telfer mine road - alice springs

Submitted: Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 00:21
ThreadID: 82502 Views:6287 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Hi everyone,

We are planning our 'big trip' from Marble Bar to Alice Springs then onto the Oodnadatta track, Birdsville track to the coast. We will be heading of at the start of April. What is the road quality like? and what Permits are needed. Been searching for a while now, but not having much luck.

If anyone as any advice for travelling along this way (where to camp, things to look at etc...)

Mainly looking for as much information on the Gary Junction road/ Telfer mine road section (Marble Bar to Alice Springs area)

thanks heaps

Hotsocks

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 00:51

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 00:51
Hi Hotsocks

We went from Marble Bar to Alice Springs last year, and i have discussed this, including fuel prices and opening times, a few times recently. Search Gary Junction Road.

Click on the Permits hyperlink in your thread. The NT side is an easy to obtain on line permit, but WA requires at least three weeks, and you have to be fairly specific about your dates of travel.

Good camping at Carawine Gorge, Well 33 on the CSR, Jupiter Well and just about anywhere in the colourful desert. This is camping at its best.

Lots of Len Beadell plaques to look for along the way.

AnswerID: 436016

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 00:56

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 00:56
Hotsocks, check out threads 765824 and 76797 for starters.

Mh

FollowupID: 707227

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 01:04

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 01:04
I just noticed that my current rig pic was taken at our camp near the NT border. This was one of the very best camps of our five month trip.

Mh

FollowupID: 707228

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 04:50

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 04:50
Hotsocks

Roads were fairly good, last year, they get a little rough near the WA/NT Border, but otherwise OK .

Fuel will be no worries, although at Kunawarritji it is over $3.20 a lt.
At Kiwirrkurra it was $2.80 a lt, and at Kintore it was $1.50 a lt.
Plan your run and you will enjoy it.

You can camp basically anywhere along the route

AnswerID: 436019

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 07:20

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 07:20
Here are a couple of slide shows that include the Gary Junction Road.

From 2005....

From 2008.....

We enjoy this route.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 436020

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 07:34

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 07:34
Permits required for both sides of the border, both available on line.
http://www.dia.wa.gov.au/en/Entry-Permits/
http://www.clc.org.au/Permits/permits.html

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 707234

Reply By: Dusty & Bumpy - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 08:44

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 08:44
G'day hot sock3.
We travelled that route this year, August, great drive. Good roads all the way and lots of interesting stuff. Fuel is not a problem as far as fuel stops.

We had to get fuel at Cotton Creek and paid $4 lt, but Marble Bar to AS is no trouble, the communities were good. Be sure to stop at Carrawine (and surrounds) and Jupiters Well. There are many good camps anywhere along that road.

Have fun, cheers, David
AnswerID: 436025

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey J M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 19:52

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 19:52
Travelled from 80 mile beach along the Wapet (Kidson) track to the Gary junction end of June this year, very wet when we did it but do intend to do it in the dry. Cheapest fuel was Kintore, but advised by local police not to stay in town or we would have stuff flogged. Beautifull scenery in places, Jupitor well good camping area. We went through Papunya community toAlice springs.
from Alice to old andado, Mt Dare, dalhousie to Oodnadatta.
The 113km where the Wapet meets the Telfor mine rd to well 33 is like a highway, the Jenkins track to the Gary junction is very good too. In dry conditions the Garry junction would be 2wd.
JJ
AnswerID: 436087