Road side rubbish
Submitted: Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 14:30
Member - Duane A (WA)
Iwas disgusted to see the amount of rubbish that has been disgarded by bone idle lazy individuals on the way from Fortescue to
Karratha . It just made me sick to the guts to think that people can litter a pristine desert area as such . Fines for littering should be very hefty and jail time for repeat offenders . This is Australia not India do the Aussie thing chuck it the bin.
Reply By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:15
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:15
Duane, I totally agree. Last time I went camping on the Walsh River I had to clean up the area of rubbish, before I could set up. Also the previous campers
toilet, A 20lt drum half buried in the sand had to be completely buried. There were also babies nappies left around the area. I always take onion bags with me for rubbish and bring it all
home or drop them off at town dumps on the way through.
When I
camp I always get the permission of the Station owner first and they know I leave a site better than when I started.
The number of times I come away with more than what I take in is a regular occurence.
Damien
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:43
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:43
Hi Duane,
On ANZAC weekend we arrived at our camping spot on the Thursday lunch time, to get their nice and early only to find the
camp fire stones were scattered all over the place. If this wasn't a PITA, nestled up against a stump was a whole cartoon of stubbies loose.
There were ring pulls, twist tops, tin cans and plastic bags with disposable nappies, all sitting waiting for the next flood to wash them away.
Took the kids, Fysh & myself a good hour to clean up.
Half a chaff bag we collected of other peoples rubbish, so yeah Damien, we know how ya feel mate.
I agree with you Duane, Fines for littering should be very hefty, but who is going to issue them?
This subject comes up more regular these days, there's not a lot we can do,
Hope it didn't take the shine off you trip to much.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:49
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:49
Jon
then where did the other 3 bags come from ?
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 16:08
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 16:08
As you very
well know Mark, I never want to run out of beer
Hmm, but I do take my empties
home,
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 15:11
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 15:11
Do you carry your own chalf sacks, Hard to find them these days. The old oyster sacks weren't to bad, now they put oysters in tubs at
the Bluff.
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 15:25
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 15:25
Do you carry your own chalf sacks, Hard to find them these days. The old oyster sacks weren't to bad, now they put oysters in tubs at
the Bluff.
Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:52
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 15:52
That area will be now suffering the same issues as kalgoorlie did in its boom times
big influx of brain dead idiots who dont even consider the state worthwhile let alone some country town
they can be recognized at the pubs watching rugby and despite living in a beutifull area they will just tell you theres nothing else to do in this crap hole than work and drink
Follow Up By: kingswoodwagon - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 23:23
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 23:23
my thoughts exactly.
Reply By: feathery - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 16:38
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 16:38
Duane
It am also disgusted with the rubbish left by people I fish in to top spot on the mid north coast of N S W last year the
Hat Head fishing club held a comp and some of the competitors came our way the mess they left had to be see to believed we had rotten bait plastic bags not to mention the smoke buts which most smokers think they have the right to flick them where they like.
I work on the theory if you can carry it in you can carry it out.
Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 17:54
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 17:54
It's really a bitch that the other states cannot bring themselves to follow SA and introduce the deposit on drink/food containers. SA has always been the leader in this area ( and many others ) but the other so called more progressive states will not introduce it because they are simply not able to admit that SA is far more advanced in a lot of areas than them. God for bid that SA is better! In any area.
"""DUCK"""
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 23:30
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 23:30
There is no deposit on disposable nappies, these are becoming a big problem & should be banned!
Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 18:04
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 18:04
That was only 100km. I guess it would be the same from
Perth to the top end.
Both inland and coastal route also out to Kal and up to
laverton.
Reply By: jschacher1 - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 18:15
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 18:15
It is very, very sad, disappointing, disheartening and frustrating that some people can have such an attitude towards this most beautiful country.
I once passed a working ute in
Sydney when I noticed that the passenger threw a large bag of rubbish onto the side of the road. It was just beyond belief.
What is the answer to that????
JS
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:50
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:50
The answer?? Phone EPA on a 13 number. Give details of rego number and of the offence.
It does work. I've used it twice.
No..no need to attend court- just a stat dec...
Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:14
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:14
What's more concerning is the amount of alcoholic drink containers that have been thrown out of vehicles windows littering the sides of our highways. Makes you wonder about the condition of other drivers on the road, let alone their cars.
Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:36
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:36
Duane, what's India and a bin got to do with it?
So I take it if there is a bin around then you will leave your rubbish for someone else to dispose of and everybody else is entitled to do the same thus creating the problem. So whether there is a bin there or not shouldn't you be taking out you own rubbish?
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:58
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:58
Rod if there were
bins in India people might use them thus not have the problem of waste laying around the place . And no if the bin was full id take it with me basic common sense buddy . You might find it more constructive to look for the point iam trying raise rather than the way i worded it.We live in a beutifull country and we are lucky enough to be able to
camp in most
places around it why not protect it.
Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 22:56
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 22:56
I whole heartedly agree don't mess the place up. But you're still saying that if there was space in the bin you would put your rubbish in it instead of taking it with you, thus someone else has to run after you.
Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:58
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:58
The concept of having a bin is that there is a service to empty it. That's why they remove
bins, cause there's no one to empty them when they overflow.
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:39
Tuesday, May 04, 2010 at 19:39
I reckon you can tell which way it is to the nearest Macdonalds, Hungry Jacks & KFC by their wrappers on the side of the road.
I do a fair bit of cycling & I reckon I will eventually be able to tell how far it is as
well, just by what types of wrappers that are about & their density.
The bulk of the rubbish is by far drink containers. This is followed around cities by Macdonalds, Hungry Jacks & KFC wrappers.
Soft drink containers are the main drink containers around
Cairns. Of those Macdonalds would be the most common individual one.
Broken bottles account for 95% of my punctures. The wire out of tyres accounts for the other 5%
I used to a
puncture about every 100 k but now with the most
puncture resistant kevlar belted road tyres I only get one every 6 or 700 k. I have not worn out a set of tyres yet because they are usually cut to pieces
well before the tread wears away. My current tyres are about $100 each.
Bottles on the side of the road fluctuate with seasons. Christmas is the worst, followed closely by Amatuers (horses) Race week.
I say bring on a deposit on drink containers. 50c per container would clean it up. Bicycle Qld is lobbying for a deposit to be introduced in Qld.
See you blokes do have something in common with cyclists.
SA is the only place where I have seen people walking the roadside collecting drink containers.
Reply By: WillyWish - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 01:12
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 01:12
I agree it's a bloody disgrace.
Karratha should win a most UNTIDY town award, 2009, 2010, 2011. Without doubt this problem has been exacerbated by the mining boom and influx of fly in fly out works that dont give a bleep about the environment.
We all need to do our bit (like participate in Clean Up Australia Day), but it needs to be driven by local government and sponsored by industry, particularly in WA where the big companies directly through their operations and indirectly through the people they employee are large contributors to the problem.
The other thing that really gets me is the roadside rubbish collection contracts, surely they should be engaged/required to clean up around the rest stops, not just emply the bin. Rest stops around the state from north to south look like utter rubbish tips!
I'm angry!!! Grrr!
Follow Up By: WillyWish - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 01:14
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 01:14
Sorry, 'people they employ'
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:20
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 10:20
You have hit the nail on the head mate Totally agree 100 %
Reply By: Honky - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 09:57
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 09:57
Sometimes rubbish does come in handy.
I never
camp where there are a lot of VB cans
Honky
Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 11:36
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 11:36
Ha Ha Good one Honky :-)
Reply By: jezza68 - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 11:40
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 11:40
Some of you may not be aware, but a crisis meeting was held in
Karratha.
The reason being the attitude of the FIFO Workers ( Fly in, Fly out) who show total disregard for the towns they work in.
There were banners and t-shirts being worn by the true residents with "FIFO" and then "Fit in or F*** Off" The mining companies and construction contractors are being called upon to
police their workers attitudes and make respecting their work environment a condition of employment.
This attitude by the FIFO Workers is becoming a real cause of dissent with the mining towns and violence has been reported.
I used to live in the
Pilbara, on a recent visit I was disgusted by the amount of rubbish around the town. Especially where FIFO Dorms backed onto vacant land, there were smashed bottles and cans piled up. All had been thrown over the fence. Also the trail of broken glass and cans all lead to Mining camps.
15 years ago the mining companies had "Town Gangs" these used to collect rubbish and maintain public areas. Sadly these have disappeared in the bottom lines of company profits.
I think it is time the miners were charged a bond by the local shires to cover the costs of cleaning up after their FIFO workers.
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 13:38
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 13:38
Jezza you are exactly right pass it onto the big corporations and inturn they will be more accountable for there workers . And like was mentioned before the amount of empty stubbies on the sides of the road i mentioned you just have to wonder how p#ssed some of these people are that are driving????.
Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 16:33
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 16:33
It showes how they live in their own homes, and what they are like, some people have said that my tojo is full of rubbish and i should tip it out,...ive said what's
mine is
mine and im taking it
home to dump it in the recycle bin. cheers for now......williamh...bunbury...WA.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 17:25
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 17:25
We all need to do what Damien does in the first response - don't just look at it, take some of it
home as
well, even though its not yours.