First Outback Trip - Seeking Wisdom in reviewing my plans / route

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 08:26
ThreadID: 79666 Views:5108 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Seeking advice from those in the know. I have just completed plotting my first outback trip planned for October this year. Plenty of 4wd experience in mountain country never outback though. Any way seeking input to the route and intinerary i have put together as well as recommended camp spots along the route and sights to see.

The Drive time I got from Google Maps - so not sure if its accurate.....Pls correct if you think its longer or shorter in time between places

Vehicle is an 80 series petrol Landcruiser. Touring setup with seperate Fridge and Freezer, tripple battery system, 70ltr water tank. 270ltrs Fuel (long range tanks), UHF, Satphone, SPOT tracker, MTRs, 2 Spares etc etc.

Day 1 is a deliberately long day so we can spend more time out west.

OK HERE GOES

Link of trip route on MAP is TRIP ROUTE

This is the Intinerary " for comment - review and advice"

Day Location Distance Drivetime
Day 1 Dapto – Cunnamulla 1100Kms 14hrs?
Day 2 CunnamullaInnamincka 550Kms 9hrs?
Days 3 & 4 Innamincka (rest / Local Attractions)
Day 5 Innamicka – Birdsville 500Kms 9hrs?
Days 6 & 7 Birdsville (rest / Local Attractions)
Day 8 Birdsville – Mungerannie 200Km 3hrs?
Day 9 Mungerannie – Leigh Creek 330Kms ??
Day 10 Leigh CreekBalcanoona 100kms ??
Day 11 BalcanoonaYunta 300Kms 10hrs??
Day 12 YuntaBroken Hill 200Kms 2hrs

Begin Charity Drive (Flinders Ranges)
Days 13 – 19 Drive for Life Charity Trek (Flinders Ranges)
Days 20 – 21 Broken Hill – Dapto (home) 12hrs

thanks in advance
cheers Aaron

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 08:46

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 08:46
G'day Aaron, your itinerary looks fine, but why bust a gut on the first day ? Spread it out a bit more. You may find a day in Birdsville is adequate anyway.
The same applies from Broken Hill to Dapto...bloody long day for one driver & a
tiring end to a good trip............oldbaz.
AnswerID: 422243

Reply By: Member - Gary W (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 09:15

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 09:15
Hi Aaron,
I think you will find that Birdsville to Mungerannie is about 315klm.
Gary
AnswerID: 422244

Follow Up By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:48

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:48
Thanks for that Gary have updated accordingly
cheers Aaron
FollowupID: 692625

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:08

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:08
Aaron,

My first response when I saw a 1100 km, 14 hour day 1 was "you've got to be kidding"! Day 1 is when the unexpected things happen - did you remember to pack cutlery, you brought the stove, but where's the gas bottle,..... did anyone think to leave the toilet paper accessible, what about the shovel.... Yours is a very tiring first day and the after effects could well spoil the whole trip. Although we've done a lot of travelling out west, day 1 is always planned to be a short one to allow for those unpredictable shakedown issues.

Plus, why are you travelling? To see the country or simply tick off destinations? Clearly you don't have unlimited time, but travelling more slowly will be far more interesting, safer and less demanding. I'd certainly be splitting that first day into 2 parts. Overall, I think you are trying to cram too many km into the available time.

I think if I was doing this trip, I'd head for Innamincka via Tibooburra and the the Bollards Lagoon track, then if time permitted to Birdsville via the Cordillo Downs track before heading south.Innamincka - Isn't really a destination in itself, little more that a source of fuel. There is interesting history in the area and some special country. Highlights include Nappa Merrie and Coongie Lake.

If time is becoming an issue, maybe skip Birdsville and simply go south from Innamincka. Do you need to join the Charity Drive at Broken Hill? You'll pick up a day or 2 and avoid backtracking by joining it at the Flinders.

I think you're trying to put too much into the available time. It would be far more enjoyable and less demanding if you can lighten the schedule. Forcing yourself to adhere to a too rigid schedule in order to fit everything in is stressful too.

Sorry to appear negative, but that's how I see it.

AnswerID: 422250

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:41

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:41
John,

Just look at David and Michelle's start to the trip to Wiluna, they forgot something so returned home. Instead of heading off late yesterday arvo they set off early this morning LOL

So things do and will go wrong even for experienced travellers. Aarons first day is a big one especially when the following day is reasonably long as well.

FollowupID: 692622

Follow Up By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:47

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:47
G'day John. Yeah I was worried about the big drive on day one. There are 2 of us sharing the driving, but on reflection may break this over 2 days. The rest of the trip was planned thinking we would have enough time to visit "albiet" breif some of the outback towns and sights.

Unfortunately we have to meet in Broken hill as we have made committments with the Drive 4 Life group, otherwise we would of definately saved the back track.

I dont know any of the places we are intending visiting thats why I put it out there for the feedback on timing and places to see. I can always alter plans, just looking to get the most enjoyable experience out of 3 weeks off and get in some of the sites out that way.

I wish we had unlimited time :)) Not wishing life away but bring on retirement I say lol

cheers aaron
FollowupID: 692623

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:13

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:13
Yes split the first day into two, the drive over the mountains and out to Dubbo can be a real drag, slow going especially heavily laden and it isn't till Dubbo that you can start to maintain decent average speeds.
You will spend the night before packing etc and if you have kids it will be way too long a day for them.
AnswerID: 422252

Follow Up By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:52

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:52
Hi Peter, I have taken the previous and your advice and now split day 1 into 2 days. Hope to pickup a day further in, perhaps reduce stay at Birdsville or Innamincka from 2 days to 1. cheers Aaron
FollowupID: 692627

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 14:09

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 14:09
It's like anything though as you can't really do justice to either Birdsville or Innamincka in 1 or 2 days.
You might have to regard it as a recce for further exploration.
Can recommend retirement, best gig I've ever had!!
FollowupID: 692633

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:32

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:32
Hi Aaron
One section that I have picked up on is the Birdsville to Mungerannie. It is well over 300 kilometres and we usually take about 4 1/2 to 5 hours to do that section. Take your time with tyre pressures dropped and you should have no problems, but high speed will make the trip unsafe and a very higher chance of tyre damage.

Also if you have time to spare, I would recommend an extended stay on the Cooper on the Flooded Birdsville Track.

AnswerID: 422253

Follow Up By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:51

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 12:51
Thanks Stephen. I definately would like to see the flooded Track, we planning to be out there around mid October, hopefully still has water in place. Im particularly looking forward to trying my hand at yabbie catching :))

cheers Aaron
FollowupID: 692626

Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 13:10

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 13:10
Days 11 and 12 - we have easily done Arkaroola to Broken Hill, via Yunta, in one day, towing our caravan. In fact, if you do not have much in the way of sightseeing planned, I reckon you could do Leigh Creek to Broken Hill in the day.
AnswerID: 422261

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 17:56

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 17:56
I agree, I've easily done that drive in a day as well. Mike
FollowupID: 692650

Reply By: seven - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 19:09

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 19:09
Aaron,
We have been on many outback trips and what we do is make a rule that by 4pm we stop driving and set up camp, main thing is take your time, drive to the conditions and have a great time mate, all the best, you will have fun

rgds Seven
AnswerID: 422288

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 19:28

Sunday, Jun 27, 2010 at 19:28
I reckon hot spots
Tiboorbura to Innamincka via Bollards
Coongie Lakes
History spots around Innamincka
All of Cordillo Road camp near ruins
Birdsville - Big Red - Day trip out to Poeppels?
Inside track to Mungerannie R/H
Camp on Coopers
Farina
Things to read before hand. Bourke & Wills I borrowed from Library. Innamincka booklet from Trading Post in Innamincka andFarina booklet from Mungerannie
If you do the Arrabury road Haddons is only 14ks off the road. Last time we were at Haddons on an Endeavour Rally we went up the track that goes through the gate couple hundred meters north, I cuts across to Betoota (permission Req). We have been out there a couple of times and still have not done all the tracks. We are going out again in Sept and still wont have all of them done.

Enjoy
AnswerID: 422296

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2010 at 19:32

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2010 at 19:32
Is big red not cut off or have I got that wrong?

How long is it expected to be cut for?
FollowupID: 692896

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2010 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2010 at 20:19
Sorry Cant answer that one.
FollowupID: 692903