approximate cost involved to travell around oz

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:54
ThreadID: 73128 Views:3897 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
There was a thread regarding cost of going round oz completely.have some retired mates who want to travel the complete circuit west to east on the black top ,and later do the adventure side , have got 2 months to do the trip in

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:07

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:07
err, you serious? what for? they won't get to see anything! I've never bothered to calculate the distance. How many km's/day will they have to travel? lets say they drive ever second day.
Anyone know the answer off the top of their head?
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 387667

Follow Up By: new boy - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 11:15

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 11:15
In 2005 did one black top lap total 28,000ks took 6 months ( to short).

28000 divided by say 65 days = 430 ks per day sight seeing zero

fully agree LyndonNT WHY
FollowupID: 655261

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:16

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:16
You are dreaming if you think you can do that trip in two months.Iusually do the top end every year for 3-4 months and I consider it not enough.My last trip would have probably cost me $8000 for 4 months for two people.That is quite cheap but do a lot of bush camping and live of the land a bit.
AnswerID: 387670

Reply By: Member - Alanc - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:24

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:24
Hi Stuart
Last year we did the trip in three months, left (from Perth) 1st August and returned 1st Nov (we had to be back by the 1st Nov.)
It turned out to be one big rush and whilst we saw lots there was a whole lot more we wanted to see and couldn't due to time constraints. To do it in 2 months will be pushing it. We(two adults) have a 2001 petrol Prado and towed a 15' Coromal offroad C/van, we travelled anticlockwise , it was cold and wet for the first month and hot and dry for the last month- some rough figures for you - Total Kms travelled- 18391, Highest cost of fuel- $2.09cpl – Barclay Homestead (Outback Qld) Cost of fuel on departure-$1.43cpl, Cost of fuel on return-$1.34cpl(bugga!), Total expenditure $13500.00 (Approx) Cost per day- $147.00
Cheers Alanc

AnswerID: 387672

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:27

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:27
When we headed off we worked out to do the lap around the outside and down the middle was about 18500 km using whereis. We rounded it off to 20,000 kms then double it to allow for site seeing making it 40,000 kms all up. We have just clocked up 83,000 kms so we were a bit short with our estimate. That's along way in 2 months lol. Any more than about 200 - 300 kms a day and you don't have time to look around.

Josh
AnswerID: 387673

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:30

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:30
Should have said it cost about $22,000 approx in fuel.
FollowupID: 655217

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:30

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:30
talking reality they are prepared to do it in 13 weeks as a reconnaissance journey
AnswerID: 387674

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 20:30

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 20:30
Wow! Calculate fuel alone....
FollowupID: 655364

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 00:21

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 00:21
There has been some discussion in the past about costs on longer trips. At that time a number of people came up with the figure of $1.00 per km for trips from 2 weeks to up to about 3 months. It was based on fuel, bush camps with occassional stays in parks etc. It didn't include theme parks, restaurants, entry fees to museums and all that stuff. My recent trips to central Aus (2 weeks) and the Gulf (3 weeks) cost (in round figures) $5000 and $8000 respectively. (5000km & 8000 km).

Central Aus we had 4 nights in a caravan park; Gulf we had stayed in a friends house for 5 days... no caravan parks).
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 387676

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 00:48

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 00:48
HaHa, mate i posted something like this a while ago when i was planning my quick trip.

I did a trip around Oz in 5 weeks, which included 11 days in Tassie. and please dont anybody try tell me i didnt see anything or have time to do anything. Yes, i would love to be able to take my time, but im not retired and i only had 5 weeks. Anyway, here are the places i stopped for the night on my trip.'
Broome-Meekatharra-Perth(2nights)-Albany-Norseman-Eucla-Port Augusta-Mt Gambier-Melbourne-Tassie(11 days)-Albury-Lithgow-Kempsey-Tweed Heads-Gold Coast(2 nights)-Maryborough-Emerald-Longreach-Mt Isa-Katherine-Wyndham(2 nights)-Broome. I seen all the things i wanted to see on my trip.

Fuel Cost; $2343.25
Kilometres; 14209km
Accomodation costs; $2000(hotel/cabin every night exc Tassie)
Average Diesel; $1.30/L
Total Litres; 1923 litres Diesel

Cheap holiday for 5 weeks if ya ask me. It was really just a scout trip to see what areas we liked and to see how we would like to do it in the future. Plus i got to see my folks for 11 days and tour around Tassie.

It was great and i would do it again tomorrow at the drop of a hat if i could. It honestly was awesome and i seen all the major things that i wanted to see. Im more of a bushie and dont like the crowded places, i prefer to spend my holidays fishing and drinking with mates. But this trip really took my breath away, and i envied every traveller out there, especially the old retirees who could just take there time and do nothing if they pleased. My folks toured for 2 1/2 years so i knew what places i wanted to see and which i didnt.
AnswerID: 387678

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:04

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:04
You couldnt have much of a list that you wanted to see

We spent two weeks in Sydney and Melbourne and didnt see all we wanted to.

Like wise Katherine a week.

Simply coudnt be bothered doing a trip that fast.

IF you're happy thats fine'.

FollowupID: 655282

Follow Up By: bruce - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:15

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:15
You really are kidding your self if you think that what you did and where you went is a "trip around Australia"...it is only half a trip and 90% of what you "saw" was road...cheers
FollowupID: 655292

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:40

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:40
hi
to me that sounds like the equivelant to a dissentry tour of bali

but the most important thing is you said you enjoyed it
and that's more important than what we think
and what's more you happily paid for it so enjoy yourself that's really what it's all about everyone has there own likes and dislikes it would be boring if we all were the same
onya!
FollowupID: 655293

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:01

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:01
Bruce, i didnt say that it was my BIG TRIP, i said it was just a scout trip for future reference. I seen all the main places i wanted to check out and probably cheaper then what it would be to holiday anywhere else for 5 weeks.

But it definitely was a trip around Australia. I did the Full loop. I didnt say i have seen all Australia has to offer did i. Its no worse then people who come to the Kimberley and say they have DONE the Kimberley. When all they did was drive the Gibb Road. Heaps better places around the Kimberley then what you see along there.

I set off on the trip to see certain things and go to certain places and i accomplished all and more. Was even a day ahead of schedule. I believe i did well.

As i said i am not into the cities and the cafe strips. I wanted to see places that held a significance to myself/family history, and places that i have always wanted to see. I bet that in 5 weeks i seen more and did more then anybody else out there.
FollowupID: 655302

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:41

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:41
G'day Stuart

It depends on what you will spend your money on. We bush camp most of the time. Rule of thumb these days is that you will spend $1.00 per kilometre.

This year we were out for 54 days. We had 36 nights bush camping, 13 nights in Caravan Parks and 5 nights accommodated with friends (freebies but contribute towards tucker)). We drove 11,000km and the total cost was $4400 which equates to 40 cents per kilometre. Now this is immediate cost and does not take into account annual running costs or depreciation of vehicle and equipment(though my GQ has little left to depreciate...lol)

AnswerID: 387696

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:14

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:14
thats the idea of their trip and then follow in your footsteps and go where you have been not many places you cant or havnt been lol
FollowupID: 655248

Reply By: mikehzz - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:01

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:01
We did Sydney, Wilpena, Uluru, Darwin, Broome, Perth, Sydney in 2 weeks 4 days and loved every minute of it. 15,000 kms and we saw all the main highlights. 2 months and I would get bored.

Everyone is different. I can't stand sitting still too long, may as well be sitting in the car. The shorter it takes the less it costs.

AnswerID: 387698

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:42

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:42
DRUGS???????????????????? :)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 655573

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:04

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:04
No mate, 4 drivers. Only had 2 weeks due to work with weekend on each side, I hadn't seen Broome or Monkey MIa, No1 son hadn't either and wanted to visit friend in Darwin, no2 son's girlfriend hadn't been out of NSW, no2 son wanted to go where girlfriend went. Off we went to see how far we could get. We did the lot. Not everyones cup of tea...eg leave Halls Creek 7am, arrive Broome 2pm, shop for an hour, drive around and look at town, visit croc park for feeding and tour, sunset camel ride on Cable Beach, camp for the night then leave 7 am the next day and make it to Karratha fitting in some cruising time up and down 80 mile beach on the way. Same routine the whole way and was so much better than staying home mowing the lawn etc. Just driving through the Kimberley was magic.

I could drop dead tomorrow, at least I saw what I wanted to see however rushed. I hope I can do it all again but slower, maybe take a day and a half in Broome? :-)

FollowupID: 655635

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:55

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:55
Well we got from Qld to Port Maquarie in 2 months.

We left Qld on Feb 2nd intending to take 6 months to do the full circle.

Now 8 months on we are in the SW and still a long way to go.

We went down the east coast, Gt Ocean road,Adelaide, up the middle to

Darwin via Uluru, KC and Batchelor, stopping all along the way.

then thru Kakadu back to Katherine and west to Derby, up to Wyndham,

down thru Broome and all the beautifulplaces on the coast.

We envisage we may take another 6 months to complete the trip.

Cost Dont ask Probably about $1.50 a k Done 28,000k so far.

Not hard to rack it up went looking at wildflowers from Geraldton 2 days of

over 400k each.

We are only going to do it once so intend to see as much as possible.

Its interesting going down back roads.

You never know what you will find.

Stumbled upon Brockies Memorial at his accident scene completely

unexpectedly by just cruising .

Could spend a month at Denham just taking in the view.

2 months Jeez the motor would never get cold.

Everyone to their own.

Would be easier and cheaper to by some DVD's and pick out what you want

to go and see from them

My wife said she could see it all on tele but now shes glad we are doing it as

there are just so many lovely places to see.

Like the Wetlands in Kakadu, Sunset at Uburr, Yellow waters,

The Horizontal Falls, 5 rivers lookout at Wyndham, Lost City in Lichfield,

Uluru,The Olgas, Katherine Gorge Geike Gorge. Cape Peron NP, Steep Point.

Get what I mean and thats only a few of the great sights we have seen.

Happy travels

Reminds me of a mate who went around America in 6 months and sent video tapes home to be saved

Almost every one was "This is the road from '''''''''''to """""""""".

Think thats all he saw LOL

AnswerID: 387721

Reply By: just goin - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:20

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:20
Just for two weeks left now to wrap up our lap of oz and we will have been on the road for 4 and a half months....2 adults and 2 young kids though. We have done the entire coastline of oz minus a few places in the west and south due to poor weather and then we did Uluru instead though which we werent originall planning to do but so glad we did as part of OUR BIG TRIP.....

We are only young and have had a great time....we have done just over 23000km thus far and still have lots and lots of OZ to see and do next time and next time and next time....we have spent close to $30K over those 18 or so weeks which is nearly double what we intended to but then again doing the coastline of OZ we stayed and sightsaw at probably most of Australia's iconic and $$$ towns and highlights.....we have seen and done all the things we wanted to though staying a van parks 99% of the time.....you could do it heaps cheaper and if you have only TWO MONTHS like you say you will find most of your costs to go on FUEL....you will be fair hooking along to go right around in that time frame but I am sure it could be done but I wouldnt bother spending the money in that kind of rush....maybe do a half lap up through the centre and then choose one side of oz to see a little slower....

If we had the money to be away longer we would have taken longer and longer but how long is a piece of string and how deep is a young persons bank account like us for example. We made our trip happen by selling our house to fund it and it was well worth the sacrifice.....

We spent a week in Darwin and that was enough for us (we did Litchfield and Berry Springs in that week as well). Other travellers go there for 3 months.....we did Kakadu on the way back out of Darwin and stayed for 3 days (that was enuf for us - saw what we wanted and left). other travellers stayed weeks and weeks. We stayed 7 nights in Cairns, 7 nights at the GOld Coast, 11 nights in Broome, 6 nights in Perth etc etc we still spent ample time in places that we felt we like and warranted it....that doesnt mean to say it was the right amount of time but we did stop for long periods by our means at certain places....

Allow about $1200-$1500 per week if you are planning on staying at van parks, doing tours, buying souvenirs etc etc. It will be less again and again if you are planning free camps and not spending much on other things obviously.....everyones idea if obviously different on what money they should spend on different things.....our fuel bill so far for those kms too by the way is $4500 (2.8lt holden rodeo diesel towing a 16' pop top caravan) which we are pleased with.

I have read somewhere as well to allow $1 per km and that is how much money you would need....so for us 23000km so far travelled and we are about $6K about that so maybe we spend more on certain things so that calc is prob a fair one....given that we have 2 kids with us as well.....

Have a good trip and you can always go back to your favourite places again and again one day with more time....

AnswerID: 387748

Follow Up By: pjk - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:06

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:06
Did the lap in the early 80's took 3.5 years syd to syd which i though was reasonable. Meet an old couple out side whale station in albany w.a.and they had taken 8 years to get their from gosford nsw. I'd say they where taking it easy Yours PJK
FollowupID: 655318

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 09:18

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 09:18
thanks to all who replied ,i have conveyed all relevant info and they have taken info given on board
AnswerID: 387855

Reply By: Avan - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:33

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:33
Go to www.blognow.com.au/awol
Look at the last entry and you will find the breakdown on our trip July-Oct 08.
Has many costs ,distances etc. that you may find of interest.
We had a timetable we used as a guide, got 9 days behind and had to bypass most of SA due to a committment.
AnswerID: 388153