GVM adds up Does yours?

Ever wondered what your GVM really is?.

For years I have travelled loaded (always over loaded I believe but kept my mind shut to it) firstly in various Hilux's and more recently in our LC 79 series TD V8.

I try not to carry too much but always seem to be heavy and so I put her on the weighbridge the other day and got a fright...but in my heart I was expecting it

Standard Landcruiser C/C 4.5 TDV8 + steel tray + bull bar + winch + towbar + fully enclosed aluminium canopy inc. marine ply fit out drawers shelves etc (all empty) + Engel 60L empty + Engel 39L empty + 3 extra batteries + both diesel tanks full + 85L water under floor+ roof solar panels + 2 roof top solar panels + tools, jacks etc.... + 2 spare tyres on rims + compressor + few minor bits & pieces...

BTW I have BOSS air bags fitted that gets her level and the Tunit Chip sends her on her way sweet as

TOTAL 3700kg (including me the driver but no passenger allowed for!)

I still have to add food, clothes, drinks and BBQ plate, billys etc....you know the usual.......she is going to nudge 3.9T I reckon!

I have done several remote trips at this nominal weight oblivious to what I really was and the vehicle and standard suspension has not missed a beat. Ignorance was a blessing and fine by me......nor I am a little concerned......should never have weighed it I reckon!

I am curious how many of you have done the exercise and what do you weigh GVM?............and in my case maybe I need to seriously need to consider a GVM upgrade.....

I have a suspicion that many of us are overloaded in ignorance and have been for years and will continue to remain ignorant ..I think you sleep better not knowing

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:14

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:14
Christ, thats unreal!
What is the gvm of those things?

I know someone who also bought the v8 ute and had the gvm uprgraded 400kgs before he put it on the road.

AnswerID: 431970

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 14:23

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 14:23
Unacceptable language Nutta.

Take it elsewhere.

FollowupID: 702787

Follow Up By: Nutta - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 16:42

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 16:42
Are you serious Gone Bush?

Just for an interest, what part?

Oh, and please reply!
FollowupID: 702794

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 16:49

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 16:49
I don't think it is acceptable to use the "Christ" like you have.

If you used the word "Muhammed" like that some "nutter" would issue a fatwa against you, and in the interests of equality, since we live in a largely Christian country, we should show the same respect.

FollowupID: 702795

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:35

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:35
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702797

Follow Up By: Nutta - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:41

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:41
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702798

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:41

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:41
Guys, Gone Bush has made his point and Nutta you've had a chance to reply. Please dont let this deteriorate into a slanging match. Personal attack posts have been removed. Play nice OK!

The Squad of Mod
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 702808

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:44

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:44
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 702810

Follow Up By: Nutta - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:47

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:47
To be honest I'm having trouble comprehending how it's blown out of proportion, but anyway.
FollowupID: 702811

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:09
3,900 kg on a vehicle with a GVM of 3,300 kg. No wonder you are a little worried. A GVM upgrade to carry your weight would probably incur an extra axle.

FollowupID: 702820

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:06

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:06
Gone bush,
I apologise, I read it wrong and couldn't see anything wrong with the language

FollowupID: 702826

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:04

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:04
Gone bush, most would have missed that, I did, but now everybody is aware.
sometimes it is best to leave sleeping dogs lye.
That's the best thing about us christians we don't get precious about every little thing do we.
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 702842

Reply By: Member - David K (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:26

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:26
Ignorance will not wash if & when you have an accident (you may not even be at fault) & someone is killed, we all know what happens from there. I would hate to loose my house over something like this.
Before leaving on our last trip out west, i had the feeling i would be also over my GVM, & i was over by 50kg but that is not good enough for the insurance company.
I have made my truck as light as practicable & I’m still over, so I’m going to go to a larger truck or pull a trailer.
I think this will be an area that a load of travelers will find them selves in trouble.

AnswerID: 431971

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:39

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:39
Here is my old girls weight.

1989 Troopcarrier, V8 chev diesel, 2nd row of seats, Roller draws, recovery gear and tools. Kaymar rear bar and wheel carrier, 140l rear tank and both tanks full, 40l trailblazer fridge, winch bar, 2nd battery, small tent, 30l water and the missus.

2950 kg. I also don't take anything I don't need and if I take something twice that I don't use (except for tools and recovery gear) it gets removed.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 431973

Reply By: wjh41 - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 14:13

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 14:13
Get rid of the air bags and upgrade the suspesion,I did that to my vehicle, it now handles and rides better than new.

happy travlen Wally
AnswerID: 431974

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:02

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:02
Doesn't change trhe GVM....................

FollowupID: 702803

Reply By: Member Dick (Int) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:11

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:11
Bungarra

That seems too high for what you have described as being in the vehicle.

I have a 2003 HDJ78 Troopy and it has a TJM Front Bar, Ox Hydraulic Winch, Kaymar Rear Bar with Dual Spares, 180lt Aux Tank, 50lt Water Tank, Upgraded TJM suspension to increase GVM to 3,700kg, Polyair's, Sunny Wheels, 3 Aux Battery's, Black Widow Tradie Drawers and Peter Koning Brakes.

I weighed it in June just before a trip and it weighed 3,120kg. At the time it was weighed it had about three quarter fuel in it.

Before the Troopy I had a 2006 HZJ79 with a Steel Tray and Wire Mesh Canopy Canvas Covered, with TJM Front Bar, Electric Winch, Dual Spares on Tray, 50lt Water Tank, Upgraded TJM suspension to increase GVM to 3,700kg, Sunny Wheels, 3 Aux Battery's, and it weighed in at 3,100kg.

I am not familiar with the new V8 but your numbers seem high.

Dick
Dick

AnswerID: 431988

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:39

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:39
Dick

That is a registered weighbridge weight

chhers
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 702807

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:44

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:44
Bungarra

Yes I am sure you would not have quoted it otherwise.Mine was also from a registered weighbridge. Your figure just seems too high for what you say is in the vehicle.

Am sure another V8 79 Series owner will soon reply with some weights.

Gone Bush do you still have any weights from your lovely red V8.

Mick O, any weights before you loaded it up?

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 702815

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:57

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:57
Dick

Not sure why you seem intent to question the weight. I dont have a problem with it as it is perfectly plausible

I listed the main components that immediately came to mind. ...bits and pieces also add up as we all know....... my tools for example are a mechanics smorgasbord of delight.....but they are no use home in the workshop

my post was along the lines to demonstrate to others that sometimes we do weigh more than we realise...........

I have every confidence in that weighbridge weight......a local one I use regularly for loads that are charged for and it is correct
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 702818

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:32

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:32
Bungarra

I think you have misunderstood my comments and I do apologise if you think I was questioning you weight is a hostile manner, it was certainly not my intent to do so.

I probably should not have commented as I do not have a new 79 Series to compare.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 702822

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:37

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:37
Bundarra

Sorry for the typo's. Forget to Spell check.

I meant to say,

I think you have misunderstood my comments and I do apologise if you think I was questioning your weight in a hostile manner, it was certainly not my intent to do so.

I probably should not have commented as I do not have a new 79 Series to compare.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 702823

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:24

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:24
no worries Dick.......just needed you all to know the weight is unfortunately what it is!

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 702835

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:49

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:49
My LC79 V8 tips the scales over 3.5T depending what's in it. I upgraded the suspension to increase the GVM when purchased. I drove the 80 series over the GVM for too long, when given the chace to play safe i did.
Alex
FollowupID: 702938

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:44

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:44
Maybe u should cut back on what u take such as one fridge,2 batteries one rim only take extra tyre,don't now what size panels you have possibly one panel
120 w or so and maybe a bit less marine ply
cheers reggy2
AnswerID: 431998

Reply By: Member - David K (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 21:46

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 21:46
I’ve got a 04 Extra Cab Courier with alloy bar, steel tray no gates, duel battery, side steps & snorkel. With half a tank of fuel & driver, it weighed a touch over 2000kg my GVM 2970kg.

AnswerID: 432003

Reply By: Flynnie - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:10

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 00:10
Your weighbridge weight is perfectly consistent with the load you are carrying. Did a lot of weight calculations before getting my cruiser and after. The killer is probably the alloy canopy plus its fitout and not sacrificing any of the extras.

In my rig I worked out I could not be legal for a CSR trip if I went for winch and steel bull bar. The margin was just too tight and that without a canopy.

You may have left it a bit late to do a GVM upgrade. At least in NSW it must be done before first registration. Of course you can still upgrade the suspension later in NSW but will not change the official GVM. Looks like you are a candidate for adding an extra leaf to the rear suspension.

Suggestions for things to leave behind to lighten the load

One of the fridges
One or two of the extra batteries
One of the jacks
and only take full fuel and water when really needed.

Should shave off about 150 kg without much drama.

At least the cruiser has sufficient structural strength to tolerate the overload. A lot of the lighter vehicles would likely start cracking the chassis.

Another thought on weight saving. If one needs a canopy better to have a custom body built from aluminium. A fair bit of weight can be saved by doing that.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 432009

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:22

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:22
Hi Flynnie

The canopy is a Boston aluminium canopy that was meant to save weight.....but you are right in as much that the fit out of marine ply roller drawers ect they all ad up.

My weight is the worst case scenerio as you correctly said you can shave off some 150 kg quite soon as the GVM fully loaded at the beginning of the trip is soon eroded with one tank of fuel (90kg) and water consumables etc running down after day one

It has been an interesting exercise weighing all items and reassessing the need to carry

either way a GVM upgrade is planned ASAP

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 702834

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 21:51

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 21:51
Hi Flynnie

How are the brakes mate?

From this thread it seems that the Steel Tray is probably the real killer on the new 79 Series. I previously had a 2006 HZJ79 with a tray built for the mines. I think it might have weighed 400kg.

I increased the GVM on the 79 Series and my present 78 Series with a TJM upgrade and had no problem getting it accepted by the RTA in Newcastle. Neither were new. Without the GVM upgrade the vehicles are not really ready for a long remote area trip unless you want to operate overweight. I did not want to do that.

My present Troopy seems much better off than the 79 Series as fully equipped but not loaded with gear it is only 3,120kg with about 200lt fuel on board so with a GVM of 3,700kg I have 580kg available for my gear and myself. More than enough.

I have a fuel capacity of 270lt and if I have to I can add another 100lt in two tanks. I can carry 170lt of water. I never fill the fuel or water to full capacity unless I have to, and I do this at the last stop before going remote.

Dick

Dick

FollowupID: 702869

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 00:14

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 00:14
Bungarra

When I mentioned a custom aluminium body would be lighter I meant using something like a Roscos BA2

Link to BA2 info

By doing it as one custom unit instead of separate tray and canopy some weight saving can be made. This does not suit me, at this time, as I need the tray for other things but I may switch to something like it in future years. If getting one I would have it no wider than the cabin.

Dick

Those brakes! Thanks for the info on Hoppers Stoppers. One day I may get them. I had the brakes rebuilt by the Toyota dealer at Tamworth. It was already booked in for a service. They would not let it leave without the brakes being repaired!

I reckon a lot of steel trays are far too heavy. Some appear to be built with no regard at all for weight. I have a heavy duty steel factory tray and it looks a lot lighter than most of the trays I see around the place. Doing it again I may have gone for a custom tray a bit narrower and perhaps a bit shorter but no heavier.

It is just possible to do long desert trips without overloading. When I prepared for the Canning Stock Route trip this year I allowed for an extra 180 litres of fuel in 9 jerry cans plus 140 litres of water in two Gough 70 litre undertray tanks. About 40 litres of additional water was carried in containers. The vehicle would have been around GVM fully loaded, possibly a bit over. Packing was a bit on the austere side with not much in the way of creature comforts. I did pack a Coleman Hot Water On Demand shower plus a big fridge/freezer with beer and ice cream. Austerity is relative! My current profile photo shows the cruiser near Well 38 sitting pretty level. It would have nearly full water on board in that photo. The jerry cans were emptied the day before when the fuel in them was sold to southbound travellers. Before that the cruiser was a bit tail heavy. My vehicle was one of the more lightly packed ones out there. I was amazed at the gear people would pack on to roof racks and anywhere else it would fit.

After the trip I sorted the gear and found there were a quite a few things that could have been left behind. Put them on my "do not take list" so I won't forget and pack them again "just in case".

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702877

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 02:04

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 02:04
Flynnie

Agree about the loads some people take. It just amazes me to see a roof rack with two or three big space cases strapped on them as one has to assume they have something substantial in them.

I recently removed a full length TJM Steel Roof Rack from the Troopy. It was 85kg and I felt I did not need it that badly. Next thing to go may be the Black Widow drawers. They are lovely units but they weigh about 90kg which is 90kg wasted.

I am looking hard at what else I can eliminate to save weight. There is no doubt that the lighter you can have the vehicle the less chance there is of something breaking. I still carry the high lift jack which is heavy but I figure I may need it one day. I carry one 70L evaCool fridge and only essential clothing and food. I always carry an additional 1 week of food and water stored separately. I am reluctant to reduce the tools and the spares I carry and also the recovery gear.

My aim is to get the weight back to about 3,300kg loaded but without me and the wife.

I have always cooked with Gas but now looking at moving to a dual fuel stove instead to eliminate the gas cylinders when travelling without the camper.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 702878

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 19:52

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 19:52
Dick

Took a new Coleman dual fuel two burner stove with me on the Canning this year. I am very pleased with it. I had my old one burner Coleman dual fuel stove along as backup but it was never used.

Went of lpg gas years ago when I had trouble getting cylinders refilled at holiday time. Also much prefer the certainty of knowing how much fuel you have with you rather than guesstimating LPG.

I only ever use Shellite or Coleman fuel (more or less the same thing) and never petrol. I don't like the smell of petrol and less maintenance issues with using the other fuel.

A dual fuel stove would shave some kilos off the load.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702932

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 07:04

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 07:04
The problem exists for most vehicles set up for remote travel, especially most of the wagons as they quite often only have 500kg's or less to play with especially those at the higher trims levels.
AnswerID: 432011

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:26

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:26
Your not Robinson Crusoe that's for certain :-)

I don't make at GVM when we go on a trip..about 200kg over. Its not easy to change your GVM though.

The manufacturers really need to make a model that has HD Suspension with a realistic GVM.

They have to realize what a lot of people are going to put in them for a trip, so why not make your vehicle comply?

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 432014

Follow Up By: Member - Don M- Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 10:10

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 10:10
How right you are Tony,

I think Toyota has missed the point lately and have had a golden opportunity to stick it up their nearest competitor and put a vehicle on the road with a REALISTIC GVM for the 21st century.

In my case, the LC200 with 3300GVM is nonsensical and the GVM upgrade reduces the GCM by the increase in GVM so, if towing a heavy van, then you have probably just reduced your towing capacity below that of the van ATM...illegal to tow.

Toyota should have made the LC200 with a GVM AND towing capacity of at least 4000kg. The damn thing is big and ugly enough.

It is the reason a lot of people bite the bullet and by an F truck, the latest one can tow up to 20,000lb (+/- 8000kg). Their GVM also means you have a payload of something like 2000kg, evem more if you buy the cab chassis,...so come on Toyota....!!!

I can tell you that, if I had my way, I will be buying a Kedron Top Ender with all the bells and whistles and that will take it above 3500kg and I will then have to get an F truck or Chev Silverado to tow it...just have to convince the Minister for Finance.
FollowupID: 703046

Reply By: Member - Steve M1 (WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 14:43

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 14:43
Hi Bungarra

I have a vehicle similar to yours with a Bosston aluminium canopy on it also. Inside I have a Blackwidow draw, 40L Engel and an extra 85l diesel tank plus 50L water and two spare tyres. I also have got the OME springs and shocks plus airbags. Fully loaded for an extended desert trip I weigh in at 3400kg (without a passenger).

Maybe you have a heavier steel tray under your Bosston canopy, mine is aluminium which I think is about 150kg lighter.

Steve M

AnswerID: 432041

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 15:07

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 15:07
Hi Steve

Thanks for that...from what you say it seems to confirm that a big part of my weight is the steel tray component.......if I take off the 150kg and allow for a few extras I know I have then we are approaching something closer to yours

either way it goes to show you how easy it is to go over the GVM of 3300 as standard
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 702857

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 23:38

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 23:38
Last time I weighbridged my 79series it was 2850kgs without a few essentials like water, food and wife, so a few years back I'd guess it would be loaded at 3200kgs for the average desert trip.

But since then, I've added a second Engel, another battery, a second undertray water tank and a winch. I consider the weight with everything I take, but temptation gets the better of me sometimes....

But your steel tray and canopy fitout would be a fair bit more than mine. It can be hard to get a good compromise between strength and weight. But as you've pointed out the 79series can easily carry more than GVM as long as the weight is well distributed.

phil
AnswerID: 432070

Reply By: David Jje - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 18:29

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 18:29
This may be a silly question so be nice. Do wheel bearings and wheel studs come into play when overloading?. Just wondering what tolerances they have under extreme load. I imagine the bearings would run very hot with possible seizing???? 600kg over gvm would seem extreme. cheers
AnswerID: 432254

Reply By: NikNoff - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:45

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:45
Bit late on this but ......

I had to put our 79 over a registered weigh bridge to enable rego transfer to WA, The ute has a Alloy CSM canopy fitted to chassis, ARB winch bar, Warn 9500 winch, towbar, Driving lights, Black widow 2 drawer system [Empty] & fridge slide [No Fridge], dual battery & invertor & charger system, 80lt water tank [near empty], interior roof console & UHF, rhino bars x 3 & 80w solar panel, dual spare alloy wheels [removed] one full 90lt tank other near empty,

Tare was 2540kg .... i was happy with that
AnswerID: 432363