caravan park etiquette

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:49
ThreadID: 73379 Views:8784 Replies:28 FollowUps:52
morning all

well we are currently in a park in broken hill and just wondering has caravan park etiqutte been chucked out the door
someone in a tent 2 rows away has had a radio blaring since about 6-30 am the worst part is these people are somewhat OLDER than us
we also had a van leave about 7-30 am with a lot of yelling (stop ,just a bit more ,forward an inch ,maybe they were having a nookie)as they were hooking up
we are just wondering if as you get older you just dont give a stuff about others or are they people who are just joining the grey nomad brigade and dont have a clue and think they are still getting up and going to work so they make just as much noise
my grandkids are better behaved and trained in caravan park etiquette than some of these OLD people who should know better
WHAT happened to quiet until people around you are up and moving

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:04

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:04
Well you got to sleep in we had a rattle deisel start up and idle will they packed up at 4.30am. That was a top morning after a hard night at the pub. LOL
The reversing beepers are good too early in the morning.

No one seems to give a bleep anymore.
AnswerID: 389218

Reply By: racinrob - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:13

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:13
That's why I bush camp most of the time, I don't have to put up with other people's lack of consideration..... or them with mine !!!

Rob.
AnswerID: 389219

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:42

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:42
You really have to accept that kind of behaviour, Part of the population just dont care, thats why we have jails, police, securuty guard and locks on our doors.... Michael
AnswerID: 389223

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:00

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:00
WHY do we have to accept this sort of behaviour especially from the OLDER GENERATION keeping in mind i am 59 these people are the 1,s who complain about the younger generation but no longer are acceptable themselves
this also applies to a lot of thier driving whilst towing along the highways

FollowupID: 656942

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:05

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:05
Steve, I actually meant that we have to accept that this sort of behaviour is out there, I expressed myself poorly!!!!! I agree, we shouldnt accept it, but it is hard to change people and it always going to be there and indeed, always has been.. Michael
FollowupID: 656945

Follow Up By: Dean - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:35

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:35
They've probably got the radio blaring as not doubt the hearing is stuffed.
Bet they yelled as well!
dean
FollowupID: 656953

Reply By: tazbaz - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:44
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 389224

Reply By: Voxson - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:47

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:47
I agree with the bush camping plan.
I went against that plan last year in Chillagoe and a road crew started doing their washing at 4.30am at the Caravan Park...
We were at a Nat Park campsite in The Kimberly this year and had generators going until 10pm some nights....
Takes all kinds,,, and the funny thing is that they dont even realise they are affecting others...
AnswerID: 389226

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:16

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:16
Voxson

Maybe, Just maybe if only "one" of those you mention should read this and be enlightened then all is not lost.

quiet travels.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 656934

Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:01

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:01
Gidday

'and the funny thing is that they dont even realise they are affecting others... '

To me that is part of the problem. How do you confront someone who is doing something like this? Do you really want to meet a retired bikie with anger management issues who hasn't taken his medications when you go to ask about his generator?

Worst I had was at Wongan Hills a few years ago when the next door tent was occupied by a bloke with a big screen Tv and he was watching a Terminator movie. That eventually finished and then some people came home from the club, one of them with a voice that would penetrate concrete. It was like she was just outside the tent. next day i was astounded to find that her group were 50m away.

Last week had major problem at Mt Trio camp near the Stirling Ranges. We were the only people there but those bloody black cockies will not sleep past 5am! No consideration ...

Rocco

AnswerID: 389228

Follow Up By: jothefw - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:21

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:21
"Last week had major problem at Mt Trio camp near the Stirling Ranges. We were the only people there but those bloody black cockies will not sleep past 5am! No consideration ... "

Find we often sleep through the usual chatter of voices around the campsite but the wildlife still wakes me up! Possums, cockies, kookaburras you name it - they like sleeping the tree near our tent!
FollowupID: 656936

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:50

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:50
I didn't think you were allowed to camp at Mt. Trio...lol

No worries though, I've had a kip there myself from time to time...

FollowupID: 656940

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:04

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:04
Gidday

I have missed the joke there ... still getting over the missed sleep from the cockies ...

For anyone else, Mt Trio camp is a caravan park and camp ground on a farm adjoining the Stirling Range National Park. Basic but excellent facillities, even a table tennis table for those of us able to remember when every caravan park had one .. before video games...

Lots of emus and roos in the next door wheat paddock, a hazard we were told of farming next to a national park, but the owners wouldnt have it any other way.

Lots of orchids and other flowers in the bush just a few hundred metres from the camp.

Can't recommend the place highly enough. we had it to ourselves but i think it would be busy in holidays and long weekends

FollowupID: 656944

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:08

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:08
Sorry Rocco, I was talking about the actual mountain itself...

FollowupID: 656946

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:18

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:18
ha ha

I needed a good rest after staggering up Bluff Knoll so i guess Mt Trio would be similar

FollowupID: 656948

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:07

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:07
gee ive really stuck my foot in it now haha..

Mt Toolbrunup is my favorite. I've climbed it 13 or 15 times since 1982 including 1 summiting of its second peak. I love the taste of the stream water there..

FollowupID: 656958

Follow Up By: Member - Danielle T (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:54

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:54
Yes we camped there one long weekend.Easter I think. It was great still not too packed. We had a ball. You dont need all the extra facilities that some parks offer. It would be tops if there were more of these bush camps around.
Our profile pic is actually of our swag and car there. We too climbed Bluff knoll. Glad I did it but I dont think I will ever again! Bloody hard work.
FollowupID: 657030

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:07
Danielle

This is bordering on chit chat ...

Believe it or not it was your picture which I saw when you posted here months ago about something else that prompted me to get off my backside and up Bluff Knoll.

I am a bit older than you and it was a damn hard climb, and not a lot easier coming down.

I'll be back to Mt Trio but not to the top of Bluff Knoll!

Rocco
FollowupID: 657032

Follow Up By: Member - Danielle T (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:16
Rocco,
Glad I motivated you to do it. Great view from up there hey! I found going up the killer, Kept running out of puff, but funny enough Chris suffered going down all the steps. His knees gave him curry! Must say we sleep like logs in the swag that night. Wouldnt have mattered even if we had no mattress at all I think! LOL There is a whole lot more of Australia I want to see! Cant wait until the next trip. Im thinking Karajini here we come.
And back on another subject- has anyone yanked the swag mattress out and replaced it with a self inflating one? Is it worth the cost?
See you out there, hopefully we will be the good quiet neighbours! Not the noisy, uncaring ones! Camping is for enjoying the sounds of nature and the wild life, not loud selfish humans.
Danielle
FollowupID: 657057

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:27

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:27
Daniele

As it happens I have swagged it a little bit and we now use a tent. We recently upgraded from old self deflating matresses )they had holes and leaky valves and were a cheap brand) to thermarests. The new ones are taking a bit of getting used to so if I was you I'd be saving the money and sticking with the foam mat in the swag, assuming it is about 5cm thick which is what I have used and found comfortable.

Rocco

FollowupID: 657058

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:26

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:26
Hi rocco, which farm down there has the Mt Trio caravan park on it? just interested as I come from down that way, as a kid I spent a couple of years on Worrenup farm (named from the hill behind it), then my parents were allocated a block of land at the other end of the Ranges (Cranbrook end) so as kids we use to climb all those hills as well. We climbed Bluff Knoll last year and what a battle for me to get up the top (I'm asthmatic and on of the Senior Citzs now) but was it worth it.
As for the cockies, I love waking up to them of a morning, I then roll over and go back to sleep. As for the other human problem, well we have been lucky so far as we have never encountered any problems in that area.

Reading this thread I just want to get out there again, Arrh well maybe after the Christmas break.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 657071

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:32

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:32
Hello Dunworkin

Love your tag, very envious of someone who can claim that

Check out the website www.mounttrio.com.au it will tell you all about the camp.

rocco
FollowupID: 657079

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:02

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:02
Thanks for that site, it looks to me as though it is the neighbours place. Will check it out when we go down that way again.

Deanna

FollowupID: 657082

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:32

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:32
There are two kinds of people in both the world and caravan parks.

Those that are considerate and treat others as they would like to be treated.

Then there are those where "it is all about me" and I don't give a !@#$ about anyone else. I'll listen to my radio at 6.30 in the morning becuase that is what I have done for the last 50 years.

Now I have a small arsenal that I have developed to deal with these issues

1. Don't stay in a caravan park if you can avoid it.

2. Get a good pair of ear plugs.

3. Ask the offending people to be more considerate and to turn their music down. Usually they do it because no one has asked them not to.

I don't believe in just putting up with it. I have the courage to approach most people and let them know that they are making too much noise and to think of others. As Elvis said, "a little less conversation and a little more action"

You will never get away from the early starters and departures, especially at this time of the year.
AnswerID: 389231

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:41

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:41
Actually, there are 3 types of people - The considerate, the ones who dont give a @#$%, and those who like to complain about everything and everyone!!
FollowupID: 656986

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:02

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:02
Drew,

No. There's only two. The incosiderate ones are the same as the ones complain about everything and anyone. And as mentioned previously, they are too self-interested to realise (or care) that they're doing it.

R
FollowupID: 656991

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:03

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:03
Drew,

your right, a little bit of grace goes a long way. Which is why I use the ear plugs, sometimes it just isn't worth getting all stressed over.

You can always catch-up on that lost hour of snoozing later in the day, they are on holiday after-all
FollowupID: 656992

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:59

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:59
Some would be better off staying at home in their loungeroom rather than spending their time complaining about how early others get up, how late they stay up, how loud their tv/speaking/music is, how they leave their car idling, their noisy kids running or riding around the park, how someone has used up all the clothes line space, or how dirty they have left the BBQ..... I know people like this and they are the worst at making everyone around them stressed and miserable......
JUST RELAX - enjoy being on holiday (or retired) and have a giggle while you are laying in bed that others have to get packed up early....
Have fun!!

Drew
FollowupID: 656996

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:25

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:25
Drew I reckon you probably hit the nail on the head.

I often wonder if there is a Forum somewhere that has people who ARENT perfectly considerate, who DO talk about how they can be annoying to others, and who ARENT able to leave every campsite in PERFECT UNTOUCHED condition.

Honestly, as the old saying goes "one mans trash is another mans treasure" so it goes with consideration, noise, annoying habits and everything else in life.
Too much "holier than thou" etc

earlier in this thread someone posted along the lines of "waiting til everyone around you is up before making noise".
Bollocks-if youve been on the p++s (quietly and considerately whispering and creeping around so as not to disturb anyone-NO LAUGHING of course) and your not up at 0730-tough titty many would say.

Lovely and warm in sunny Ktha 2day isnt it!
FollowupID: 657000

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:03

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:03
hey drew let me know next time your out and about and i will set the radio going early so you can have a giggle about it
i am not complaining i am talking about decency amonst people but sounds like you are 1 of the ferals

FollowupID: 657019

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:13

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:13
Steve,

Come to think, I do recall that one of your first posts on this forum was a complaint about some 8 or 9 year old CHILD, whose only crime was running past your camping area.

R.
FollowupID: 657021

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:16
Ha - Thanks Steve... No - I dont consider myself a 'feral', and I doubt anyone else would either - actually, I would be one of the most considerate people that you would come across while camping...
Please do set up the radio next to me - it will save my batteries - know any good Country and Western channels??
Have fun - and dont stress about the 'ferals'!!
Drew
FollowupID: 657056

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:32

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:32
theres no getting around sometimes people gotta leave early they may want to hit the road before the heat gets on ot any one of a mill reasons. and its a bit hard to be quite a you pack up and start a diesal
I guess your complaining hough about noise which could be kept down

I spose a tent doent keep noise in and even those not so old like me who work around loud machinery tend to have the volume up more than would be considered neccessary.

I guess I prefer it in the bush not so others dont disturb me but I can do as i please without worrying about others
AnswerID: 389232

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:29

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:29
Thats OK as long as you are sure that you have he place to yourself. And "first one here" doesn't quite cut it either especially if its in a frequently used place.

At Georgia Bore this year a group came in fairly late in the day, camped some distance away from the other campers there and proceeded to play their C&W muzac at top volume. WE put up with it for a while then I went across, smiled sweetly at the half dozen blokes and one woman and asked them if they could turn it down a bit. They thought that the wind would blow the noise away from us! It stayed down for a while but eventually got wound back up...

Oh well at least it covered up the generator in another camp that ran all night until it ran out of fuel about 5.30 am.

You really have to wonder about some folk.

Val

FollowupID: 656961

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:35

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:35
Hi Steve,

We have been on the road for almost 12mths now and when we are working we stay in caravan parks, other wise we mainly free camp as we do not like the majority of caravan parks.

This last couple of months has been a real eye opener for me (Caz) as I choose to work in the park we are currently living in (only 4 weeks and 2 days to go!!) as a cleaner and also in the office - I can not believe how filthy some people can be and how damned rude people can be.

Free camping is the best way to go!!

Caz
AnswerID: 389234

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:10

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:10
Hey Caz. I thought you said I was going to love it when we start travelling......now I am worried..............lol

Second inspection coming up on Saturday, keep your fingers crossed!

Hopefully meet you guys on the road SOON!

Karen
FollowupID: 657003

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:37

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:37
goodday caz and karen

caz you are right
karen being on the road is great this post has just spurred a bit of deep thought for all

FollowupID: 657074

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:45

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:45
Maybe their hearing is not what it use to be, time for a hearing aid perhaps? :)

If you are able to start a lawn mower at 7am in the morning (8am on sundays etc) here, then a 7:30am start is not that unreasonable.

Just the world telling you to find somewhere else more peaceful to camp when possible. ;)

AnswerID: 389235

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:09

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:09
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 656947

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:12

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:12
I agree Steve, though power outages are common in that area? LOL

FollowupID: 656960

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:28

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 12:28
Actually, night time/early morning is not the only problem. I was staying at a caravan park in Alice, and some guy who was renting a permanent parked bus home used to like the footy, so he had the radio blaring right across the park one arvo. Probably reckoned that everyone else liked the footy, but it was too distorted to hear from a distance.

AnswerID: 389240

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:25

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:25
Hi steve, Couple of weeks ago I was in the van with the air on home-schooling. New folks turned up next door set up camp and had their radio blaring. I didn't take much notice as for once we were into our lessons. Once finished we went outside and to my amazement they were an old couple. I figured they must be deaf. As they were here for a week I did get to chatting. Turned out to be a nice couple and I didn't mind the abc. During this time over from us a bunch of youngins set up camp very late one night. Two cars two tents 4 adults and a half doz kids. As we do when we don't have anything to do I sat and watched the next day. I think one of the fellas was on drugs and she was getting more angry as the day went on. Come sun down they went off to the local for tea. Came back blewing. The park owner had to break up argument. Next thing with all the words under the sun she was packing up kids screaming and him hanging off the car as she tried to drove out. The owner and a couple of his mates had to break the tea party up again. He got cranky at the park owner walked back to his mates proceeded to pack the rest of the gear up. So now fuelled with drugs and booze he smashed a window lift shards of glass in the grass and took off. There wasn't much on TV that night so being track side it was entertaining. The thing is there is a lot of olderish people that make a noise but at least you can talk to them, I recon they have just had a gut full. As Caz and others in the past have said, the mess that some people make in the toilets and showers makes me wander how they live at home.
I feel sorry for the park owners who have to deal with it on a daily basis at least we can pack up and nick off.

Sharon
AnswerID: 389248

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:02

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:02
Old Girl

Your comments about people toilets and showers are spot on. Some people seem to want to make a mess.Bush camping gets away from all that and the noise.

I was camped at Windorah one time in the $5 area and all went well until in the middle of the night someone fired up their diesel and then left. It was hours and hours before sunrise. Would have woken up the dead! Completely unnecessary and beyond inconsiderate. They had other choices, could have camped out of town or left later. With some people I think it is a power game. Sort of "I can inconvenience you therefore I will".

Fortunately for every one of those there are heaps of decent people who do care about others, or so I would like to believe.

FollowupID: 657081

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:58

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:58
I wish i could free camp but due to current circumstances i have to stay put a couple of months at a time. Where we are at the moment there is only the passing nomads during the week. Well its Friday and the city folk are starting to roll in again for the weekend be interesting on what sort of entertainment arrives. As for the way they treat the bathroom ive been thinking about buying a porta loo and shower for the weekends.
FollowupID: 657124

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:55

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:55
Don't worry Steve, my yard is quiet. Mebbe just the neighbours yappy Poodle sometimes breaks the silence ,but a rock well placed normally takes care of that...lol. So you may come and veg out here.
AnswerID: 389253

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:13

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:13
Now there's another thing................ Yappy Poodles !!!!

I go bush to get away from the pair next door !!

FollowupID: 656971

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:39

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:39
Hey Allan,
Don't have to be Poodles.
Over the 12 years that we've lived here, we've had four different owners next door and each lot have had a Blue Heeler. Why do people on a town block think it's a great idea to have a working dog boxed in a less than a quarter of an acre?
For God sake they are a working dog, not a yard dog.

Anyway Steve, Sorry to here you've had some inconsiderate campers around you.
Sounds like they are part of the Me Generation. And they come as all ages. All they care about is ME.
Hell or high water they'll do what ever the want to. And really don't give a rats.
The world is full of them. Scary stuff, they walk and breath amongst us :(

Safe travels guys,

FollowupID: 657001

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:05

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:05
Jon,

"The world is full of them. Scary stuff, they walk and breath amongst us"

The really scary part is that they breed.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 657128

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:08

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:08
Hey Cruiser,
That means that they pass on their arrogance & ignorance down to the next generation and so the cesspool gets murky and deeper.
Thats a bit much for a Friday arvo :)

FollowupID: 657159

Reply By: Andrea11 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:07

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:07
We try not to stay in caravan Parks, we prefer the bush camping as a lot do. However we have had to use them from time to time, and I agree that there are a lot of inconsiderate ppl out there. I wonder what Management of the parks do from our experience little if nothing.....Parks should have as a written condition of stay that no one is to speak loudly or have radio's blaring before 8 am and after 10pm. Otherwise they run the risk of being evicted with no refund.

I also don't like it when ppl run their generators early evening and have them going well into the night.....I believe if you have anything that needs charging do it in the middle of the day and keep the generator as far way from others as possible especially those loud scorpion ones....

Just my view for what it's worth!
AnswerID: 389261

Follow Up By: racinrob - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:46

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:46
It's amazing how the sound of a generator will carry at night, we bush camp and occassionally will hear a gennie running somewhere near us until late (10.00 pm)
Heard the story (urban myth ?) of the disgruntled camper who marched over, shut the offending gennie off and chopped the extension lead into 1M lengths lol. Just hope the owner isn't a front rower in the Wallabies.

Rob.
FollowupID: 656994

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:26

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 16:26
Well, what an interesting thread.

When we travel which unfortunately is not as much as we would like we go to a bush caravan park near Gympie. The owners of this park have a strict policy on noise and when and what you do when leaving so to not upset their guests.

We were there on there a month or so back and did not wake up one morning until around 9am with no noise in the park. Those awake spoke softly around vans that were obviously still sleeping. It is a wonderful place and a rare gem to have found.
AnswerID: 389269

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:48

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:48
Hi Patrick, when in Carnarvon we stay at the Marloo CP which is for Seniors & Retirees, you can shoot a canon down the drives without any chance of hitting anyone after 8pm, and don't know if anyone is up until we wake up ourselves. Sounds like your park is run a bit like that one. The facilities are always lovely and clean no matter what time of the day or night you use them.
The only down side of the park is they don't take dogs which hasn't been a problem for us up to date but that may change.

Deanna

FollowupID: 657076

Reply By: sastra - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:22

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:22
howdy

Wife, son and I set up camp at Gunlom in Kakadu a few years ago, away from others as I intended to run small genny till about 8pm at the very latest.
Two late forties gentlement plonked very near us despite much room everywhere else in the camp area. Shaking my head at their close proximity I told my wife I would have a quick word before they set up about us having a genny which might not suit them. She told me not to worry and not to be an old fart.
As you would, I ignored her and strolled over and very politely explained about the genny ( not yet running ) which I pointed out under the nearby shrub. I didn't say I'd be turning it off by 2100hrs as required by the Park and suggested over yonder might be a more satisfactory option for them.
Left them to it and a short while later they moved about 60m away and Wifey was very glad I had that quiet word as just before dusk half a dozen younger good old boys arrived to join in and proceeded to assault the park atmosphere with much very loud yeeh haaring and very loud crap music. National Parks are great places to party!

Moral of story.......put out generator near camp ( visible ) and it might act as deterent to those who like to get too close.

Michael
AnswerID: 389272

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:58

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:58
A tuba/french horn or similar placed consipicously in the campsite usually works just as well (and requires no fuel) :-)
FollowupID: 657002

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:56

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:56
If a tuba/french horn can do that, just think what a piano accordion could do.

Ian.
FollowupID: 657016

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 12:08

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 12:08
I still think the Maria Callas (GRHS), at her off key worst played at high volume, is one of the most effective deterrents.
FollowupID: 657240

Reply By: Rocko Wallaby - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:23

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:23
Noisy neighbours are all well and good, but sometimes it's un-bear-able.
Stayed a few months ago at Aratula for 2 nights. Had some younger fellas arrive mid arvo and set up a tent approx 50m from us. About 11pm, we were woken by the sound of someone slaughtering a buffalo. Least, it was that, or someone was doing unmentionable things to a grizzly bear. The snoring was so loud, I swear our roof was rattling.
Never ever heard anything like it!
Unsurprisingly, his tent partners packed up the next day and left. I think their eardrums were shattered.
So, forget generators, parrots and grumpy old people with radio's
FEAR THE SNORERS!
AnswerID: 389333

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:52

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:52
Surely people are entitled to leave at 7.30am, after all it isn't really early. Maybe next time you are packing up & hooking up, take notice of your own noise & conversation, you will find that in a quiet enveironment, even slight sounds carry.
AnswerID: 389340

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:16

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:16
Hey Shaker,
I don't believe Steve is worried about people packing up and leaving at 7.30 am, I agree with you, 7.30 is not early in my books, I'm up and into the day at 5.30 every morning, 7 days a week, Don't use an alarm clock either, his point is the amount of noise made it that time.
We've had to leave very early a few times and try very hard to make as little noise as possible. With three kids this is not always possible, but we are aware of others around us.
You are right, slight sounds do carry but unfortunately some have no concept of what is acceptable or not.
Here is an EG.
While camped at Dalby after the St George Gathering, we pull into a park for a nights stay. An hour before dusk a group of road bikes pulls in and sets up camp. I had a chat to a few of the older blokes and there wives, they were on a charity run for homeless kids. What a great bunch of travelers, some were not!, 1.45 am and I am forced to go and tell them to shut up. I stated to them that some of us have traveled and just want a quiet nights sleep and have to travel again in the morning as you guys have to.
Off cause I got an ear full of bad language and walked away.
6.45am I'm awoken to the sound of motor bikes warming up and loud laughter.

I have come to the conclusion, That Camping & Caravan parks are a way of life, others, it is a cheap place to stop,

Anyway
Just my thoughts on the matter.

FollowupID: 657352

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 07:37

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 07:37
First and only time I've been in a caravan park, earlier this year, was to carry out work on a laundry and toilet block.

May as well set up camp in sideshow alley at the Royal Perth Show.

Don't know why you blokes do it to yourselves.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 389359

Reply By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:45

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:45
If a group nearby are starting to make a racket I wander over and engage in a bit of idle chat. Then I make them an offer: if they quieten down now I'll be quiet when I start packing up at 6 in the morning.

Sometimes works. Sometimes folk just don't know how much they're disturbing others.

During the last trip of 6 weeks that we did there were only two places where folk made a racket (ran their car radios loud with the doors open): Yulara CP and Wilpena CP. Never had a problem in bush camps.
AnswerID: 389371

Reply By: sarah1 - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:02

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:02
I am often overwhelmed by the absolute arrogance and lack of consideration many people have.

My attitude is to treat others as I would want to be treated (ie, gee, would I want to be woken by yelling at 6:30am...that would be no!)

...it's amazing how little of this attitude it's returned as so many people only give a s.it about themselves these days!
AnswerID: 389405

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 06:13

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 06:13

Check out this post

ThreadID: 71149
Posted: 2 Aug 09 09:42

Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 389466

Reply By: John and Lynne - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 10:00

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 10:00
It takes all sorts but some really seem to go out of their way to disturb others - even in bush camps! They are the same people who own the road and swear at anyone who has the hide to drive near them!

A polite request or even subtle hint is fine for reasonable people who don't realise they are disturbing others. We probably all do that sometimes. Nothing affects the ones who think they are the centre of the universe!

We went to the Brisbane Camping Show last week and were horrified to hear caravan salesmen from various brands boasting about their van's ubeaut audio systems with outdoor speakers! We can't wait to be camped near someone with those! Lynne

AnswerID: 389482

Reply By: Member - Jackie M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 10:37

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 10:37
We are half way through a year long trip around Oz. For much of the trip so far we have frequently been on the "grey nomad escape winter" route. We have met many amazing and interesting older people (especially at happy hours). However, we have found that if somebody is making a lot of unnecessary noise in the early hours it will be a "grey nomad" There seems to be some unannounced competition where the person who leaves first wins. It all seems fairly pointless as generally they don't drive more than 4 - 5 hours a day so they are all set up at the next place by lunch time!!!. They are also more likely the offenders for rude behaviour in the laundry, running noisy air conditioners all night, running waste water through your camp site and blocking road ways for an hour while they hook everything up. We must have missed the announcement that said retired people are more important than the rest of us.
Jack
AnswerID: 389574

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 11:13

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 11:13
So do they have to wait until you get up before they can leave?

Maybe they like travelling before it gets too hot, but then do they need an excuse?
FollowupID: 657316

Reply By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 22:33

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 22:33

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 389644

Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:32

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:32
My hubby wont put up with bad behaviour (I think we all know what good and bad is with a bit of common sense). He's available for hire at $100 p/h if you want him and he'll confront anyone!
In all seriousness, why don't we all come up with the Top 10 Commandments of Camping Etiquette. That would make a lively debate.
My No. 1 - Clean Up After Yourself
AnswerID: 389838

Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:53

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:53

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 657590

Follow Up By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 17:12
hahahaha, I think we've about covered everything :-}}
FollowupID: 657717

Reply By: Travelling Pixie - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:00

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:00

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 389847

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 11:52

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 11:52
thanks for all replies, been an interesting debate ....... if every person, no matter what age had concern & good manners towards thier fellow neighbours, there would be no reason for debates such as this ...... we all have the same goal in mind, and that is to enjoy this great country that we call home ... we would enjoy it better IF we gave each other more consideration , we teach our grandkids caravan park etiquette , so that in the future , hopefully , the next generation will make camping ( of any sort ) more pleasurable & stress free FOR ALL ......I rest my case
AnswerID: 389938

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 13:07

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 13:07
The other issue is, whereas one person may find a certain level of noise acceptable, another may find it intolerable!

FollowupID: 657686

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 15:10

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 15:10
it's also about the time i.e. noise before 7am or after 10 pm, most parks have directives *no loud noise after 10pm * but nothing for mornings ,surely you'll agree before 7 am is acceptable, if we are leaving early, we will do the noisy bits late the previous arvo, i,e, hook up , wind the legs up and any thing else we can do ( put awning up as well ) we do this so not to disturb and we don't sit & rev engine etc. * oh aren't you good * no , it's because we try and consider others ....... do unto others as you would like them to do to you .....
FollowupID: 657698

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 15:15

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 15:15
should have specified * no unaceptably loud noises before 7 am. *
FollowupID: 657699

Follow Up By: DirtDevil - Saturday, Nov 07, 2009 at 15:44

Saturday, Nov 07, 2009 at 15:44
Reading some of these posts brought back a memory from many years ago. A mate and I had decided to convert an old Dodge bus to take our families away camping (couldn't afford a 4x4 in those days), We set of on a trial run to Karijini National park, set up camp and sat back to enjoy what was left of the rest of the afternoon. Just before dark a couple of car loads of young people arrived and set up as far away as they could from everyone. As they were a bit noisy on their arrival it looked like it might be a long night. Sure enough the music and chatter was loud and went most of the night. While it was a little annoying it was not that dad (the music was ok). Just before 6.00 am the next morning there is this almighty banging on the side of the bus waking us all with a fright and scaring the kids to bits. In a state of fright and angry the kids had been woken in this manner I flew out I the bus (in my jocks) only to find an old lady banging on the side of the bus abusing us for keeping everyone awake all night. In my not so polite mood I told her that she should get her facts right before abusing people and she was luck she was not a man. Next I now she was over at another camp abusing them (correct one this time), it seem to work as they were better that night. We happened to meet up again latter that day and it turned she wasn't that bad to talk to although I informed he she may want to be a bit more careful about abusing other campers.

That was the only mishap for the trip and was still enjoyed by all with a few laughs when we look back at it.

Cheers to all.
Evil will always triumph when the good do nothing.

FollowupID: 658140