Two simple bush rules

Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:51
ThreadID: 80902 Views:5825 Replies:21 FollowUps:19

My wife and I took a brief drive out to the NT border just for a day out, and we always take some barbage bags with us. She is a traditional owner around this area.

We are embarrassed to say that we collected nine full bags of rubbish from the road and the sides of the road. Why can't people just adhere to two extremely simple bush rules.

TAKE NOTHING BUT PHOTOS...AND....LEAVE NOTHING BUT FOOTPRINTS

We should all leave our children, and our wildlife, with a clean environment for the future. For anyone who leaves their rubbish behind...SHAME ON YOU. For the rest who leave nothing but footprints behind, WELL DONE.

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Clint & Chell - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:01

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:01
We have just begun our journey around Australia. I went to the beach today at Bargara with my 7 & 4 year old and we walked around enjoying nature but also picking up broken glass, cans, plastic bottles and even a pair of socks. We proceeded to through them in a nearby rubbish bin. The kids were so proud of themselves and couldn't understand why it was so hard for others to do the right thing.

Chell
AnswerID: 428197

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:13

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:13
Mate don't blame the tourist, there is a road out of Kempsey to Dongdingalong past a Settlement that had the edges mown recently, there was so much rubbish in the clippings it was not funny. After the settlement the road was clear. I,m not pointing the finger but it was!
AnswerID: 428208

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:46

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:46
I agree with you totally!!...just take a look around Roper Bar, beer cans and bleep ty nappies everywhere, dont try telling me the tourists are doing it all, sure they are responsible for some of it....but i think some of the locals from nearby settlements need to take responsibility as well!!

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 698887

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:10

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:10
Gotta agree with that Borgy.

Good to see ya Dave, long time no hear :-)

Cheers Fred.
FollowupID: 698971

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:51

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:51
To me the best example is the Hermannsberg Road. I noted the increasing number of cans and cartons that littered the road over many kilometers to virtually stop at the "Dry Area" sign.
I followed an old Falcon back to Alice with a child on the rear shelf and a couple more running around, with the occasional can tossed out .

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 428213

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:50

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:50
Yep..agree. I had a Falcon wagon (Blue XD/ED) with half the windows knocked out, thick slobbers on the other windows and way too many kids, dogs and adults in there overtake me on the way out to Hermansberg/Palm Valley.

I had to drop my speed back to 80km/ph to give ample time for the airborne VB cans to settle or risk them hitting my car.

These guys didn't look like tourists to me.
FollowupID: 698966

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:35

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:35
Scary thought is that they might have been tourists Fab.
What constitutes a tourist?
They might have been visiting another town. That might make them tourists.
They probably wouldn't call themselves tourists though (thankfully).
FollowupID: 699019

Reply By: Member - Tom W (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:06

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:06
gday marc yes your right with comments however you mention your wife is a traditional owner of these lands perhaps a word to the many other less apreciaciative traditional owners would be in order as these are often in my opinion the worst offenders in this area cheers tom
AnswerID: 428215

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:24

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:24
Why do I bother making any comments here at all. I was not pointing the finger at all, I was merely stating the obvious. I did not state whether it was tourists, I said that everyone should hold by the two rules, locals, travellers, everyone. Everyone seems to be up in arms for no reason, and I was foolish to make such a comment.

I do realise that people in communities have some things to learn about sanitation, and I have no doubt they will learn. It was clearly stupid of me to try and point out that it has to start somewhere, and I have no recollection of pointing the finger at anyone.

In closing, we did fing two bags of rubbish, that had been broken open by small animals. There were identifying papers and the like in them. I have boxed the rubbish, and will be paying to send the rubbish back to them.
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 428217

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:06

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:06
Hi Marc, we were at Nyirripi and moved now to Doomadgee, we get the kids to pick up some rubbish for drinks and other stuff, they love it and it is good education for them, hope you are going well over there...
FollowupID: 698894

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:51

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:51
Sometimes we treat this country like it belongs to someone else.
FollowupID: 698895

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:03

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:03
Marc,

I do not think you comment of " traditional owner" went down well. Unfortunately the above comment was correct, most tend to treatAustralia, like the back yard of someone else.

We are all getting over "funding" traditional owners and are waiting for them to do something for themsleves. Perhaps if they could just agree on a leader to repesent them it would be a start.
FollowupID: 698930

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 10:30

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 10:30
Goodonyer Marc Luther B. Maybe next time the messy mongrels will think again before despoiling our country.
FollowupID: 699308

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:33

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:33
Gooday,
You are on to my PET HATE.
I am currently in Mount Magnet in WA, having travelled some 6,200 Km since early August, coming West via Donoghue/Plenty, then The Great Central Road to Laverton.

Now some will laugh at this, but on the Great Central Road, alone we stopped no less than 300 yes 300 times, I was taking photos of cars, trucks caravans & trailers that have been abandoned, WHY you might ask, well for a personal project. Almost at every stop I had to get out to get the photo I wanted, sometimes walking up to 500 yards to get to the wreck, and the amount of rubbish, litter, whatever you wish to call it was overwhelming. I would collect as many glass bottles as I could carry as I headed back to the vehicle each time, placing them in the Gas Bottle Box on the drawbar of our 21 ft caravan, then when I found a bin which was very limiting, I would empty them out and start again. Only being able to hold about 15 at a time there are a few less now.
For years I have had a rule of picking up at least 3 pieces of rubbish whenever we pull into a rest area or stop, everywhere there is always rubbish, put it in a bin or take it with me.

My thinking is, and I have a dream, that "EVERY TRAVELLER" would do the same thing when they travel, we would make a hell of a difference.

Now is that too hard?.
Next, a 20 Cents Minimum Deposit on all drink containers, able to be redeemed at any town with a depot.

Now that we look like having a Government who MAY be listening, let's get onto those who are going to hold the lazy Pollies who have not cared for years to ransom, and get something done instead of talking about it.
Off soap box now, wait for arrows.
Boroma 604
AnswerID: 428218

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:00

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:00
i would love to agree ..... but it just does not work if you continue to clean up after the rubbish makers ....
Put it this way, did you alway clean up your kids rooms after they left them in a mess or did you spit it and make them clean it up them selfs or be grounded, yep you made them and they learned to keep it clean....
As with Marc i live on a community and have lived on many, even over and up the Tanimi, the ONLY thing that will work is education, you make it YOU clean it up, far to many do gooders turn up in these places and think they will change the world by getting it all done and it seems to get worse and we wonder why, it is hard to accept but it is our fauld in a round about way and until we completely change our approch we will not get it ...... what the heck is 20c deposit gunna do in the bush, it wont make a single thing change... if every traveller picked up 5 items every 50klms the little out stations are gunna dump it all along the road side cause the dumb white fellas drive along picking it up for them, they say they are on holidays but spend it all picking up our rubbish, them are REALLY dumb white fellas but we happy cause they do it...
Get my point ....... education, a forgotton word in any govt dept now ....
FollowupID: 698893

Reply By: Mal R - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:54

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 00:54
We stopped at the RIP Lookout near Tom Price about a month ago and filled 8 bags of rubbish from just around the immediate area.

We always try to leave an area cleaner than we found it, but I shake my head in disbelief sometimes as to why people some are such grubs !! I wonder what their homes are like.
AnswerID: 428220

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:52

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:52
Good grief. All people have to do is NOT ADD TO IT. Yes, people in communties have some things to learn. InMUlan we frequently get the kids out picking up all the rubbish, other times the adults do it. That is not the point.

On main arterial roads there is too much rubbish, from locals, travellers or whoever. WE all say that we love our country, we only have to show that we do. Yes my wife is a traditional owner, that is why we go for frequent drives and clean up what we can.

AS noted, Education is what is needed.

AnswerID: 428222

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 03:11

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 03:11
Great call Marc

AnswerID: 428223

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:25

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:25
FWIW Marc, I'm totally in agreeance with you. I have posted Rants on EO several times over the years about rubbish in the bush. It doesn't take much effort to clean up after ourselves, yet a lot of people just treat Australia like a rubbish dump.

Also FWIW, in regard to the aboriginals, I have driven through Hermannsburg & Finke recently, and was initially appalled by the rubbish there, but have since come to realize that they have a different outlook to us in that regard. So, again I'm in agreeance that education is the key!

Just an opinion....

AnswerID: 428226

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:40

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:40
Marc,

You keep posting and don't be put of by those who have accidentally interpreted the post the wrong way.

Had to laugh at Chambers pillar, the rangers were there with a dad and his mother and 3 lovely kids from the local community teaching them all about the area.

Kids were running around having a great time throwing a couple of boxes of tissues around the countryside, it looked like a ticker tape parade in the end with tissues everywhere. Note!!!! I am not having a go at the locals, I just saw the funny side. No harm done and the tissues they will return to the earth quickly.

Beside every road in Australia there are truck loads of rubbish, it is people and I don't know if you can change it. The only way is to reduce packaging and charge a return on all containers. When I was punting trucks around the country I wouldn't stop at road side rest areas unless I was running on empty, because of the rubbish
Have a good one
AnswerID: 428227

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:59

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:59
Great topic Marc. I totally agree with you.

Having been teachers at a High School for our working lives it is something we particularly notice when free camping and travelling around this beautiful country.

Getting the kids at school to pick up any rubbish in the playground was one of the most difficult jobs we had to face out of the classroom. Even though they were surrounded by it, it was always 'I didnt drop it' and it was quite an ordeal to force the issue many times!
And bins were placed within metres of these kids - they just couldnt be bothered walking a few steps to deposit the rubbish. I suspect there are many travellers and locals who feel the same way unfortunately.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 428228

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:39

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:39
I agree Heather, for several years we lived opposite Elanora High School, and the amount of rubbish lying around the Play Ground / Sports Oval was unbelievable, on a windy day it would pile up around the School Boundary Fence, I would ring the school and complain now and again, they would send some students out to pick it up, it was a joke, they would lope around just picking up now and again and when they did they would dump it behind a tree, yes it all begins at home, if their parents lead by example an educate our young ones maybe future generations will care, at the moment the existing population is beyond educating re: pride in their country, and that stands for the Young and Old.
FollowupID: 698950

Reply By: Expletive - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:00

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:00
I have just returned from an eight month sojourn around this country & the rubbish is the main factor i will not travel again,it is absolutely appalling the amount of rubbish at road side stops & along the sides of the roads & some of the people that are travelling around is an other reason,& i wont go into that on here.

AnswerID: 428232

Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:49

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:49
Greetings, great idea. As a result of your post we have packed some garbage bags for"found rubbish" on our next trip. I nominate this post for "positive post of the year".
WD
AnswerID: 428236

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:54

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:54
Marc if you want to see rubbish just look at all the stuff strewn along Tonkin Hwy near Horrie Miller Drive. A real good advert for anybody getting off an international flight.

It's not just the bush where people don't give a tinker's damn but the cities as well. Many in our society have become a bone idle, disrespectfull mob who consider our roadsides their rubbish bin to do as they please with.

Yep litterers pea me off big time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe it's about time we took a leaf out of the Singaporean's book. Very little rubbish there.

AnswerID: 428245

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:59

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:59

On a lighter note.

Geez......if it wasnt for all that crud I could still be wandering out in the desert around Nyirripi.

I was heading to to Nyrripi about 20 years ago in a truck with a backhoe and big mobs of bore column on it. We decided to go the back way through Mount Wedge for something different and ended getting a bit off course, because once we got into the sand hills it was a matter of holding your foot flat and going where the truck took you......
The trip took a few hours longer than we expected and next thing there was no track and it was pitch dark.... but then we spotted some rubbish......Yipee....
We've got to be close we thought.
We followed the rubbish for about an hour, zig zagging across it trying to stay in the thickest part.... we started to wonder how far out we could be until we spotted it ........ Hallelujah......Car bodies and dogs for Africa, and then the old Billy goat.......one more sandhill and the lights of Nyrripi appeared. It was like an Oasis.
Until the sun come up!

My opinion....
Your all right....education is the only answer.
And there are two ways to go about it.......The carrot approach....or the stick.
We've tried the carrot and it hasn't worked...now lets try the stick!
Its pure laziness and lack of respect......thats all

Hairy
AnswerID: 428247

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:22

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:22
Great yarn Hairy...Luv it :-))))

Fred
FollowupID: 698973

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 05:08

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 05:08
Hairy

You are right,( of course )

The rubbish trails always lead to a community, the more on the road the closer you are to them.

That is a shame, especially when there is usually a tip there as well.
Not too sure what to do there, education and sence of pride may be on the agenda.
FollowupID: 699068

Reply By: 02.murray - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:25

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:25
Our absolute pet hate - rubbish and toilet paper - we always like to think we leave an area cleaner than when we arrive. Never use a rest area if we can help it - too many people without shovels just doing their business anywhere!
Murray
AnswerID: 428258

Follow Up By: Member - David C1 (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:09

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:09
Have to agree with the rubbish and dunny paper around way side stops. I cant understand why people cant take there rubbish with them if a bin is over flowing or burn there toilet paper before burying. Its not rocket science.
FollowupID: 698958

Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:18
Posting the rubbish back to them.

Thats a cracker

Good on ya
AnswerID: 428295

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:14

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:14
Dosn,t Ian Kearny or what ever his name is tell one and all that you only Clean up Australia on a certain day of the year.
Duke
FollowupID: 699042

Reply By: billyj - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:14

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:14
Timber................sorry marc or what ever your calling your self this week, why do you go out of your way to make people feel they have said the wrong thing? I saw you do it on another forum that eventually you were banned from.
ps hows that big non exisitant station of yours going?
AnswerID: 428308

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:31

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:31
Hi BillyJ

I actuyally cvontacted the magazine which runs the other forum, when it was brought to my attention, by another agency, that my ID was used.

I will not go into legailties, but I am the one who requested that the account was cancelled, as it was coming from my friends everywhere that they were seeing me on the site. I have actually not been a member of any site but this one, as it is the only site that I enjoy reading.

Try suffering identity theft on line sometime and see how many problems it causes. Bu the way, I have no station or anything like it, I am just a working jo blo. I havwe not made anyone to feel that way, but hey, I can just read a forum, and you can please grow up and get facts before making comments.

I guess it takes all kinds to make a world. Good luck

FollowupID: 699023

Follow Up By: billyj - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:47
if thats the case i apologise just seemed very straight forward seen the "faker" used your exact display picture and had posted the same vehicle picture in his threads, not to mention that you both possess the exact same writing style. also i find it intresting that you are shown as having joined this forum on the 15th of june this year around the same time the "fake" was starting to cause trouble on the other forum.
FollowupID: 699026

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:15

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:15
Thankyou for information, and the dates. That will help greatly.

FollowupID: 699031

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:20

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:20
Hi Marc

I have no problem with your post, rubbish left by others really gets up my nose too.

I just can't help wondering if you have decided to make this forum your own personal soap box. Seems all you do is complain about something eg: challenging info on the site (whatever that means), and now rubbish, which has been done to death.

All are entitled to their opinion, and as I said, I agree with you on this one, but do you have anything positive to say?

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 428311

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:47
I think it's good that new members are having a say. Not everyone has the time to see if anything is in the archives.

FollowupID: 699025

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:24

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:24
Hi Dave

Please check my thread about Lake Gregory, and my post about the camera. Please feel free to express your opinion, but I have not used this as a soapbox.

Yes I challenged information regarding the Tanami Track, as I live hyere and I have noted that various distances and times are incorrect. Not my problem, I know whwre the fuel is, the distances and the times. I know the communities and other information, but I will allow others to share that at an up to date data in the future.

You have pointed out one valiud factor, there is not a lot of sense posting here, as people tend to want to be pedantic, or attack the veracity of others. I joined this site, and it is the only site I have ever joined other than Facebook, and from the latter people can get your details, something I learned the hard way.

I am in error for not going through the thousands of archives, and I will avoid starting any threads as I would hate to be repetitive.

Marc

FollowupID: 699033

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:08

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 21:08
Marc, I can't disagree with anything you have said. We are regularly appalled at the amount of rubbish left in the bush. Like you, we regularly pick up other peoples rubbish - someone has to do it - if we all leave it to someone else, the whole country will become a garbage tip.

Unfortunately, some took your mention of your wife being a traditional owner as an opportunity to bash aboriginal communities. Yes, many communities have a lot to learn, but some areas not frequented by aboriginal people are trashed as well. Trashing our country is not dictated by ethnic background, but by attitude. Some aboriginal communities we have visited are a credit to the inhabitants.

Like others, I'm in an area dominated by indigenous inhabitants (Borroloola, NT). Some locals have great respect for the country, others little. Same can be said of white fellas and others. While Borroloola has a way to go, it is much better today than a few years ago and in my view, improving all the time.

Yes, education is important, but it will take time to have an impact. In the meantime, the more of us who make an occasional effort to clean things up the better.

Norm C
AnswerID: 428337