Cassette Toilet - Chemicals

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 17:13
ThreadID: 81087 Views:10248 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Wondering if people have got any suggestions and advice for what chemicals they use in their cassette toilets and how they have found them eg. smell, efficiency, cost, purchasing etc. We are doing the 'big trip' and so will be using the toilet for a long time and would like to have an economically efficient chemical to use.

Chell

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 17:30

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 17:30
G'day Clint and Chell.

As new members here let me say a big welcome to ExplorOz.

This question gets asked often on here, and many of us prefer to use the Homebrand Napisan, in preference to the much dearer chemicals or tablets. We use a couple of tablespoons in the flush tank, and add a teaspoon to the bottom tank after every 2 or 3 uses, depending on the usuage.

Very cheap, no smell, readily available.

Looks like you're gearing up for a sensational trip.

Enjoy the trip, and enjoy the mates you'll make on this site.

Fred.
AnswerID: 429114

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:36

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:36
Hi Fred,
John Murray's artwork is great isn't it we have that print too
Barb
FollowupID: 699857

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:06

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:06
It's good stuff Barb...just luv that one..says a lot.

Fred.
FollowupID: 699895

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:04

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:04
I second that (bowel) motion.....

Woolworths Home Brand Nappy Treatment.

Cheap as can be and has that all important ingredient, sodium percarbonate (34%).

It's safe in septic tanks too. One flat capful in 2 litres of water to start off and it will last for 3 days. Then either empty the cassette or put in another capful.

AnswerID: 429116

Reply By: Member - Tricky Dicky (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:15

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:15
yep nappy san works for us we use less than a lids worth in the holding tank every couple of days, thats for two of us, you might need more because of the children.
happy travels
Dick
AnswerID: 429117

Reply By: hazo - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:55

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 18:55
Yep! Another vote for Woolies Nappy treatment!

Does the job, cheap and safe.

AnswerID: 429121

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:34

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:34
Im for Portasol as I showed you. Can be bought in 5 litres now.

AnswerID: 429126

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:17

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:17
Any brand of generic nappy treatment.
One teaspoon to start in the bottom tank and one more for every #2.
Just add it dry into the tank.
Nothing in the top tank.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 429129

Reply By: kend88 - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:34

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:34
Up until about 12 months ago you would have had 3 or 4 different brands suggested. eg. Thetford, OdourBgone, Biomagic, etc.
I use Biomagic and am very happy with it, but when my 10 litre double strength supply eventually runs out, I think it cost well over $100 five years ago, I guess I will make the change to Woolies Homebrand nappy Treatment, like nearlly everyone else seems to have done.
I imagine there will be a few toilet chemical manufacturers going broke/closing down

KenD
Bris
AnswerID: 429131

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:19

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:19
Hi Chell

DON'T use any formadehyde based chemical, which used to be the base for toilet chemicals. Nasty stuff, and not suitable for emptying into septic sytems and not much of Australia has deep sewerage.

Do a search here and you will find most are using the Sodium Percarbonate generic brand nappy soakers with good results.

The two products most widely available that contain principally sodium percarbonate are Woolworths Homebrand Nappy Treatment Plus and Coles $martbuy Napicare Plus. Similar can be purchased at some of the 'cheap shops' - read the label. Most other brands contain other ingredients and less sodium percarbonate. These sodium percarbonate nappy powders are also good products for doing the laundry in buckets whilst travelling.

Dissolve a ‘shake’ (around a spoon full) in a litre or two of water and add to the cassette after use after first use following emptying. The movement of the caravan mixes it well even if not pre-dissolved, however some liquid needs to be added when starting. If used for ‘nocturnal wee visits’ only the product is said to be not as effective, in which case more frequently emptying of the liquid is an easy solution.

We were using Bio Magic ($48 a bottle) and often only used the toilet once before emptying as we only use it spasmodically. I tried the sodium percarbonate products and was even happier with the results. There was a musty odour with Bio Magic which we don't get now.

It is considered septic and long drop safe, and when burying in the ground, the slurry disappears quickly and leaves no harmful chemical such as the old formaldehyde 'preservative' type toilet chemicals do. We have a large bottle of this from the previous owners of our van which we have never used and need to safely dispose of.

If your cassette has been used with chemicals, wash it thoroughly first. Likewise the flushing tank if any chemicals have been used in it.

AnswerID: 429142

Follow Up By: Clint & Chell - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:22

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:22
Hi guys,
I was talking to my local caravan guy and he was saying a lot of people are using napisan these days in their toilets. His concern is the damage it will do to the plastic cassette. He is adamant it will deteriate the cassette. Anyone experienced this or any other problems using nappy cleaners?

Clint
FollowupID: 699899

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:26

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:26
Clint,

avoid your local caravan guy.

Plastic has a half life of about 5 kazillion years. The product is sold in plastic.

Centuries after the human race has destroyed itself, plastic will still be blowing around the planet.

He doesn't have a clue.

FollowupID: 699900

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:26

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:26
Absolutely not Clint. In fact i have been using the stuff in a plastic bucket frequently for soaking dirty farm clothes and cleaning rags at home for years; i bought the bucket for my daughter when my first granchild was born. He turns 20 this year.

Mh

FollowupID: 699901

Follow Up By: Clint & Chell - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:42

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:42
hehe. Yep fair call guys.
FollowupID: 699906

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 16:25

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 16:25
And here comes a sciance lesson:

From the MSDS, Odour-B-Gone's main ingredient is Sodium peroxy carbonate - Na2CO4 - at between 10-30% by weight.

Nappisan and the various home brand derivatives use Sodium Percarbonate - Na2CO3·1.5H2O - at varying concentrations up to 35% in some home brand products.

Both work by breaking down to Hydrogen Peroxide and inert salts on contact with water. Hydrogen Peroxide - H2O2 - is a strong disinfectant that decomposes to oxygen and water.

Wikipedia notes about Hydrgen Peroxide that:

"It is a weak acid, has strong oxidizing properties, and is a powerful bleaching agent. It is used as a disinfectant, antiseptic, oxidizer, and in rocketry as a propellant."

Not too sure about the last one - perhaps you shouldnt smoke while on the thunder box or you might achieve orbit! :o)

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 699934

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 17:41

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 17:41
Hi Guys
We are several days off finishing a three month trip on the northern island and have been using napiesand all the time. Just remove the lid and fill it, tip into cassette and you don't have to worry about it till you have emptied the cassette and ready to start again.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 429199