Grey Nomads Fail to Splash Cash Around

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 09:08
ThreadID: 82247 Views:6287 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
Thought this might be of interest.....

What is the perspective from the travellers themselves?

Grey Nomads fail to splash cash

Cheers, The Landy

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 09:24

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 09:24
The last line is the only relevant one in that piece Landy

"We don't knock them at all, they're a big advantage to this country."

AnswerID: 434835

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 09:33

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 09:33
We stayed in our camper trailer in a caravan park in Healesville in Victoria with the kids this year. Great park with camp kitchen and all.

Walking around the park after tea with my 10 year old son, he asked me "why are all the caravan people inside watching television...???"

AnswerID: 434836

Follow Up By: Member - Don M- Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:01

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:01
Interesting point but the sights of a caravan park are hardly why Grey Nomads are out there. The sights are mostly during the day and outback where hopefully nobody else is.

And. to the point about the spend, we buy our food and drink from the various outlets and generally cook ourselves but we still spend something like $4000 to $5000 a month, a lot on fuel which is really expensive out here. I have spent $9000 in 7 months on fuel alone having travelled some 26,000km so far.

Then in WA (at least NW WA) and NT all the parks charge near enough to $40 a night so yes, we look for free camps when we can. We are retired and lets face it, you can't spend all that money constantly or a self funded retiree will very quickly become a dependent of the State.

FollowupID: 705934

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 13:55

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 13:55
Hullo Don,

there was an article in yesterday's West Australian newspaper about the large number of caravans registered in WA. I suspect the actual number is higher because some of us keep our van rego in other States until at least the first 12 months, mainly if they were first bought and rego'd interstate.

In our travels we spend a fair bit mainly on fresh local produce instead of loading up and carting it around.

The main gripe I have about my home state, WA, is that it does not cater for caravanners. Miserable numbers of Dump Points mainly, but a few small country towns are starting to see the need to provide well appointed rest stops. Still nothing like QLD but it's a start.

FollowupID: 705945

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:21

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:21
Don M, you have summarised it well. We did similar last year. In addition to fuel and food, we also spent on rig servicing and maintenance and entrance fees to various attractions. Our trip cost us a lot more than my sister and bro.i.l. spend on overseas holidays (without considering capital cost of our rig).

As an example, at Longreach Qld we stayed at the Thompson River free camp in preference to staying in town, and with vehicle and caravan brakes servicing, grocery shopping, entrance fees to venues and fuel, we spent over $1,000 in Longreach.

FollowupID: 705952

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:09

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:09
MH,

You have hit the nail on the head.

Free Camps close to towns allow the Travellers to camp for longer periods in the area, which is beneficial to town.

I speak regularly with the owner of the Caravan Park here in Chinchilla (we have 2 free camps within 10kms of town) and he is not in the slightest bit concerned that people are free camping. The free campers may stay one night in his park to do their washing etc but they do spend $$ within the town, which he feels is more beneficial to the local community than him complaining about it.

He has been approached by other Caravan Park owners in the region asking for him to support their cause of getting the free camps banned and he won't :)

FollowupID: 705966

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:22

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:22
Absolutely Kev. We stayed overnight at the Weir, and others we met there who were utilising the power decided to stay an on an extra day or two so they could go out to dinner in the town and patronise businesses (i recall one went to the hair dresser). What a wise CP owner you know; he knows that supporting his community is ultimately more important than short term supporting his pocket.

As anyone in business knows, if you can't get a potential customer through the door, you have no customers. If you can get them through your door, the majority will purchase from you, be it large or small. At that stage it is up to you to market your goods. No use marketing if no-one comes into your shop. Towns that can attract the people to stay overnight, and make it nice so they stay longer, are reaping the benefits.

Mh

FollowupID: 705969

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:40

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:40
MH,

I am hoping he will allow EO Members attending the Chinchilla Melon Festival Gathering in Feb to use his Laundry and Showers Facilities FOC even if attendees free camp :)

FollowupID: 705972

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:03

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:03
That bloke needs to have a look at the traffic on the roads during the season to debunk his theory.

As an avid caravanner and somewhat grey, there is only so much you can carry before you need to stock up.

I think he must have got a bit bitter and twisted over the years. Our first trip around we splashed $45,000 around Aus, most of it in the outback, don't like cities.

Last trip was around $30,000 for the twelve months.

Anyhow we enjoy keeping the outback economy moving for Julia.
AnswerID: 434839

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:52

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 10:52
Food prices are a rip off, vegies and salads are a week old, prepared food is fat, greasy and mostly taste several days old, fuel is contaminated in many places and showers are not worth the camp fee ... we are self contained, have a long range tank, have a freezer and cook ourselves. So we spend very little in country towns, they do not have much to offer for us. We stock up on markets and growers direct on fresh stuff and in the main centers on the rest.

Raise the quality of the service the product and we might change.
Same with all Australian retail. I have a hard time remembering when I bought something local other than food. I get even the sweets from Europe, because they are less than half the price and better quality.

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 434841

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 17:48

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 17:48
gmd_pps,

I hate to state the obvious but maybe you would be more comfortable travelling
in another country.

Even though you spend little in the local communities I'm sure that you don't mind using the facilities that they provide, i.e. public toilets, dump stations, free camp sites and the like.

Maybe it's because people spend little that the services are lacking. No one can
expect to get everything for nothing.

Kev
FollowupID: 705964

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:27

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:27
We do not need people when we travel, and we do not need facilities.
We are here for the space and the weather not the people. If there were no towns in the outback even better. If worse comes to worse I can carry in excess of 800l fuel and can get from main center to center.
Why should I travel somewhere else ? I am an Australian, but that does not mean that I have to like everything and glorify it. Satisfaction is the end of progress.
I do not mind to spend money at all, but I want something in return, and this is were the country is lacking in many ways. If the quality and price is right I have no problem.
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 705977

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 20:39

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 20:39
hate to state the obvious Kev - but is that xenophobia rearing it's ugly head again because somebody dared to criticise? Instead of the usual "bugger off somewhere else" retort, try addressing the issue. I'm all for spendinga few bob in small country towns - it's difficult not to, but gmd does raise some fair points
FollowupID: 705999

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 10:22

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 10:22
Gmd,

I have no response to your tirade.

Steve,

I was not as harsh as 'bugger off somewhere else'. As you can see from the response he is obviously not comfortable travelling in the west with all those people and facilities that are provided, mostly, free of charge because of the dedication of the people.

Kev

FollowupID: 706042

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:17

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:17

Last May early June the Cook and I went out through the Capricorn Hwy from the Gold Coast we went as far as Winton, our plan was to go up to the N T, we had such a good time staying at various towns along the way for at least a couple of days at a time, I recall at Longreach we went to the Stockmens Hall of Fame, the Quantas Museum, and various other Touristy Joints, we ate out every night at the Wool Shed Restaurant and also purchased lots of gifts for the Grand Kids ect, let alone the other towns we stayed at, we hooked up with another couple from Sydney who followed us on the trip, and they went to the same places of interest as we did, our fuel bill was around $3500 and our other expenses were approximately $2700, this was over 2 and a bit weeks,owing to business commitments we had to cut short our trip and return home, now the gist of it all is these towns are set up for the annual migration of Snow Bunnies from the southern states, and the amount of caravans ect you pass is unbelievable, so there must be dollars spent along the way re: CPs / Fuel / and Food ect,

AnswerID: 434843

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:29

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:29
Landy.

It would be interesting to know, how much EO members spent at the last and previous annual get togethers.
Not small change I would suggest.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 434844

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 15:50

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 15:50
I just looked up the records of our WA trip which included the EO Gathering at Wiluna.these are on road expenses only ,dont include any preparation costs permits , inital food /grog /fuel supplies or even a fill up when we get home
50 days - 16 ,500 km
total cost $11500 or $230 per day
fuel-117 /day
accom-43/day
food 38/day
misc-8 /day
tours-only 5 varying from 12 -200
repairs $ 770 not usually something i need to allow for but hitting a tree does that.

over the 5 days we were in wiluna proper
a total of 556 or $111per day
fuel 170, groceries /food-211, accom 140
misc 35

I also compared against a trip to Cape york 2 years ago and very little difference
9000 km -34 days total cost 7755 =ave $ 235 per day
fuel -113 per day
accom-22per day
food/grog-38 per day
misc 12/day
tours 11 tours from $10-700

The big variables are tours and accomm
cape york was camper trailer , WA was roof top tent
we only had a few free nights on cape york trip but nothing more expensive than a van park
the WA trip included 20 free nights on Anne Beadell and Canning but also saw us spend over $1000 on apartments and motels in broome and darwin at an average of $200 per night. 25 out of the 50 nights were cvp or national park camp sites.
the cost of these averaged out at $26 per night

we spent over $1500 on tours in cape york and only $346 in WA

we only undertake a major trip each year but do try to spread our spending around. I often fuel up in one town and stop and restock the groceries/grog in another town on the same day just so everyone gets a little bit.

howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 705949

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:09

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:09
Howard

If other EO members spend is anything like yours in Wiluna, then the local community did o/k.

An other group I am involved with estimated $30-40,000.00 spent by the group in about 5 days of a get together.

Many of the people I speak to on trips are aware of the need to look after the local communities.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 705950

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:13

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:13
Wim,

The donation to the local community from the St George Gathering was above $3k so what everyone spent in the area alone would have amounted to quite a bit of $$

FollowupID: 705967

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:30

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:30
I remember this subject coming up a couple of months ago in this region of QLD.

Our spend is variable and like anyone locals or travellers alike we maximise the value we get. Locals travel to regional cities for "big" or specialist shopping despite the buy local campaigns, so in may ways they are just like grey nomads.

I can relate to some comments in the link above but in some cases you are made welocme and NOT welcome in tother cases and this, like poor service and rip offs determines what the outcome is for locals.

Better to have some camp fees and no grog sales than nothing I would have thought.

We've lived on the road for the last 3years, twice through outback QLD and our spend is $500 per week plus.

I relate a story about a small free camp at Port Gibbon just south of Cowell SA in late 2008. Most of us grey nomads expected to stay in the Cowell van park for 2 nights BUT about 8 vans stayed 11 days at Pt Gibbon and the money spent in Cowell was astronomical,,,, food, fuel (we went inland sightseeing also) fishing bait, boat parts (repairs), chemist, coffee shop and hotel grog/meals, the list goes on. The benefits to Cowell businesses and locals was spread around, ie not just to the van park (no criticism of the van park at all, by the way) and maximised. Service was good and it was a VERY friendly place to be.

Imagine if we all moved on after 2 nights and did all our shopping, fuel and entertaining etc in Pt Lincoln, Whyalla or Pt Augusta?

So its about what the grey nomad experiences at the time and place that matters a lot.
AnswerID: 434845

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:53

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 11:53
Hi Landy

Even though I cannot bring links up at the moment, I can safely assume what it is about. We have had the great privilege of metting many "Grey Nomads" (I've got no hair and a white beard), and they impart to us something much better than cash. We get to sit with them over a cuppa, and listen to their experiences and see some of their photos, cash could never buy that.

As some members here know, I have all the time in the world to help a traveller, and I am always happy to stop for a brew (I don't drink alcohol) and learn about their travels and the interesting experiences they have had. If they come to where I am, I will show them to the camping areas, and explain some of the area to them, and I will not accept any payment for doing that, as it is always so nice to share with others.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 434846

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:23

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:23
Hi Marc

A very good answer of benefits both ways, that cannot be measured in dollars.

FollowupID: 705953

Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 13:01

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 13:01
Allow me to step onto my political soap box for one minute.....

If the government of the day (and this has been the case over several terms of different political parties), paid our retirees a decent pension, then perhaps, just maybe, these grey nomads might have some cash to splash.

Instead, they blow their cash on (long term) unemployed and those entering our great country using less than legal methods.

It seems the people who have contributed to our economic growth and stability by way of working and paying taxes are now the same people who are being denied the right to a golden retirement.

Wake up pollies..... retirees (given a decent pension) would seldom save for a rainy day, in fact, their more likely to live every day as it comes, hence injecting money into rural towns and the tourism industry. Not to mention contributing back into the government slush funds with fuel tax, vehicle registration and stamp duties on 4X4's, caravans, water craft etc.

..... but what do I know? I'm only a 38 year old dumb mechanic who's never studied politics, finance or accounting.

Well, my minute is up......
Fab.
AnswerID: 434850

Follow Up By: travellin - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 14:02

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 14:02
Interesting Fab....Have a look at politics...most polies DON'T have a degree of any sort and i believe that there are no qualified accountants in federal parliment at the moment (apologies if l'm wrong). That means our country is being run by people unqualified for the job. Explains a lot really!

In response to the article referred to in this thread, most fuel stations and caravan park owners employ staff who spend in the local economy. I believe the 'flow on' effect of this type of spending is app $5 for every dollar spent by tourists. Thats a huge amount for any rural community in an era where international travel is growing and domestic tourism shrinking.

Regional business should be grateful for any tourist showing patronage to their establishment, and those spending the money should be entitled to service for their spend.

Conversely, tourist must understand the logistics of getting fresh food and good staff in more remote locations. I've just had to shut a tourism business after 7 years operation as no one wants to work in country areas. Staffing was an absolute nightmare.

I am grateful for every dollar spent in my business; i also had to put try to understand the frustration of patrons when i couldn't open Sundays due to lack of staff. It's a double edged sword, not helped by politicians who know nothing of staffing businesses in regional areas in difficult economic times.
FollowupID: 705947

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 15:44

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 15:44
I hear ya travellin.

A Dealer Principle for the organisation I work for was telling me that he signed 78 group certificates in one year, and only keeps a staff of 20.

Minning is flashing the big bucks which makes it incredibly difficult for any buisness to get and keep staff.

I guess there is no silver bullet to fix this problem, however, I'm still a firm believer in the fact that more needs to be done to encourage tourists (both young and old) to spend their $$$$ here in Australia. The strong Aussie dollar has put our backs up against the wall on that one too.

Now is certainly not the time to illustrate poor service or lack of customer focus. I'm sure our battling businesses already know that though.
FollowupID: 705948

Reply By: Gramps - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:16

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:16
Don't you just love people trying to tell you where and when to spend YOUR money LOL
AnswerID: 434863

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:34

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:34
Yep Gramps. If they aren't getting the traveller's dollars, they need to look at what they are doing wrong. Many Qld towns are attracting the visitors and breathing new life into their towns. The others need to do their research, be innovative and market their attractions. Providing a free or very low cost serviced camp ground is a start to getting the people there and to stay. Carrots not big sticks.

FollowupID: 705955

Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:38

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:38
Exactly Motherhen. They're in a business and they have to make that business attractive to customers. If they don't, they go out of business and someone else reaps the rewards.

FollowupID: 705957

Follow Up By: Imanoone2u - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 07:58

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 07:58
An even better Idea,

Why not get expensive, but very well appointed Caravan Parks with fully, university educated, tourist focused staff and get the local farmers and businesses to sell their product at cost or below.
At least the CP owners would be happy.

.......people will only spend what the have to spare.

Products in country regions is more expensive and that is not because they want it to be... it is because THEY HAVE TO LIVE TOO! Just because they own a farm or a business does not mean they are rich or even well off. they are there because they have an urge to SERVE YOU!
Nomads (and I'm about to be one) don't think twice about spending in excess of $100.000 on a 'rig', but baulk at spending an extra 50c or $1 on a burger or 1/2 KG of tomatoes.

Remember... tomorrow may never be!

Marcel

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, glass of red wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO HOO, what a RIDE!!"

FollowupID: 706031

Reply By: kend88 - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:54

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 16:54
Somewhat disappointing response GMD. If everyone had your attitiude there would be few country towns able to survive and you would not be able to travel this great land, as you do need some of their services sometimes.
The grocery prices are always going to be dearer in the bush due to the freight costs, and obviously many things can't be as fresh.
Seems like you are not all that enamoured with Oz anyway.
KenD
bris
AnswerID: 434871

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:49

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:49
Agree totally kend88 ,,, GMD says love the bush but expects capital city things by the looks of it.

I love the bush and respect the lifestyle and I adapt to suit - that's the Aussie way is it not?????

Too many knockers IMHO.
FollowupID: 705987

Follow Up By: Imanoone2u - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 08:05

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 08:05
GMD doesn't eat anything fresh anyway... according to his post earlier...

"We do not need people when we travel, and we do not need facilities.
We are here for the space and the weather not the people. If there were no towns in the outback even better. If worse comes to worse I can carry in excess of 800l fuel and can get from main center to center."

lets hope he's happy.

Marcel
FollowupID: 706032

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:32

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 18:32
Hi Landy.....
Very interesting to read the comments so far, many cant see it and a few, very few, can see it, i have some very interesting data for some of the "followers" of this but will have to wait until i get home from work, in a nutshell everyone is NOT spending anything like they used to, and that i can understand but to blame high prices, poor service ect in the bush is harsh as when yet another remote shop/park/tourist venture closes down the first to complain are the same ones that complained about the cost of the fuel or vegies were not as good as at home and so on....... and they most probally made there money directlly/indirectly from selling products to those out in the bush ....... what comes around goes around.
AnswerID: 434885

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 01:46

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 01:46
ok home late, will put up some "costs" involved in operating remote locations as a post at a later date, as a really short indicator how would ya like to pay $1-20 (min) PER KILO for freight (wet season fly in rate) ........ 1.25L of coke is about a kilo, add freight to that ....
FollowupID: 706022

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:27

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:27
Landy,
seems strange that they focus on the big ticket items that cost heaps. Forgotten is the loaf of bread, paper and milk that people buy everyday in the small towns, this all adds up as people will maybe buy a magazine in the paper shop or a soft drink.

At least once a week most will buy a meal or have a few drinks at the pub with the locals. I don't carry much in the way of fruit and veg as I find prices aren't all that bad in smaller towns, meat also can be better as the butcher has to answer to a small amount of customers. I wish in Mackay we could get the same quality fruit and veg as you get in the Alice.

As for the comments in the article by Paul from the McKinlay pub, if I ever spend $1 in that pub it would be $1 to much,many of the locals get their grog from the Curry because of his attitude.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 434897

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:51

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2010 at 19:51
Agree Rockape re pub
FollowupID: 705988

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 07:33

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 07:33
It always worries me when I see an article that has been written and researched by someone at a university. I am not knocking these well educated people. A lot of grey nomads have been to university. It is just that a lot of these well educated types tend to lose a sense of reality and common sense. They have generally not actually experienced the actual topics they write research on. I doubt this professor has travelled this great country as a grey nomad type traveller and seen the amount of travellers spending their hard earned money in these towns. I know Katherine is not small town, but boy it is a haven for travellers spending up! The smart towns have that little sign as you drive in, ‘THIS IS RV FRIENDLY TOWN’. Makes all of the difference. So I think this professor needs to get out of his aircon office, buy a camper and head off into this fantastic country and met real people.
AnswerID: 434940

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 10:56

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 10:56
It has been interesting reading the responses to the this article and I am not surprised by the thrust of most of the responses.... And that is most appreciate, support, and enjoy the facilities and services provided throughout country and outback Australia.

Whilst most of us have come across places that could lift their game, I must say as a whole I have always found most places serving ‘outback’ tourists friendly and only too willing to ensure a great experience.....

Perhaps the author of the article needs to ‘get out and about’ more often......

Cheers, The Landy

AnswerID: 434965