Broome and kimberley here we come

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 22:59
ThreadID: 78979 Views:4056 Replies:4 FollowUps:42
Well finally got everything packed and van hooked up and hopefully we will get away in the morning for 2months over the west just in time before the chill sets in here.
We meet up with Bob aka roofscooter aka Robert l qld, on the 11 June in Broome and we will all tag along through the Kimberley together.
For all those people going to work tomorrow I will be thinking of you.....( NOT )
I will try and get a blog going if I can fit it into my busy social life..TIC.
See you all when I get back.
Regards Rossco

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 00:25

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 00:25
Hi Mate
Have a great trip.....remember to stop and spell the roses....whatever
AnswerID: 419189

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:39

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:39
Thanks Brian

Will try but it takes a little while to wind down.
I am sure Leigh will make me throw the anchor out whenshe is sick of the over night stops.

Rossco
FollowupID: 689592

Reply By: Member - Si (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 00:45

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 00:45
May bump into you up there at some point... 24 days and counting.

Drive safe and make sure you get to the Roey (Roebuck bay hotel) in Broome on a Thursday night (usually around 10pm) which is well worth a look :-)
AnswerID: 419190

Follow Up By: Steve and Viv - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 21:18

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 21:18
So you like young ladies with wet T Shirts aye ... That's the beauty in living here :-)
FollowupID: 689454

Follow Up By: Member - Si (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 22:04
Would have to be crazy if I didn't.
FollowupID: 689461

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:26

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:26
Hi Si

Will keep an eye out for you

Rossco
FollowupID: 689586

Reply By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 06:40

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 06:40
Rossco,
Hey neighbour, needless to say, I’m jealous… will keep an eye on your ‘Spot’ and look forward to hearing from you.
Have a great trip.
Myles.
AnswerID: 419193

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 21:03
Hey Myles,

Did he try and tell you the story about him getting an early start? hahhaha I saw him limping into Withcott at lunchtime today, either the 3lt Bandag Bullet is struggling with the weight of the camper or the last home bed was too hard to crawl out of this morning LOL!!! either way at that rate they should make Broome by 2011......if Leigh can get Rossco going before lunchtime every day.

Safe trip Rossco and Leigh, don't forget to come home. Qld treasury needs your taxes to prop up our economy. Send heaps of photo's especially if you happen accross a F250 boat anchor that has run aground in the Kimberley somewhere (Hi Bob if you are reading this)

Trevor.
FollowupID: 689450

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 06:51

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 06:51
G’day Trevor,
I see he made to Mitchell…. Must have had to set up in the dark! hehehe
Myles.
FollowupID: 689486

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 08:11

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 08:11
Probably thinks it better to set up in the dark so people don't see him fumbling around with all the poles like it is his first camping trip hehehehe.

So much for him sitting on 90kph to conserve fuel LOL!!! Withcott at 12noon... Mitchell before dark....man he put the boot in after lunch. The novelty of doing the right thing wore off by the range hhahahhahahaha.

Wait until he gets away from civilisation and see the miles rip up then. I tagged along behind him once or twice and fuel economy is not entered into as a discussion....it's just too embarrassing at the rate of knots we travelled at.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 689493

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 14:37

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 14:37
Myles,

Did you see what time the lazy bugger rolled out of the cot this morning? Left the campsite in Mitchell at 10.50am ????? so much for early starts.
hehehehe

Trevor.
FollowupID: 689553

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:20

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:20
When you pair have finished hanging crap on me I will explain....LOL

Had the camper in for first service when we got back from the St George gathering last year, anyway checking wheel bearings last night at Michell and they were a bit to loose for my liking so re-done them this morning that is why we left so late.

Myles dont believe anything Trevor says I dont speed TIC. ?

Regards Rossco
FollowupID: 689585

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:26

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:26
Ross,
I was just going to defend you and say that perhaps a 10am start is early for you. hehe
Myles.
FollowupID: 689587

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:34

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:34
All good today sitting in longreach now, Boys in blue were having a field day near Tambo all traffic cars and trucks got the full driveway service both lanes.
Will get through to Mt Isa tomorrow may stay and do a mine tour the next day.
See you all

Rossco
FollowupID: 689589

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:38

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:38
Rossco,
Yep, saw you were in Longreach… The ‘spot’ is working well. It’s good to follow your progress….
Still extremely jealous.
Myles.
FollowupID: 689590

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:43

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:43
Hahaha

Rang my mother today and she told me what I have been doing before I even spoke to her.
The trouble is I cant have a sleep in without you all knowing and hanging crap on me.

Now all you get back to work Leigh needs to be feed and I need a shower - oops you probably can tell Leigh is now typing so must go.

rossco
FollowupID: 689594

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 05, 2010 at 14:17

Saturday, Jun 05, 2010 at 14:17
I have a desperate plea for someone close to the border gate to now put a padlock on it. Rossco and Leigh are out so let's try and keep it that way!!!

Have fun trying to be a territorian Rossco, with the way you sip the amber liquid I reckon you'll fit right in.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 689839

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 05, 2010 at 17:33

Saturday, Jun 05, 2010 at 17:33
Trevor,
I thought he said he was going to spend the day in Isa…. He shouldn’t be in the territory if that’s the case. I know from ‘spot’ that he is on the Stuart Hwy N.T. I don’t know Leigh but it doesn’t seem like she’s getting much of a break from the passenger’s seat.
Did I say I’m jealous?
Myles.
FollowupID: 689857

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 20:18

Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 20:18
The though of swimming in the thermal spings was a bit more tempting than an underground mine trip. We have both been in underground mine before.

Trevor there will be no keeping me out of gods country on my return and yes I am partial to the amber liquid.

The real holiday starts from Boome as no more time schedules......LOL
Thanks guys I am thinking of you hahahaha yeh right.......LOL

Cheers Rossco

FollowupID: 690017

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 06:42

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 06:42
G’day Rossco,
I see you went past the Buchanan Hwy and Buntine Hwy turnoffs. I'm guessing it's quicker to pick up the National Hwy.?
Myles.
FollowupID: 690047

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 07:37

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 07:37
Myles,

There is also more fuel suppliers on highway, to cater for the low level flyer Ross is piloting hehehehehehehe

FollowupID: 690051

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 07:55

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 07:55
Kev,
That was my other thought….. the turn off is a bit hard to see at 140+km per hour.
Myles.
FollowupID: 690053

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 08:38

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 08:38
Hahhahaha, you are both forgetting he only does 140 when the speed limit is 100 but up there the limit is 130 so his actual speed is your guess LOL!!! He has been complaining of the camper tyres getting flat spots and my guess it is when the camper tyres actually hit the road after being in the air so long that causes this ;-)))

Trevor.
FollowupID: 690057

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 20:33

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 20:33
Hi guys sitting in the big 4 at kunnanurra (spelling) Yep takes all the fun out of it when the speed limit is 130. Have been very well behaved since hitting the NT. We hope to make it down to the Bungle Bungles tomorrow for a few days. Went down to the Ivanhoe crossing for a photo op and it is closed Bugger...We will spend a bit more time around here on the way back.
The buntine and buchanan hwys were an option but was unsure of their condition so opted for the hwy. Everything right across to here from queenland is so green with not much road kill on the road also.
Fuel is getting a bit rich in some places when you are not that far from major city's

Ok beer o;clock see you all later

Rossco
FollowupID: 690135

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 20:49

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 20:49
Rossco,
You’re making great time…. To save me working it out – how many k’s per day are you averaging?
Myles.
FollowupID: 690137

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:06

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:06
Hi Myles

We are doing about 550 to 650km but that has just been over to here and should be about 300 to 400 from here on to Broome and even less after that

Cheers rossco
FollowupID: 690141

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:07

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:07
Hi Myles,

I just got off the phone to him now and he says they are averaging 600 per day and getting about 600 from a tank a juice but his is a long range tank not standard. Not bad considering the overweight underpowered combination he has hehehehe. Actually said only 3 cars have passed him all the way from Mitchell, he has done all the overtaking....so much for him "taking it easy" (his words not mine).

Things are about to slow down for them from now on, they are just about where they want to be and the pressure valves are releasing by the minute.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 690142

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:09

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:09
Beat me by . . that much Rossco, I did not realise you were getting back on line to reply.

Cheers again mate,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 690143

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:18

Monday, Jun 07, 2010 at 21:18
So…. Only travelling four hours per day hey?….. still, with your late starts Trevor told me about, that’s not too bad.
Take it easy… I expect you’re in holiday mode from here on in.
Myles.
FollowupID: 690145

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:18

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:18
He didn't get very far today

I think someone has asserted her authority once again LOL

FollowupID: 690253

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:26
"I think someone has asserted her authority once again LOL"

Do you mean the ModSquad or Leigh? ROFL!!

They probably got temporarily disorientated in amongst the big rocks hehehehe. He looks like he drove around in circles up there for a while....... ahhh maybe big donoughts cause he's got the camper on the back????

I still wish it were me up there too though.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 690258

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:30

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:30
I heard navigation wasn't one of his strong points ;)

FollowupID: 690259

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:32

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 20:32
He navigates to the bar pretty well.
FollowupID: 690260

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 23:45

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2010 at 23:45
So there is no misunderstanding the discussion within this thread which has been closely associated with 'chit chat' and was modded as such. We have had much discussion within the modsquad which has resulted in the abandonment of these 'mods' as the real intent of this thread was to utilise the benefits of EOTrackMe.

This thread is essentially about what Membership and having EO TrackMe is about and EO TrackMe threads should be able to become a place for people to chat/discuss the travels of a Member without fear of being moderated.

Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 690287

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:44

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:44
G’day ModSquad,
That's great! I knew we were bordering on chit chat but appreciate you reconsidering. The EOTrackMe facility is great especially when you’re watching an ExplorOz member cover a large area of Australia in a relatively short time. There is a little chit chat but largely the ‘follow ups’ are about the progress being made.
As Rossco is on an eight week trip, this thread may stay active for some time and as EOTrackMe is a relatively new facility I’m sure there’s plenty that are watching his progress.
Thanks again,
Myles.
FollowupID: 690296

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:53

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:53
So when are you signing up to EOTrackMe Myles??

I don't think the King Toad is game hehehehehehe

FollowupID: 690297

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:58

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 06:58
Hehehehe…. Kev, everyone would soon tire of seeing me going back and forward to work each day.... maybe when I've semi retired like Rossco.
Myles.
FollowupID: 690298

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 12:51

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 12:51
ARE YOU CALLING ME YELLOW, Kev? LOL!!

So I do not upset anyone I will let the following pictures paint the story of why I have been so jealous of this fortunate pair of "not quite grey nomads" adventure.

Ross wanted to know if this is what they mean by 2 headed territorian?

I know it's only 3 pics but that's all the slack bugger has sent me. Too busy driving to take photo's at this stage I suppose???

I reckon about now Ross would be humming that song "6 days on the road and there ain't now way I'm coming home tonight"

Trevor.
FollowupID: 690323

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 12:58
I think the other photos he has taken would have been blurred hehehehe

That spot in Mitchell is a great camping spot near the river :) Must have been a BIG fridge he needed to keep powered if he had the Generator out on the 1st night, but then again less than 4 hours of charging via the alternator per day would possibly cause that ;)

FollowupID: 690327

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 13:04

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2010 at 13:04
Ross has tried to tell me the gennie is to run Leigh's hair dryer but you and me both know it would be to run his leccy blanky so his tootsies won't get a chill. Apparently the older you get the more you feel the chill in your bones Ross reckons, something for us young fellas to look forward to he says.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 690329

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2010 at 00:17

Thursday, Jun 10, 2010 at 00:17
I would like to thank the mod squad for allowing a bit more of free flowing conversations in relation to the trip I am doing and with the use of EO TRACK ME.
The units are great for anyone doing any sort of longish trip. It is great for people at home to keep track of you they can see if you are in a major town or not and will know why they can not reach you on the mobile.

KEV
The pic was in the morning I only blow dry my hair at night.
Was trying out the hot plate in the van.
No fancy navagation here Kev just following the setting sun.....LOL

Myles
Whats this semi retired.....I wish...next best thing is work for a fuel company or better still the counsel.....Hey Kev....TIC.

Still working on the blog hope to get something up when we are in Broome in a few days.

Thanks guys dont work to hard.......ROFLMAO

Rossco

FollowupID: 690417

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 08:39

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 08:39
You got to love a bloke who just send pictures in an email, no words no nothing, just pictures. I suppose when they are pictures like these, who needs words hey?

and this

Your a mongrel Rossco.

The picture of your rigs on cable beach could be called "East Meets West" with Bob coming in from the west while you were coming across from the east. Nice photo.

Hope you said a big G'Day to Bob from me and Judy. Hope you have many interesting K's ahead together. I have bought that extra hardrive to store all the photo's of the "F.F Titanic" bogged to the axles at each creek crossing up there.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 690778

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 21:50

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 21:50
Trevor

A little birdy told me Bob has some pics f a F TRUCK down to the axles on a beach down south..... He kept that very quiet.
Off to Cape Leveque in the morning for a few days.
Still doing it tough but hanging in here

P.s I like the 30 deg days

Rossco
FollowupID: 690862

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 07:30

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2010 at 07:30
Have a great and safe trip. We should be in Broome on the 11th as well, may see you there. Keep an eye out for white DMAX with NSW plates.
AnswerID: 419197

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 08:15

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 08:15
"Keep an eye out for white DMAX with NSW plates."

Why, are you still ticked at getting pumbled in the state of origin and trying to lay a hit on Rossco cause he is a Qld'r?

Safe travels to you too TB.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 689496

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:45

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 19:45
Oh Beauty someone to hang crap on during state of origin. Hope to see you there.

Rossco

FollowupID: 689595