interstate registration NSW to Vic

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 00:19
ThreadID: 81594 Views:9689 Replies:9 FollowUps:25
Hi people,
We have recently moved to Victoria. Mum lent us one of her cars for a while for an extended period till we get back on our feet again due to an accident with our own car.
As rego is due on mum's car soon, how do I reregister her NSW registered car (with her permission and signature, of course!) in Victoria. The car will be garaged in Victoria for quite a while and we need to put Vic rego on it so the police dont get stressed in a small town.
Any help with this? We are very grateful for assistance.

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 00:59

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 00:59
Is the car a gift or just a loan?
If it's a gift and going into your name I suspect that you will have to go through the whole system.

If however it is just a long term loan, I can't see why you can't just pay your mum the licence money and let her renew the licence in NSW. That is where the car is owned and would be garaged under normal circumstances.

I don't live in either NSW or Vic so am not sure about the legality of my suggestion but it might be worth a try.

Disco.
AnswerID: 431624

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 05:35

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 05:35
I am aware of a friend who moved from Qld to NSW to live and he had settled in a country NSW town.
He had rolled his ute and the Police charged him with driving an unregistered vehicle and his insurance was cancelled due to being then deemed to be un registered. He was resident for only several months and had not changed his registration.
My belief is that all states adhere to this policy. So if an interstate vehicle is normally garaged at your home it must be changed over immediately.
DW
AnswerID: 431626

Reply By: Dunaruna - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 07:36

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 07:36
You need to check with vicroads but I'm pretty sure there is a 3 month grace period. That is to say, you can garage the vehicle in Vic for 3 months without having to change the reg. If and when you do have to change, you will need to get a RWC.

The 3 month thing also applies to you driving license.
AnswerID: 431629

Reply By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:06

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:06
ok here is a tricky one for you.

I'm an Australian living in the USA for more than 180 days a year so i'm classed as a non resident for ATO purposes.

I own a house and properties in Qld and my car is registered in Qld. My typical trip over is fly into Brisbane stay there a few weeks, drive down to Sydney and see my Mum (Her house is owned by a Family Trust of which I am a one of the Trustee's) I leave the car there and then fly home to USA from Sydney.

Next trip the reverse happens.

I do this 3-4 times a year with sometimes only a month between trips and sometimes 4 months.

Where suould my car be registered?

Bruce

AnswerID: 431630

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:26

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 08:26
This has been thrashed out and done to death recently on a 4wd forum.

If you are ONLY A VISITOR you dont have to change into each state.
IF you live in a state and have residential qualifications EG A utilities bill, Rates or House insurance bill you have a limited time to change the rego and licence over.

In QLD its 14 days from taking up residency as per this answer i received from them when I asked the question

Thank you for your correspondence received via our Fast Info Website regarding proof of address requirements for vehicles registered in Queensland.

Under the national standards adopted by all States and Territories, a vehicle's garage address determines the state where it must be registered. This ensures that the funding for roads is collected in the state where the vehicle is used on the road. While all States and Territories have mutual recognition of registration for visiting interstate vehicles, if the permanent garage address changes to another State or Territory, the vehicle must be registered in that State or Territory.

All vehicles with interstate registration must be registered in Queensland 14 days after Queensland becomes the vehicle's permanent garaging address. In addition, vehicles over 4.5 tonnes gross vehicle mass must be registered in Queensland if the vehicle has been operating in Queensland for a continuous period of three months. An interstate registered vehicle being used in Queensland after either of these time periods is considered unregistered under Queensland law.

Temporary visitors from interstate are not required to register their vehicles in Queensland.

It is the responsibility of vehicle owners, operators and drivers to ensure that vehicles are properly registered. Various vehicle details are checked during random roadside vehicle interceptions conducted by Queensland Police and Transport Inspectors and this includes confirming registration details. Any offences detected are acted on by either issuing an infringement notice or prosecution action. In instances where an interstate registered vehicle is detected 14 days after the garage address has been changed to Queensland, an infringement notice for using an unregistered vehicle is issued.

The first paragraph is the key one as it says the rule applies to ALL states.

The temporary bit allows grey nomads etc to travel through each state without changing rego each time

Should answer the question.

FollowupID: 702444

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:03

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:03
Graham , you'l find that it all comes down to interpretation , 14 days AFTER you have taken up PERMANENT residency , every state in Australia allows a 3 mth period grace before you are a PERMANENT resident , also various occupations are Exempt from the rules.
FollowupID: 702452

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:17

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:17
Im only posting what the RTA said In the second paragraph it says 14 days after taking permanent residency

So if you take a lease on a house and get power connected that is permanent.

If you come and stay with friends for 3 months you are a visitor

Also

" In instances where an interstate registered vehicle is detected 14 days after the garage address has been changed to Queensland, an infringement notice for using an unregistered vehicle is issued."

Dont shoot the messenger

You can interpret all you like What they said are the rules.

Obviously you know more than the people that make the rules so can you quote a rule that gives you 3 months grace. If so do it otherwise!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 702453

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:25

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:25
Here are the links to the Vic Roads site where the original poster would have

found the answer correctly instead of relying on opinions on here (mine included)

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/Registration/FeesFormsAndFAQs/FAQs/

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/Registration/NewToVictoria/InterstateVehicleRegistration.htm

As you will see you get 3 months for your licence but not the car reg.

FollowupID: 702454

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:58

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 10:58
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702457

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 11:44

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 11:44
Absolute bull dust.

I am a permanent resident of Queensland and I AM NOT ON ANY ELECTORAL ROLL.

READ what it says.

It says if you move to a state and live there as a resident

Not as a holiday home which if you had one would be a holiday home and you would be a visitor.

I never mentioned nor did any one else mention leasing a house in a different state to what you LIVE in.

The question was about MOVING INTERSTATE and LIVING THERE.

When we asked what defined residency what I said was the answer.

We asked Tasmania the same question and got the same answer If you are living there residency is deemed to occur when you start paying for utilities.

Electoral rolls are a different matter and as far as I am concerned dont apply and never will.

Read the links I provided

FollowupID: 702460

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:23

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:23
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702466

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:38

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:38
You choose to interpret what you want to see.

Read what it says in the Qld RTA reply ITS THE GARAGING ADDRESS.

The topic on the 4wd forum was the same The guy was going to borrow his fathers ute ad go and live in Qld taking it with him.
Thae answer from QLD RTA was once it was garaged at an address in QLD it was required to be registered in QLD.

Dont get mad at me I am repeating what the authorities said that how they interpret residency.

I have been house sitting in NSW since March However I own a house in QLD and have gone back there for a week at a time inside the 3 month period.
I am therefore a visitor.

This has been asked of the authorities several times and the answer is the same in each occasion.

What have you to say about me not being on the Electoral Roll so Im an illegal Queenslander under your flawed assumption.

The only correct answer will be from the people the OP should have asked the question from in the first place THE VIC RTA.

FollowupID: 702470

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 13:35

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 13:35
Graham , it still comes down to interpretation , " garaging Adrress " !!!! ???? NO where on ANY vehicle registration form are you required to give a "garaging address " ........... the one and only that ask for a "garaging address"are the insurance companies to help/try to workout your premium,,,
FollowupID: 702478

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:06

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:06
Who cares, Im over it, you see what you like you usually do.

I repeated what the authorities said and if you see it otherwise good luck to you.

As I said the thread should have not been needed had the OP asked the correct people.

On the rego forms you are required to give your address where you live as far as I know.
I dont care I wonder why I bother sometimes.
FollowupID: 702480

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:26

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:26
Graham, thankyou for your patience.

Alloy c/t, can you please measure your responses, you have had two moderated here, and probably should have more. Your replies seem far too aggressive, and this is not the sort of behaviour we expect here.

Just keep it nice please, by all means disagree if you feel the need, but please refrain from using such aggressive language.

The Squad of Mod
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 702497

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 09:24

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 09:24
If your mother is the legal owner of the vehicle & it is genuinely 'on loan', then it is pefectly legal for her to keep it registered as a NSW vehicle.
As a resident, you will have to obtain a Victorian driving licence within the prescribed period.
If you are concerned about the small town local police, you can overcome their concerns by calling in & explaining the situation & that you are not trying to rort the system.

AnswerID: 431633

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:25

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:25
You are spot on Shaker. The car is the Lawful property of a permanent resident of NSW & therefore is lawfully registered in that state. It is on loan & the registration can be paid for online. Just as I can pay yours & you mine as long as it it paid & current. When the vehicle is sold or is a gift to someone it must be registered in Vic as per the conditions set out in the Vic Roads proceedures & Victorian Road Rules. To prove permanent residence anywhere the Police MUST PROVE BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT that you are living permanately in that state & they can do that in many ways, however the court must be satisfied BRD that is the situation.
FollowupID: 702481

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:30

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:30
You can also get it registered in Vic in her name at your address, she just has to sign that you can register it for her. Same as in NSW.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 702482

Reply By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:34

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 14:34
You do not have to register vehicle in Victoria. It is on loan from your mother & is her property. You are only having a loan of it. When & if stopped by the Police explain the situation they will not issue a penalty Notice for unregistered vehicle. Tell them if you are travelling backwards & fwds to NSW to see mum too. If you have any real worries contact Vic Roads for clarification.
AnswerID: 431655

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 15:35

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 15:35
Hi Stonehenge,

If I were you I would bypass this urinating competition (LOL) and ring the Victorian Dept. which looks after registrations and ask them the facts.

I am sure they will be most helpful and you will then know what you have to do to be legal.

It might be prudent to register it in Mums name in Victoria. It may be cheaper.

Friend of mine (previously lived in NSW) is on the road in their 5th wheeler and has registered it and the tug in Victoria at their friends place because they do not live in NSW any more but live on the road and has decided that the normal garaging address is now in Victoria at thier friends place as that is where all thier mail goes. It is also thier mailing address in other words.

Hope this is of some help.

Regards, Bruce.

PS. I think Graham won the competition. L O L..
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 431659

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 15:55

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 15:55
As I said early on the question should have been asked of VIC RTA and not on here as only they can give a definitive answer.

Incidentally in the other thread I mentioned the answer was and is in the QLD reply I got, that its where its used that matters and not who owns it.

The guy had to register it in QLD if he was going to use it there as per the reply.

The rules for rental cars are of course different..

I wasnt trying to win but when I post a reply from a recognized authority I thought that would be enough.
As well I posted the links for the OP to read as to what VIC RTA say about it.

I wont be on the roll in Qld ever so I guess I shall have to remain an alien and go and live on a roof at Villawood with the rest of them ROFL

FollowupID: 702491

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:47

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:47
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702499

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:51

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 16:51
Please inform me which law I am flagrantly breaking.

FollowupID: 702500

Follow Up By: Me me - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:03

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:03
la la la, this is why we all love EO. The arguments in every single post.
Bring it on!
FollowupID: 702502

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:05

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:05

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702503

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:13

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:13
Shows your complete ignorance and inability to read.

I am none of the derogatry comments you make which shall be reported to Modsquad.

If you read any of my posts fully as you obviously dont or cant because of lack of an eye or whats behind it you would see I have no obligation to fulfil that law.

My pansion is 90% paid for by NZ BECAUSE I AM A NEW ZEALAND CITIZEN and am here by right.
I have no obligation and in fact CANNOT vote in Australia.

FollowupID: 702506

Follow Up By: Me me - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:20

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:20
Alloy, you are a real hero. I think your attack on disabled people is as low as one can go, and you have gone there!
You must be proud of yourself buddy.................Lets hope noone with a disabled family member reads your last comment. you should be banned mate for life!
FollowupID: 702507

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:34

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 17:34
Thats OK have a screen shot to show my lawyer as thats libelous.

FollowupID: 702508

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 18:09

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 18:09
Alloy c/t your comments here are disgraceful and reflect poorly on yourself and sadly on our forum. Please cease to make such comments from this time onwards.

The Squad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 702512

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 10:02

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 10:02
I live in the NT (20 years) however my family live in Victoria. Over the years I have had several vehicles which stay in Victoria and are registered in Victoria. Vic Roads sends the re-registration direct to my address in the NT. If you like you can have them send this bill to your address in Victoria, but under your mothers name. A friend had my trailer in Victoria and as he was using it the re-rego papers went to him (in my name) he just opened it and payed it. It now can be done all on line.
All very easy and I am not sure why so many are getting so upset. It seems some people like to make a simple process complicated

Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 431708

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 12:18

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 12:18
Agreed but the question was how to register a NSW Owned and registered car in Victoria.

If the vehicles you have in any state stay in that state as yours do there is no problem.

Doesnt matter where you are its where the vehicles are that matters.

In this case they are asking how to transfer the rego to Vic from NSW.
FollowupID: 702558

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 09:37

Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 09:37
What I am saying Graham is that the vehicle rego can be changed from NSW into Vic and remain in his mothers name. It is just a matter of getting a roadworthy in Vic (as they will not recognized interstate roadworthys) filling in the paper work signed by his mother. simple.
If he was to change the vehicle into his own name, he would have to pay stamp duty on the "value" of the vehicle as decided by vic roads, whether or not he payed any money for it.
My vehicles were registered in NT and I changed them to vic. I have also done visa-versa.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 702623

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:37

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:37
I realise that and didnt think they were going to change owners As u say do it like that.

FollowupID: 702783

Reply By: Nate1 - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 17:20

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 17:20
Hi there Stonehenge,

I am a NSW Police officer working on the border of Victoria. Unfortunately both in Victoria and NSW where a vehicle is permanently garaged is where the vehicle has to be registered. There is no time frame of 14 days, 3 months etc. It must be done immediately or it is deemed unregistered. The 3 month time frame is for your drivers licence only.

Most coppers including me don't care to much about it. It will become a problem though if you have an accident where you insurance will be void.

Good luck with it and I hope this helps.
AnswerID: 432252