Petrol v Diesel Four Wheel Drives

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:31
ThreadID: 74474 Views:13331 Replies:39 FollowUps:123
Young Mr Blaze posted a post regarding a new Diesel Mitsubishi Challenger. There were many good replies when Robin posted up a response. I think that the next Poll here on EO should ask Do you drive Petrol or Diesel four wheel drive and do you ever go bush to use the vehicle for what it was made for.

This is always one very contested statement from both sides of the fence (I personally sit on the right side of the fence, Diesel) A number of years ago, figures were given regarding the above, with a very high percentage of four wheel drive vehicles sold being Petrol. The same report also mentioned that approximately only 5% of four wheel drive vehicles sold here in Australia only ever get to see the other side of that black stuff - yes that brown and red stuff called dirt.

Head bush and count how many station of farm vehicles are Petrol, less than 1%.
Diesel is a far safer fuel to carry, is available in any outback location that sells fuel, will get you further with the same volume of fuel. Then to add salt into a wound, what a joke to start to speak about how much quicker a petrol is over a diesel. If we want a power machine, that will cost a far lot less than a four wheel drive, then go an buy a Subaru WRX.

Those that still debate this issue, come bush with me on a set volume of fuel and see who get the further, or out on the Gunbarrel, that is made for drag racing and all that power.

I know a lot will rag me for this, but I use my vehicle for what it is made for, the good old Australian bush, where power is not an issue, but the next fuel stop is.

See you out in the bush with a good Diesel Powered Vehicle.

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:37

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:37
As do I, (go bush) but go the petty. 1500km+ range so who wants a gutless diesel?

(this is gonna hurt)

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 395430

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:45

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:45
Hi Dave
I did say on a set volume of fuel! Sound like you have not driven any modern day diesel four wheel drives. They have more power than you may think and are far from gutless. As for the 1500km range, I can do that in under 180 litres of diesel, a petrol powered vehicle will use buckets more.

What happens when you get at the end of your 1500km trip when only diesel is available.

FollowupID: 663937

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:53

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:53
I do have a current model common rail T/D as it happens and they aren't all they are cracked up to be once they have a few km on them.

If I had planned a trip that poorly that I couldn't get fuel (hasn't happened yet) well that would be my own stupid fault. At least I don't have to worry about the quality of fuel unlike diesel owners. Yes I've owned plenty of diesels too.
As for distance on a pre set amount, a diesel will generally go a bit further but the gap isn't that far apart nowdays and with servicing costs alot less in a petty, I prefer it to a diesel.

There is alot more to consider than range....how many are driven to the max of their range every day? not many so it really isn't a big consideration anyway IMHO.
180 litres of either will get you alot of km in a city...lol

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 663939

Follow Up By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:25

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:25
I'm sure I read recently that a modern Diesel engine uses fuel 18% more inefficient than a Petrol modern engine.
What do you think is this right.

Cheers Scoot . :-)
FollowupID: 663965

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:27

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:27
Dunno but vintage /vetren cars used to do similar mileage to modern cars but without all the cr@p added to the engine.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 663968

Follow Up By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:17

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:17
Yey but at 1/8 the speed. LOL

Scoot . :-)
FollowupID: 663982

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:00

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:00
"18% more inefficient "

- what do you think that means ?????
FollowupID: 664072

Follow Up By: Travelling Pixie - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:03

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:03
I have a diesel Patrol but saying: "What happens when you get at the end of your 1500km trip when only diesel is available. " is just plain dumb after he's traveled 1500km!!

What about your diesel that goes 1600km on the same amount of fuel? I am sure you've both passed the same number of fuel outlets in 1500km. I am sure you would have both topped up your fuel.

FollowupID: 664298

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:51

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:51
Hi Travelling Pixie
It is not plain dumb. It sounds like you have never had much to do with outback remote travelling. Just this year we had such a trip through remote sections of the Great Victoria Desert. Our Last fuel stop was Warburton and over 1450 kilometres later, we were able to refuel in Laverton, with no such luxury of any places, including Aboriginal communities to get any fuel what so ever along the way. Another very important factor when calculating fuel usage, is that off road usage is greater than normal highway travel, plus I always include a healthy safety margin for unseen conditions. A good number of years ago, when out bush, it came in wet and the tracks very quickly to low range. Fuel usage for 500 kilometres was over 100 litres of diesel, but with careful planning, I still had another 90 litres up my sleeve. Weather conditions can very quickly ruin the very best of made plans, so when anyone heads to very remote area, there are no second chances if things go bad.

My advice to anyone that wants to travel to very remote areas, is if you have never had any remote area travel, go with someone that has. There are many experienced desert traveller here on EO and they will know where I am coming from.

Sorry to rave on, but when in remote locations across, it is still possible in this day and age to travel in excess of 1500 kilometres without any fuel stops.

Have a great day.

FollowupID: 664305

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:45

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:45
Yes do go bush and usually with an off road van.
4.2td Patrol oiler of course however with the cost difference between the oil burners fuel and the petrol job the economy of the oiler is waning.

However personally I still prefer the oiler.
Have a mate who also tows with a 4.5ltr Patrol same model as mine and the cost of fill ups is almost the same when east of Broken Hill when inland mine wins easily. As his also runs on gas.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 395431

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:41

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:41
Hi Dodg
Yes there have been many tests over the years in various four wheel drive magazines. Without using gas as a comprision, I bet if your mate ran 100% on Petrol, the fill up costs east of Broken Hill would be greater his way.

Great to see you still prefer the Oiler.

FollowupID: 663994

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 01:34

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 01:34
diesel same price as petrol here in WA atm?
FollowupID: 664065

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:48

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:48
G/Day Stephen

There are Horses for Courses, as you know Diesel Vehicles are more expensive to buy and have Serviced or Repaired, I know they are more economical in most cases, but all us Diesel Owners remember when we were all paying a lot more for Diesel than Petrol owners, and that time will come in the future again, the costs will equal them selves out over several year if you hold on to the same vehicle.

AnswerID: 395432

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:48

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:48
Hi Daza
Like you say, it is horses for courses, and each to their own. I have owned both petrol and diesel four wheel drives and my style of driving, prefer the diesel. In the near future, lets hope that the Bio Diesel sets the cat amongst the pigeons and the price of diesel drops even further.

FollowupID: 663996

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 13:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 13:12
I haven't finished reading all the replies below yet Stephen, but us S.A. boys certainly know how to get a post going LOL. I could write a half a page as I have done before on the cost differences over 2 years between, Petrol, Diesel and LPG. Having owned them all, IMHO I have experiences a wide spectrum of 4x4's and as Daza says, its horses for courses.

If I had to buy new today, a diesel may be my choice purely because they are dropping so many petrol models from the 4x4 ranges.

I would worry a little about wanting the Bio Diesel so quickly Stephen, they can't even get a 3ltr Nissan to last on real oily stuff, and I have been hearing reports about the new Prado motor making rattles after about 40thousand k's .

Years ago a petrol motor did well to last 150,000k's, and diesels did well over 500,000, now it seems very common to see petrol's running well up over 300,000 and lets be honest, the new technology T/D small capacity motors haven't proved longevity yet as a hole 80,000k Nissan's are common, and we are yet to see with 2.5 Mitsi's, new higher powered Prados etc, more power in smaller cubes means more wear, that is a fact no one can dispute.

I also agree at no time have I been restricted in where I can go due to fuel range, and with the subsidities that Cockies get on diesel they will always use, but a few Roo shooters I know now run Petrol/LPG.

So I guess its let the games continue LOL..

FollowupID: 664140

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:40

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:40
Hi Glenn
Yes, it never thought that it would be like this.

I hope you are into the training for the water challenge.

Take Care.

FollowupID: 664155

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:12
Its all good fun mate,

Well most of us treat it that way LOL..

No training mate. I will be actually leading a trip offroad through the outback over easter and the following weeks.

Maybe I will need that challenger diesel before I plan it LOLOLOLOL

FollowupID: 664165

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:30

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:30
Hi Glenn
I knew you would find a way out of the Challenge. I hope Dasher Des is getting ready, or is he going with you.

FollowupID: 664273

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:52

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:52
The main issue is that most of us also use our 4B as a daily driver. We spend most of our time on the blacktop where PETROL (and LPG) stations are plentiful :-) so we have no need of the extended range capability of a lower powered more expensive diesel. For the odd trip that needs it we use jerrycans.

I'd suggest the majority on this forum fall into this category.
AnswerID: 395434

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:54

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:54
That sums it up for me as well
FollowupID: 663940

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:21

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:21
I have my own observations.

I also use my T/D as a daily driver.
The power of the 3 litre turbo diesel easily matches my previous (thirsty) 3.5 litre petrol powered rig.
I find I only need to fill the tank every second week rather than once a week with the petrol engine.
The diesel just chugs along (unless I give it too much pedal) and the best thing of all is that the cost of diesel is relatively constant rather than the ridiculous fluctuations of petrol.

I chose to upgrade to a turbo diesel vehicle because I am planning to keep my vehicle for the next 20 years or so, after which I will only need an electric scooter to hoon around a retirement village of my choice:-)

Bill.

FollowupID: 663984

Follow Up By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:34

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:34
Have to agree, when we crossed the Simpson I had a petrol Paj and my mate had a DiD Paj what a difference when filling up at the servo, both towing campers, he had 3 kids and I only had one so I don't think weight was a issue.
When towing the diesel seems to do it so much easier than the petrol.

Cheers Scoot . :-)
FollowupID: 663985

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:58
Hi MrBitchi,
If I was in the same boat as you, I would think on those lines as well. Our vehicle lives in the country, where there is usually little difference in the price of both fuels, but my vehicle is mainly used for bush adventures.

Hi Scoot
It was the Simpson that changed my views on the two types of vehicles. As we all know, the petrol vehicles have to keep the revs up, or else they loose their power, end of story. The first time we took a diesel over the Simpson, we could get up the dunes, in little more than a fast idle, put the foot down and away you go.

It all comes down to personal choice.

FollowupID: 663997

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:12
Hi Stephen

You choose the wrong car to test against , I am more than happy to give a D4D a direct challenge pulling away from 300rpm in my petrol 4800 and just idling away.

The figures are clear , and easily verified.

The GU has more torque everywhere , its that simple.

FollowupID: 664018

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:28

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:28
Hi Robin
In any test, it would be fair to test against the same type and make of vehicle. We all know that it would be unfair to comment on an engine that is nearly double the size.

FollowupID: 664026

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:39

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:39
Hi Robin,

Can I use my D4D in that test? I am happy to bet for the white slip :D

FollowupID: 664060

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 07:55

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 07:55
Hi Stephen

Its the unqualified assertion that petrol engines need to keep there rev up that is not correct , some of course do , as do many , but not all turbo diesels.

I would suggest that an average of 4wd petrol engines have flatter torque curves than turbo diesels,mine being an example , and this is mainly caused by the spike when the turbo's cut in.

FollowupID: 664071

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:50

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:50
Hi Captain

Us engineering types only make a challenege when we can be sure of the outcome - In your case , I'd need to review a certified dyno chart of your D4D before I accept.

FollowupID: 664089

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:12
Hi Robin,

Don't know about a certified dyno, but it never has less than 400Nm anywhere while having 650Nm from 1500rpm to 2600rpm. Also checked toyota's published 0-100km/hr time at 8.2 seconds. And don't forget, the V8TTD is a D4D engine, which I think completes your direct challenge :) Now mine has some extra weight and bigger tyres to handicap it so it should just about be even - what da ya reckon :O

FollowupID: 664112

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:42

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:42
Not a chance Captain, I give up, the 2008 D4D based engined cruiser is a better car in most (but not all) ways and certainly faster , however I have recently had a 5lt rootes type supercharger in my hands - haven't been able to confirm that it will increase my range just yet - but who knows , the challenge may yet be back on !

FollowupID: 664115

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 11:15

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 11:15
Gday Robin and Captain,

Not meaning to spark up the debate petrol verse diesel however some clear facts were shown to me about the 200 series V8TTD and the 4.8 Patrol.

The old man just picked up a new 200 V8TTD and when I went for a drive in it my first thoughts were this has nothing on the 4.8 patrol.

Coming from a family of rev heads we did a standing start and the 200 whipped the 4.8 and left me with my jaw on the ground, not even going to enter fuel usage between the two over the Xmas period LOL.

Before Xmas I was coming back from down south and was stuck in traffic on the Hwy (road works) was sitting behind a new Triton diesel CRD that looked reasonably well set up. When the lanes opened up again I pulled straight in the overtaking lane and planted the big 4.8 to take the 4 banger common rail, now before I go on I must say that I had a box trailer with 3 bikes and some gear for a weekend but to my surprise a puff of black smoke from the unloaded Triton and he pulled away like I was standing still again shocked at performance and acceleration of these new diesels.

For me though It will be a while before Im getting smelly diesel on my hands at the pump, put too much time into this one Lol

FollowupID: 666589

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:56

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:56
G'day Stephen
No arguments that diesel goes further.
But I own a petrol - have had 3 petrol and 1 diesel (non turbo).
All have gone bush and I'm a 4WD club so plenty of dirt is travelled.
Being a one car family living in the burbs, the petrol is a much easier vehicle to live with (IMOOC)
When I was looking to upgrade the 80 (petrol) to 100 recently I ended up with a petrol mainly due to cost and availability. There were bugger all turbo diesels - and I wouldn't buy a non-turbo diesel again. And when I did spot one it had heaps of Kms and lots of $s on it. Easily saved $15K - and that buys me a lot of petrol.
Safety - never had a petrol vehicle explode on me!
So owning a petrol is not about being a hoon as you appear to imply. Other factors come into play.
You're happy with diesel and I'm happy with petrol. So be it.
It's a bit like arguments on Toyota v Nissan or Coopers v BFGs or Engel v Waeco etc etc. There is no right and no wrong. We all have to make choices.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 395436

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:09

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:09
I am not applying that petrol drivers are hoons. When you wanted to upgrade, It showed you the point that I was making, that most four wheel drives are petrol and the Diesel ones go as quick as they hit the car dealers yards. Yes the non turbo diesels are no power horse, put your foot down and then wait for it to happen.

The other point that I was making, is that nearly all vehicles that live in the bush are diesel. If I lived in the burbs, then yes petrol would be the option.

FollowupID: 664000

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:34

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:34
It should be remembered that most farm machinery is diesel, and any farm of any size buys its fuel in bulk. I'm not suggesting for a minute that the poor old farmers might be driving diesel vehicles because they can claim it automatically as a tax deduction but it is certainly more convenient to have vehicles that they can fill up from the bulk tank. I don't think farmer's use is a valid argument in these circumstances. There are so many factors to be taken into account in each individual case that I don't think there is a definitive answer.

teege
FollowupID: 664028

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:41

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:41
Hi Teege,
You are very correct in what you have stated. I know many farmers that claim the fuel in their private vehicles as tractor or header fuel.

FollowupID: 664031

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:08
I always thought you had the petrol because you are a rev-head :) and like the extra power. Any way, that is what your better half told me :) .....

(PS, Hope you had a great Xmas !)

FollowupID: 665642

Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 09:28

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 09:28
Mr Pointyhead - if that was for the Moose then apparently I know you. Give me a clue as to your real identity.
No - not a rev-head. I do admit to liking to have some power available but I rarely use it on the road. Prefer to cruise steadily along and enjoy the scenery.
Christmas was great - always good to get a break from work. And going camping is a fantastic way to unwind. Hope you had a good one too.
FollowupID: 666408

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:18

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:18
Hi Moose..
I used to drive a red prado when up in Brisbane ....

Rob
FollowupID: 666469

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:00

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:00
I know it's only been 1/2 an hour at this point but the petrols are winning.....maybe the slow diesels are still getting to work to log on...lol

(I'm gunna cop it again)

2015 Fortuner

AnswerID: 395439

Follow Up By: Ray - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:13

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:13
I've has 3 petrol Landcruisers and one TD. I won't be buying another petrol Landcruiser.
I've had 1 F250 petrol and petrol F350.I won't be getting another petrol,The last two F350 diesels have heaps of grunt and do it cheap.The 09 I have now is 350 hp and around 600 ft/lbs factory. So much for gutless diesels. Not too many petrol 4wd's could keep up. They tow better,last longer and are cheaper to feed.
FollowupID: 663945

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:19

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:19
Some people just like to stir the pot.
FollowupID: 663947

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:22

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:22
Hook line and sinker....

I've had 45 cruisers, 15 of them diesel and 5 hiluxes, 4 of them diesel.

But I've had pettys with 500,000km and still going strong so reliability wise they are pretty even these days, I've also seen poorly maintained examples of both chuck it in at 150,000km...oh and the petty is much cheaper to rebuild as well..thanks for reminding me.

Another thing if you did a 15,000km trip and didn't service the vehicle until you got home it is likely to do more damage to an older diesel than a petty.

But seriously, everyone has a different need for both like city dwellers on lpg and farmers with a diesel subsidy.
This thread can go forever...........................................................
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 663949

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:52
Good pionts Dave,
Took the bosses new Bmw x5 twin turbo today for a spin today and filled it up for him while I was at it. Half and hour later I get a phone call to say this two week old beemer had shut down in the driveway of red rooster. First I nearly had to change my pants but when I checked the docket I did put diesel in it. Had to ring the dealer just to find out how to get it into neutral just so we could get it out of the way. Then it was trucked back to the dealer, so much for diesel reliabity. BUT boy o boy does it go(7.8 to 100) when its going lol.
Anyway I reckon the only super reliable diesels are the old na pluggers so I will stick to my reliable petrol that cost 10% of the beemer.
FollowupID: 664013

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 01:45

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 01:45
impossible for a petrol engine to last 500,000 km, they arent engineered for it.
FollowupID: 664066

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 13:08

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 13:08
Fisho where did you dream that idea up. Jackaroo v6 petrols are engineered to last 500000ks, many of the short stroke 3.2s have now done well over 400000ks. I also know of a camry on gas that has done 700000ks as have many falcon and commodore taxis.
FollowupID: 664138

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:09

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:09
Fisho, I think you better check ure facts. Lets just put it in percpective.

Mitsubishi for a start make V6 that has been around now for ages, and when the vehicle is put to rest the bottom half of the engine is taken out and used in speedway. The main cap bearings are about half again as large as those in ure avaerage new 3ltr diesel, so which motors are engineered stronger.

How many 4X4 V6 engines do think are repaired around Australia compared to under 3ltr Diesels? Our local engine reconditioner does 95% diesel work, why? because that what he gets that needs repairing. The new under 3 ltr breed of Diesel are engineered firstly for fuel economy, secondly for power and lastly for durability, and that statement is from a couple of RAA mechanics that work in the industry.

How many 4x4 diesels in comparison to petrol, finished the Paris to Dakar rally pre: 2007. and if this isnt a full test of engineering on an engine I don't know what is?

Lets at least be realistic in this debate, look back through the posts and see how many problems people have with diesels versus petrol powered 4x4's even though nearly all here have conceded that a high amount of users on this site are urban based.

FollowupID: 664162

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:17

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:17
"hook line and sinker...."

:-)
FollowupID: 664202

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:49

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:49
As a follow up to yesterdays drama the problem was a crank angle sensor.
FollowupID: 664207

Reply By: jeep cherokee - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:19

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:19
I own a diesel and it is my second one to date.As far as im concerned i dont give a rats behind who drives what,its personal preference is'nt it !!!
AnswerID: 395441

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:12
Hi Jeep Cherokee

Yes it is personal choice, and like you don;t realy care of what people drive.

FollowupID: 664002

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:31

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:31
HaHaHa Petrol 4wd. Nope sorry, honestly forgive me but, no i cant say it. Its hurting too much, i just cant stop laughing.

I know, i know its each to there own. And with the amount of crap they are putting on each vehicle these days it makes Diesels just as prone to breakdowns as Petrols. And they say that they are getting high k's out of Petrols these days also. But, myself unless it has 8 cylinders i dont wanna know a petrol. When in the bush i love the sound of that Diesel rattle.

But there is a huge price difference i must admit, but with smaller cars now packing diesel engines, i know which way the world is turning.

Diesel and Manual for me, Maybe Petrol and Auto for you.

BUT, if my car was for serious playing and thrashing then it would be a Petrol 80 series, with a turbocharger. And boy would i have some fun.Just like this one

AnswerID: 395443

Follow Up By: Shaver - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:14

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:14
Jeez Kroozer who own that beast. Send me his details, so I can modify the 200 to take on those dastardly Diesels in the power stakes. That would even give a Typhoon a scare ! See it's no longer constant 4WD.
FollowupID: 663964

Reply By: Wilk0 - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:54

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:54

I try to get bush in my diesel rodeo as often as I can, But even for work I've got a Pajero diesel and I do most of my travelling on dirt roads thru Eastern Oz(60% dirt 40 % tar).

IMHO, I believe that diesels tend to want to make the wheels turn whilst petrols want to make the wheels spin.

The obvious advantage of this is a diesel will find grip whilst a petrol will spin the wheels

Acceleration doesn't come into the equation for me. My rodeo will do 0-100 in about 15 mins and that does me just fine. If I wanted a summernat car I certainly wouldn't be looking at a 4x4.

In fact I have to laugh when I see petrol 4x4's in Sydney with 19" mags and low profile tyres.

AnswerID: 395449

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:16

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:16
Hi Wilko
Same here, those low profile street tyres on a four wheel drive lets you know where they drive their vehicle.

FollowupID: 664004

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:21
Toorak Tractors i believe they are called lol,

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 664024

Reply By: Shaver - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:01

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:01
Hate to say it Stephen, but I think your comment is a bit stupid. I have a 200 Series GXL Cruiser & a T/D 60 series Sahara, but I have better things I would like to contribute to the Forum than talking rubbish & inciting a flame war. Obviously your first 4'by. Might surprise you also that on a lot of properties that I Hog Hunt on the cockies usually have Petrol Sahara Cruisers or Petrol 4.8 TI Patrols as their town runabout. The work utes being Dieso. It all comes down to choice in this society & that's why you have a Dieso Prado & I have a Petrol & Dieso Cruiser. As for going Bush with you I would love to, might be able to teach you a few tricks on how to operate your vehicle eh ! Over & Out VKS !
AnswerID: 395453

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:52
Shaver
Sounds like you are the one that is new to the four wheel drive scene, and trying to incite a flame war, not me. I have owned 6 four wheel drives over the last 22 years in both petrol and diesel.!

It is not the size of your vehicle, it how you can drive it and where you take it. As for your 'Hog Hunts" you must be from overseas, as here in Australia we go on feral pig shoots and diesel is not spelt Dieso. As for going bush, the day you can teach me a few tricks of driving is the day I buy a petrol. I have a wealth of four wheel drive experience under my belt. Look at the places below. It is no trick photography, and organized the trips myself. People that get out there in tag a long groups are restricted to 6 vehicles only and diesel vehicles only - like to see you out there.

As for the radio etiquette, in Australia, we say over at the end of a sentence, and when we have finished speaking, it is going clear to the person that we are speaking with.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 664012

Follow Up By: Shaver - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 07:29

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 07:29
Peanut ! You wouldn't know the Outback if you fell over it. I was born & bred here including 6 years in the Army as a Rec Mech (recovery mechanic) which included a Goverment sponsored trip to the Funny country (66-67) & have probably driven & recovered more heavy equipment than you have had breakfasts. You must think that by running Tagalongs it gives you have a wealth of knowledge about the outback & the expertise to push your views on everybody. A mate of mine who was a mechanic went into Tagalongs ( Simpson etc) & after a couple of years gave it away & went back to his trade. He owns a 4WD business & drives a 200 petrol because they are less to maintain than a Diesel (dieso). In regards to seeing me out there, I have been & done that years ago.Your so full of yourself it's not funny !
FollowupID: 664069

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:18

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:18
Shaver,
You are the one that needs to take a good look at yourself. You made the accusation's, not me, about being my first four wheel drive, my inexperience and so on. I do not run Tag along trips, I travel with a very small group of friends that all have a great love of the Australian Bush. As for knowing about the bush, it sounds like you have a lot still to learn. After all, you have just admitted that you have done it years ago with no current experience.

If you are the learned person that you are, become a member of EO and share your experience with others instead of sitting on the fence.

FollowupID: 664076

Follow Up By: Shaver - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:53

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:53
I will add another comment Stephen, because you remind me of a incident I had years ago in regard to your expertise. The Army built a road up Gospers Mtn (which is out from Rylstone NSW) which civilian engineers said could not be built & they then put a Airstrip on top of it. The road was so steep in places that you had to physically get out of the vehicle on the top of crests to see whether you went straight ahead or turned. I had to escort a Thornycroft 6x6 Fire Tender to the top of the airstrip. I was driving a 23 ton M543 6x6 Wrecker. On the second hill the Tender got 3/4 of the way up the hill & stopped. I came up behind stopped & locked the Brakes on the Wrecker(button on dash locks the brakes to how much effort you push on the pedal) & walked up to the driver who was frozen & shaking behind the wheel. I said what was the problem, he said " I have run out of gears & power". Turned out he had a full load of water on board & he was told to take it to the top because water was unavailable up there. I had to physically talk him into releasing the brakes slowly to allow the vehicle to roll back into the Wrecker so that the water could be drained. I have never seen a more frightened bloke. So it just goes to show mate that you think you know all the tricks & have a wealth of knowledge, but your never to old to learn. I could write a book without bragging about fool's who think they have a handle on what a 4WD will do & where it will go, but they come second when you have to extricate Cat 966B's & Dozers sunk in mud up to the drivers seat in pouring rain. Part of being a Recy Mech was being able to drive all Army vehicles, including Tanks, so please feel free to broaden my knowledge !
FollowupID: 664090

Follow Up By: Shaver - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:21

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:21
Stephen,

Forgot to add, get rid of that Toyota alloy Bull Bar or get a more solid one if you going to survive a decent Roo hit in the scrub. Have seen too many of them pushed into the radiator even by sheep.
FollowupID: 664104

Follow Up By: Dean - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:57

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:57
Oh dear old stephen, you really are the lord farquat of eo.
Dean
FollowupID: 664109

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:42

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:42
Hi Dean
As they say, it take one to know one

FollowupID: 664156

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:05

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:05
Now Stephen , apart from the fun factor, its not fair to argue the case with a pre-defined condition that favours one over the offer.
E.G. Playing on the fact that diesel delivers 1/3rd more range than petrol.

Otherwise the arguement is already over and Petrols win hands down because thats what the consumer buys.
I.E. I have redefined the condition to "what is most popular 4wd type".

Or if you like, lowest cost 4wd thru Victorian tracks , here gas will win.

You can only come to a conclusion based on the goods being fit for the purpose.

This pre-supposes the purpose.

If you define the purpose as long range touring in the outback, and it doesn't matter if you bypass the toughest stuff , then a diesel has an advantage upfront, but not necessarily a winning advantage.

If you define the objective as being the best 4wd through hard country like the tracks in my previous Hummer post then their is a different outcome.

So what is the discussion really about -> in your post, diesel wins in the outback !

If so please answer this question honestly.

If I have two similar vehicles side by side ready to tackle a 1000km track with
no fuel availability and no outside help.

Which would you take ?

Oh by the way the cars are, my 4800 petrol Patrol , and a similar age 3lt diesel Nissan Patrol.

AnswerID: 395455

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:28

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:28
Easy choice that one, one of those may not get you back home, hahahahaha.

Couldn,t help it. Slap me.

FollowupID: 663977

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:07
Hi Robin
A lot of people that buy a four wheel drive will never put them to their intended use.
Here is another case for diesel over petrol in manual transmission. Travel down your very steep mountain trails in first gear, both vehicles side by side. What vehicle will start to get ahead and have to keep applying light break pressure to stop it from getting away, it will not be a diesel powered vehicle.

With your last question on the 1000 kilometre trip in the bush, I would say what Krakka has said, the one that will get me home, and personally I would go the diesel, after all it is a personal choice.

FollowupID: 664017

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:43

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:43
So what's wrong with an occasional dab on the brakes. Both vehicles will still get to the bottom safely.

teege
FollowupID: 664032

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:51
Teege
There is no comparison in engine braking between petrol and diesel on very steep declines. Sure they will both get you down, but the petrol will be faster, thus the need to apply brakes more often, which could be not as safe in real loose surfaces if the brakes locked up, causing the vehicle to get out of control.

FollowupID: 664035

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:11

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:11
"A lot of people that buy a four wheel drive will never put them to their intended use. "

- that's the problem. To make yourself feel good, you have to convince yourself that anyone who is not using a particular type of vehicle the way you use it, is less of a person.
FollowupID: 664075

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:38

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:38
Hi Mike
I am not inferring that at all.

FollowupID: 664153

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:22

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:22
Stephen, I wonder just how much experience you have or observations you have made when you write things like," thus the need to apply brakes more often, which could be not as safe in real loose surfaces if the brakes locked up, causing the vehicle to get out of control".
Heard of ABS mate.
It's common.
Haven't you got it?
I thought it would be on a Prado.
FollowupID: 664226

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:13

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:13
Fatso
Have you driven a diesel down a very steep decline, then a petrol to compare the difference between the two?, if so you will know exactly what I am talking about. Facts are facts that a diesel has far superior engine braking than petrol. Yes I have heard of ABS, and yes my Prado has them, but there are still hundreds of four wheel drives out there that do not have ABS.

To me it sounds like you are the one with no experience to make a statement like that.

FollowupID: 664344

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:52

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:52
Hi Guys

Back from the bush , and I see we are still talking so I would like to add something re this aspect.

Like the myth of diesel engine torque , engine braking also has its own curlies and needs to be considered as a vehicle whole.

Engine braking is roughly the engine capacity X compression ratio.

Hence in the case of two patrols the 3lt diesel and 4.8lt petrol the basic figures become braking= 53 units for diesel and 46 units for the petrol , I.E. on this diesel is ahead by about 13% , however the story changes a lot once the gearing is taken into account, specifically when an automatic transmission is used.
Essentially the auto heavily reduces the engine braking effect.

One only needs so much engine braking as well and for a while Diesel/auto was considered the best vehicle combination.
Not because engine braking was good , but because the auto reduced it !

These days down descent controls based on abs systems further muddy the waters , and all these factors mean to me that no longer can we read out basic words like , Diesel/auto/track width/fule use etc and tick some boxes.

Each car has to be evaluated as best we can as a whole system , in a world in which the suppliers are trying to dumb as down to "colour selection"

FollowupID: 664401

Follow Up By: Matt M - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:41

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:41
Stephen...who are you to decide what a 4WDs intended use is? You actually sound like Harold Scruby with your grandstanding remarks.

What is the intended use for all 4WDs?

You can tanswer that can you...everyone who purchases a 4WD does so for THEIR intended use and who are you to determine that THEIR intended use is less justified than yours?

It may be the vehicle has the towing capacity that THEY require...it may be that the traction at the boat ramp is all of THEIR intended use, it might be that they have 5 kids and dont wish to drive a MPV (people mover)...

So unless people drive their vehicle the way YOU think they should then you want to start a debate as to "what type of fuel do you think is the best for MY vehicle choice". Guess it sounds as stupid as it is!

Oh well I guess it is the school holidays and the kids are on the net posting pathethic inflaming threads to get a bite.

Merry Christmas!
FollowupID: 664616

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:36

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 16:36
In reality buying a new 4WD, if you buy a petrol today and go to trade it in a few years down the track you will not get a good deal. Resale for the diesel these days is heaps better, so you have to look at what it is doing to your back pocket.
Me well don't do much off roading as I use to, but we have 2 TDs nearly the same vehicles, but are pre CRDs and with 250Ks and 210Ks on both I am happy with performance and economy and running costs. Plus I can rebuild my motors for around $4K including labour.
AnswerID: 395463

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:12
Hi Bruce
Well said.

FollowupID: 664019

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:26

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:26
G'day Stephen

Out of 102 vehicles over a 48 year span I have only had 2 diesels...both Nissan 4x4's. Both have given me exceptional service in the time I have used them. Still running my old 4.2 non turbo oiler now sitting at 392,000km now (just run in, someone said...lol)

In the early years I had a lot of strife with petrol cars and 4bies. Mainly when it came to tuning. This was in the era before fuel injection. But I managed to travel to lots of Out of the Way places such as Helena Spring in the Great Sandy Desert and the whole of the CSR and North/South, cross country across the Simpson Desert and other places in the Gibson Desert. Just had to make enough space to carry the required fuel.

My only concern with a diesel is, and especially in a remote situation, that if both the batteries go flat I have a problem ! With a petrol vehicle one can spin a wheel and get it started :-) Now I dunno if that is applicable to a fuel injected engine!

We do have a 'modern' petrol car in out stable namely a Nissan Xtrail 2003 which has performed faultlessly up to now. And does it have some grunt for such a little engine! :-)

My next bush vehicle, if I ever buy a nother one, will be bought on price and not wether its diesel or petrol. Diesel however is more readily available in remote locations but petrol availabilty is almost as good and can even be bought at KMart (Kunawarritji) on the CSR :-)

AnswerID: 395481

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:37

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:37
Hi Willem

You can jump start many of the fuel injected vehicles provided they are manual but there are two tricks.

1/ you need some battery to run up the fuel pump/injection , hence I always carry a little AA battery pack or equivalent ( 7 amps for 5 seconds will do).

2/ You need a momentary start signal .
I often roll start my patrol as practise for the inevitable day , and for it the jump signal can be just to click the key to start for 1/2 a second and your away.

Many diesels often need two batteries to go unless conditions are good making them more dependant on battery power and ultimately a less bushable car.

FollowupID: 663986

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:25

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:25
Hi Robin

I do respect your knowledge and expertise in the engineering field and life experiences in testing stuff (apart from some of your spelling) but sometimes you make statements that are bordering on the rediculous such as " Many diesels often need two batteries to go unless conditions are good making them more dependant on battery power and ultimately a less bushable car". So now your credibility is in shreds :-)

I suppose you are trying your best to stir the pot and continue the argument, if you can call it that. But I won't bite.

FollowupID: 663992

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:58
I challenge anyone to even get any full size 4by moving whatsover by themself in the bush by themself and even with 2 people.
likelyhood is unless conditions were ideal nothing short of 4 people could push start any 4by.

the thought of flat batteries worries me a bit (especially as mine are 5 years old)

I could fix a fair amount of basic stuff but theres nothing whatsoever i could do about a flat battery
FollowupID: 663998

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:25

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:25
No need to bite over verifiable facts Willem.

Hi getoutmore , you could try Willems suggestion which can work but for me , well actually I carry little battery you can hold in your hand which can start a car or park such that I can roll downhill.

Mind you the old crank handle used to work , but again its a bit tricky with a high compression diesel.

FollowupID: 664005

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:41

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:41
Ive heard of that method and while id try anthing if i had to im a bit dubios if it would actually work at least very easily

- anyways with more and more vehicles - well actually most new vehicles being autos and 4bys following that trend roll starting of any description looks like becoming a thing of the past.

I have an old style duel batt system and have run it flat out bush a few times
- its then i hold my breath , turn to the second battery, cross my fingers, give it a good glow and flick it to start

once started i exhale
FollowupID: 664010

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:47
So if the facts are verifiable please tell me just how many petrol 4x4's are there more than diesel 4x4's in the bush :-)

In the old days I had starting problems from time to time, One could start a petrol engined vehicle by jacking a wheel up, fitting a rope to it and starting it like a lawnmower. My old G60 had a crank handle and would start quite easily although it needed a bit for effort to crank the engine
FollowupID: 664011

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:06

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:06
Hi Willem

You have lost me - your post above seems to be challenging my assertion that diesels need a lot more battery power to start making them more battery dependant - I'm not sure what your question is about when you say ->

"So if the facts are verifiable please tell me just how many petrol 4x4's are there more than diesel 4x4's in the bush :- "

FollowupID: 664016

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:20

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:20
Robin

This is what you stated "Many diesels often need two batteries to go unless conditions are good making them more dependant on battery power and ultimately a less bushable car"

So why are there more diesels in the bush than petrols? ie on stations, communities, mines and mining exploration.

That is my point.

And dual batteries have only been fashionable since electric accessories have become popular.
FollowupID: 664023

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:51
Hey Willem let me kow when you get blood out of this stone mate.

Robin is a one eyed Petrol Patrol fan, anything that doesnt get to 100k/hr in under 3 seconds isnt safe to him. Plus it has to have an impossible roll over angle also, something which in the real world means very little.

I push started my BILs 80 series just the two of us the other day in reverse. Very easy. Not sure why you would need 2 batteries to turn over a Diesel unless it was extremely cold. Pretty sure i ran a Diesel without a battery once, cant see that happening with a petrol engine.
FollowupID: 664034

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:01

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:01
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Spamming Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 664037

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:21
Its Xmas so they let you off Kroozer - but I really don't care either way and would love to have 1/3rd more range , but we can only evaluate things on what they are , not what we wish them to be , thats why we put so much into measuring as opposed to opinion.

We drive so often thru the bush with windows down just listening to the wildlife , and its frustrating when the sound of a mates diesel chugging intrudes over the scene.

Willem , that diesel engines require more battery power to start is common knowledge.

The extra point " that this makes them less bushable" is argueable I agree.

I put this in the same basket as the reduced range of petrols, its a weakness that makes them less desirable, and so the increased dependence of the diesel on batteries makes them less desirable.

Many of the points we make are academic as there are no immediate consequences, but I need to consider real cases and we have been in the bush with a diesel and petrol car that had both ran there batteries down and you had only one shot at getting a car started - you can be sure that with limited batery power available we choose the petrol to try and start first.

FollowupID: 664078

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:09

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:09
'I do respect your knowledge and expertise in the engineering field and life experiences in testing stuff (apart from some of your spelling) but sometimes you make statements that are bordering on the rediculous such as " Many diesels often need two batteries to go unless conditions are good making them more dependant on battery power and ultimately a less bushable car". So now your credibility is in shreds :-)

REDICULOUS

Is this a new word, lol :)

Sorry, Willem

Dennis

FollowupID: 664100

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:26

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:26
Ahh Dennis, the old copy and paste trick to show up a discrepancy.

Actually, yes, it is a NEW WORD.

It is a spell as taught by the Masters of Hogwarts School of Magic.

I borrowed it to see if the spell could change some of Robin's controversial ideas :-)

Hope you have a nice Xmas in the snow.

FollowupID: 664106

Reply By: offroad_tommo - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:40

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:40
I haven’t got any facts or figures to contribute to this discussion but heres my two cents worth.

I’ve grown up with diesel motors and my old man telling me just about everyday, ‘treat em right and they’ll go forever’ Seems that if this is applied, it certainly shows through. Now I don’t know much about these newer common rail diesels but the traditional were my favourite for example the 2.8D hilux. Yep as most of you know its bloody slow, but you appreciate it over time, and the vehicle itself sort of becomes part of the atmosphere of heading bush, chugging along, changing gears on the hill climb etc. For me the official start of my trip doesn’t begin until I put my finger down on the glow plug button. Sure it doesn’t get you from A to B in a rush, but for myself that part in-between in equally just as important as the rest. I do a lot of trips, in fact every weekend I am out on an expedition, and I wouldn’t be able to if my fuel consumption was in the higher teens. For me that fuel efficiency is where the diesel really pays off.

Also as mentioned above, in many places up north here, you wont find much petrol, most stations only supply diesel. I wouldn’t feel to comfortable transporting petrol with me.

Cheers all,
Tommo
AnswerID: 395484

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:30

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:30
I think the "treat em right and they will last forever" lost some of its wisdom with the 3lt Nissan diesels Tommo

FollowupID: 664008

Follow Up By: offroad_tommo - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:03

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:03
yeh but like i said mate, i was speaking of those from the early 90's and previous.

In terms of that nissan motor, I think that was just a kick up the backside for nissan, not diesel motors in generall, afterall it was the nissan engineers that built it and so long as they stay away from the other diesel motors in the automotive industry, we should be safe.

Mind you though, many diesel motors arent what they used to be, especially with more electrical components.

FollowupID: 664015

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:04

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:04
Hi Offroad,
You hit the nail on the head with you last statement. I also think that there are far too many electrics on modern vehicles. A good few year back when in Birdsville, there was an almost new Petrol four wheel drive on the back of a truck to be transported south to Adelaide. When asked what wrong with it, the driver said electrical problem, the only vehicle to have out here is a diesel, we can work on them easy.

They would not be able to say that now, regardless of petrol or diesel.

FollowupID: 664038

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:11

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:11
Tommo Isuzu build world class diesels, but the Jackaroo 3ltdiesel while light years ahead of tyhe opposition in 98 was nearly as disasterous as the 3lt nissan .But I agree if I was heading into very remote areas it would be in a na diesel or a old tech turbo like the 1kz or the 2.8 rodeo etc.
FollowupID: 664211

Follow Up By: Matt M - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 13:03

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 13:03
In terms of that nissan motor, I think that was just a kick up the backside for nissan, not diesel motors in generall, afterall it was the nissan engineers that built it and so long as they stay away from the other diesel motors in the automotive industry, we should be safe.

Hahah Nissan engineers....its a Renault motor and had nothing to do with the Nissan engineers....there are examples of one off lemons everywhere.

So what engine should Renault use now since they have to stay away from other diesel motors ?? Since Renault owns Mack....we should see all Macks on the side of the road with blown engines at 80 000km...nope getting pistons and liners at about 1 000 000 km and back on the road.

And the Isuzu in the Jackaroo..well most of the initial problems with it were caused by the dealers and others working on it. They had no idea of the technology that went into making that engine produce the power that manufactures in comparable vehicles have only just managed to match 10 years later!

I own a brand new common rail diesel and I am dreading the day that I ever need to get the stealership to work on the engine...I know for a fact they most dont have the expertise or desire to undertand how to maintain and repair these vehicles correctly. Diagnostics is scantools (no code so there must not be a problem haha) and parts changing till you hopefully fix it.

But such is life, its the advance of technology and without these advancements the vehicles wouldnt meet the emission requirements and therfore, would not be made.

FollowupID: 664622

Follow Up By: offroad_tommo - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 14:04

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 14:04
Cheers Matt, never actually knew that.

However had nothing to do with the Nissan engineers? Well I’m only guessing but I doubt the motor would have just found itself sitting in the engine bay of the patrol without the guidance from some type of Nissan representee. Perhaps the motor wasn’t touched by Nissan at all, however…

You also raise the point about Renault motors being used in Macks without to many dramas. So true. Now I may be very wrong here, apologies if I am, but didn’t the Navara use the same motor from the 3L patrol? Yet the Navarva as far as I can tell doesn’t have many motor issues?

I reckon It’s never just about the motor; it’s how it suits the vehicle as well as its other mechanical components. For the issue of the 3L motor failure, i rekon that really came down to Nissan.

As you say though, lemons are everywhere, diesel or petrol, you can only hope you don’t ever buy one!

Cheers mate,
Tommo
FollowupID: 664630

Follow Up By: Matt M - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:21

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:21
Ahh about the engineers we could pointlessly argue semantics that someone had to install a motor and it was their fault or that the motor was at fault to begin with.

I think you answered that yourself...it wasnt the engineers fault, they did a adequate job installing an engine in to the Navara and had little problems with it. The ZD30 in that vehicle used an entirely different engine manegment, was detuned and didnt use VGT turbo.

So while the block etc was still ZD30, it was the engine management that over boosted, overfuelled and melted the pistons.

I do agree that the engine was unsuited to what we as Australians asked the Patrol to do (3.0l engine pushing 3 Ton and towing 2 ton)...but that is the future and we are not getting away from large vehicles with relatively small bore engines punching out huge KW and torque.

...all the best

FollowupID: 664650

Follow Up By: offroad_tommo - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:37

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:37
Hey Matt,

Thanks for that info mate, appreciate it.

Just a quick Q though as you seem to know your stuff.

Why hasnt nissan used the same ZD30 setup thats in the navara in the patrol? Is this just a Nissan thing or is there a reason it cannot be done, eg, weight/towing difference of the two?

Cheers mate,
Have a good xmas

Tommo

FollowupID: 664659

Follow Up By: Matt M - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:56

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:56
Tommo,

Navara ZD30 110Kw 314 Nm GVM - 2920

Partol ZD30 118Kw 380 Nm GVM - 3060

Mate...dunno there wasnt all that much in it when you look at the specs....even the Navara had a 3000kg towing cap...I think the patrol was 3500?? Dont quote me! So again...nothing to scoff at.

If they threw the intercooler on the Navara ZD30 and kept it with the standard turbo and tune...it probably would have been a good vehicle just a slightly less potent, but one hellava less headache for Nissan.

Dont get me wrong the Navara had a few engines with warranty faults but equal to any other marque.

Sad really...Patrol kept the solid front (preferalble than IFS) but crap motor...Landcruiser has a magic motor but chose to go IFS.

FollowupID: 664662

Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:59
Have a Petrol of my own and drive diesels as work vehicles. The only time i wish i owned a diesel is whilst towing. I love my petrol and use it for what it was meant for. My next car will be petrol once again.

AnswerID: 395494

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:18

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:18
Hi Dave
Like I have stated a few times in this post, it is all personal choice and what we prefer to drive for our own need. Thanks for your reply.

All the best for the Festive Season.

FollowupID: 664272

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:07

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:07
Ok I will bite and enter the argument
Having owned a 60 series and a 75 both diesel and 2 petrol 80 series I will take the petrol anytime
as far as longitivity of the motors the petrols have proven to be as good os the diesels with 400K+ out of both types of engines
the diesels were old tech and definitely cost heapsd more in service costs. hell on some of the trips the diesels would need a service before we actually got into 4wd country.
the 75 is a farm truck and at 20 years old has a whole 160k on the clock although most is low range work . truck has no guts shakes rattles and rolls on blacktop and wouldnt tow a box trailer full of firewood but it is afarm truck and therefore diesel.a big trip is 25 kmaround the paddocks and hills and it wouldnt do 1000 km per year on the blacktop.
the 60 series was a diesel because when i didnt know better i believed that places like the cape and kimberly and the gunbarrel were remote and petrol(ulp) was hard to get.over the years I have learnt much differently.
I have found there is ample unleaded fuel available and avgas is always a fall back. In fact the only time I found unleaded unavailable was at bamaga in 99 although it was availabe at Seisa and on the great central road pre opal but we just used avgas. The diesel only availabilty argument is a bit of a furphy from my experience.
after trips to the cape and the gulf I purchased an 80 series in petrol after doing the whole of life costings.(the premium on purchasing a diesel especially a turbo sees break even periods of over 10 years)
still fuel consumption was high and i needed to carry jerry cans for anything over 600km in the rough. a nuisence at times but you could still drive across the simpson on a std tank.

when I replaced that vehicle it was with another 80 series petrol
but this one had a long range tank fitted and I must admit have never been concerned about fuel availability since.I can bank on 1000 km towing off road .
and over 1200 not towing without the need to carry jerry cans which is no problem as the petrol vehicle easily tows the camper which has the space and capability to carry additional fuel if needed.

yes a naturally aspirated diesel will take you anywhere and a long way on a tank of fuel but the petrol will go the same places much easier and quicker and while the fuel bill will be a bit more the cost of ownership will most likely be less with the petrol.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 395495

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:24

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:24
Hi Howard
Like I have stated a few times above, it is a personal choice. As for petrol in remote locations, you will be able to get diesel anywhere, not so with petrol. Try going through some remote aboriginal communities where petrol sniffing is a problem. A lot of people say that the Aboriginal don't know what they are doing when spaced out - wrong. They can tell straight away when a vehicle comes in if it is petrol or diesel.
My nephew was working on a remote aboriginal community in the NT a few years back. A new petrol 100 series (Tourists of course) came into the community. The people had no sooner left their vehicle when a spaced out aboriginal, with a very long screwdriver went under the back of the Toyota. The owner of the new vehicle came running back, but the damage was done. Yes a screwdriver straight up through the fuel tank, just so he could get a small tin of petrol to sniff.
It caused a real issue.

You mentioned the Gunbarrel.? I wonder if you and how many other people are aware that it is illegal to travel through aboriginal lands with petrol in their tanks. Read the small print and Opal must be in all tanks, including any spare fuel carried before entering Aboriginal Lands.

These are facts.

FollowupID: 664041

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:51

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:51

yes its a personal choice but I still dont accept that diesel is the only fuel available in remote areas.look in the communities you mentioned and at what vehicles the locals are driving either supplied deisel 4wd's or privately owned petrol sedans/wagons.
those petrol vehicles are now fueled with Opal where petrol sniffing is considered a problem.

you raised the gunbarrel and restrictions on petrol in the aboriginal lands
at the time I undertook my gunbarrel trip trip Opal hadnt come into being and where unleaded wasnt available or had been withdrawn we were able to obtain avgas.
yes surprisingly there is in more cases than not a fuel available which allows a petrol powered vehicle to run because if there wasnt the locals would be disadvantaged.

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 664108

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:35

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:35
Hi Howard
There have been a few posts regarding the use of Opal Fuel. I was quite surprised when I read the small print regard carrying ULP. When we were in Laverton last, we were told that the locals would drive down from Warburton just to buy ULP. That same fuel in 20 litre cans would then be on sold for sniffing. The guy that told me said that they were making $2000 for 1 x 20 litre drum - who said that the locals were not business people. The Gunbarrel is a great place, but the corrugations are slowly taking it over. It least you are getting out there. Thanks for your replies

FollowupID: 664152

Reply By: Wimmera - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:37

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:37
For me it has to be Diesel simple reason is the Fire Hazard from dry grass.
Prior to ULP and catalytic Hot Boxs petrol was usable with caution. Haven't heard of any safe options from todays petrols.
AnswerID: 395500

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:31

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:31
Hi Wimmera,
Well said. be it CFS, SES, CFA, all command four wheel drive vehicles are what.....Diesel.

FollowupID: 664044

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:44

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:44
"Head bush and count how many station of farm vehicles are Petrol, less than 1%."
Stephen this has almost nothing to do with the mechanics of vehicles.
It is a direct result of the FEDERAL TAX SYSTEM.
The on farm diesel fuel rebate extended to 4 wheel drives used to travel for farm business anywhere.
You get no rebate for petrol.
AnswerID: 395501

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:18
Hi Fatso
I am not talking about tax rebates. Private individuals can not claim that rebate even when living in the bush, so why do they buy diesel?

FollowupID: 664021

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:02

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:02
Sorry Stephen. When you wrote"Head bush and count how many station of farm vehicles are Petrol, less than 1%."
I thought you were talking about station & farm vehicles.
I was just trying to enlighten you & other readers that farmers get a federal tax rebate for diesel.
This is the main reason farmers all over Australia drive diesel utilities.
When diesel was about 60c/L the rebate was around 22c/L
FollowupID: 664220

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:45
Hi Stepen

I just noticed your reference to a WRX , but no one certainly not me has argued for a power machine , its all about adequate power for the job.

Even my 10 sec to 100kmh GU is pretty slow compared a commodore family sedan, and I have always used the figure of 16sec approx to 100kmh as being adequate.

The problem is that we have a whole range of hopelessly slow diesels that are a danger to themselves and others on the open road let alone when they put a van on the back.

These cars may trundle over an outback road , but do not have the ability to generate enough momentum to get up the more difficult hills , let alone react to an unusal situation as its presents.

Fortunatlely companies like toyota have realised this and no longer make such vehicles , and all there cars now have adequate performance.

What a change a decade has made !

AnswerID: 395502

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:58

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:58
How the hell is a slow car a danger on the road? Honestly man, you need to think about what your saying.

So everybody from now on, when you get into your car you have to hold it flat stick up to 100 because Robin Miller said its a danger to just drive normally
FollowupID: 664036

Follow Up By: sastra - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:27

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:27
Gee Robin, I hope some of those nasty big road trains over here in WA don't annoy you with their presence on our roads.
There are many rigs still in use, carrying big lumps of mining equipment to generate income for this great Commonwealth of ours and often they would be struggling to maintain a speed suitable to you, it would seem.

It's a very big country so chill man and develop some tolerance and empathize with those of us who cannot afford to jump into the latest generation of vehicle to tow our vans.

I''m sure there are grey nomads enjoying their retirement out there who don't move unless the wind is favourable. I hope they don't ruin your travels!

Michael ;-)
FollowupID: 664043

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:44

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:44
Hi Kroozer, Michael.

Almost missed your comments , there are so many in this thread that I nearly couldn't locate the reference.

The actual issue of concern to traffic engineers is driving at a speed different to the majority.

People in this catergory , wether driving faster than average or slower than average have an increased accident rate profile.

This has the interesting twist that so often happens - I.E. If your doing 70 in a 60 zone like everyone else then you are both speeding and safter because you are speeding (keeping up with the traffic)

Similarly if you are doing 60 in the same 60 zone with everyone else on 70 , you may not be speeding but you are less safe and at increasing risk of someone running into the back of you.

Its a quite real and measureable statistic unfortunately.

FollowupID: 664085

Follow Up By: sastra - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 11:39

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 11:39
I think you didn't read my followup Robin.
FollowupID: 664122

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:33

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:33
The big issue with older diesels was to much time spent on the wrong side of the road whilst overtaking. This is not an issue in remote areas(well not unless you are trying to pass a roadtrain on the upwind side). I have even found d4d auto prados lacking in acceration when passing semis. Mind you my wifes 3.5 dohc auto Jack is not up to scratch even with 158kw. My manual Jack is far better in this regard with an excellent 3rd gear for overtaking.
Good discussion anyway
FollowupID: 664214

Reply By: ozwasp - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:21
This is a simple answer - Diesel

Anyone who says petrol just doesn't know their stuff... Or drives a 3L diesel Patrol
AnswerID: 395511

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:12

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:12
Hi Ozwasp,
Well said.

All the best for the Festive Season

FollowupID: 664271

Reply By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:27

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:27
I just do beach camping, Teewah, Fraser, Moreton etc.

I had a 4 cyclinder petrol - woeful, got bogged all the time irrespective of tyre pressure.

Then I got a 6 cylinder petrol with 130KW and 300nm torque, still go bogged, but able to get out more easily than the last one. Sometimes spun sideways, fun bogan stuff.

Now i drive a 72kw diesel with about 200nm of torque, but you know what, I have never been able to bog it, the wheels just keep turning and moving, no spinning and digging. Admittedly the front and rear detroit tru tracs probably help a lot.

In the petrol if I flogged it the consumption went through the roof, with the diesel, not matter what i do it's always 9 - 10l/1000km.

Unless I tow, that'll do me.
AnswerID: 395514

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:55

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:55
Hi Porl,

Good One.

FollowupID: 664050

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:05

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:05
Damn you buy gutless 4b`s, what has so little power and torque?
FollowupID: 664175

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:29

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:29
"with the diesel, not matter what i do it's always 9 - 10l/1000km."

I want to know what Vehicle can do 9-10l/1000km????????????

FollowupID: 664193

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:54

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:54
To Sir Kev and Darkie, uhm yeah typo, bit obvious I thought in retrospect, but point taken.

To Stu-k, what are you doing on this forum?? Go back to the V8supercars site or learn to comprehend. On my last Fraser Iland trip I had to help dig out a new 4.0L petrol prado, i sailled through, won't be helping dig you out i think.
FollowupID: 664210

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:41

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:41
I comprehend...you brought a Great Wall, bout the only thing that is that underpowered.

I have a diesel hilux which is 126kw and 330 or so nm which would make you poop ya pants lol
FollowupID: 664232

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:20

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:20
Stu-k

I'm not convinced yr still comprehending, it's not all about kw and Nm, yeah handy to have them but it's not the be all. I lust after them for sure but for all that money ( i spent 1/4 of the cost of the new lux) I still don't get bogged, I stilll get to where ever I want to get to, and cheaply without breakdowns and injectors that cost $80 a pop.

I was once going to post here about what's more important:

Kw and Nm

or

Traction, clearance and articulation.

I reckon I know which would have won, but not necessarily after reading some replies to this post such as yours.
FollowupID: 664242

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:53

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:53
Where is the tax write off in a cheap 4b? I have had no breakdowns and ride in comfort.

I agree its not all about power but that can be metered with the loud pedal away. Of course I have suspension kit and AT tyres along with normal other upgrades, which of course are tax deductable to.

Traction, clearance and articulation make no difference on the road where most 4b`s spend the bulk of their time but power does.
FollowupID: 664264

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:59

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:59
Have 4 diesels 3, 4x4 if had petrol vehicles in my work would have to have CFS coming behind me to put out the fires in stubble paddocks
Charlie
AnswerID: 395519

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:37

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:37
Hi Charlie
Like I said above all command emergency vehicles are what......Diesel, then why.

FollowupID: 664047

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:22

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:22
Most vehicles are unlikely to be over-run by a bushfire.

A firefighting vehicle is quite likely to be surounded by fire.

That's the only reason firefighting vehicles must be Diesel.
FollowupID: 664079

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:30

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:30
Hi Mike
That is another very valid point on how much safer a diesel vehicle is.

FollowupID: 664081

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:47

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:47
Diesel for me Stephen, the only thing I but Petrol in these days is Robyn's lawn mower :-)
AnswerID: 395531

Follow Up By: Member - Clements (WA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 00:06

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 00:06
I agree diesel ALL the way!

Safe to use and less of a fire hazard and safe to transporting.

In the Pilbara, for example, the percentage of diesel LVs far out number Petrol 4x4s.

Stephen you are spot on with Emergency Vehicles using Diesel.

Clements
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 664063

Reply By: mowing - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 00:31

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 00:31
Hi Stephen, It is all compromise and what the owner is happy with. There is no right or wrong, with the diesel/petrol argument in with the Nissan/toyota, fridge, tyre debate.

AnswerID: 395534

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:25

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:25
Hi Mark
You are right with what you have replied, but the point I was making that many people buy a four wheel drive and the vehicle will never see a dirt road, which I am not condoning. What the stats show is that a vehicle that is purchased for its intended use is usually diesel.

FollowupID: 664080

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:30

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:30
Stephen,

What business is it of yours what people do with their vehicles? If someone wants to buy a 4WD and not take it off road, its their choice as far as I am concerned. We don't like others telling us what we should or shouldn't do, you certainly wouldn't like someone telling you how you should use your vehicle. So why do it to others?

FollowupID: 664107

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:23

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:23
Hi Matt
It was not intended to be like that. If people buy a four wheel drive and do not use it for what it was made for, they do not no what they are missing out on.
I am not telling what people should buy or not buy, only stating the stats.

Have a great day

FollowupID: 664150

Reply By: pt_nomad - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:03

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:03
Have had both, prefer the diesel.
A friend rolled a vehicle in the Kimberly, the hospital doctor said 'lucky it was a diesel'. It seems they have seen a number of burns victims as a result of fires following accidents. I dont have factual details so can not verify.
AnswerID: 395554

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:13

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:13
I have a Nissan Pathfinder 3.3litre V6 petrol and a Freelander 2 TD4 2.2 litre diesel. The diesel is a better car in every way. The Freelander 2 replaced a Subaru Outback 3 litre V6 180Kw and again the FL2 is streets ahead which I didn't believe would be possible. It uses way less fuel and has 400nm of really smooth torque. It feels like it could tow the Queen Mary. I reckon the Japs have given diesels a bad name. Even now the new Suzuki's and Xtrail diesels can only come up with around 300nm torque from a 2 litre motor. Are they doing this on purpose? The new Sorento from Korea manages 430nm from 2.2 litres.
Its environmentally irresponsible to require 15+ litres/100km to get enough power to budge the bigger forbies. The new Pajero gets good numbers. I believe that those with a bias against diesels have been bitten by poorly performing machines. I've driven a V6 diesel Disco 3 and it gets near 10l/100 km's. You couldn't want for much better performance and its a heavy car.

AnswerID: 395557

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:21
sorry flat 6 for the Subaru
AnswerID: 395560

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:12
The whole thread a waste of cyberspace.
AnswerID: 395571

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:24

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:24
Why did you respond then.

Have a great day

FollowupID: 664151

Reply By: jeep cherokee - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 11:11

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 11:11
Phew !!!! is that the END of the discussions :)
AnswerID: 395576

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:03

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:03
Thanks for the entertainment of this post, I look forward to your posts Stephen & past help so as an owner of a petrol Soft Roader I won't comment lol.

AnswerID: 395580

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:18

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 14:18
Hi Cuffs
I did not think it was going to be so big. It does not matter about your soft roader, at least you use it in the good country and have fun. That is what four wheel driving is all about.

Have a Great Festive Season.

FollowupID: 664149

Reply By: Wilk0 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:09

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:09
Does that mean that diesels 1 petrols 0.

lol sorry had to do that.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 395581

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:27

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:27
I've been around this forum for about six years and this old chestnut pops up from time to time. The debate rarely varies and of course both sides always present some valid and some outrageous arguments.

The truth of the matter is that both types of engine have their place. If you sit down and logically assess which serves your location, budget, driving needs, economy (in $ per km, not L per km) etc you will make the right choice.

But as long as my Bum points at the ground I'll never understand why some people seem to become emotionally attached to either. When all is said and done it's a matter of propulsion.

AnswerID: 395609

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:13

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:13
I have to add a Final, well lets hope its a final to this at times laughable Post.

Stephen only asked about EO doing a Poll, so hopefully I have solved it all, here is my next vehicle. And Dam it had to be a Toyota LMAO

New Rig

AnswerID: 395615

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:09

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:09
Hi Glenn
I thought that yours would be the last, but they are still coming in thick and fast.

Have a great weekend.

FollowupID: 664269

Reply By: RedJK - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:36

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:36
I always thought diesels were more reliable than petrol, until CRD came along.
All it takes now is a bit of water in the tank to get to the injectors and you are in big (expensive ) trouble.
So where does that leave us? (at $1500 a pop for injectors)
AnswerID: 395620

Follow Up By: chevypower - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:05

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:05
That is actually a good point. I personally don't care either way, people should buy what they want. I have just bought a petrol V8 F-150 4x4 (I should change my user name to Ford Power) but i like diesels too. CRD brought more performance to diesels, but it also brought higher costs, higher maintenance and that was just the beginning. Australia's emissions standards are not that tough yet, and when they are, diesels in Oz, just like in the US will all require DPFs, DEF (Urea injection) and bring a whole lot more to purchase cost and maintenance. As emissions standards get tougher, the diesel engine will also drink more, which takes away some of those advantages of diesels. I like having an option.
FollowupID: 664198

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:04

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:04
RedJK
Regardless of what vehicles he have, all modern hi spec vehicles should have well maintained fuel filters. On my last diesel Pajero, the recommended fuel filter change was 40,000 kilometres. Now on the Prado it is 20,000 kilometres. One would hope that the water light in the filter system works, but having said that, it is going to be a fair amount of water in the fuel tank to be of concern to any vehicle, both petrol and diesel.

As for Cheveypowers comments re emissions getting tougher, the diesel will drink more fuel - you must be living in the dark ages. If this is the case, WHY are most passenger car manufacturer, eg BMW, Holden, Mazda, etc. etc all now releasing diesel passenger car, with power and economy to burn.

FollowupID: 664267

Reply By: Wherehegon - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:06

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:06
Hi Stephen, firstly merry xmas to you and your family and hope you travel safe, well you will be safe your in a diesel, (sorry lol). Well I can comment here. I have had diesel, petrol, LPG, and turbo diesel. Firstly would never buy another non turbo diesel again, (had old 2.8D hilux) while great off road, no reliability issues, it was painfully slow especially when towing camper, next was the 3.4L V6 prado, while a good vehicle, it drank like a goldfish, around 16/17L per 100 round town, best freeway driving was 12.2L per 100, while it didnt bother me at first as we sold the wifes commodore and bought her a new Toyota Yaris sedan to buzz about in when petrol hit $1.75/1.80 it started to really bite the hip pocket so enter LPG conversion, biggest mistake I made, drank 22/23L per 100 (round town) with only 59L useable was around 250k and it was empty, put it in low range or on Stockton beach and you were lucky to get 100k out of the tank (28/30L per 100), that then left you with a 90L main of petrol, so take this scenario through the middle of aus some where and I was going to be running out of juice really quick, Now have exact same vehicle but T/D, while not as economical as I thought it would be, still happy with it. Around 13L per 100 round town, best freeway driving 10.2L per 100 and this is punching it along at 120/130, towing around 12/13. Heaps more talk then the petrol, 303 verus 343 nm, while not a huge diff on paper certainly is noticable when towing and pottering around the tracks. No it wont take off like Robins patrol, and probably still not as cheap to run as his patrol (LPG) If I had the $$ to spare I wouldnt hesitate buying a new 200 series cruiser in T/D form less then 10L per 100 open road, brilliant for the size of vehicle and the power they have. So my choice is diesel, but thats for me, everyone to there own. I think if you do a lot of heavy towing then td is the only way to go. My uncle use to have 80 petrol 4.5L series towing 22 foot van, anything up to 28L per 100, now has 100 series TD and uses around the 15L per 100 towing. Each to their own and I know if I was to sell my prado I will have no prblems selling it, See how many T/D 01 prado grande's compared to petrols !!! Im happy with my decision. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 395653

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 03:08

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 03:08
Gday Steve,

Read with interest a couple of points you made. Your comments about the disappointing "so enter LPG conversion, biggest mistake I made, drank 22/23L per 100 (round town)" "Now have exact same vehicle but T/D, while not as economical as I thought it would be, still happy with it. Around 13L per 100 round town" .

I'm no mathematical Geanous, but 22/23l per 100 at 56cents per litre means over 1000klms, to average your figures, you spend around $125 for that distance. Now the T/D at $1.18 per ltr using 13L per 100, for the same distance is around is around $155. Also add to this that the average servicing fee for the petrol is $200, while the oiler will set you back $200, but shorter intervals between services. Averaging 30,000km a year, the petrol will save you around $180 a year, and other brands have far larger savings with their petrol models.

Your points about the extra Bert Newtons are totally correct, but I think most have covered this above. I use my vehicle mid range to most between daily driver and offroader and for the 4 or five trips a year I can live with the small lose in Torque power.

How would we all go if we still had to drive the old four banger petrol's like the Hilux with its 2.0 litre petrol (80kW at 5200rpm, 166Nm at 2800rpm).

At the time we thought these and other brands were powerful efficient vehicles compared to the old Land Rovers and Willys.

So how the times change, in 5 years 400kw and 800nm will be needed just to tow a 6 X 4 trailer....LOL

FollowupID: 664261

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:55

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:55
Hi Steve and Glenn
Thanks for the replies, drive what is best for our personal needs and have a Great Christmas.

FollowupID: 664265

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:30

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:30
Hi there Blaze, yes the Lpg made it cheaper to run but should have said I also had some problems with it, if having to brake hard for what ever reason it would stall, on hot days I couldnt fill the reserve tank more then 3/4 full or it built up pressure due to heat and would run out under the vehicle, common problem with the prado set up with LPG, 3 of that I know of that did/do it. Sorry also made a mistake above as my main tank was removed for the LPG so only had 59L of LPG and (if it wasnt a hot day) 69L reserve tank of petrol (main 90 L removed for LPG). Probably not a huge saving in $$ as mentioned above servicing costs etc although I use to change the oil in the petrol every 5k as well due to short distance to and from work
"So how the times change, in 5 years 400kw and 800nm will be needed just to tow a 6 X 4 trailer....LOL " how very true LOL. Use to think the old VH commodore went, wives yaris 1.5L has more kw's and get up and go LOL. I like the diesel rattle as well. Every one to their own and what there needs are, some need the extra grunt for towing on a regular basis like horse floats, some for boats, heavy machines for work etc. Would be a boring world if we all had and did the same thing, Have a great xmas and a safe one to all. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 664292

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:08

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:08
Well Stephen, what can I say....

I've never been a fisherman.

But, if I ever decide to take up the sport, I know who I'll be going to see to learn how to cast a good line!!!

Brilliant....you've brought all the wally's out of the cupboard.

FWIW, I'm with you...diesel is the only vehicle type to take on a remote trip (IMHO). I don't feel disposed to explaining myself more than that...I think the diesel brigade (above) have said it all as well as I could.

AnswerID: 395657

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:51

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 07:51
Hi Bill
It was never intended to be like this for me, trust me. Thanks for the reply.

All the Best for the Festive Season to you and your great family.

Best Regards

FollowupID: 664263

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:51

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:51
Gday Bill,

You just need the right bait mate, for the species "Fourby Flathead", which seems to be becoming more prolific I usually just try Yota or Neeessan as 1st choice bait, if not much action I try Tyres, if it gets really desperate you can try Car Fridge's, this is just about a garanteed bait. Seems we may have stumbled onto a great seasonal Bait, by spreeding some burley with diesel, ulp, lpg.

Of course if you want to be sure of a garanteed catch just bait the long line with 3ltr Patrol, Coopers Tyres, Garmin, some Tyre pressures and then Waeco.

With this rig I can garantee more bites than you will be able to handle... LOLOLOLOL ;-)

Have a great Xmas to You and Your's

FollowupID: 664397

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:27

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:27
Well this has well and truly been a lot more that I thought it would be. Thanks for all your great responses and taking the time to read the replies, it is such a big and time consuming job.

All the Best to all who watch and view the Best site in Australia. Hope to see you in the bush one day with what ever vehicle you drive. We have the best country and deserts in the world, so start planning your next Bush Adventure.

Regards to All.

AnswerID: 395670

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:15

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:15
Other benefit of diesel is lower fire risk. Petrol vehicles have a higher exhaust gas temperature hence a higher temperature around the exhaust pipe etc. They have a greater risk of causing fires when driven through long grass, or from picking up spinifex.

For example there has been problems over the last few years where DPI's in various states have tried to issue petrol 4x4's to there staff to cut costs. This has resulted in a number of fires being started in farmers fields where the DPI staff where working, resulting in farmers banning petrol vehicles from the fields.

Of course the final advantage is that diesel is also safer to carry than petrol.

AnswerID: 396920

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 11:03

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 11:03
I havent bothered owning a diesel 4wd for personal use since the day they started NEEDING a battery to operate .... The whole benefit of the engine for me was never needing to worry about solo travelling and battery / electrical issues.

A fairly static fuel usuage (mpg) whether empty or loaded .... and back in the day - availability of fuel from property owners were other good points.

Today, with the stupidity of making a dependable clunker oiler engine into a race engine for round town yuppies means ... in my mind ... that one may as well buy a petrol engine and stress out daily, wondering what electronic component is going to leave you stranded in the boonies next month ..... without the added, initial purchase cost of a diesel engine in a new vehicle or overpriced diesel fuel.

But its Horses for Courses - People ..... Look at your ACTUAL vehicle requirements and buy what suits your needs ...... Fuel economy / petrol or diesel is a two edged sword.
AnswerID: 397881