Camping on pastoralist's land

Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:08
ThreadID: 81535 Views:7310 Replies:15 FollowUps:32

Related Pages

I had a recent experience in the Wanaaring district of NSW which made me consider what the differences are concerning the right to camp whilst travelling.

In remoter parts of SA, NT & WA, it is a long established custom to select a campsite & use firewood at one's own discretion. Permission is not sought from the leaseholder(noting that land managers in these regions are not freehold title owners).

But from my recent experience it seems that in NSW that right is not exercisable.

It is the case that from Wanaaring to White Cliffs much of the route is Parks, and in those Parks camping is forbidden. I observed that regulation and set up camp about 100 metres off the road, out of Parks land, without gaining permission. In my situation the land manger who apprehended me was pleasant & co-operative in allowing us to remain in-situ. He was, however, very concerned about campers with guns and dogs. This leaseholder suggested I write to Parks & Wildlife to ask for regulations to enable camping in the land in their juristriction.

As far as Queensland goes, can anyone state with authority what the situation is?

Reply By: bluefly - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:51

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:51
If I’m reading your post correctly (and tell me so if I’m wrong), what right do you have to enter a man’s land without permission?

To me that’s the height of disrespect.

It doesn’t matter if it’s freehold or lease. It’s no wonder that cattle stations are closing down access to their properties when these attitudes prevail.

Nobody has a god given right to do whatever they please.

If you want to camp on a property, do the right thing and ask permission. All it takes is a knock on the door.

I know a few hard nosed blokes up in that area, and your damn lucky you did'nt get a shot gun stuffed up the rear passage.

AnswerID: 431357

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 09:39

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 09:39
"I know a few hard nosed blokes up in that area, and your damn lucky you did'nt get a shot gun stuffed up the rear passage. "

And people wonder why Australia has been getting tougher Gun Laws ;)

FollowupID: 702121

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:56

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:56
I tend to agree , does not matter if the lease is for 10 000 h.a or a leased property in down town sydney - you dont just set up camp on a property that someone else is paying for , without permission

I would be very upset if someone came onto our property , drove down to the river and set up camp then started to wash and bathe in the water that then gets pumped up to the house JMO
FollowupID: 702138

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:02

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:02
Hi Rick

I cannot answer your question, but make the comment that in WA although the pastoral land is lease hold, it is still required to seek the lessee's permission to camp (no different to if you rent a house - you are in control). In practice however, it is not always easy to find the managers or in a lot of cases even to know which station you are passing through. I think road reserve is to 30 metres and it is acceptable to camp within this, however we have gone further away from the road for a quiet night when passing through stations. Apart from tyre marks, no evidence is left. Some stations are signed on entry 'no camping' and we do not stop on these.

The only time a landowner has ever approached us was in Queensland somewhere to the south of Emerald. We were looking for somewhere to stop, and followed a well used wide track through open double gates into a gravel pit. It appeared to be just that - a gravel pit, although we had gone through gates; something we do not normally do. Within minutes, a man with a ute load of dogs came and said we were on his land. I explained why we had made the error and said we would move if he wanted us to but we would be very pleased if he let us stay the night and that our caravan was self contained. What about your campfire? he asked. I explained that we were farmers from WA and did not use a campfire (i was at the time putting the kettle on the gas stove to make a cup of tea). He still looked edgy, so i repeated my request again, and he said he would like us to move. We moved on, and wondered what would we have done if we'd apprehended interstate farmers camped on our land - ask them to dinner of course. I don't believe he was typical of Queenslanders.

AnswerID: 431359

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:16

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:16
Motherhen sounds like he had something to hid, perhaps an illegal crop.
FollowupID: 702101

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:27

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 22:27
Oooh Pete - i never thought that way. Nah, i don't think so - it was a hill with nothing but dry gravel.

Mh

FollowupID: 702102

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:26

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:26
a gravelly hill is perfect, luck you didnt pull up on the west side of it...I8}
FollowupID: 702133

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:10

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:10
Oh and i thought he was just a cattle farmer (which he probably was).

Mh

FollowupID: 702150

Reply By: Member - Jeff P (SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:11

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:11
"In remoter parts of SA, NT & WA, it is a long established custom to select a campsite & use firewood at one's own discretion. Permission is not sought from the leaseholder(noting that land managers in these regions are not freehold title owners). "
"Custom" does not reflect the legality, certainly in SA IIRC permission is legally required for camping on pastoral land away from designated roads or public access roads. See http://www.saafwdc.asn.au/pastoral/pastoral.htm
Those who "push the envelope" screw it up for the rest of us, its not difficult to get permission.
AnswerID: 431362

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:42

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:42
Rick,
I don't know where you got the "custom" from, but there a many a land holder / lease holder in the NT that would take exception to that, and I don't blame them. The law does not give you the right to camp on anothers property without permission, no matter what state you are in... it is called "trespassing" ...
regards,
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 431363

Follow Up By: bluefly - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:56

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:56
Well said Fred. A bit of respect is all that's needed....!

FollowupID: 702109

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:54

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:54
hi guys
yes i second that
having been a farmer for many years i too dispute this so called common law that states you can camp where you like without first obtaining permmission
its absolute bollucks

show respect at all times and you will be respected and usually given advice for an alternative for camping

it's all the ones that just continually take things for granted and show disrespect that are causing the hostilities between the public and the land owners/occupiers

so take a step back and think first before you assume you can do what you like
FollowupID: 702130

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:46

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:46
At the risk of appearing a bitr polemical, I hold a completely different view (from a WA perspective) to some of the above.

Vast swathes (and I mean really vast) of WA are alienated from the public by agrarian leasehold. Quite often, on huge dodgy leases with marginal economic value and to the ultimate steady degradation of the environment. Check out the sorry history of the Murchison region, or Ord River Station for instance.

Not all lesses are irresponsible, but the state of some WA rangelands over the years has been a disgrace. Leasehold tenure falls under the public's pleasure and it's high time a great stack of it is revoked in the interests of the greater public good.

In any case in many parts of WA it is difficult or impossible to know where you're going to finish up at late afternoon after day's travel. And then, even if you do know what lease you are on, you have no way of contacting the lessees in most cases, even if you knew where the homestead was, which in many cases may be 50 clicks or more from where you are.

There is no way we'll be camping along roadside reservations within clear sight of traffic; too dangerous.

If we can sensibly contact the lessees, for instance when we have a clear itinerary, we do, but if we can't then it's down the station tracks until we're at least out of lines of sight at a minimum.

AnswerID: 431364

Follow Up By: bluefly - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:55

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:55
Firstly much of what you say is irrelevant to the post. Your opinion as to land use and management is not the topic here.

As for your comment about 'public's pleasure' that’s a complete load of utter nonsense and holds no sway in the augument. Your creating a misconseption.

Both owners and lease holders, have legal rights to their land, which also includes trespass protection.

To state that you have a so called right to camp where ever you feel like, without the consideration of the property owner is a very week augment.

In fact you make it very hard for the rest of us who do the right thing by knocking on a door.

FollowupID: 702110

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 01:35

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 01:35
1. If being formulaicly relevant to the topic on ExOz is the rule, then not much would get posted. And in any case, my reply is relevant; land management, land use and misuse, and land access are inextricably intertwined and problematic issues.

Just because you don't like my response doesn't make it irrelevant. :-)

2. As to the misconseption, the 'public pleasure' is certainly not such. Not even a misconception. The term "utter nonsense" as a rebuke is not very polite either and quite uncalled for. I'm hurt.

The legality or otherwise of the lessees is entirely up to Parliament, at least in WA. Parliament is at the pleasure of the people - ask Tony and Julia if they disagree. Source - democracy 100.

The leases last came up for renewal, I think, this year, (I'll chk if you politely ask me) and large chunks thereof are going to be excised for conservation purposes.

But not enough... By a long long way.

3. Yes, but commonsense has to apply. And then there are the politics of RARA land. If they get too much up the noses of the 98% of the voters who are alienated from our wide brown land some pastoralists will become even less of a bouquet than they are now.

4. No I don't; that's only your opinion. Do you knock on doors 50 kays from your 1600 hours stop??? And, like I said, but you choose to ignore, I do when I sensibly can.

FollowupID: 702111

Follow Up By: bluefly - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 01:47

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 01:47
Cripes

Have another drink. I can't understand your dribble.

Sorry to upset your delicate nature.

FollowupID: 702112

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 02:18

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 02:18
No worries. I haven't a shotgun anyway.

FollowupID: 702113

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:17

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:17
I just cant wait till DEC gets their hands on the remaining leases in WA - they have taken over quite a few already which opens up access

its a bit rich to see no enry sighns to goat and weed infested denuded pastoral properties whose only source of income is extorting money fom mining companies conducting exploration on joint leases

dont forget having pastoral lease does not give exclusive rights
- its a lease to graze animals
FollowupID: 702142

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:58

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:58
FYI, the Q'ld govt (DERM) publishes a folded sheet map of >>

Queensland stock routes and water points

one of these lives lives permanently in each of our 2 vehicles ;-)

Here's a PDF showing the Q'ld stock route network >> Site Link
(might take a coupla minutes to load)..

I offer no comment re 'legality' (or otherwise)....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 431365

Follow Up By: Member - John S (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:48

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:48
G'day Ed,
you would think you would be OK to camp on a good old stock route anywhere in Australia, but not long ago my brother in-law and his father were fishing on a river near Collarenabri, N.S.W. on a piece of stock route they have fished on for years when the RLPB ranger told them they couldn't camp anymore unless they had a permit.hope it doesn't come to this everywhere or we will all have to go droving.
Cheers John.
FollowupID: 702137

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 15:26

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 15:26
No permit is needed for any NSW stock reserves. Cattle have preference over campers and there are no restrictions on campers of any type. Somebody was pulling your chain and your leg.
FollowupID: 702144

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:44

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:44
paulnsw,

May I suggest that you read this thread and then tell us who is pulling whose chain ;)

FollowupID: 702151

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:53

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:53
Gday Rick,

The eastern states certainly have more restrictions and it appears to me the cooperation between user groups is not as good.

As far as SA goes, the following document prepared by the FWDSA in 2002 and I believe is still current:
"Public access to pastoral lands in South Australia - facts and responsibilities"

The following DEH document covers the protected areas:
"Recreational Vehicles and Protected Areas in South Australia"

AnswerID: 431369

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:11

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:11
Rick, (& everyone else)
I would like to offer the following to think about:
I am travelling interstate, I am looking to set up camp for the night. I drive past your place... I notice you have a large back yard with access. I drive in and set up camp. I see your BBQ and use it to cook my meal... I use your tap for water and dump my rubbish in your bin.... or worse... I just dig a hole and bury it.. or just dump it... And I haven't even mentioned the word "toilet"... yet..!

How would you feel? What would you do?
Now think about the pastoralist/farmer who has tens or hundreds of campers do this to his land every year. Put yourself in their shoes..
How would you feel?

If you think about it, my example of rocking up to your place is no different than you rocking up to his property.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 431378

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:06

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:06
Back in the early 80's I was manager of Main Camp Station between Grafton and Casino. It was 40,000 acres at the time and had numerous lagoons scattered through it, One such lagoon was known as "Lemonade Lagoon" which covered about 15 acres and we had stocked with fish over the years.

It was about 3 miles from the homestead and had a jetty with a boat which we used to fish etc.

One Sunday morning I got up and was doing my usual run around the lick sheds and I saw some smoke coming from the lagoon area. Went down there and there were two families set up with tents, fire going in the BBQ, out catching fish in our boat which they were going to have for breakfast.

They had no excuses, just saw it from the road, came in through a gate with a "no Trespass" sign and set up camp.

Took down all their names, license plates etc and gave them two minutes to get out or I would call the police.

They left!

Now we have a couple of properties up around Bundy and the biggest problem is people coming in and stealing the tomato crops. 4-5 people can pick a bin of tomatoes in less than 1/2 an hour and then drive 100km and sell them at farmers markets.
FollowupID: 702132

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 18:19

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 18:19
cycadcenter

dont forget paying a pittance for a a lease to graze your animals doent give you exclusive fishing rights

the owner of the pastoral lease to Mulka station found that out quick smart afer spending many 000s of $ to net fish filled up by coopers creek lakes
- fisheries shut him down quick smart
FollowupID: 702153

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 22:44

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 22:44
FYI

Main Camp was a FREEHOLD property.

Get you're facts straight.

Bruce
FollowupID: 702166

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 08:59

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 08:59
fair enough - you know what they say about assumption

in my defence the number of freehold stations is very low
FollowupID: 702186

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:47

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:47
In WA main courses are not included in the title of farms, and as public property we have to allow access to the public through our land to the river. This means providing a gate that people can leave open, picking up their rubbish, and in the case of a friend of mine, having the whole farm burnt out from picnickers lighting a camp fire in closed season and on an extreme fire danger day. Most people are responsible; just a few spoil it for everyone else.

FollowupID: 702269

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:52

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:52
Hey Rick.
How big is your back yard.
I guess you won't mind too much if I camp there as I pass through, I can assure you I will bury the faeces just out of sight. and might burn the paper, I will carry some of the rubbish out (just enough to make me feel good) the cans and other incombustibles left in the fire that was far bigger than needed to swing a billy and camp oven.we will just leave there along with the smouldering coals.
OK.
Why need to ask for permission??!
AnswerID: 431382

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:54

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 11:54
As a landholder, albeit in a closer settled area ,I would have no problem allowing campers...if they seek approval first. But it is annoying to find folk have entered your property..lit fires, usually left burning, left their crap & toilet paper, along with all their rubbish...& then left the bloody gate open. I now lock gates to
avoid these pests......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 431383

Follow Up By: Member - John S (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:05

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:05
g'day Oldbaz,
We don't have the trouble so much with campers, but with pig chasers, we have also locked gates but some still come prepared and cut fences and angle grind chains and locks to get in.we have found windmills pulled out of gear, gates left open, cultivation paddocks cut up when wet, and even a couple of deaths of cattle that looked a bit suspicious.we let a few blokes come in and hunt here, and they are always on the look out for things not right, leaking troughs,broken fence etc. and that's great, but hunters and campers are both alike in the fact that a few bad eggs can spoil it for the rest.
Cheers John.
FollowupID: 702140

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:09

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 14:09
Not sure on where you guys are , but does a locked fence pose an issue for fire fighters ? or are you using a lock provided by the VFA with a universal key that they hold also ?
FollowupID: 702141

Follow Up By: Member - John S (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 15:09

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 15:09
G'day Begaboy,
we are in north west N.S.W and about 3/4 of an hour from the closest town and the area is covered by the volunteer rural fire service of which we are members and we all understand if a fence has to be cut into a paddock for access to beat a bushfire ,that's just what happens.Last year there were large bush fires not far from here and there was a few times when fences got cut just in time to let stock get away from the fire front or to get dozers through for cutting in firebreaks.
The local country energy has keys to the locks for access to their power poles.
hope this answers your question .
Cheers John
FollowupID: 702143

Reply By: Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:00

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 13:00
I can appreciate the problem for land owners/lessees. Especially when people camp near waterholes/troughs, leave rubbish, don't leave gates how they found them, leave fires burning, churn up tracks and, unbelievably, shoot holes in tanks and/or kill/maim animals. Far out, is it any wonder we are no longer "welcome" in the bush like we were a few decades ago!

I agree that it is difficult at times to know where you will be at the end of the day and who to contact. And even if I have some idea of what property I am on, I may be some distance from the HS. I also feel as if I am intruding to knock on someone's door whereas I am a lot more comfortable getting on the UHF.

When using PARs, I have found that generally landowners/lessees are v appreciative of a call (on the UHF) and have thanked me for contacting them and readily given their OK after a few searching questions. I also let them know when I am leaving the following morning.

Of course the issue is to know what channel they use - usually a repeater channel - but it would help if these were known more widely. While some lists of repeaters do have station names/channels, there are many who aren't, perhaps understandably, listed.

AnswerID: 431389

Reply By: Flynnie - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:41

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:41
This thread seems to have drifted way off topic.

"As far as Queensland goes, can anyone state with authority what the situation is?" As I understand the post that is the question you wanted answered the rest was preamble.

Despite all the responses I can not see any light has been shed on this. Perhaps I missed something. I can not help either as to the Queensland situation.

In NSW travellers may rest on public land in "road related areas". They can be given a move on order if they overstay. They cannot camp contrary to signs. The convoluted legalities of this was researched exhaustively as a result of a free camping area issue at Bendemeer north of Tamworth. In finalising the matter the Council indicated people may camp overnight but may be moved on if still there after a few days. The legal position was summarised on the Council business paper. I posted extracts some time ago.

On private land the issue is pretty clear, if it is fenced. But if it is not fenced I wonder where does the road easement end and the private property start?

Flynnie
AnswerID: 431403

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 02:15

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 02:15
Good point Flynnie. It was about Qld.

But to continue off topic....

And just another reason, insofar the Eastern States regs are concerned as to why in the glorious West we are more than happy for you t'other siders to stay where you are, or instead, keep driving round in circles.

At least here we in 'the zone' can just pull off the road down a track and no-one really gives a .... Bring back the borders and import duties, here, ere! At Eucla. :-)

OK, Qld'rs are an exception if you come from across the top but we draw the line at Vic's; from any direction.

But if it has to be Vics because like termites you can't avoid them; go the Sainters!

FollowupID: 702170

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 23:48

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 23:48

I have done a bit of that "just pull off the road down a track and no-one really gives a..". Usually works. Important to pick your area pretty well though.

Last time I did it I was woken at 2 am by centrefire rifles being fired close by, as in very close by. It took a few seconds for my brain to get into gear. I thought staying low in the swag was the best option. After a short time the spotlight went along my vehicle and then away. The shooters moved on to other areas and I went back to sleep. This was in Queensland. All part of life in the country but I do prefer the shooters to be just a bit further away when I am trying to sleep. :)

Flynnie

FollowupID: 702340

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 00:06

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 00:06
Hadn't thought of that Flynnie, I'll admit. Not surprised tho as Qld is another universe. I still remember with eeeerie dread the strange looks I got from the locals at Mareeba 40 years ago. Got out of the pub tout suite! Not just Qld tho, same experience was had at Waratah Tas on an Anzac day in the early 70's.

Good thing we're friendly and civilised and hospitable in the West. No-one has guns here :-).

FollowupID: 702343

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:41

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:41
So if your camped without permission or knowledge of the landowner on a property and you get shot up by a stray round from a roo shooter who HAS permission to be there ,who's to blame ?
FollowupID: 702362

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 18:41

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 18:41
Alloy c/t

They were out shooting and not trolling.

Shooting in the country is a fairly common activity. The shooters are pretty good shots and do not spray "stray rounds" that might take out campers.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702413

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:38

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:38
Flynnie , The question was who is to blame if you are camped on private property without permission or knowledge of the landowner and a STRAY round collects you , nothing about good shots or spraying rounds ,
Camp wherever you want ? I've had the situation where on going out to our local rifle range [which is on private property] on a sunday morning , to find a group of travellers camped in front of the butts , they had just pulled off the road "looking" in the dark.
FollowupID: 702445

Reply By: cycadcenter - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 02:58

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 02:58
Just remember that property owners in Queensland have a whole heap of things to deal with such as an over zealous Government forcing things down our necks.

PMAV's and Vegetation Assessments have become a huge burden on farmers and graziers, with red and pink zones highly regulated.

Start collecting firewood in a red zone and see what happens when the Land Police find out.

So please visitors to Queensland stick to designated camping areas and don't camp on private property without permission.

Oh and by the way we now have to carry $20,000,000 in Liability Insurance now on each farm.

If you're going to camp on someones property please make sure you have similar insurance.

Bruce

AnswerID: 431429

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 06:51

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 06:51
I wouldn't be worried about our land laws, I'm more scared of the item stored behind their back seat. ;)

Happy to use common courtesy and ask. :)

FollowupID: 702355

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 06:12

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 06:12
Rick
Gotta go and ask mate !
It's just common curteousy

AnswerID: 431432

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 00:09

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 00:09
Just as an aside, I wonder how many are familiar with the "Right to roam" laws recently passed in large chunks of the UK

There you are allowed to walk anywhere on farms in the declared area (except very close to the farm house) Not sure of the situation re camping.

I wonder when there will be a push for similar laws here now the anti farming Greens are in power?
FollowupID: 702344

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:06

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:06
I would hope that most people owning or running thee stations really don't mind if a responsible camper pulls off the unfenced road just enough to get out of view for an overnight stay.

As stated above how in the heck would you know where the House is located.

I do not agree with the comparison between a town or rural block to a vast pastroal lease/owning with gazetted roads running through it.

Lets face it most of the gazetted public roads on these leases/owned properties are more than likely fenced for no access and if not fenced not a made road and used by the property.

I will ask if I know that I will stay on a property for an extended camp, but as others state above at the end of a days trip I will look for a spot just off the beaten track. We will always only leave a set of Tyre marks.

To date after years of travel this has never been an issue. Then I suppose the world is changing and not everyone will do the right thing.

Regards Tony
AnswerID: 431614