Peugeot on CSR

Just had a call from a mate of mine - apparently there is some guy driving a 30 year ol Peugeot North to South on CSR - he left Halls Creek a week ago and tonight he is at Well 23 = does any one know about this

Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Jun 23, 2010 at 23:07

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2010 at 23:07
No but there is no reason why it could not be done.

Peugeots have driven many roads and remote areas through Africa and Asia over the years. As long as a vehicle is driven carefully and to the conditions good luck to him.

We met about 20 Citroen 2CVs coming across the Outback Highway some years ago they were having a ball and said they had not broken a single bottle of wine yet :-)
AnswerID: 421914

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2010 at 23:09

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2010 at 23:09
Must try that in the wife's Citroen C4 VTS ;-)
FollowupID: 692284

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 00:12

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 00:12
Gee well over half way in a week - he can't be doing much sightseeing

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 421922

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:22

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:22
His Mum and Dad, (lovely people) following in the 1982 Toyota Landcruiser woke us up EVERY morning when it was dark and the stars were still out (despite this, still lovely people :-). We broke camp with headlamps and were on the road as the sun popped up. We camped usually half an hour before sunset.

We averaged 140kms a day, stopped several times a day for smoko and sightseeing, but the early rising gave us more hours than most to explore.
FollowupID: 693266

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 04:08

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 04:08
Trekkie
Good on them !

Should not be any real big issues.

AnswerID: 421926

Follow Up By: petengail - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 07:06

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 07:06
we had a pug 504 and it was the best non 4x4 vehicle ever produced, maybe with the exception of our renault 12
FollowupID: 692305

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:32

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:32
Mechanically :

- Kunawarrity corrugations claimed both shock absorbers which made driving the sand dunes a little more technical.

- The clutch slipped a lot in the beginning and he had to wash out the sand regularly for the first few days.

- Andy Sutcliffe, the driver, had packed a lot of grease when he put a new clutch in for the trip but this attracted the sand. Eventually the excess grease washed away with diesel and soapy water and we could drive without this complication.

- Starter motor got sand in and had to be stripped and cleaned out - not long, Andy is a mechanic so this was no issue and quickly done.

- Lever throat thingy for the accelerator under the bonnet also jammed because of sand on occasion. Very funny the first time we reversed down for a second run at a sand dune and we found this out. I thought he was going a bit fast backwards :-)

All in all, no serious issues and great fun
FollowupID: 693268

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 08:55

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 08:55
There was a caravan on the CSR a couple of weeks back (although that idea predictably came to grief)....... I guess the limit is largely set by the driver, not the vehicle. What next ?
AnswerID: 421941

Reply By: Mark B - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 10:19

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 10:19

I came across this by chance about a week ago - there was a girl from Sth. Africa (I think) going by the tag of "Flygirl" that was in Billiluna looking to hitch a ride down the CSR.

She ended up with a group in a Peugeot 505 and an old Cruiser. Have a look hereBilliluna. She also has her own website called "Flygirl here Flygirl

Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 421944

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 00:17

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 00:17
Yes My mate mentioned her = she hitched a ride in the Peugeot
FollowupID: 692410

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:42

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:42
I am in Perth now and on my way back to South Africa. Have lots of photos of the Peugeot doing its thing and will write article and let the forum know when available to view. Might take a few weeks with all the continent hopping.

We met great people on the track - all very supportive of what Andy was doing - except one grumpy tour leader near the north end.

It was lovely to watch the expressions of fondness and support for the old car as people told us they too once owned a Peugeot. and recounted stories of their own. You would think they were talking of an old flame :-)
FollowupID: 693269

Reply By: Signman - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 11:22

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 11:22
A Suzuki ' Mighty Boy' did a Simpson Desert crossing in '01.
Can't see why a Pug couldn't do the CSR.
" It ain't wot ya got- it's wot ya do with it".

AnswerID: 421954

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 12:48

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 12:48
"spose the good thing is, if the Suzzi broke down or got stuck, you could carry it out on your back.
FollowupID: 692349

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 12:00

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 12:00
" It ain't wot ya got- it's wot ya do with it".

Very true - and Andy knew what he was doing. Tyre pressure was key - mostly 12 pound but he also knew how to ride the sand dunes and the rocky creeks.

14 years as an overland truck driver in Africa, Asia, South America and Europe teaches you a few things - and that was in the very old days when you were self sufficient for months with 20 people to look after and no communications like we have today.

Andy is also a motorbike trail and endurance rider and had just finished 2nd in his category at the FINK a few days before going down the Canning so he knows how to plot his route over difficult terrain.

Because we were in a two wheel drive we did not have force as a option to get us out of a situation. We had to float on top of the sand at all times and Andy did that very well. All in all we did about 10 second runs at some dunes and once we had to take three runs at a dune. Sometimes it was because we got distracted with chatting and got caught in the wrong gear.

We used the sand mats three or four times only and had three big dig outs - where we bellied on the centre ridge, and one of those occasions it was not even on a dune but at Well 24 when we took a short cut up the river bed. Not a good idea. My digging and pushing skills where used for half an hour!!!

But yeah, it was the combination of good car and skilled driver that made this adventure a success
FollowupID: 693272

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 11:48

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 11:48
If it's lasted 30 years then it's a special car, hope he makes it
AnswerID: 421956

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:46

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 11:46
He and the car did. The 505 was not flash but mechanically sound.

When we got to Kalgoorli I saw his other Peugeot - a 504. A work of art completely restored and slippery shiny. Beautiful!
FollowupID: 693270

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 12:44

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 12:44
There was a story Peugeot was advertising of a young French woman driving a Peugeot across the Sahara desert in 1927 to visit her lover who was in the French Foreign Legion.

I cannot recall the exact details but she made it there and back to France :-)
AnswerID: 421962

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 13:05

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 13:05
Back in the old days , late 60s I was helping build 203 Peugeots and Renault R8 and R10s for around Australia and desert trips for Renault Australia in Redfern Sydney. They all came back .

Murray

AnswerID: 421965

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 13:30

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 13:30
Didn't a 203 win the first Redex Trial 55 years ago?

Any 4WD's on that one?
FollowupID: 692352

Follow Up By: Maaate - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 11:27

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 11:27
That's nothing. Toyota have been building all kinds of vehicles recently. A lot of them have had to come back too. :)
FollowupID: 692441

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:04

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:04
Gday Maaate
But the Reno's and Peugeot's didn't come back on warrenty or recall. They all drove back , mostly still in one piece.
Murray

FollowupID: 692496

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 14:31

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 14:31
Fabulous motor car, been driving them for 45 years, only have two at the moment, both 94 model 405 2L autos, (not counting the 205 in mothballs for my
grandkids to learn to drive on) comfortable, reliable & economical. I get 7L/100
country driving. Last aquisition cost me $5k...like new with 65k on it...now thats
a real car at an unreal price.........oldbaz.
AnswerID: 421974

Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 15:54

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 15:54
Gidday

I had two Peugeot 404s (one a wagon) in the 1970s and have to say they were fabulous riding cars. I can well imagine that the suspension would offer one of the better comfort levels over the CSR corrugations.

Don't know how the very skinny michelin tyres on 15in wheels (165s I think) would go on the dunes though.

As someone else mentioned the earlier 203 was a legendary rally car and the later 504 was dominant in african rallies for years.

roccos
AnswerID: 421980

Reply By: Thommo1 - Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 23:34

Thursday, Jun 24, 2010 at 23:34
I heard on the HF tonite that the 504 has made Durba Springs!!
AnswerID: 422042

Follow Up By: Janek - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 15:57

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 15:57
my 504 would not stop! if they're doing it in a 504, i'd be willing to bet they'll make it no worries!!

FollowupID: 692472

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:51

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:51
Hi Trekkie.

I filled up at Kunawarrtji yesterday morning..

A native man told me there was a sedan traveling down the stock route in a sedan recently.

No further info..

AnswerID: 422132

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 12:03

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 12:03
He made it :-)
FollowupID: 693273

Follow Up By: andy sutcliffe - Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 19:33

Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 19:33
Just for anyone thats interested.
the car was a 1981 peugeot 505 sedan.The old girl has done 478,000.the only mods to the car were
a 110 litre fuel tank in boot from a Bedford truck
A uhf Radio
a skid pan to protect the sump
Apart from that she was bog stock in every way!
tyres were 195/14 8 ply light truck Bridgestone on std rims
Open Diff No LSD or Diff lock.
I travelled with 2 other vehicles.But i was completely self sufficient, and non-reliant on them.We never needed to be towed, nor did we have to winch ourselves at any time.I kept weight to a minimum, and i must admit the original plan didn,t include a 6' blonde South African Hitch hicker.But Gaynor was great, and an absolute bonus on the trip.I thank her for jumping in with the mad bloke in the Peugeot.Thanks also to all our fellow CSR travellers that showed an interest.
The old girl got a wash, a sevice, and a set of shocks, and nows she's back in daily use!Viva Le Peugeot

FollowupID: 694760

Follow Up By: andy sutcliffe - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 22:48

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 22:48
I must stress, please don't assume you can just jump in the Commodore, Falcon, or Rice-burner, and just head off down the CSR!The Standard Peugeot 505, has more ground clearance than many soft-roaders.Also, Exit and Departure angles are good.It Also had simplicity in it's favior.
I would maybe tackle it in a XR, XW, WY Falcon, or a Morris Minor, but once again these are old cars with good clearance.The Older Holdens only had 13" wheels. Happy Travelling Andy
FollowupID: 695519

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 22:58

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 22:58
Congrats Andy ....

Job well done.

VW Kombi next time tho ... OK .... lol
AnswerID: 425048