Australias worst town

Submitted: Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 09:53
ThreadID: 76231 Views:13033 Replies:38 FollowUps:91
Howdy folks, which town would you regard as being one of Australias worst towns? The sort of place where you drive through and it just gives you the chills, or is just a desolate eyesore.

I have read alot of about Wilcannia being pretty rough, and also Ceduna and Queenstown in Tas doesnt have many admirers on other forums. Ceduna didnt seem too bad to me, and neither did Queenstown, apart from the landscape. People seemed friendly enough. Wilcannia i have never been to so cant comment.

My hates, or should i say places that i deem a hole, and im not trying to fuel a debate, but for my own reasons, are Katherine, Fitzroy Crossing and Port/South Hedland.

Katherine because i've always hated it, full of cowboys and crime.
Fitzroy Crossing, because its always so hot, so remote and has nothing there.
And Hedland because, well i dont think it needs explaining. Its just not a nice looking place.

Of all these 3 places, the best things about them is the road out of them.

There are other places also but those are the 3 i would hate to live in the most. Each to there own but, money would have to be good to live there thats for sure. Definitely wouldnt holiday there.

What are some other nasty little places.

Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:16

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:16
Boss
I hope no one gives a reply to your entry ,to have a cheap shot at someones home town is too low ,that is where they live, although some places may be a bit rough around the edges maybe you need to look a bit deeper before making narrow minded judgement.
Vic
AnswerID: 405334

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:20

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:20
You hope no body replys to his entry but you have gone and replied 3 times!!

Ill second The Boss on this thread, Katherine is the worst place on earth, following not far behind would have to be turkey creek
FollowupID: 675035

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:21

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:21
I cannot see any problem either,each to their own,some towns around Australia
do need to clean up their act if they want to benifit from tourism.A bit of pride goes a long way.
FollowupID: 675048

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:25

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:25
Nothing wrong with Katherine or Fitzroy Crossing when we were there.

Both have significant tourist sights in the vicinity.

Ceduna was quite a nice little town and saw no reason to doubt that.

Hedland was an even iron ore colour

Even the solar panels on the roofs were the same

The South Hedland camp was the second worst one we stayed in

The mirrors in the toilets had more spots than a 14 yr old with bad acne

Territory Manor at Mataranka was the worst. Our toilet flushed up and over instead of down

Hermansberg would get my vote. We didnt get out of the car or stop even.

The place had an evil feel and I have seen tidier city tips.

There were more broken down Falcons than in most wreckers.

Halls Creek down by the airport would be a close second Whole area is paved in VB cans. LOL

AnswerID: 405336

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:54

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:54
Some yrs ago Macca on Sunday did a show from Hermannsburg and extolled how nice the place was , when we got there in 08 we did the same as you , drove a circuit and left , rubbish everywhere ,was a toilet bowl sitting in the middle of the road ,seemed as if every house was a car wreckers ,, 2nd place would beYuendumu ,mounds of green cans [VB] and mountains of red cans [midstrength] just on the town limits , drove in as far as the police station and turned around , seemed as if a riot was in progress ,whoping and hollering and jumping up and down on vehicles , found out futher up the track / road[Tanami] that it was "royalty " day.
FollowupID: 675041

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:50

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:50
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 675104

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:23

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:23
Sorry but in my opinion if you just drive in and drive out you can hardly make an informed judgement. The nature and character of a place is often more than just skin deep a bit like judging a person who is unshaven and in old cloths how do you really know what he is like unless you take the time to talk to him and discuss with him his views on life etc... Hermannsberg does have a lot to offer, the locals produce great art work and the old mission building is a must see for starters. In many of our towns, Australia wide, if we land in the least attractive area first we shouldn't form the opinion that that necessarily reflects what else underlies the town take some time to look arround and gain an understanding otf the place.
FollowupID: 675194

Follow Up By: Peter Horne [Krakka] - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:20

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:20
Hermannsburg can't be too bad, I believe we have an EO family living there.
FollowupID: 675238

Reply By: Gramps - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:33

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:33
Melbourne - absolutely nothing to recommend it whatsoever.

AnswerID: 405342

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:00

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:00
Ditto Sydney ;-))

FollowupID: 675043

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:56

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:56
I'll put a vote on both Melbourne and Sydney as well.

FollowupID: 675156

Follow Up By: ajd - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:50

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:50
Brisbane is a nice place, pity about the inhabitants.

Your lack of planning does not constitute my emergency.

FollowupID: 675219

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:37

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:37
hmmm ....

I much preferred passing through fitzroy crossing compared to any of my trips through syd, melb and a bunch of other, what are now just, european imitation, look alike towns on the coast.

Considering where it is, and its reason for being there .... it would be a disappointment to find it any different.

Work is where you find it .... Home is what you make of it .... Beauty is in the eye of the beholder .... so I guess that makes newcastle and gladstone great looking industrial towns ....

As you said ... "each to their own"
AnswerID: 405343

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:41

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:41
For us it was Brisbane , remember a holiday to forget in Aspley caravan park over Xmas - hot and sticky , 95% humidity in onsite van, with no way to get relief, no aircon, no nearby pool, no nearby tracks like Melbourne , there was a beach some distance away but the overheads to use it were to much.

AnswerID: 405346

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:23

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:23
Hi Robin,
I had a look at where you are from before posting. Any where up here at Summer is crap at times with out Air Cond your experience must have been horrible. I'm currently in Yeppoon and i can tell you as a Banana Bender I cant live with out the Air. We had 90-100% humidity most of Feb. Don't let your experience stop you from coming again just make sure you have air cond a pool & sea breeze.
Sharon
FollowupID: 675417

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:44

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:44
Yeppoon is my Favourite part of QLD sofar bring on winter.
FollowupID: 675420

Reply By: getmethehelloutahere - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:10

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:10
Warrnambool is the worst town ever. Whales in Winter, rugged coastlines, uncrowded beaches, beautiful parks and gardens, good restaurants etc, great schools, great community. It is such a bad place even the locals go camping at the local camp ground. I encourage everyone to stay away- it is AWFUL.
Tim
AnswerID: 405350

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:45

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:45
Tim

You forgot to mention the fresh crayfish. They are just so awful they defy description (nothing like the little expensive ones you can buy elsewhere).

FollowupID: 675057

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:10

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:10
PSSST! some of us have been there. Not only that we can spot a liar a mile off!

And That Marine Museum, bl@@dy awful, spent 4 hours there its that crook!
Didn't try the crayfish. Will have to go back and try it seeing as how you two can't be trusted to tell the truth.
Regards, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 675150

Follow Up By: petengail - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 17:47

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 17:47
i could not agree more - i was born there - i joined the navy to get out of warrnambool nearly 40 years ago -i havent been near the place for 30 - have no intention of going back either....
FollowupID: 679210

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 18:34

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 18:34
nice gravedigging......

FollowupID: 679223

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 17:34

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 17:34
Hi Petengail,
I was there in 06 and was impressed with the town, probably from a tourists point of view as that was what I was then, a rubber-necker so to speak. I'll go back, if only to try the crays. But I was impressed also with the Maritime Museum.
I am sure I'll see plenty I missed the first time around. I was impressed with Victoria generally and am looking forward to spending a lot more time travelling there in retirement which is just around the corner.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 679548

Follow Up By: petengail - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:11

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:11
when you were at the maritime museum did you see an old codger at a blacksmiths forge? if you did he was my uncle brian.. he ran the forge for years and retired about a year or so back... all my family were butchers and blacksmiths/farriers in the warrnambool area... cheers
FollowupID: 679559

Follow Up By: petengail - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:19

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:19
oh yeah those crays. my family owned a butcher's shop in the main street. they used to give the sheeps heads to the fishermen and every friday half a spud bag full of crays would turn up. they would be cooked in the wood fired boiler out the back of the shop. i was so sick of them that i used to grab the biggest one, crack the tail out and use it for bait off the hopkins river bridge over the weekend. i couldn't look at a cray for about 15 years. however i admit that now i would kill for one. cheers pete...
FollowupID: 679567

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:17

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:17
The blacksmiths shop wasn't operating at the time I was there. I was reared in Sydney and moved out when I was 40. I now live near Port Macquarie and I think Sydney is the worst place on earth but from a tourists point of view I guess it would be fantastic. Same in your case with Warnambool no doubt. When you have lived a long time in any one place you tend to dwell on the negatives, that's natural. In 08 we did the Great Ocean Rd from Woolongong to Warnambool.
In 09 we came the other way from Victor Harbor to Mt Gambier. Thoroughly enjoyed both trips but will have to go back and do the bit between Mt Gambier and Warnambool.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 679646

Reply By: gonebush SA - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:11

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:11
i think so far for us it would have to be Wilcannia, it's the only place i have been where the toilet key at the servo is attatched to a batton.
we were planning to spend a night there but stopped off at a roadside layby before arriving for a cuppa and there was a coach there filled with elderly sight seers and one of them asked us where we were heading and when we said Wilcannia was our next stop she said oh! this bus use to stop there for our break but not any more, it's not safe enough. hubby and i shaired a look and he took off to find the driver to get some more info. he said while you are at one side of your vechile the wheels would be going off the other. so we chose to go through only stopping to get fuel (the dearest by far out of everywhere) and go to the loo. it was an experience and when looking at the place with bars and wood up at the windows (even the police station) i'm very glad we kept going, and we also had to think of our 17 year old daughter travelling with us.
and yes i think Melbourne would come a close second.
chris.
AnswerID: 405353

Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:14

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:14
sorry about all the replies, my computer said it didn't go through so i kept trying and now i don't know how to get rid of them. chris.
FollowupID: 675045

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:24

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:24
Ya'll never know what ya missed....shoulda stopped to smell the roses LOL LOL.
Nothing wrong with Wilcannia. Mate of mine was the local cop there some years ago and loved the place.

FollowupID: 675049

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:00

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:00
I'm with you Fred G, the caravan park (places - I put a few photos up) was neat and tidy with good shower, etc, facilities. We were there last July and the manager was a really nice bloke.

I don't leave my vehicle unlocked anywhere, toilet facilities vary from place to place and I have seen some shocking examples in some of the larger towns. The myths and truths are somewhat enhanced as they travel down the line and I although I would not leave my wife alone there for long periods of time, we have bought stuff from the store on Pension Day without any issues.

If you go looking for trouble you will find it, good communication skills and a bit of tact go a fair way towards ensuring a trouble free visit.

As for the topic of Worst Town we have certainly been through some rough places but people live there and there are some lovely people in remote places, we haven't got a worst town.

Paul & Fiona
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 675061

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:31

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:31
I second Wilcannia, or WILDcannia as the locals call it.

Was quite frightening to drive thru, we drove around a bit but I didnt want to stop

FollowupID: 675180

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:12

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:12
Towns are like beer........No such thing as a bad one........just that for various reasons, some are better than others :-)

AnswerID: 405354

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:16

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:16
Agreed! and I dont even drink! LOL.

Sometimes you have to look a tad deeper - some places might not look the best but its the community spirit that counts.
FollowupID: 675046

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:27

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:27
That's exactly right....and you can't get the feel of a community by driving through it with tunnel vision or by listening to heresay.
FollowupID: 675050

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:29
Ian + Sue ,yes sometimes you do need to look a tad deeper , but when the community spirit is fired buy nothing else than cans of VB , despair and boredom what is the solution ? Making communities "dry" only shifts the problem from one area to another , have a look at the influx to the Isa and surrounds.
FollowupID: 675051

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:37

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:37
Alloy c/t I know exactly what you mean - being a Pilbara-ite myself. I know its hard but I have to keep telling myself not to tar everyone with the same brush. A few can make a lot of mess while the majority try hard to live peacefully, ok perhaps its the other way around but I do like to try to see the best in people or the world wouldnt be worth living in.

FollowupID: 675053

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:29
Fred,

Who was your mate in the Cops at Wilcannia?

When I lived in Broken Hill my next door neighbor was Seargent there a few years back.

Could we have a common friend?

FollowupID: 675225

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:31

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:31
MM sent Duncs.

Cheers Fred.
FollowupID: 675240

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:17

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:17
SYDNEY! :-)
AnswerID: 405357

Follow Up By: Rossco 09 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:01

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:01
Yep, I second that.
FollowupID: 675062

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:46

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:46
3rd.... Cant wait to get out again....

FollowupID: 675100

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:34

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:34
The Boss,
why do you want to know what the worst town in Australia is?

Many people say Hall's Creek, but I lived there for 6 months and many of the locals were good people. To stay and work for their community when there are so many problems takes strength. You could walk around the streets during the day and be fine. The country surrounding Hall's is magnificent.

I lived in South Hedland for 12 months and it did have a nastier interracial feel to it, but you could still walk around during the day without hassle.

Personally I can't stand Melbourne. The weather is awful it changes every few hours, too many people, those wierd box turns. It takes bloody hours to get around and you can't even find a car park. I hate the place but there are obviously many people who love it.
AnswerID: 405364

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:39

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:39
Barnesy, thing I learnt about Melbourne was that if you don't like the weather.......just wait 15 minutes :-)))))))
FollowupID: 675054

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:53

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:53
Barnesy

'too many people, those wierd box turns. It takes bloody hours to get around and you can't even find a car park.'

You've obviously never been to Sydney. At least in Melbourne you can get around.

FollowupID: 675058

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:10

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:10
I suppose when I was in Sydney I didn't have a car, I caught the train in from the mountains.
I didn't mind Sydney, at least there was the bridge and harbour to look at. What's Melbourne got? A polluted, dirty, smelly old river.
That's just me, many people obviously love Melbourne (including some of my own relatives) for their own reasons.
FollowupID: 675065

Follow Up By: The Boss - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:13

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:13
Just interested thats all. I have lived in the Kimberley my whole life, so the grog problem doesnt phase me really. I hardly even notice it. I would gather every town in Australia would be safe 99% of the time during the day.

Speaking of Halls Creek, the amount of sex attacks and indecent dealings with children over recent years is enough to make me believe that not all members of the community should be allowed to breathe. The sad thing is, that the trouble all comes from out of town, not the locals. Halls Creek also holds the title of, '' Most dogs to maul one man''. Once knew a man who we called ''30 dogs'', because he had been mauled by that many in Halls Creek all at the same time. If he wasnt as drunk as he was, he wouldnt have survived.

True story
FollowupID: 675066

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:18

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:18
'A polluted, dirty, smelly old river.'

And the harbours not?
FollowupID: 675069

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:28

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:28
The Boss
I worked in the hospital in Hall's and ran the ambulance. I would get called out to some horrible crimes in the ambulance. I am not proud to say I looked after Hall's Creeks first murder victim from picking him up in the ambulance to sending him out with the RFDS.

I wouldn't mind going back to see what effect (if any) the grog restrictions have had.

When there was big debate about bringing in grog restrictions the owner of almost everything in town (who faught vehemently against them) was in the hospital receiving treatment. It was amusing to have hospital staff wearing t-shirts saying "get rid of the grog" caring for him! He ate his words while he was in hospital!
FollowupID: 675073

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:54

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:54
The only effect it has done is stuff a lot of buisiness in halls creek and sent all the drunken idiots to the surrounding towns, so now we have to put up with it and no doubt before long we also will have restrictions. Halls Creek is a bit of a ghost town at the moment apparently.
FollowupID: 675106

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:39

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:39
Bob,
Back to Melbourne and the dirty smelly polluted river. Obviously you know little about Melbourne a vibrant city with a river that simply flows upside down.
FollowupID: 675200

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:19

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:19
Tukka where do you live?
I've heard that only a few dozen of the hardest drinkers left Hall's, and yes these went to other towns, mainly Kununurra and Broome.
I've also heard that violent & non-violent crime is down about 50%, school attendance is up and so is performance because the children are getting sleep at night now.
Business at the local supermarket is booming. I assume the other non-licensed businesses are also booming.
There are long term problems that simply changing alcohol laws won't fix.
FollowupID: 675209

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:48

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:48
Reseach shows that at some stage of their life (usually at least once each winter), 8.6 million Autralians have categorically stated "I hate Collingwood" :-)

AnswerID: 405367

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:10

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:10
Up the Pies!
FollowupID: 675064

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:29
Yeah, right on Jim

And the other 12.4 million are either too young/old to care or were on holidays when the survey was taken...........lol

'CARN THE EAGLES

PS I hate the Dockers almost as much

(;-))

ob
FollowupID: 675075

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:43

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:43
Yes but thats just the footy team Jim.
FollowupID: 675203

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:13

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:13
"PS I hate the Dockers almost as much "

Why????? Because the Eagles can't beat them hehehe (well in the last couple of years anyway)

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 675221

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:11

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:11
My list would Start at.
Sydney
Melbourne
All those over populated towns along the East Coast, the places we visited in the 60's now all Hi Rise townies.
Canberra, a well thought out place, had family that worked there and have a granddaughter born there, people are bit like the town , a bit artificial.
Brisbane, used to be not so bad then every else moved there.
Adelaide, last time I stopped there seemed to meet a lot of Kiwis, at least they knew what Gidday means.
Never been to Perth and it is not on my place to visit list.
Apart from that towns are good and the country folks that live out there are even better.
You got to get out of town to meet the real people.
There are not any bad towns
It is just a state of mind.
Enjoy
Russ
AnswerID: 405375

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:20

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:20
Trouble with Canberra it gets infested with politicians.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 675126

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:18

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:18
Yeah, Politicians. Elected by electorates all over Australia. They come here from far and wide a ruin a perfectly good town.
FollowupID: 675130

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:12

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:12
I've been to most towns in Australia (mainland) and I'd have to say that I will never ever go back to Port Hedland.

Some of the aboriginal communities have been mentioned- Hermannsberg, Yuendumu. I agree that your first sight of most such communities can be a bit of a shock - rubbish and wrecked cars everywhere, packs of mangy dogs, lots of scruffy black people hanging around looking like they're up to no good. Kids, playing in the dirt and wrecked cars, with snot pouring from their noses, eyes and ears. Smashed up houses with no windows, smashed fibro panels, pools of raw sewage. Sniffers and drunks staggering around. Women screaming at each other. Its hard to believe that their is a third world nation within Australia, one of the wealthiest countries on the planet. H'berg and Yuendumu are accessible without permits. Most such communities are located behind a permit system that ensures you will never see them.

First impressions aside, many of these communities have an undeniable charm that only a longer stay will reveal.

AnswerID: 405376

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:47

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:47
A large part of the problem is the fact that 'permits' are required to visit these places , not everyone has the intention of being a sly grog runner or of being a 'missionary',, the reason that we have these "3rd world communities" is because we as a nation still treat our indiginous population as children who must be locked away for their own good .
FollowupID: 675083

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:49

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:49
Bob,
If you think Hermansburg is a bit of a shock, have a look at Finke or Doomadgee
They both appear as per your description.
But I was just passing through & have not stayed a night, as you said a longer stay might change opinions. But the first impression often has us moving on.

PMK
FollowupID: 675084

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:14

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:14
"rubbish and wrecked cars everywhere, packs of mangy dogs, lots of scruffy black people hanging around looking like they're up to no good. Kids, playing in the dirt and wrecked cars, with snot pouring from their noses, eyes and ears. Smashed up houses with no windows, smashed fibro panels, pools of raw sewage. Sniffers and drunks staggering around. Women screaming at each other."
Bob, you wouldn't like Redfern then LOL LOL.

Fred.
FollowupID: 675093

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:24

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:24
PMK

Been there. Been to most aboriginal communities in the NT and top of SA.

Alloy

totally agree. The permit system keeps these communities out of the public eye which would be outraged if it could see it. Its easier to get a visa to visit Iraq than a permit to visit the APY lands.

Fred

There's less heroin in the bush. But point taken.

FollowupID: 675094

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:54

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:54
" third world communities " Alloy c/t ????

Third world communities are vastly different from our "culture within a culture"

Third world communities dont have vast amounts of public monies showered on them constantly.

Whilst aid groups may use donation money to provide blankets, water and food basics whenever possible ..... Thats vastly different compared to rebuilding the same house four times a year because the tenants are excused from liability ... as occurs here.

Hopefully at some point in time ... Australias multiple culture & social issues will be resolved ... but not while handouts are seen the quick fix.
FollowupID: 675105

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:16

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:16
Oztroopy ,if u have a look it was not I who first called these communities 3rd world ., [ its actually a bit of an insult to the real 3rd world].. After 200+ yrs we still have as a nation a "them and us" mentality and while we still have a system that in effect causes segregation [permits, handouts,ect treating a section of the AUSTRALIAN population differently to the rest] nothing will change.
FollowupID: 675113

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:51

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:51
Could it be that it also has something to do with attitudes towards these people and their communities?
FollowupID: 675205

Follow Up By: Nigel Migraine - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 22:05

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 22:05
John T
If it walks like a duck, looks like a duck and quacks like a duck.... Stop trying to make out that any comment which is not positive about any particular group is racist.
FollowupID: 675374

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:28

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:28
I didn't think much of Coober Pedy, the locals gave us a hard time while filling up at the servo
AnswerID: 405381

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:31

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:31
i had a message saying email address banned , so I tried twice after to post this note and now i have 3 posts
FollowupID: 675078

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:47

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:47
Noted the same message Skippy - but I only posted once and it got thru.

FollowupID: 675082

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:34

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:34
Me three, I thought the stasi had finally got on to me too.
FollowupID: 675096

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:56

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:56
Me four, i thiought what have i done wrong now?
FollowupID: 675107

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:07

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:07
hi
had the same thing happen and then it came to me!!!!!
if you;ve got 3 posts it must be a fence

so i tried to run some wire but could'nt find any holes in the posts ?????
lol
FollowupID: 675111

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:48

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 12:48
Having lived in Adelaide for the past 18 years, I'd say Adelaide is my most hated town.

Everytime I've been away on holidays for any length of time, driving back to Adelaide puts me on a real downer. I soon find myself planning my next getaway within weeks of my return.

Does anyone else get the same feeling about their own home town?
AnswerID: 405389

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:32

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:32
Fab

Don't blame the town where you live, blame the lifestyle you have adopted.

I've never lived in Adelaide, but have visited maybe about 20 times.

Its a beautiful place. I love the sandstone houses. The marina at Glenelg is a great place for a drink and a feed between plane flights.

My only criticism is that some conceited person called 'Polites' seems to own half of it (why plaster your name over everything just because you own it?).

No matter where you live you can't beat the euphoria of heading out of town knowing you are free for a week or two. The heavy feeling on return is the knowledge you'll be in harness for another six months before you get another break.

FollowupID: 675095

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:27

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:27
Bob...all said tongue in cheek of course. I love Adelaide. As far as big cities go, Adelaide suits me fine.

Having been born and bred in Whyalla, I certainly appreciate all Adelaide has to offer. The beaches, the hills, the wine regions, the River Murray etc and still with reasonable traffic flow, albeit the crazy drivers.

I guess my somber mood comes from the association I have of my home town with an imminent return to work until my next holiday. :(

FollowupID: 675131

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:30

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 22:30
Fab,
as far as major cities go Adelaide is second to Perth. It's more affordable to live in than Perth but that doesn't quite make it to first place.
Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane don't have a scratch on Adelaide.
I start planning my next trip within days of returning to my home town, not weeks!
FollowupID: 675212

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:52

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:52
Hi Fab, when traveling from Mildura toward Adelaide we were overtaken by another car and caravan and as we noticed their call sign on the back of the van we called them up as they were well in front of us and still on the wrong side of the road, so I said, "Come on Garry bring it in mate there's plenty of room" and the wife replied "Thanks for that". Then I said " Where are we off to" and she said "Home" and I said "hey that's a four letter word" and she replied "Yeah nearly as bad as the other one" She sounded really down so it must be something about Adelaide. LOL !!

FollowupID: 679649

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:20

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:20
good;ay to the boss
what the rest of these threaders didnt realise is
that!!

the boss
just wanted to find out who all the wingers are
before he employs any of you

and in a nut shell he now knows who the most positive people are and as for the negatives
you will be all deported in due course lol

if there was'nt all the various differences in our outback and coastal locallities and inhabitants of these places
how boring would it be so to all you bl--dy wingers------- stop!

australia would;nt be what it is today

a combination of div worst and interesting places lol
cheers and enjoy it while we still own it ?????????????????????????????? lol
AnswerID: 405396

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:01

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:01
hi
if you see a town or locallity where the cans are piled high and scattered

well it means they are enjoying the taxmans dollar more than we are

but if your out there and actually able to see all this as you tour around
well stop your whingen cause

you must be doing ok as well
yeh go on----- at least i worked for mine!!!!!!!

now dont start 'cause im not going to read your comments ha! ha! ha ! god it's tough living in aus lol
FollowupID: 675108

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:20

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 14:20
Wingers (sic) play outside centres ... but whingers just compalin all day long.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 675114

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:14

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:14
hi jack
your spelling is no better than mine re-( compalin all day long)
lol
or is it afumblin of the keys ?????? cheers -no offence
FollowupID: 675125

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:18

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:18
Well spotted Mazcan ... can't blame that one on a Sarah Palin fetish either : )
Just blame my keyboard, which can't spell.

No offence taken.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 675172

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:38

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:38
Boss Man
Seems to e that you have a lot of prejudices, and pre-concieved ideas about just about everywhere..

That's OK, you are entitled to your oppinion..

I try not to judge any more, as I never travelled much till the last 8 -10 years, and I listened to the calls from people like you..

WRONG ! WRONG ! WRONG !... I made a mistake, and have been enlightened..RESPECT is the key.

We meet some brilliant locals on our travels, and after all, all they want to be, is treated like people..

Does not mean that you do not have to be street wise, but that has to be said everywhere..Not just where you think that is..

We meet and treat everyone equal.

Bucky & Lyn

AnswerID: 405410

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:09

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:09
Bucky,

IMHO, Courtesy is something everone is entitled to

Respect is something everyone earns

ob

FollowupID: 675128

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:57

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:57
You are correct, my friend
FollowupID: 675144

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:45

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:45

The Cook and I live on the Gold Coast southern end 10ks from the NSW border,
Suburb is Elanora, and I reckon Surfers Paradise would have to be one of the Front Runners for being one of the worse towns if you could call the place a town, it is one of the most over-rated glitter joints on this earth, the White Shoe Brigade is long gone but they left their mark on the joint, now I have lived on the Gold Coast since 1960 so I think I can qualify as a long term resident, we have seen the place develop over the years and I remember Surfers as a half reasonable joint in the beginning and gradually the place has gone down hill, the Gold Coast is a great place to live and rear a family, we have every thing we need fantastic beaches good scenery ect, love the fishing on the reefs, reasonable clubs re RSL'S ect, housing is relatively cheap, not as dear as the southern states, and Brisvegas is just up the road, and thats where I work most of the time,but as I stated Surfers Paradise is one big rip off joint.

AnswerID: 405418

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:54

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:54
Went to the Gold Coast once. Got off the plane, and was convinced it had landed in Tokyo by mistake :-)))
FollowupID: 675143

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:17

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:17
Daza, having a home on the Gold Coast (like you), gives me a right to comment - though our home is currently rented out while we check out the rest of the country.
Interesting place, the Gold Coast. Parts would be on many short lists for a 'worst' award. But parts could also be on a 'best' list. I won't enter a debate on which is which. But the diversity at least makes it an interesting place

Norm C
FollowupID: 675151

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:39

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:39
Why not just look for the good, rather than the bad (worst)………you might be surprised at what you see.

Cheers…….
AnswerID: 405420

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:56

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:56
Took me about 20 Seconds of thought as my mind flashed around Australia to all locallities I have passed through, in that 20 seconds I thought of Sydney Road, Brunswick, VIC, No way would I camp there or even live there, I know you'll all want to know why, I'll just it's too cold, on the other hand I have and would again camp at Wilcannia, Bourke, Katherine .

AnswerID: 405424

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:42

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:42
Hey I lived there Doug. Rosser Street right behind Lamanna Fresh and only a stones throw from Franco Cozzo. Very bohemian. No room for a shed, a 4x4 and a quad though LOL.

FollowupID: 675182

Follow Up By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:02

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:02
My kids lived off Sydney Road Brunswick...on Victoria Street..also just a stones throw from Franco Cozzo..(the furniture in that window still has not changed since the first visit we made there). They loved and still do, love Sydney Road and Brunswick..me too.

Lamanna Fresh .. does its back door open out to a car park and is Spotlight just a few shops away? If so my kids flat was very close to where you lived Mick.

Nathan worked at Cafe Bellino just across the road from their flat and then at another place called Tre...just a bit further away.

Sydney Road is fabulous..great atmosphere. I was there for six weeks while my Dad was in hospital and I grew to love that area. Not once did I feel afraid to walk around even at night when I'd come home after visiting hours.

Strange isn't it .. how different places are seen in so many different ways.

As to the topic "worst town in Australia" I think the same thing applies. We all see things differently and my home town may be your worst place.

There isn't anywhere that I could say was "worst" or anywhere that I would want to.

Viv
FollowupID: 675186

Reply By: rocco2010 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:02

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:02
Gidday

Years ago there was a ABC radio show thing to nominate the most boring town in Australia and the reason why . I forget what won but Collie in WA came second. The entrant said that was because if you were given a month to live you should go to Collie because then it would seem like two months .

Apologies to everybody in Collie

rocco

AnswerID: 405429

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:04

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:04
I would say Peterborough, Warburton, Mt Victoria, Eulo and Cannonvale without a doubt. It was an experience that i'll never forget travelling through these locations over the years.

oh.......you wanted a negative outlook on our great country. My mistake, please disregard my list. ;)

AnswerID: 405433

Reply By: Top Ender - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:21

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:21
I drove through Wiluna 9 days ago, I have found the end of the earth.

It seemed to me that the local sport is to line up at the pub until opening, the shops were so barricaded it looked like they were getting ready for a world war.

I was going to get a feed there, but I couldn't find a place that looked inviting so I waited until Meekatharra now that's another story, Meekatharra is the place that is not quite the end of the earth, but if you close your eyes you can only imagine it's not far away, it's 184 km to be precise.
AnswerID: 405437

Follow Up By: The Boss - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:05

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:05
HaHaHa beauty, at least someone has got a sense of humour.

I wasnt meaning to condemn the places i listed, simply stating my opinion and the reason i didnt like the place.
Funny how people can take it the wrong way but.
FollowupID: 675167

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:18

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:18
Last time I went to Wiluna I was shown more gold nuggets that I have ever seen before out the back of a bar. Had a BBQ met a few locals. Was shown by a different person his gold and how he melts his gold down and met and talked to the Shire President..

I have fond memories of Wiluna.

FollowupID: 675222

Reply By: Teraa - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:09

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:09
by the look on the news of late suburbs of most large cities seem to be misery centres. No personal experience.
AnswerID: 405464

Reply By: Harry - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:18

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:18
Hey Boss, you ain't lived in the Kimberley all your life, --------- yet.
AnswerID: 405470

Follow Up By: The Boss - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 01:17

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 01:17
What do ya mean?

Maybe i should say i have spent the entire time i have been alive in the Kimberley, apart from the annual holiday. And if the heat dont drive me away, i reckon i will spend the rest of my time here.
FollowupID: 675234

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:02

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:02
Many of these towns are bad however they all Look Fantastic when you have traveled several hundred km out of the bush with a broken spring, suspension or worse. All of a sudden that resemble Heaven :-)
AnswerID: 405487

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:21

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:21
Best sight of Adelaide is in the rear vision mirror, the smaller it gets the better it looks.
Charlie
AnswerID: 405492

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:04

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:04
Charlie, I recon you get the best view of Sydney at Hornsby ---- In your rear vision mirror. Hornsby is just on the northern outskirts of Sydney.

I have been saying that for 20 years now. never gets old!
Cheers Bruce.

FollowupID: 679650

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:25

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:25
A few people have cited climate as to why they particularly dislike a place.

All major Australian cities fall within the 'temperate zone'. Compared with the cities of Europe, North America, New Zealand and the like, our cities are blessed with pleasant weather.

If you don't like winter maxima in the low teens in winter, get jumper. We can't all live on the Riviera.
AnswerID: 405493

Reply By: briann532 - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:29
This has been a very well visited and posted thread.

Being a migrant myself and experiencing a few places on this planet of ours, I have read all the comments with an acute interest.

Some good, some bad, the usual amount of humour and good will thrown in as well.
But a bit of food for thought.................

How would we enjoy the good if it were not for viewing the bad?
Also everyones opinion (as they usually are) is different and needs to be respected and appreciated. ( I do believe this thread has maintained that respect) But is is reflective of the facts that peoples views are different.
A fisherman may find beauty in a town that a landlubber doesn't and vice versa.
All demographics may take a different slant on different places.

All this soapbox excrement aside.............
We live in the most beautiful place in the world.
Of course a place as large and diverse as this will have some spots not preferential to others.

For anyone who wants a different view on our great land........
Take a holiday to Zimbabwe. Meet Robert Mugabe, then come back and complain about some of our towns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. Hey Boss, thanks for the thread it has been very thought provoking and interesting to follow.
AnswerID: 405495

Follow Up By: The Boss - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 01:23

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 01:23
Cheers mate, i didnt really mean it in a bad way. Im glad it hasnt taken a turn for the worst and turned into an aggresive debate.

Surely people have some dislikes about things, or why would there be preferences over fridges, tyres, etc. If you havent spent the time with each brand/make then how can you know whats best for you or wether you like it or not. Just a thought.
FollowupID: 675235

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:52

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:52
hi briann 532

well said you nailed it
cheers and enjoy this great land called aus
FollowupID: 675303

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:52

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:52
hi briann 532

well said you nailed it
cheers and enjoy this great land called aus
FollowupID: 675304

Reply By: S&N - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:12

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:12
I haven't been around Australia very much, but when I went to Katherine with the army back in 96 or 97, it was a hole. we were out in the bush with the army field hospital, and it was decided that we should go en-mass to Katherine hospital to give blood, as their blood bank was critically low/non-existent. we drove into town and the median strip in the center of the road, in the center of town, had many indigenous people,passing around wine casks, roaring drunk, in the middle of the day. when we went to the hospital, the only patients seemed to be pregnant indigenous women (and LOTS of them). that was the first town that ive been to that refrigerates metho, under the premise that it evaporates so quickly, and the supermarkets sell heaps of that powdered stuff "tang" which is used so the metho can be drank. we went back to camp and later that week we had a real trauma come into our field hospital, a local indigenous man, shot nearly point blank by his wife, Katherine hospital couldnt look after it as they didn't have a trauma team on staff, so he got sent out to us in the bush to operate on. oh...he lived!

this place seemed like a combination of problems, alcohol, indigenous Australians, poor infrastructure, crime, and it is supposed to be a tourist center!

It just seems a little sad really!
AnswerID: 405514

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:29
Adelaide. Used to be a fun sort of place but now it is just plane dullsville. Hasnt kept up with the times and is very anti-progress. Average weather patterns - Nice place to visit but not to live.

Newcastle. What's with the CBD? Every second shopfront is battened down and the place looks run down and deserted.

Tennant Creek. Being from Alice originally I just never liked it at all. When they built the dam at least there was one thing to do.

But as they say, one man's garbage is another man's treasure.
AnswerID: 405517

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 08:26

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 08:26
Newcastle...they need to rip up the rail line that separates the 'town' from the harbour foreshore. Irt would make the world of difference and the 'town' would flourish.....

FollowupID: 675245

Reply By: Tadooch - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:38

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 23:38
Aw come on...this is our Australia. Every little place has it's own appeal or special history. Be it small, strange, hot cold desolate or other wise.

Cattle & sheep stations stock routes waterholes wells bores & springs: old train stops, dead mining towns, isolated pubs, indigenous communities & land holdings.

Then my teenagers would draw the line at any town without a Westfield.
AnswerID: 405520

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 02:02

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 02:02
margret river

not so much because theres anything wrong with it but it takes the full honours for being most overblown tourist destination in Australia

Absalutly nothing there to make you want to visit it unless you like gloria jeans and coles

- and yet they come and rave about it
AnswerID: 405530

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:13

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 06:13
Agree Davoe,

Not being a touristy type I generally steer clear of these kinds of places, however, took my mum and dad there a couple of years ago.

We stayed for a week and after doing all the tourist stuff, I walked away with a maxed out credit card and the feeling I'd seen nothing special that most other towns cant offer.

In fact I'd go as far to suggest organised crime forget about extortion, drugs and prostitution.......get into the tourist industry.....lol.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 675237

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:09

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:09
Oodnadatta ..... I might have a rethink if the Pink Roadhouse goes.
AnswerID: 405545

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 18:11

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 18:11
Ya just gotta love Oodnadatta , the first thing you see is the humongous sign . TYRES over the pink , the handout of tyre care/pressures ,[aso available on the net] , cynical ? you bet !
FollowupID: 679554

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:16

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:16
A number of aboriginal communities, and towns with large numbers of our indigenous people residing in them feature in this thread. And based on first appearances I can understand why that might be the case…

But is it all too easy to simply condemn these communities and towns as the windows of an expensive four-wheel drive are wound-up and the foot goes down on the accelerator to enable a ‘safe’ and quick exit?

Mind you, I’m not making any apologies for those that live in these places as the will to change needs to come, in part, from within, albeit this is a complex issue that has no easy answers.

My point is simply that as we look at these communities and towns in our rear-view mirror perhaps we could reflect on the fact that those, who simply through birth find themselves in this situation, are not necessarily able to do the same, but are often trapped within a vicious cycle of alcohol and physical abuse.

I’m not intending to have a ‘go’ at anyone here, but if we all did nothing more than offer some understanding, rather than condemnation, as is often the case, it would be a positive step in the right direction…

Enjoy the day…..
AnswerID: 405547

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:53

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:53
I can see your point.

However it is the seeming reluctance to try to better themselves which is dissapointing.

There is no excuse for just chucking the rubbish out the door or or leaving their cans lying everywhere.

We spoke to a council worker in Katherine whos job it was to go around every day cleaning up the cans and rubbish left behind by the drinkers.

He said the attitude is "its white mans rubbish" so why should they pick it up.

In Fitzroy crossing several were sitting on the grass eating takeaways.

They just got up and walked away from thre containers etc when there was a rubbish bin about 10m away.

They get bonding money for their dogs ( which you and I cant) and by the look of the dogs not much of it gets spent on dog food.

Because the government throws endless amounts of money to keep what they destroy replaced, it will never change till they get some sense of pride and appreciate what they have been given and look after it.

It is like being a spoilt kid and knowing if they smash everything "Daddy"will buy them a new one.

Just annoys me to think a lot of not necessarily well off people are helping pay for all this unnecessary waste.

As for Hermansberg. Has the poster that said it cant be too bad ever been there.

The poster who described some communities got it dead right.

FollowupID: 675252

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:48

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:48
Landy and Graham

You both basically said the same thing.

" as the will to change needs to come, in part, from within, albeit this is a complex issue that has no easy answers. "

&

" However it is the seeming reluctance to try to better themselves which is dissapointing. "

And it is probably the most important consideration to take into account - IMHO.

Personally ... I dont think wholesale change will come for a long time .... and certainly not while the handout system restricts their .... and I use this term deliberately ... and with care ... "evolution"

Bettering themselves ... means a complete change of lifestyle to the one they were living pre-colonisation ... and in lots of cases ... today ....

It also means ... To OUR standards ... and are ALL our standards REALLY that good ????

As one ol fella in the next town over remarked to me one day .... "we have only been white for 200yrs" .... was very astute I thought ... and helps explain why "middens" are no longer piles of seashells ... but car bodies and other modern day waste.

BTW ... before I get decried as as a rascist by the delicates in the country .... and burnt at the stake ..... again
... Think about the term "evolution" .and compare .....

A prehistoric, hunter gather, family tribal, society ... dragged kicking and screaming into the 18th century .... and ....

Galileo in 1610 ... being dragged, kicking and screaming from his telescope ... and plonked in front of YOUR computer and told to send an e-mail .... poor sod wouldnt even know how to turn the power point on.

Theres a big difference between a society being given "technology" and a society growing up with it over the course of time. e.g.

Being given a house ... compared to stepping out from under a not particularly useful, rock over hang ... and learning how to build a structure and improving the building style over generations ... and appreciating its benefits.

.... and Grahams comment about a "spoilt kid" covers it pretty well.

Its a shame we couldnt have a thread on the issue that wouldnt deteriorate into racial slander and cockeyed dogooder retaliation .... as there might be some an interesting thoughts on the subect.
FollowupID: 675270

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:28

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:28
OzTroopy

I’d be privileged to catch up with you one of these days and we can try and solve all the problems and ills of the world. Whilst we may take a different route to get to our destination, we both seem to be heading in the same general direction most of the time. Although, you do get off-track (slightly) every so often.... ;)

Graham

Yes, there are many examples of happenings that are not acceptable to most in this day and age, and you have cited a couple, but unfortunately these are just by-products of a much greater systemic problem that is a long way from being resolved.

Cheers, The Landy….
FollowupID: 675284

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:05

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:05
G'Day Landy ... Thanks for the invite ... altho I can hear the brewery company CEOs rubbing their hands together over the long term profits from such a meeting ...

Maybe one day out on the track eh ??? ...

I am deeply offended however ... that you should dare suggest I ever be "slightly" off-track.

I much prefer to think of it as "exploring" ...... Even if I do "take the long way round" ...
FollowupID: 675327

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:44

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 07:44
OzTroopy

plenty of Aboriginals would be offended at your assertion they have any problems with the technology or they might have any problems keeping a clean and tidy house and cared for kids because that was given to them rather than growing up with it
Aboriginals learn modern ways including technology and computer use etc just fine if their upbringing gives them 1/2 a chance

I partly blame the role models pushed upon them
- always a footy player/ What about the other 99% who arnt good enough or even inclined to play footy much less be a West Coast Eagle

much better role models would be the ordinary folk men and women who attended school right up till yr 12 and went on to uni or trade and raised kids more intrested in learning and sports practice than comitting crimes
FollowupID: 675419

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 12:49

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 12:49
get outmore ....

Be aware, I am NOT referring to individuals ... I am referring to the development status, in time ... of aust. aboriginals as a whole .... compared with the other VARIED levels of development of societies, from other parts of the world.

I think those you mention would actually understand what Im saying ... as they have undertaken the lifestyle change.

and I USE a computer ... but I dont understand it ... where as I use and UNDERSTAND, "the wheel" because its been part of MY culture/society for centuries ....

.... and Italy in 1610 wasnt solely populated by a race of Galileo's either ... There would have been quite a few ... predominantly occupied in those days ... with getting purple feet rather than mapping the stars.

No society is "better" than another ... just different ... and understanding/speaking about the differences ... is NOT rascism ... unless the comments are twisted by a "rascist" person.

Hope that puts it all in perspective a bit more.

FollowupID: 675463

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 18:14

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 18:14
Mine?.... Dubbo for no particular reason than the place does nothing for me... neither big enough to be interesting or small enough to be 'quaint'.

Laughably a few years back was driving through Dubbo on a trip with other vehicles and said as much on the UHF..... a voice from the ether (a local) kindly advised me to stuff an unmentionable organ in another orifice and leave with expletive haste... seemed he didn't like my comment :-)

Funnily Dunedoo down the road is a great little town...
AnswerID: 405615

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 18:14

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 18:14
Mine?.... Dubbo for no particular reason than the place does nothing for me... neither big enough to be interesting or small enough to be 'quaint'.

Laughably a few years back was driving through Dubbo on a trip with other vehicles and said as much on the UHF..... a voice from the ether (a local) kindly advised me to stuff an unmentionable organ in another orifice and leave with expletive haste... seemed he didn't like my comment :-)

Funnily Dunedoo down the road is a great little town...
AnswerID: 405616

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:20

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:20
Every day is a beautiful day.
FollowupID: 675347

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 11:17

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 11:17
Even though we have lots of towns to see yet, i cant believe MARREE hasnt rated a mention;
Come to our "town" we will rip you off, and you want service too! huh fat chance mate!!

Pesty
AnswerID: 409732