Member - Josh (TAS)
Had a couple of days off over Christmas so thought we would head down to
Bruny Island. Wanted to "free"
camp. Thought we would go to the south tip and stay in the national
park. Got down there after paying the $33 ferry fee and found the national
park fee was $24 a night (or $96 a year that has to be paid before getting there) We could have stayed in a caravan
park with facilities for that. Got set up and sat down to relax and someone on the other side of
camp thought we should listen to the cricket flat out.
When we got into bed that night a couple rock in late about 9 pm to set up, don't bother keeping the noise down just yell out to each other when you want something. The at 7 am they thought we needed some music so they opened the car doors and cranked up the stereo. About now they got told.
Was a nice day and now that we were up decided to take the girls fishing. Found a nice rock and had a bit fun catching not much at all. The girls had fun and the was the main thing. A short time later 3 guys turn up to fish as
well. They stand up wind from us and proceed to light their cigarettes. The smoke blows straight onto us. I asked they if they minded and I got the rolling eyes and a big huff then they moved up abit. Is it really that hard to be considerate.
We spent most of the day out and came home to find someone had set up right next to our tent (I mean right next to) That's ok it's a free country. About 9pm we go to bed and for the next 2 hours listen to these idiots talking and yelling out to their mates on the other side of
camp. At about 11pm they leave then come back about 1/2 hour later and continue to talk loudly.
Are people really that insensitive. We go away bush to enjoy but not at the expense of others. I haven't mentioned the guy abusing his wife or they people catching under sized fish.
Next time I will wait till they all go back to work then I will go away. In 3 years of travelling around oz we never saw this sort of disrespect, but then again we usually camped near other people travelling not just idiots away for their 2 weeks off and stuff everyone else.
Apart from that we had a great Christmas with heaps of presents from Santa. Hope everyone else had a fantastic Christmas.
Josh
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:25
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:25
Hi Josh
I hope that the rest of your time away is good. As for your trouble on
Bruny Island, as they say it is the silly season.
All the best for the New Year.
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:06
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:06
All those people sound like they could have been all my neighbours Josh LOL.
Seriously though, that's one of the reasons I stay home over Xmas/New Year.
The DILLIGAF set leave the neighbourhood and take all their customary social habits with them on holidays, and inflict them onto all and sundry.
Ya'll hafta come back to the big Island mate, they're over here as
well, but more elbow room as you
well know :-)
Hope you can find a quiet getaway spot to enjoy somewhere.
Happy New Year
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:59
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:59
Agree Fred, There is not that much room down here in Tasie lol. I will wait till they go back to work then enjoy it all to myself.
Josh
Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:16
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:16
Hi Josh,,,,,,,,,,,mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I wonder why we have sold the house and are going to do what we are going to do. Maybe you guys need to pack up againa nd come with us....lol
That is so annoying what happened to you guys, If it is late or early, we tip toe around and nearly use
sign language as not to talk and disturb other people, but others dont seem to give a toss.
Anyway guys take care, chat soon. Dont forget to keep checking our website from the end of January, we are in the van full time in Wagga now, house settled 3 weeks ago.
BRING IT ON....................................lol
Karen
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:01
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:01
Don't temp me Karen....... I will be watching with great envy.
Josh
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:33
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:33
The trouble with Bogans is that they breed.
When I travel I try to avoid
places where there are other humans.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 14:49
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 14:49
And their breeding program is funded by the rest of us!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:02
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:02
To true Geoff
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:57
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:57
G/Day Josh
It's a pity people can spoil your holiday through their ignorance, we had planned to go away for xmas, even booked a caravan
park and cancelled it in preference to spending xmas with our family, anyway here's where the fun starts, our next door neighbours who are wonderful considerate people invited their family from interstate to stay for a couple of weeks,
well these people would have to be the most noisiest uncouthed mob you would wish to listen to, they have little regard for their relatives who invited them to stay or anybody else in the vicinity, our neighbour came over to apologise on xmas day, and he didn't want to go back home, the only relief they had was when he lent them his car for the day so they could go to dreamworld, I said to the
Cook to look on the
bright side, it's only for a couple of weeks it's not permanent lol lol.
Reply By: jeep cherokee - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:23
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:23
Josh i rekon most of us can sympathise with you on this matter,some people are just arrogant and their world is the only one that exists, that is until the shoe is on the other foot, then see how they dont like what they dish out.
We have also found it is better to get away when the drop kicks are working and not having their annual Christmas break.Better luck next time :)
Follow Up By: skulldug - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:11
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:11
Josh,
We have some of those idiots on the wast coast of SA too. We arrived at our favourite
free camp site overlooking a superb surf fishing beach. Spent about ten minutes cleaning up the site before we could bear to stand on it. Rubbish included about a kilo of cooked prawns just left on the ground. Filthy jerks also left dozens of cigarette butts on the ground where they had camped.
Next morning some dipstick on a jet ski decided to break up the schools of salmon in the bay and was buzzing around 20 metres from where I was fishing.
Thanks for the post. I am sure I feel better now I have dumped!
Skull
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:53
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:53
Ah, yes, the gentle drone of a jet ski to complement the tranquility! Really tops off a
camping experience!
Were they the Japanese's revenge on the western world?
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:22
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:22
We usually take home more of other peoples rubbish than we do our own. Is it really that hard to take a bag.
Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:00
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:00
These days I just factor in a couple of days of this sort of inconvience, much the same way as I expect to get a flat tyre while on tour.
It is the downside of travel.....but like a flat tyre it isn't worth bothering about too much as it will never change there'll always be flat tyres... and ignorant people........
Enjoy
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:05
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:05
Tell you one thing, last time I got a flat I was having more fun lol.
Josh
Reply By: bruce - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:05
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:05
We have that rubbish just about every weekend here at our place....outside smoking ,talking ,yelling till 3am or more , then they go to bed...lunch time they get up and on goes the car doof doof machine...managed to get the local law men to take a bit of interest in the goings on and things have quietened down a bit....the doof doof machine,,,
well the owner will probably be deaf in about 4-5 yrs , trouble is he has his kids in the car as
well at times and they will most likely have similar trouble....
Reply By: Volvo driver - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:08
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:08
our oldest son and his girlfriend often
camp at Bruny and other beautiful spots around
Hobart and they've never mentioned any of this, maybe it's just the time of year?
and no, they weren't there over xmas LOL..too busy working,
but, strangely, the same thing happens here at Barmah/ Cobram etc every year along the
Murray River,
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:28
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:28
Volvo
I can't believe 'strange things' would happen at Barham.
We were there a month ago for 11 days and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there.
In fact it was so good we hope to go back there late 2010.
Actually I do believe you. Christmas can bring out the 'best'
in people.
Anyway as long as Exploroz members have a good New Year all will be OK.
Reply By: Mark Howlett - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:10
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:10
Josh we camped next to the same idiots I reckon a few years back
camping on the
Murray River. We had kids in
camp and these morons were up till the early hours with music, drinking, talking loudly etc...Next morning we all got up really early, despite being tired, and my old man started up his chainsaw and cleared out the lungs of the Stihl for the next half hour. We had no complaints at all and that night things were sooo much quieter!
Yes we could have spoken to these clowns but from their behaviour in the first place, they obviously didn't care so we didn't bother - just gave them their own medicine.
Revenge is sweet sometimes.
Mark.
Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:50
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:50
I keep a religious cd in the glove box for such occasions . Its amazing how fast these jerks pack up and move when you start pumpin the nuns music out .
Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 14:54
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 14:54
What a great idea. I had never thought of that. At least that way you cannot be accused of retaliating in an abusive way and ending up in a punch up which is what most of these idiots want. Nothing like playing a CD they cannot handle. I like it :) :) :)
Follow Up By: Atta Boy Luther - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:05
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:05
Its like an invisable force field . The louder it plays the further people are away LOL .
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:21
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:21
Sorry to hear about that Josh. Hope your visit with us at
Show Grounds, just before you set off, did not influence you on your choice of location for the trip. Good to hear you and the family had a good Christmas (apart from your
camping neighbours).
We spent 4 days at Bruny the week before. Camped at
The Neck (which was a great spot and very quiet). We took a trip down to the southern
camp site you stayed at. Only one vehicle camped there at the time and very quiet. The Bogans must come out on Boxing Day.
I think you are right when you say 'In 3 years of travelling around oz we never saw this sort of disrespect, but then again we usually camped near other people travelling not just idiots away for their 2 weeks off and stuff everyone else.'
Bruny and
places like it are so close to major cities that the Bogans can get there without any effort. It takes effort and planning to go to the more remote
places.
After a week in
Hobart, we decided we'd had enough and have moved on. Now at Mt Field National
Park. Also close to the city, but so far very good.
Being a Tasmanian now, you need to pick up an annual NP pass. We have only been here about 5 weeks (of 14 to 16 week visit) and have got good value from it already.
Final comment on Bruny. Anyone who visits should seriously consider the cruise with
Bruny Island Cruises (yellow boats). A great day out - brilliant scenery, wildlife etc. Not cheap at $100 pp, but we will remember the day and relive it through the great photos long after we've forgotten the price.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:16
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:16
Hi Norm, Was good to catch up with you. I think we just picked a bad week(should have known better). It was good to get away and reminded us of being on the road full time. I will get a yearly pass just had not got around to it and couldn't do it down there so had to pay the 24 a night. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Tassie.
Josh
Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:39
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:39
Usually it is the whizbangs that are the inconsiderate ones. Whizbang Whizbang
2am -
toilet, Whizbang Whizbang.
Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 17:44
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 17:44
I like it when you get that type person when camped in a caravan near me and they play up til all hours......
While they are being raucous and not hearing too
well, I toss a handfull of birdseed on the roof of their van.
Magpies, parrots and the like scratching on their roof at 5am is soooo worth getting up early to watch.
It may work too tossing it among sleeping bags, not that I am suggesting doing it!!!!! lol
Follow Up By: austastar - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:17
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:17
Brilliant!
Love it!
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:19
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:19
I just went and bought a bag of bird seed!!!! Thanks. One couple we met on our travels put peices of bread on there neighbours van for the possums during the night. Every heard possums fighting over food, not much sleep.
Josh
Reply By: Volvo driver - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 19:08
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 19:08
Boo Boo,
there may
well be a better class of drunkard at Barham, but at Barmah some of the xmas free campers leave a bit to be desired, LOL
but l think it happens anywhere, specially around the xmas- new years period,
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:23
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:23
Bugger me, it's getting to the stage where you can't even have a quiet smoke in the great outdoors without the anti-smoking nazis having a whinge and a dummy spit.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:46
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:46
As an ex smoker..... I can quite understand someone needing their nicotine fix.
As an ex smoker..... if someone wants to light up , go for it they're your lungs
Just dont inflict your filthy habits on someone who doesn't want your second hand smoke.
Merry Xmas
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:10
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:10
Troopy Bloke,
I actually don't give a rats if you smoke and want to kill yourself, but as I had been fishing on
the rock for a while by myself why should have to put up with the smoke from someone else. I also get asthma which cigarette smoke affects and I had my 6 and 8 yr old girls with me so excuse me for caring about their health. As I said if you want to smoke you have the right to but I also have the right to enjoy fresh air
Josh
Reply By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:44
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:44
Josh,
We ventured to Fraser in late November of this year and experienced what you have explained and then some. Spent the first few nights at
Central Station and will never stay there again. The backpackers were a disgrace, groups of 30, singing soccer songs into the wee hours. No rangers to speak of, apparently they drive through the campgrounds each morning but I didn't see them. Spoke to other families and they all had the same problem. Speak to the backpackers and their singing again by the time you've walked 10 metres away.
Moved to Dunduburra and spoke to the
Ranger there, Brook, and explained our problem. He was very approachable and understanding and made a real effort to keep the backpackers there quiet, ie/ we only had one bad night out of 6. He was fantastic and its a pity there aren't more like him.
QLD's DSE equivalent need to jump on the front foot and set up alternative campsites for the backpackers. It almost ruined our trip (from Victoria) and in future it will be up to
Waddy Point for us.
I guess it just comes down to an across the board increase in arrogance and ignorance.
Ben
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:49
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:49
This is why I don't go
camping on long weekends.
Easter is the worst. Every inconsiderate loudmouth & his barking mongrel goes
camping with his screaming kids & 5 cartons of bleep .
Stay away from backpackers &
camp kitchens as
well. You will get no sleep near either of them.
Reply By:- Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 11:38
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 11:38
Are you serious.........!!!!
Who really is the idiot ... someone who acts like a Bogan and shows disrespect?
OR the fool that would drag his kids along to known Bogan holiday spots anywhere in the great country of OZ.... not just tas..
Then take the whinge about the
park fees........ You have to be kidding....everything has a cost *$24 ....a lot of the year these parks are un used yet the road and limited services/ wildlife need to be maintain for those bogans to enjoy during the festive time..
Seriously. Tassie is the greatest place in OZ, like
all places there are issues such as the ones you have addressed..
Take my advice...during the holidays steer clear of:
•
Coles Bay,
•
Swansea
•
St Helens
•
Huonville
•
Bruny Island
• South Arm
•
Hobart CBD
•
Stanley.
Simply put go to gods own holiday destinations
Go to:
• Ouse valley
• Tyenna
• Mt Field
• Bronte
•
Ben lomond .....spectacular this time of year
•
Mathinna
• Upper ESK valley
• Goulds Country
• The Styx valley lies some two hours west of
hobart and is a must to see
• Mt Picton one of the best times i ever spent mand wish i was there to do it again
• Hartz national
park..... The rivers an valleys are beautiful in everyway and
great camp areas...
Christ, I could type all night of place you should have gone to !!!!!!
I have done just about everything one could do in tassie...Led -- survival courses, Cross country Riding, Cycling, Trekking, Snaring, Shooting, Fishing, Sking, Farming, Shearing,
Playing Rambo With Cow Patties ….. and the occasional bogan weekend away to nowhere with five or so mates.
Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 11:42
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 11:42
Just before someone asks
yes... been to bruny a great number of times... from turning blue in the depths of winter while body surfing at cloudy bay .. to collecting the biggest pacific osyters washed up on the ocean side of
the neck of bruny.
This place is fantastic IF you know when to go and most of all how to create fun..!!!
AS for the People in all the isolated locations
Most of all the locals in these araes are real down to earth folks....!! and i love everyone one them...
Josh wake up the only real fool was the one that does not do his research first!!! sorry mate this time it was YOU !! dont blame the bogans they do not seem to know better... but if you think you have some intelligence then you should have DONE better !!!!
from the one who really loves this ISLAND.....!!!!!!!! Bogans and all
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 18:39
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 18:39
I was going to make some comments but you don't even have the decency to put your name on here so what you said is pretty much worthless!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By:- Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:03
Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:03
My name is mark..........now you have it you can make your informative reply
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:00
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:00
Won't be long before there is another thread complaining about bird seed being put on top of caravans; and not too mention the religious music being played by some inconsiderate person.....
Tongue in cheek ;)
Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:15
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:15
Surely there is some irony in a couple of the threads running presently. This one, and the other on a ‘Croaking frog’ (Thread 74733).
Now if only Julie had gone to
Bruny Island perhaps she would have felt at
home to the sounds of suburbia…..and if Josh went to Julie’s sisters place in the ‘burbs he would have got the sound of the bush……
……..what an odd world we live in and dare I ask…will we ever be happy?
Just an observation and no offence intended to anyone!!!!!
Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:16
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:16
Whoops...I may have committed an offence here...but I meant no offense!