certain aspects properly as you have cant afford to....

We dont smoke or drink much so we havent spent any money on those things either.

We have been on the road for three and half months and plan to be on the road for 5 months total. OUR trip has seen us travel the entire coastline of Australia starting in Newcastle NSW heading north to Cooktown QLD, Across to Karumba in the Gulf, down to Mt Isa and then to Three Ways, North to Darwin (We did Kakadu and Litchfield NPs as well), then back down to Katherine (did all the gorges there), then across to Kununurra WA, across to Derby then Broome and we have come down the WA coastline and are currently in Perth as I write to you....

The weather is crappy here so we wont be going any further south of Perth, but will head to Kalrgoorlie instead next and explore the fossickers way and then cross the Nullabor etc....and slowly end up at home....

We arent doing the centre this trip but will again seperately....

So by the time we get home we will be close to 22000km roughly and prob have spent double what we thought we would have based on our current figures which I keep track of in a spreadsheet so we can always look at how things are going $$$ wise....it is amazing to see how quickly money goes out the door too.....

I hope this helps you a bit more....let me know if you need any further info as I am glad to assist if I can....also up the top end you prob wont want to free camp too much either depending on the weather as it can be very uncomfortable at times and being without a decent pool or shower for the kids will get very very tedious - TRUST ME!!!
FollowupID: 651500

Follow Up By: luckymum - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:21

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:21
Thanks for your detailed response. I really appreciate it, I need to learn everything I can.

We plan to leave Aug next year and do exactly the trip you are doing except we are only going as far north as Rockhampton and then inland. We figure we may do the far north qld trip another time.

I have a few more q's if thats ok. Besided petrol what do you think your biggest cost would be? Food, nightly fees, tourist attractions?

We are vegetarians and eat pretty simply so Im not expecting a huge food bill although I have no idea what prices are like in the outback. We do drink but dont smoke.

We will have $1,000 per week. I have thought of asking our bank if they will do a 'home loan holiday'. If they can stop our repayments for 5 months we will have triple the money. Also access to a credit card for emergencies so Im sure the money side of things will be ok.

What type of van are you using? Did you buy it and plan on keeping it or selling on it return? Is it big enough for you all? My biggest concern with the van is that it wont be comfortable for us all. I like the swan but I think it looks a little small. I love the expanda but its out of our pricerange and a must for us is a fully enclosed annexe.

Lastly how are your kids travelling? Are they having a ball? Our kids will be 3,6,8 years. Anything you can suggest re kids?

Many thanks....
FollowupID: 651571

Follow Up By: just goin - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 10:09

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 10:09
HI Lucky Mum,

Helping is no problem at all - I used this site and also Expedition Aust website to gain as much useful info that I could too for a year prior to us leaving or maybe even longer....

Our main costs are - Food (we often sample the local fare and that has added up quite a lot for us....so you prob wont have as big as bill as us for that....) - approx 30% of our current spending is on food (made up of groceries, snacks, lunches and dinners out and alcohol), Accomm so far is exactly 15%, Fuel is 13%, Tours & Souvenirs is 15%, Washing machines and dryers(when needed) we have spent $303 thus far, car services x 2 (one major and one minor) plus one van service plus anything else we have needed for car and van = $1400 thus far, plus you have misc things that come up for the kids such as new clothes if needed and shoes maybe......

So we are at Day 93 as you know.....

The financial arrangements you are thinking of doing would prob be a good idea just in case....my hubby was planning to work along the way here and there and has heaps of good job offers but it just wasnt practical to stop and work and not travel when the cost of staying less earnings doesnt really get you THAT far in front.....

We bought a 2009 Concept Belmont 16' Bunk Van (pop top)....it isnt too big to tow but we are vrey comfortable and much easier having everything in cupboards and under bed base we have 8 snap lock boxes without lids that we can use for extra storage.....not much in there when we left but now our souvenirs and extra food are kept under there so the kids dont get into it....rotate clothing easily once you need winter woolies and not summer clothes...also you say you are leaving in August so bear in mind that it will be bloody hot and humid....Darwin was putrid for us in Mid Aug so I dont know how people cope up there in the wet season so be aware of that as well as the kids will notice the heat....

Our van was basically bought brand new and we were just lucky that they had 2 new ones of the same van and were trying to clear ONE at least at the time we bought. We didnt wait to get Air Cond installed or annexe etc just has a top of the range dometic roll out blind which has been fantastic for instant shade and easy setup and pack up.....we put a bike rack on the back of the van to take 3 bikes with us and they are out of the way if we dont want to get them off....

To be honest our kids have riden scooters more and we have bought them 2 new ones since we left as they have flogged them out so much.....

Back on the van we plan to sell it when we get home and we have looked after it very well for that reason....it has been quite common for others to do the same as we have learnt on our travels....vans hold their value though so it isnt a bad idea to think about investing in a van and then reselling it later....bunk vans are very HARD to come by as you may already know and thats why the Swans etc are popular to with families....

We were very close to buying a Swan at one stage for the trip but then we decided against it as they are still very exposed to the heat and rain and with kids we have found the van easy as tio setup (5 mins) and you can lock the door and walk away straightaway without having to organise bedding and bits that I imagine you would have to store on the floor etc to fold the camper up....this is just my opinion and we have been campers in tents most of our lives with our kids so we are feeling like royalty having a van in our early 30's.....

We dont have an ensuite etc and that again is a personal choice but your $$$ to buy will go up if you want this type of feature - more cleaning for you too.....we got a great DEAL on ourvan so it was worth it....the expandas are popular too I see lots on the road but not many families at the moment.....mainly nomads....

Keep the kids well fed and they wont whinge in the car and the best thing we bought before leaving was 2 x portable dvd players. They both watch what they want and no fights and we also barred the TV on this trip and we havent missed it at all...so maybe bikes and or scooters for the kids, they will swim heaps which will keep them amused and wear them out.....

We try and travel early in the day too on long stints (910km in one day was our biggest) and that gets you out and started before the hot hot starts....and trust me it gets hot quick and one more thing - we have been buying bottled water in the case as the water is yuk everywhere from qld across to here....so that adds up too but you must drink loads of water.....

Anything else you would like to know let me know

FollowupID: 651625

Follow Up By: joff1 - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 11:38

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 11:38
We been going since January with 2 kids, 13 and 10. Our average weekly spend is $960.

FollowupID: 651632

Follow Up By: luckymum - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:52

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:52
justgoin- sorry just one more question!!

Do you think you would free camp if you had a toilet and shower in your van? Im just wondering because I see on the Jayco website there is a Jayco Flamingo with shower and toilet. The van itself is quite small, I would prefer something larger but I figure if it has a fully enclosed annexe that adds another room so maybe we would go for that? The thing that puts me off free camping is the lack of toilet and showers, pretty essential with 3 kids I imagine.
FollowupID: 651789

Follow Up By: just goin - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:24

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:24
no prob - happy to help if I can.

Being a jayco flamingo it would have to be a portable shower and a port-a-potti toilet - or maybe even a outdoor shower that they are advertising....there isnt a proper bathroom toilet/shower in these campers as I understand - therefore it would still be more stuff to carry in the small camper as you say that would need to be managed and organised to be able to operate = more work for you buys.

If we had a shower and ensuite we prob would BUT having said that OUR trip this time round has been purely to travel the COASTLINE of Australia and therefore this also equals getting right onto the touristy spots in all of the states which = $$$ more expensive trip rather than say seeing the desert mainly or the inland routes whereby you dont (in my opinion) come across as much stuff to do and therefore less money for attractions and tours etc..the attraction is simply the outback itself and NP's etc.....without a doubt the coastline offers more touristy highlights and every town has something major to boast about and showcase....there arent as many free camps in close to the major towns either so you would have to camp out of town and this therefore means you will have to leave your van unattended in a possible non secure area while you drive into towns to do the touristy things.....

It all depends on the route of your trip - I reckon....If you are doing similar trip to ours as you say then I wouldnt spend the extra on an ensuite site to gain a few extra free camps here and there....I would just spend the extra going into decent van parks in the spots you want within towns and enjoy the trip and give yourselfs a break too by the kids having things to do within the van park safely (swimming, bikes, scooters, games rooms, other kids....therefore making new friendships - this can be very hard at the free camps as most of them are nomads (no offence to anyone) and the kids wont get a break from each other).

We have met lots of families during our travels and that has all been thanks to the van parks we have stayed in....one family has just had us in their home in Perth and spent 4 days showing us around....we met them at the Gold Coast and we spent about 5 weeks in total here and there travelling together and it really made the trip great in many different ways...we did things together that we wouldnt do alone (some remote free camps for example)....and we helped them in time of need when there car couldnt tow there van anymore due to mechanical problems in the middle of nowhere.....so yes we think van parks are the go for THIS trip.....they had an expanda too by the way and that got sick of setting it up all the time with the poptop roof and both ends needing expanding before they could function properly in their van....becomes a real pain in the butt....they have theirs on the market now as a matter of fact. Whereas our is simply pop the roof and all is ready to use as the bunks for our kids are in place all the time....fantastic and easy......

Free camping sounds great and it is but it depends on how much time you have to see the things you want and cover the ground you need to. Many free camps arent convenient to many things at all (except for the NP's maybe) but mainly just useful to break a long trip if you are doing a lot of kms at once and dont need to be anywhere in a hurry.....thats why they are so popular for the nomads as they have all the time in the world and often dont like paying for van parks.....many are self sufficient too (lucky buggers) with solar power, huge water tanks, ensuites, generators etc etc so they have more reason not to need electricity and toilet blocks....

Make sure that you do allow $50 per night for accomm though in your budget as with kids the nightly price does add up. Some parks charge say $35 for 2 adults and then $10 per child over 4 years old....that becomes expensive!!

Food for thought.

Oh one more thing - just FYI. We are planning our next big trip already and it will be in a camper trailer - flip out canvas style and we are planning on doing the red centre, gibb river rd, tunnel ck and the bungle bungles over a few weeks....no caravan and luxuries but it is a different trip and different length of time and our kids will be a few years older again and things change. So a camper will suit us for that type of adventure.....

If I can help any further please just ask - its no prob!
FollowupID: 651829

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:02

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:02
Hi just goin

We have one of the jayco flamingos with the shower and toilet.
Toilet is fully moulded with its own water tank and separate cassette with 12v water flush. Shower is just like home with mixer tap, hot water comes from a 25lt hot water system both gas and electric. Because the camper is a wind-up the shower curtain is made from heavy duty PVC that zips on to a roof skirt and clips on down inside in the shower cubicle. Is also fitted with its own water proof light and exhaust fan all running of the house battery.
I am 5' 10" and 105kg and can shower quite comfortably in it.
The better half loves it. this whole space can be used for storage whilst travelling too.

Regards Rossco
FollowupID: 651847

Follow Up By: luckymum - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:53

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:53
Thanks for the reply Rossco. Can I ask if you think its big enough for a family of 5? I really think this could be an option for us. Not so worried about having a shower but a toilet would be really handy for the kids in the middle of the night!! Where did you buy it? I have not seen any for sale? Can I ask how much you bought it for also? Does it have an annexe?

Many thanks....
FollowupID: 651905

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:56

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:56
Hi Luckymum
Yes a famliy of five will fit in fine. The beds are big enough to sleep all 3 but the table makes another bed to stop fights.
Toilet works great and is handy for midnight pit stops.
We got it from Brisbane camperland (jayco dealer here).
They have only been released for about four months so dont think you will see a second hand one yet.
Ours has bag ends over the bed ends to help keep canvas dry,only a bag awning and no sides ( you can buy sides for it) and an awning off the kitchen which is a big plus.
We paid 30k on road with above fitted then added simplicity suspention drop jacks and offroad coupling and heavier wiring.
rossco
FollowupID: 651940

Follow Up By: just goin - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:37

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:37
Hi Luckymum,

Just goin again.....

Looking at your last few replies regarding the flamingo with toilet option etc given it was only released 4 months ago explains why we hadnt seen one before as we did all our extensive searching over 18 months prior to June this year....so it would have been released very close to our departure....

Looking at the price though - that is what we paid for our brand new pop top and I see far better value and less work than a jayco style camper trailer of any sort for that matter....everyone always seems to have their gear sprawled out outiside on the ground and under the campers....there just doesnt seem to be enough storage....plus you will get sick of putting the ends out and the annexe roof up - which arent that great either unless you get a better qual one like dometic and often they cant be put on them as the camper cant carry the weight and the arms cant be attached etc from memory and the enquiries we made.....

Looking at the cost though they are expensive now for what you get....

Have a good look around before you decide to buy thats for sure!!!

p.s our purchase was hugely reduced as well so you may be lucky to get a similar buy when the time comes....
FollowupID: 651959

Follow Up By: luckymum - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 08:17

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 08:17
justgoin- I think they were released in Easter this year. I do think putting up the top and extending the bed ends would be a real pain but we arent planning on spending just one night anywhere so I think it would be ok. Im worried about not enought storage but I really like the idea of the toilet (my 3 all go to the toilet in the night) and also the annexe. What do you do for a toilet in the night? Do you have a porta-potti? I searched the van you have and it looks awesome, Im surprised its in the same price range as the Jayco. Where are you going to advertise it when you get back, we may just be interested!!!

Roscco- thanks for the info
FollowupID: 652038

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:29

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:29
Hi Luckymum

In regards to choosing your accommodation for an around Oz trip have a look at around oz for an opinion from someone else that has been around in a camper trailer for his opinion on the value and price of what you are looking at needing for what you are about to do.

I think you have your thoughts around the wrong way. I think you will need to spend a lot more on an adequate camper trailer than what you think. The price of a top quality jayco swan or similar can cost less than you think. You dont have to buy a very late model eg:2002, 2004 etc to get the right swan for what you think. Look at swans from around 1995 on and you will get same basic inclusions or layout as what you get in the older ones. A great condition older one like that may even have some of the extras you would like but wont be able to afford by buying the newer one.

If you were in south west sydney you would be more than welcome to look at my 1995 swan to see what sort of good ones are actually out there. you just got to look around and find one. i think a swan is a good choice for layout if that is the type of vehicle you go with. happy to explain more if you want.

maybe you need to look at your budget if you think spending less on the van allows you to have a better holiday. you could (more than likely) end up spending heaps on repairs or even need to replace a cheap camper trailer or camper van and if that is not in your budget you are in bigger trouble.
AnswerID: 383580

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:33

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:33
PS - a Jayco Swan would not be heavier than a properly set up camper trailer - suggest you do some more homework on this....
FollowupID: 651256

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:33

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:33
Lucky as a starting point you need to decide what areas you wish to see. Towing an Expanda for example will restrict you to major roads getting to attractions like Ularu where as a basic camper will get you to Birdsville & an offroad camper to Cape York.
Personally I'd suggest an offroad camper. They allow you greater access to most places & a quality unit is more likely to survive outback roads.
As far as mounting everything on board, go to a 4wd show to compare different designs & see what will suit your needs. Models with boat racks can be modified to carry bikes & you will find there is plenty of storage particually on one's with A frame box's.
Both Jayco's & soft floor campers take around 15 minutes for a basic setup to 30 minutes to get the annexe etc complete.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 383582

Reply By: stumbly1 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 04:06

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 04:06
hey lucky mum,
My wife and I have done several extended trips with 3 kids (pre-& teenagers) with a camper trailer, a fold out caravan (windsor rapid - similar to expanada) and are now going to a full family van. What you are asking really depends on your plans, are you going to mainly free camp? or parks? how far offroad do you want to go? how long are you going to be travelling around Oz for? the camper trailer may be a cheap option and they can be quick setup/pack up but all the ancillary stuff takes up alot of room and time....and living under canvas can be a pain on extended setup/pack up trips.When the salesman says "it only takes 3mins to set up" that is to set up the tent section - all the other bits and pieces take a lot longer in reality. Not a problem if staying for a few days but quick overnighters get to be a pain....
If you could give the good folk on the forum a bit more detail they may be able to give you a more accurate picture of what to expect
AnswerID: 383590

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:54

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:54
Hi Stumbly 1,
I am keen to hear how the Windsor Rapid performed when you traveled as I am about to take off in late Jan for about 9 months in our 14.6 Rapid with my wife and 10/6 yr old boys and if there is anything I should know I'm all ears,and yes I agree when the sales man says 3 min to set up a camper trailer he don't mean all the little incidentals!
FollowupID: 651272

Follow Up By: stumbly - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 04:35

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 04:35
Hi Johny boy,
The windsor rapid (14.6 - same as yours) did every thing I expected of it, don't push it too far but - they are not a true offroad van! tidy up underneath before you go (rocks flying up WILL damage water taps,wiring etc) make sure you fit a good stone guard/rock tamer or rocks WILL damage the front of your van. Internal fittings will suffer from the corrugations if you go too hard but are reasonably robust (remember to reduce tyre pressures on gravel roads) but all up I was reasonably impressed with the way it handled the pilbara. Easy set up/pack up - quick over nighters,much easier than the camper trailer.
Sorry we hijacked your post,lucky mum.
Cheers, Keith
FollowupID: 651426

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:18

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:18
Hi again Stumbly 1,
Thanks mate its nice to compare apples with well apples LOL! and its funny you should say to tidy up the underside of the van as I was under it yesterday relocating the water pump from under the sink (which stops us from using allot of the cupboard) to fitting the pump outside under the van as well as moving all the pipes against the wall so they don't foul on anything we want to store and I did notice heaps of wires and gas lines that seem exposed ,so how did you protect them and also have you got a stone guard as I'm thinking about making one myself?
and I too apologize to you lucky mum for hijacking your post ,but just think of it as us all being at a BBQ sharing a few coldies with about 100 conversations going on at once LOL! Cheers.
FollowupID: 651431

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 05:59

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 05:59
Hi luckymum,
I think your a bit off the mark with your pricing of a Jayco Swan and camper trailer.
There is an 85-87 model on eBay atm for $6800 with a day to go, it could get to as high as 9ish. We paid $10.000 for ours, which is and 87 model.
We went from a camper tent trailer to a Swan and the difference is huge. We have three kids, 11, 9, & 7. The trailer tent would take a good hour or so to fully setup, but once up it had heaps of room and it was very comfotable on long stays, a week or more. We could take all our bikes, the Boogie boards, fishing gear and all the other stuff the kids wanted.
The swan is fantastic for a quick setup, within 15 minutes we're up and settled in. It's also warmer, so we get away a lot more in winter :). Fysh doesn't like the cold, so happy wife, happy life :). Unfortunatley at this stage there isn't the room for all our bikes and other gear. Although I've been told to work on that :)

There is a lot of good points that others have put forward, take it all in, ask more questions, don't rush your decision, choose whats right for you guys.
Hope this helps some.
Have fun ;)

AnswerID: 383591

Reply By: Stinz - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:32

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:32
We have a camper trailer and three kids, but have only been on the road for a max of four weeks at a time. Plenty of room in the trailer itself to stow all the gear we wanted. For quick stops, we just set up the main tent, which only takes 15 mins. However, for a longer stay we set up the annex, which makes it at least an hour in total to set up.Well worth it with all the extra room especially if the weather gets dodgy. When packing up, we packed the annex the night before which made early departures quite easy and quick (and quiet). Fuel impact was only marginal with the camper trailer. Can't comment on what it would be like with a Swan or van.
AnswerID: 383609

Reply By: luckymum - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:04

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:04

As always thanks for your replies and thoughts.

I think a few of you have misunderstood me re the 4k for the trailer. Im talking spending 4k on a camper trailer (similar to a Johnno's type) or spending more than double on the Jayco swan or similar. I would love the Expanda but its too far out of our price range at the moment.

Im just wondering if we go for the trailer is there any storage room? Looks like it packs up pretty tightly. If we spend less on the accom then we will have more money to spend on other things.

If we buy the Swan and spend up to 12k that is eating into our money a lot more but as I said we really want to be comfortable. Would towing a swan compared to a trailer cost us alot more in fuel?

We are planning on going for around 5 months, more if hubby can get time off work. I'd say we will mainly stick to sealed roads and more touristy destinations. Hubby and I did the trip 10 years ago and massivly under-budgeted so Im determined not to do the same thing. We will have up to 1,000 per week and Im hoping that will be enough. Prepared to eat baked beans on toast if we need to!!!! We also have a few friends along the way that we will stay with. We will free camp in areas but mostly go to caravan parks just because I think we will need the amenities.

So much to think about!!

AnswerID: 383622

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:30

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:30
Hi Lucky mum
we hired a camper trailer for quite a few years, before we brought our jayco outback.
maybe u should consider the same. for $4k u can hire a very good camper trailer for a considerable length of time. or a few weeks at a time spread over many years.
no they do not have a lot of room for bikes, bags, buckets, clothes, food, saucepans, surf boards, fishing gear etc. but u do learn to make do.
yes we did stay a caravan parks to use the showers etc, they also had amenities for the kids.
good luck Tom
FollowupID: 651355

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:07

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:07
Hi Lucky mum,
I'm not sure if anyone has suggested it but I bought the latest camps 5 book because we intend to free camp as much as possible to save some money, they sell them here on E/O and the price is fair as I am led to believe the money goes back into the running of this great site so its a win win and you can buy 3 versions the standard bindings (which I'm told can be damaged easy when traveling when folding the pages back)or the ring bound which is what I bought and there is a larger scale book which includes pics of the camps but when I checked it out it seemed too big to handle in the car,upon reading this book it seems most have pit toilets and a water tank,some have picnic benches but I have not seen any with showers even though I was speaking to a couple at the Penrith show last week and they said that some do have basic shower enclosures but only cold water,hence the reason to consider a portable shower system and maybe solar/generator you really must do the math as to how long you intend to travel and how much you will use it to justify the outlays,well good luck and I hope this helps a little :)
FollowupID: 651429

Reply By: AusTravellers - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:28

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:28
LM, personally, if you are travelling with Kids, I'd go for the Jayco for the following reasons:

1. Although the storage space may not be huge, you will still have a lot more places to store things, like pots and pans, clothing, cups, cooking utensils, tv etc. etc.

2. You won't experience as many problems with mozzies for the kids.

3. Airconditioning. If you're heading to the hotter regions, it will keep you and family comfortable.

4. Privacy. You won't get much of that from a camper trailer.

5. I reckon if you choose the Jayco option, go for the Expanda. You will find that there is more room for general living eg walking around.

6. A caravan will have all the necessities for camping. eg. fridge, sink, table, stove, lounge, etc. where as camper trailers you would have to spend additional buying tables, outdoor chairs, and for the more basic camper trailers, a portable cooking setup.

Hope that helps.

T.

AnswerID: 383662

Follow Up By: luckymum - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:24

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:24
Good points thanks.....

Hadnt thought of number 6 but yes thats exactly right.
FollowupID: 651573

Follow Up By: joff1 - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 12:26

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 12:26
Without wanting to start a fight here luckymum I have read over AusTraveller's comments a few times and just can't leave you thinking they are justifiable.

1. Beware that weight is you enemy. Having travelled with vanners I can tell you if you have a space you WILL fill it with some crap you don't need. I truly believe having lots of "storage" space is far worse than not having enough. If the worst thing you have to do is jettison a few items then it's all good.

2. That's simply not true

3. This is a personal thing. We haven't missed AC but some people can't do without it. What I will say is that the little AC they put in Expanders is nowhere near big enough in capacity to cool the van. If you want AC then you need a bigger unit in a van without canvas ends.

4. Again, simply not true. I have a 13yo daughter, she won't sneeze without privacy. The camper offers the same privacy a van will (unless its closed up that is lol)

5. There is no more usable room in an expander than a 17' soft floor camper. In fact, because all the kitchen stuff and tables etc is inside you feel as though there is less space.

6. That is true UNLESS, like most, you plan to leave the van at some stage to tackle an area that the van won't go. If you then need to camp for even a few days away then you need to double up on everything. Stove, burner, tent/s, mattresses, table and chairs (by the way, you will end up buying an outdoor table and fold up chairs anyway coz you won't want to be couped up inside all the time) etc. You need bags to carry your stuff that is normally in cupboards, you need another fridge.. All of a sudden you are carrying a bunch of extra stuff you only use 3 or 4 times all year. And,

Please don't think I'm pushing the camper barrow or bagging the Expander coz I'm not. We chose that route as we figured it was right for us (and in hindsight we were 100% correct). My friends are more than happy with their Expander (in fact they love it) and they have no issue with how long it takes to set up or carrying the extra stuff needed to go bush (don’t think they are too keen on the AC unit however). They, with their 2 under 8’s are having the time of their lives just as we are. What you do will be based what is best for you and your family and the sort of experience you want. My only agenda is to debunk some misnomers and offer you both sides of the argument.
FollowupID: 651637

Follow Up By: luckymum - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:55

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:55
joff1 your post made me laugh. As a 13 year old girl I wouldnt have sneezed without privacy either!! Too funny.
FollowupID: 651906

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:42

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:42
I have traveled with up to two kids and in a few different camper trailers, from a basic $1500 box trailer type that we customized a little to one which had cost over 20/30k. But we were never on the road for and extended period such as 5 months though.

Providing you weren't looking to go serious off road (like Cape York etc) I think I would be more likely to opt for the caravan.
I think a lot of people end up buying campers for the potential and flexibility..... like going off road, not staying in caravan parks etc, but in a lot of cases they don't get used to that potential.

The last camper we had was quick to set up, under 30 minutes including the awning and all, but if you're driving and stopping at the end of the day on most days as opposed to staying in once sport for weeks at a time, then I think a caravan would probably be less hassle and take less time, particularly as you don't have boxes of stuff to pack and unpack, including conndecting / disconnecting the gas bottle, packing / unpacking tables and chairs, making stretchers / beds etc. Not to mention if you happen to travel during the winter time, it's warmer cooking in a caravan than in an annexe of a camper trailer, and if that annexe is enclosed then it's often dark too!

I lived in a caravan for a while before kids, we had a 16ft, so I do know what they're like. It was an old one, brought cheap, we towed it from Darwin to Alice and then when we moved again we towed it to Norseman WA, I think we had to have the axle replaced on the way and kept blowing tires too, so needles to say we hadted towing the thing and almost didn't make it to Norseman!!! I think the tires were overheating, the pressure was too low in the end, partly our fault for thinking softer meant less likely to blow up!

I think take into consideration which you will find more useful after your trip as well, unless selling to buy something else down the track if it's more suitable is a viable option.

Can you hire a camper for a weekend? That might give you a better idea of what to expect and what might suit you best.
AnswerID: 383671

Reply By: landed eagle - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 07:09

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 07:09
I'm doing a trip from Hobart to Cairns and back at the moment with the Mrs and 2 teens. Using our 5 month old expanda 16-49-3 Outback hardlid.

Not going offroad and probably wouldn't use it for extended trips on dirt either. Had to have the outback version just to get it into my 'challenging' driveway. Onroad version will self destruct the rear end ,not enough ground clearance.

Have had a few people travelling with Jayco Swans,Eagles,etc have a look at ours and all comment on how much easier the expanda is to set up.
An older couple in Moree had recently bought a Swan and are now thinking of changing to a small expanda. Sick of having to wind it up just to stock the fridge and cupboards.
After it's parked,it's literally 5 mins for power and water and the cup of tea to be made. No more sliding beds out and putting up flies and annexes.The beds are big and comfy after they wear in a bit.
You will undoubtedly get the 'Jayco Junko" knockers but this my second Jayco and after nearly 4000 ks the only thing I've had to adjust is a loose screw in a drawer slide after the Leichhardt, North of Moree.
How is that called a highway?

AnswerID: 383736

Reply By: luckymum - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:31

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:31
Hiring is a great idea although hubby is just too busy at work at the moment to take some time off. Maybe early next year.

We did go the camping and 4WD show earlier this year in Sydney and it was a huge eye opener, we came away with so much reading material that Im still reading through!!

Has anyone bought an expanda or other van from the show? I remember seeing finance for about $100 per week for a brand new van. Anyone know how this works? Can we order a new van and pay the $100 per week and then re-sell when we get back? Jayco's keep their value dont they? What are the other hidden costs with buying from the show and how long to they take to deliver?
AnswerID: 383857

Reply By: joff1 - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:35

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:35
We left Sydney in January in a soft floor camper. We did modify it fairly extensively to be as convenient as possible but it’s a soft floor camper just the same.

Having owned a Jayco Hawk Outback (same sort of thing as a Swan) for 5 years and done some pretty long trips with it too, I can tell you that they are a very inconvenient way to tour. Go sit for a week or a month they are great but touring every other day they become very frustrating. When you close them down you effectively entomb your belongings only to see light of day when next you open it right up. Painful when all you want is a jumper or a can of baked beans.

About the Jayco Expander. We have good friends doing the same trip and we just spent 3 weeks travelling with them through the Pilbra. It takes just as long to set up their pop top expander (in fact longer) than it takes to set up our camper. When done they don’t have any more effective living space than we do. What they do have is a microwave, TV and airconditioning. Only you can decide if those things are necessities.

In my opinion, if you think you need a caravan then buy a caravan, not a poptop, an expander, or any other combination. Our friend’s Expander is a nice bit of kit but still takes work to set up yet has all the limitations of a full sized van.

A well set up camper will not be bought for $4k. Start from $14k and you may have a chance. Mine owes me around $21k with the mods I made.

You need to sort out where you want to go in order to know if the extra work of a camper is for you. For us it was a no brainer and have been able to sleep in our normal bed everywhere we go. Our friends have been to most places we have but they sometimes have to leave their van back in town and use their tent and camping gear for a few nights. No big deal for them and it may be right for you too.

Don’t listen to people who say things like you get no privacy in a camper or that your kids will be eaten by mozzies, it’s garbage. When you are set up well, you want for nothing and a van will offer you nothing more than TV to waste your trip of a lifetime on.

Good luck with whatever you do BUT just remember whatever you do, do it in full. Not in half measures. You will never enjoy your trip if your home is a pain in the backside coz you were a bit to cheap.
AnswerID: 383860

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:48

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:48
Have you told our little friend you're bagging his set up, Joff?
FollowupID: 651951

Follow Up By: joff1 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:19

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:19
Not bagging it at all, in fact I reckon it's a lovely home on wheels. Just isn't as quick and easy as the brochure might make it out to be.
FollowupID: 651976

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:51

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:51
I'd go for a pop-top or van. I suppose though, it depends on what you've had before to some degree. We'd already had a van and went to a camper. Big mistake. Found it a real pain putting up and down(particularly when touring) and not as much storage room. Also wet beds even with bed-end-flys. Once we'd gone back to the van, funny thing was, it poured down a lot of the time but found it much better sitting it out inside the van until it stopped etc. Obviously, most campers will go where most vans won't go but that depends upon what type of camping you do. Good luck anyway - you're bound to change as you go along. Most of us do.
AnswerID: 383862

Reply By: luckymum - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 13:55

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 13:55
Well this just gets more and more confusing by the minute!! I can understand every point of view expressed.

Its going to be a hard decision (lucky we have a year to make up our minds!!) I was leaning towards getting a swan or similar but yes I can understand what a pain it would be to entomb your belongings once the lid is closed, especially if you have forgotten one thing. I do really like the idea of the enclosed annexe, the roll out awning doesnt add another room like the annexe does. But so many of the bigger vans dont have them.

Just going back to my previous question: Anyone here bought a van from the camping and 4WD shows? Any benefits, any hidden costs? How long to they take to be delivered? Would it be a good idea to go with their finance then re-sell when we get back?
AnswerID: 383938