Do you really need a 4wd??.

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 20:51
ThreadID: 76188 Views:6030 Replies:17 FollowUps:20
I have just completed a 3000km work related trip with a mate in his 07 Hilux work mate 2wd tray back. Have driven this thing before over a short run and hated it!!!, But have now changed my attitude after driving it on a longer trip.

The 2,7l petrol motor has plenty of grunt, averaged about 11L/100ks with fuel , and that was pushing it along at 110km and loaded with a reasonable amount of gear. Another surprise was the way it handled on a wet road, most 2wd utes i've had were disartrous in the wet..lol, but this one was really good.

Everyone has a different use for there vehicle, but if you could get a bit more ground clearance, and fitted a limited slip diff, and with heavier wider tyres, these would be a very comfy knock about vehicle.and at a base price not much over $20,000 , it makes its bigger brother look expensive, when you consider all the little extra costs(rego ins, tyres servicing..etc..etc)

Sounds like a toyo add for a hilux..lol...But have driven a lot of light utes and this one was hard to beat IMHO.