I thought I had seen most things in the desert where I live

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:09
ThreadID: 82548 Views:11692 Replies:39 FollowUps:111
This Thread has been Locked

As the title says, I thought I had seen most everything that can happen in the desert.

Coming home from Kununurra I came across a couple of travellers on the side of the road. They had two flat tyres, so I pulled up. They asked me if I could take them to the nearest "roadhouse", on the Tanami.

I asked them why they didn't just change their wheels with the spares on the roof rack, both their spares were just tyres, no rims or tubes. I said to loosen the wheel nuts, and jack the car up, only to be informed they had no jack or wheel brace. I lent them my small trolley jack and wheel brace.

I went to the back of my car to get my compressor out and heard a scream. The wife/partner screamed when the car started rolling forward. I jumped into the car, put the hand brakes on and put it in gear, then informed the fella that he MUST either chock the wheels, or use the handbrake and put it in gear, to prevent the car from moving.

My wife jumped out and started a fire to make a cuppa, she could see it would take a while. The other lady then asked my wife for some water, so I enquired as to what happened to their water, learning that they buy it at roadhouses when they travel. I felt like commenting but left it alone.

After about 90 minutes I had reparied and inflated both tyres, and got them on the vehicle, and we gave them 20 litres of water, advising them to turn back to Halls Creek and get some proper equipment before getting on the Tanami again. I told them this area can quickly kill someone who is not properly prepared and carrying sufficient equipment and water to make the distance.

I said that I would require some recompense for the time and equipment used, and tool him that $100-00 would suffice. The fella told me that he would put the money in my account, and I gave him my name, BSB and Account number. Against my advice he started driving toward Alice Springs, and some paper coame out the car window. My wife picked up the paper, it was my name an account details. My immediate thought was "mongrel".

We accepted our loss and started driving towards Billiluna, and about 80 m towards Billiluna, the same car, a different tyre punctured. I stopped again, not being able to leave anyone stranded, but this time I told him there will be no help until I take him to Billiluna, and he withdraw the monies to pay me, and my wife stayed with his wife/partner until we returned. This time I talked him through the whole procedure of changing and repairing the tyre, I did nothing the second time.

When finished he informed me that he will be contacting the police about me, because I apparently ripped him off by charging him a total of $350-00 (yes I upped the cost when he tried to rip me off), so I gave him my details and asked him to please tell the police the whole story.

My goodness, I hope there are not too many people like this around, foolish and unskilled for hard country travel. Just thought I would share that. The worst part about it was that it actually happened, another member on EO told me I should share what happened.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:20
Wow Marc, what a story. I can't believe people travel like that, but yes the stories keep rolling in. I don't believe you will be hearing from the Police, and funny how the $100 turned into $350. You didn't pick up on any funny vibes when this was all haqppening? To throw your details out the window while you could still see this happening, sounds suss to me.
AnswerID: 436234

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:19

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:19
Hi Terra Firma

I actually hope they do contact the police, as they will be the ones getting charged for something to do with travelling ill prepared, something like that anyway.

I turned the $100-00 into $350-00, they needed to learn a lesson for trying to takle me for a fool, and I think hip pocket lessons teach well.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 707472

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:26

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:26
Hi Marc

You have to wonder sometimes - but be consoled there are just as many thoughtless uncaring people in Melbourne ready to abuse you , or critize some things that are meaningless in the big picture.

I just try an make a judgement up front and depending on this sometimes go into the strictly minium mode of offering to make a call or take them somewhere.
AnswerID: 436236

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:24

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:24
Hi Robin

Whilst I hear what you are saying, the temperatures are starting to climb now, and we are averaging the high 40's, which means we are going to cop a bad wet soon.

I have become used to people being judgemental here sometimes, water off a ducks back now. I will never leave a person stranded here in the desert, and I am mfoolish enough to trust people at their word unless they show otherwise.

FollowupID: 707475

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:40

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:40
Would have thought that he would have been happy with $100 to start with, would have cost him a hole heap more for a tow job, your obviously a better bloke then me. I wouldnt have left them there either 2nd time round, would have driven them both to town so they were not left on side of road and got my $100 then let them find their own way back to the vehicle, be buggered if I would have helped them 2nd time round after what they did with your details on the bit of paper. I would have offered you the money first so you didnt have to ask for it in the first place. no jack, no wheel brace and most important no water, what fools they were. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 436238

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:37
Hi Steve M

I wouldn't have said they were fools at first, just extremely inexperienced in the true outback travels. Then when they took off the first time I just thought they were mongrels.

Now I realise they just tried to take advantage because they figured they would never see me again. Aint poetic justice just fantastic.

FollowupID: 707507

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:40

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:40
I too have come accross locals along the GCR travelling without inflated spares or tyre changing equipment or water

but unlike you I did not try and turn a buck off the unwary but just stopped, changed their tyre, inflated it and sent them on their way without a mention of "recompense"

sheessh whats the world coming too
AnswerID: 436239

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:50

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:50
There's a big difference between changing two tyre and repairing two of them. What about the cost of consumables, skinned knuckles etc.

If I was the character with the flats I would be offering to pay before being asked.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 707446

Follow Up By: OzTroopie - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:22

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:22
As mentioned above, this was not a simple "change the tyre and on your way". Most people would offer some form of a thank you, be it a carton of beer or some money, $100 is cheap for the work performed. You try and get a cheaper roadside service.

Travelling without water, tyre changing equipment or "inflated spares" - some may say that's a little risky.............. some might call it other things - then again it's your decision and i respect that. Most cars in the city carry tyre changing tools (a jack and wheel brace), let along off the tarmac. Carrying water is just common sense.

Would you expect the emergency services to come and get you if you broke down/ had an unforeseen accident? "I'm stuck on the side of the road with a flat tyre and have no water............ and no tyre changing equipment"
Not exactly a good message to be sending to others out there.

FollowupID: 707449

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:27

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:27
Hi get outmore

Aint it great that we are all different.Well done that you helped the poeple for free, but that I will not do, as we have huge distances of nothing but desert, and if I have to lose time and travel distance because someone else fails to plan properly, then they will pay.

FollowupID: 707477

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:41
HI OzTroopie

Unfortunately it is not the first time I have come across people travelling in similar conditions not prepared, and I doubt it will be the last.

People seem to fail to understand that out here, with the temperatures starting to climb, no water could mean death in a not too many hours.

They didn't have any spare wheels at all, only the actual tyres, no rims or tubes, I could not believe that myself.

FollowupID: 707485

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:45

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:45
Hi Phil

Read your MM.

FollowupID: 707538

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 06:58

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 06:58
I think you are a remarkably patient man Marc. I have in my life spent some time working in WA Lands (further south than you) and seen some really dumb lardheads who should be banned from driving a vehicle outside the city limits. Come to think of it, some of the locals are almost as bad! They tend to rely on the fact that someone will come along and give them a handout.
FollowupID: 707546

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:46

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:46
what a story!!

Did this happen recently? If it did it's warming up that way!!

I don't know how I'd react to witnessing such an event ( I would help ) but I'd give them firm lesson!!

matthew

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 436240

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:30

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:30
Hi Matthew

Yes, it was very recently, and yes it is warming up very fast. High tyre pressures out here frequently blow tubes without a puncture, and the hot roads will quickly increase tyre pressure.

I will never turn my back on a stranded traveller, but I think it is fair and reasonable to ask for recompense, I don't care what anyone says.

FollowupID: 707478

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:46

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 16:46
I once came on a car 60 kms north of Carnarvon that had run out of fuel. It was faced in a north direction so they had left Carnarvon without filling up. It was February and besides no fuel they had no water.
Probably no money either.
AnswerID: 436241

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:38

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:38
Hi Brian

I have never been that far south, so I really cannot comment. Travelling anywhere anytime without water is nothing short of a death wish as far as I am concerned.

FollowupID: 707509

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:02

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:02
hi mark luther b wa
your story does'nt surprise me in the least having lived in the country areas over many years and i have met there type on several occasions and given help with some not even saying thanks and certainly not ever offering payment
it seems those type throw caution to the wind when leaving home
but always expect undivided help when they strike trouble
just be gratefull that he didnt bash your brains out for your trouble

some people are just down right ignorant and selfish in there attitudes
when it comes to there own safety while travelling remote areas

but still expect to helped when in deep bleep what would it have cost him for a recovery vehicle to come from halls creek and help him
a whole lot more than than you charged him no doubt
onya mate
AnswerID: 436243

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:36

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:36
Hi Mazcan

I actually have a car carrier trailer, and have nearly finished making a new stronger one. Picking up a car on the Tanami, and taking it to Alice Springs or Halls Creek is a minimum of a thousand dollars depending on which way it goes. Believe me, that is a lot cheaper than replaing a vehicle worth many thousands of dollars.

You would not believe how appreciative people normally are that their car is returned from very inhospitable areas, and happily pay, usually throwing a carton or something on top, and I don't even drink alcohol.

FollowupID: 707480

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:07

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:07
G/Day Marc

Just as a matter of interest what was their approximate age?, it appears that they were not experienced with the Out Back and being gratefull for your help.

AnswerID: 436244

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:46

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:46
Hi Daza

I would estimate their age to be in their late 20's or early 30's, and their accents were either Canadian or American, not that that is relevant.

FollowupID: 707486

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:27

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:27
I would question that it is not relevent

would you have been so quick to charge them and teach them a lesson if they had been locals?

in my experience they are the worst offenders for tackling remote roads ill prepared (as per my post) and many of them have died for it

you know yourself how many times youve had to help out the locals so please tell me you charged them before saying it didnt matter where they were from
FollowupID: 707532

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:49

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:49
Hi Get Outmore

Just for your information, everytime I have helped a local person out, I have gone and seen them in the next few days and got my fuel costs back, if I have lent them a tyre, I get that back as well.

Please do not make assumptions when you do not know the person. I treat everyone equally, always have and always will. I even made my own son-in-law reimburse me for fuel.

Have a great week

FollowupID: 707539

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 03:23

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 03:23
so youve not only charged them what it cost but whacked on $300 as well?

sorry but none of this sits well with me

if you pull up with the intention of charging people then be up front and let them know

if you go ahead and help them with no mention of cash and they choose not to offer then thats on your head - and their karma
but helping peple and then trying to charge is not on

ive both helped and been helped in remote locations and theirs never been a mention or expectation of money,
I hope i dont come accross someone like you and you sure better not hope I dont come accross you in a time of need or I may change my policy

im ssuming you will be declaring your ill gotten gains in your income statement?
FollowupID: 707543

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 07:24

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 07:24
Hey Get out more you're getting a bit excited and a tad aggressive here.

From all his previous posts and what he has said in many of his responses here Marc doesn't sound like he is hard to get along with ie a rescue service, car transport trailer, advising people when best to visit etc. Granted that we haven't heard the 'rescued' people's side of the story - I would suggest that they weren't exactly being friendly or appreciative.

So without being in Marc's shoes at that very time and experienced what he experienced; how can you pontificate like you have been?

Maybe as you're handle says you should get out more.

FollowupID: 707547

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:59

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:59
HI Get Outmore

THanks for the aggro and the threat, neither of which bother me at all. The "ill gotten gains" as you call them have been used to replace the puncture repair kits, replace the plastic jerry can which held the water that I gave them and failed to get back, and yes, it has been included into my log for inclusion into my tax at the end of the month.

I have checked with the police, and there was nothing illegal about my actions, however, their lack of preparation means they could be charged at any stage. I will of course next time I come across International travellers get on the HF back home, and call out the police and if necessary the SES.

That by the way will probably cost them several thousand dollars, as all costs must be covered if one is not properly prepared for such travel.

FollowupID: 707565

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 12:08

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 12:08
Hi Phil

Thanks for your comments my friend, I guess some people, without knowing all details, need to get on a pedestal and make a stand. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and in all reality throwing some threatening comments around in cyber space is inconsequential.

It was not my in tention to charge them at first, and the reason that I used the word "recompense" was because the initial fee would have covered items used and work done. After the husband/partner threw my details out the window, I got upset, and when I met them again, I told them any further help would really cost. I broke no law and did nothing wrong.

AS I said, everyone has the right to their opinion.

FollowupID: 707566

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:26

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:26
Marc I see no problem with your actions, you just charged them a stupidity fee lol.
Have a good day mate.
FollowupID: 707608

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 17:58

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 17:58
Marc mate good on ya.

Get outmore, i dont know what to say to you. I prefer not to argue with idiots, as they drag you down to there level and beat you with experience everytime.

I hope one day when im stuck on the side of the road with no tools, no water and no brains that Marc come along does it all for me, gives me water and then only expects $100. IN 40 PLUS DEGREE HEAT.

Your a legend Marc. Someone just has a serious grudge by the looks.
FollowupID: 707659

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:36

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:36
Hi Muntoo

I would be there fopr anyone mate, even those who reckon I am wrong, as everyone deserves a chance to survive when they make a mistake.

I cannot a will not accept the legend comment my friend, I am just another man who happens to live in the Great Sandy Desert. The legends are the people like my father-in-law and his forefathers, who survived in this area walking around, the true tribal people, and most of them where I am still have their tracking and hunting skills, and of course their survival knowledge.

To learn from these people, which I have been doing for three decades, is nothing short of a complete privilege. They are the legends.

FollowupID: 707661

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:39

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:39
Hi MadFisher

My apologies for not responding to your comment earlier, in my ignorance I missed it completely. Thanks for the great idea, I will put a "stupidity fee" in my charter when I draw it up, my goodness, I hope that doesn't need to be charged too often.

By now most members know that I am out here, and I am always happy to give an up to the minute road report, weather report, or any information required.

FollowupID: 707662

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:41

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:41
I spend a lot of time in the high country fly fishing, anyway barely a day will go past when I am not asked to pull some idiot out of a bog where they should not have driven. These same idiots never have a snatch strap or even a shovel, and I am sick of wrecking my gear getting them out. In future it will be $50 to cover my wear and tear on snatch straps etc.
FollowupID: 707663

Reply By: OzTroopie - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:13

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:13
Hi Marc,

Good to see there's still people out there who are prepared to stop and help a traveler, even if they are ill prepared, arrogant.

Were these travellers from Aus or overseas?

He's very lucky you didn't simply drive past the second time. You must be a patient man, good to see you made him pay before he had a chance to slip away the second time. As mentioned above, it would have been much more expensive to get a tow out from that area.

I'd hope i'd never have to call on you out that way, with a bit of luck the tools and spares on board could do a fix - but you never know what could happen, and i'd be very grateful to have the assistance, and some money for the help (along with a positive and appreciative attitude) is not unreasonable.

Safe travels,

Nick
AnswerID: 436245

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:51

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:51
Hi Nick

As said above, they were either American or Canadian. I would not have even thought about driving past trhem, not even the second time, as if they had perished, I would hav enever forgiven myself.

We are from this area, and know how quickly people can get into serious problems, even life threatening, because they think their car is so damned good it will get anywhere.

In these areas, a car is only as good as the rubber on the road.

FollowupID: 707488

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:47

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:47
Marc, you are a compassionate man. I would have offered help or to phone for help the first time, as well as tried to persuade them to go back. The second time would have been "I am calling the Police or Garage (your choice) in Halls Creek to arrange assistance". Enough is enough. Surely they must have been from overseas?

Will we hear of a tourist fatality on the Tanami over the next few days? Or will they again prevail on the good nature of those passing by?

AnswerID: 436247

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:55

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:55
Hi MH

There will be no fatality, as I have ensured they turned back to Halls Creek, and I know several cars are going in, who will contact me on HF if they see them.

Please don't ask how I convinced them to turn back, I won't answer.

FollowupID: 707490

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:20
Marc, I can imagine it now. You have given these tourists an adventure to remember (aside from the fact they get to travel home in a plane seat not in a box).

I can see them going home and telling their friends on how they were bravely crossing the vast Australian desert where no vehicle had ventured before, when they were set upon by wild head hunter savages who assaulted them and stole all their money. LOL

(No offence meant to any of the players in this incident)

Mh

FollowupID: 707519

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:48

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:48
Okay MH, it was you who has been reading my mail, and found out that I am really a head hunting savage.

You get the wooden spoon award for stirring.

FollowupID: 707524

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:52

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:52
Hi Marc luther B...yes...we too have been in the similar situations and given help etc and yes they do cost you but most have been grateful and a few....well you know the story....and yes it still surprises me just how little prepared they are...but like you I have tried to turn it into a teaching thing and sometimes it helps.

However it is no excuse not to at least offer some payment even a cold beer or two so I would not have blamed you if you had driven straight past the second time. ( but glad you didn't )
AnswerID: 436248

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:57

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:57
Hi Redbakk

I hear what you are saying, and agree with you whole heartedly.

FollowupID: 707491

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:03

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:03
Hi Mark,
I'm not surprised,I suspect that they could've been locals, and this is how they travel between comunities. Not all, but some.
We always stop and help anyone., some rather cautiously.
We always carry extra water & food for some one who needs it.
We spent an hour trying to get a car going for a scottish bloke once and six calls on the Sat phone to our auto sparky back in Vic.!!!!!! She was good, he didn't even say thank you.
Another lot from Germany was heading down the Canning S.R. because some Jerk told them that was the way to go from top to bottom Aus!
Truely, we agree, what is this world coming too. And going to for that matter.
Good on ya Mark I read soewhere once that you have never really lived until you've helped some one by giving them money, knowing you'l lnever see it again.
We gave someone $ 20 at Marla this yr. he'd apparently lost his wallet, others didn't help but he had a wife & kids and a dog and his fuel card was in his wallet.?
Don't know for sure if we were taken in but they seemed genuine.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
AnswerID: 436251

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:00

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:00
Hi Pa & Ma

Gievn that I live in Mulan Community, I know what you are saying. You may be pleassantly surprised to learn that people now travel with spares and water a lot more. That is mainly because a big ugly mongrel (me) has helped them once and told them they'll be walking the next time.

By the way, I always enjoy your comments.

FollowupID: 707492

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:09

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:09
Marc... A fine from the police for littering would be Karma working at it's best. How dare these so and so's desicrate this great land.

There used to be a bloke down near here at Cape Jervois who'd happily tow stranded 2WD's off the beach and onto the hard stuff for $300 a pop. Total distance travelled....30 metres.

Fab.
AnswerID: 436253

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:11

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:11
Cape Jervis...sorry.
FollowupID: 707462

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:13

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:13
Doh..... actually it was Rapid Bay (near Cape Jervis).
Oh how I long for an "edit" button....
FollowupID: 707463

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:20
Hi Fab 72,
You don't know how much I wish there was an Edit button because what I said to Mark didn't read well at all.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 707473

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:25

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:25
Ma, what ya said was just fine .....
FollowupID: 707476

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:40

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:40
Oh yeah...for that EDIT button....sigh

FollowupID: 707498

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:43

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:43
HI Fab72

You lost me in that talk about littering, but then I must have missed something somewhere. Have a good one.

FollowupID: 707512

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:12

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:12
Marc... "and some paper coame out the car window. My wife picked up the paper, it was my name an account details. My immediate thought was "mongrel". "

Just thought not only was that disrespectful to you, but also to this country. If the guy was so hell bent on trying to "dob" you in to the cops, would have been nice if the cops were to find out about his little habits of litering too.

Sorry if I confused you... my fingers often have a disconnect with my brain.

For the record.... I'd gladly pay $100 to have some bloke sort out my punctures for me. Although, I don't think I'd be in as much of a rush as he was to get going. A cuppa and a chin wag always makes a nice break to a long drive.

You and you wife keep up the good work....don't let this faze you too much.
Fab.
FollowupID: 707515

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:52

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:52
Hi Fab72

I stand corrected, I did not even think about the littering, as I was a little angry that I had been treated in such a way. Most on this forum know what I think about people littering the country, therefore I will not go on further.

FollowupID: 707541

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 14:49

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 14:49
Hi Fred,
Thanks for your reassurance. I had shut down before your reply came through & Marc's too.
I was worried that it sounded like I was saying that the locals treated us in the same way these people had treated him. This wasn't how it was meant to read, because they were most grateful.
Re the Edit button, I've inquired about E.O putting one in, cos what happens to me is that when I'm finished, I run a spell check and re read it before I send it.
As with last night, I sometimes hit the send button instead. Then Puff It's gone & it's not edited.
I also think it would also be a better idea to have the send button on the other side.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 707571

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:27

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:27
Hi Marc,
Thanks for your reply, I'd shut down before your reply came through.
Love old blue on the floor and loved your comment on Politicians.
I believe that there must be a sign somewhere in that big waste of money in Canberra which reads Welcome Pollies. "Egos welcome, Please leave your morals behind.
I looked for it when I was there but couldn't find it! Not even in their cafeteria. Uhmmmmmmm, I wonder.? Toilets? I didn't go there.
Maybe I'm too cynical, Maybe Party politics changes them.?
Marble Bar is rated as the hottest place in Aus. Having lived in the Territory on cattle stations and traveled vastly in the deserts, we would have to agree with you about it being a he refrigerator in comparison. May be because it stays hot for the longest time there is the reason for the title.
Please note my reply to Fred, I didn't mean that the locals has been rude to us, they were very grateful, but it seemed as though I did. I hit the wrong button and Puff it was on the Forum and no way to change it.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 707576

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 18:41

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 18:41
Hi Pa & Ma

It was very onviously that your comment was not madee in the negative sense, so I didn't respond.

Yes, Marble Bar may well be the hottest place in Australia continuously, but there are many places that get hotter out in the desert. We had 5 days last year where it was over 45 deg, and one day when it was 49.8.

This week we have had three days over 44 deg, but we are not officially on the BOM weather scene. On the other side of the scale we have had rain where you could not drivce because you could not see more than 10 metres in front of you.

In 2000 the military flew a Caribou of food and supplies in after Cyclone Rosita hit Broome, as we were flooded in for almost a month from the rain. I believe that was on the news, but we had no tv or telephone because of the water.

Thyankyou for the comment on my blue doing what he does best these days, as he is 14 years old and has arthritic hips, but he worked for years and now is my best mate, which he always was anyway.

FollowupID: 707591

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:36

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:36
Yes Marc, we had to put 2 of our dogs to sleep because they couldn't walk anymore for the same reason. They were both older than Blue & they too were our best friends. Cried & cried.
Yes we know all about the rain Marc. For the 2nd time we were on holz trying to travel the Sandy blight Junction track. Kintore road was already closed but whilst waiting in The Alice they had a fall of 44mm overnight.
We hightailed it for the Davenport Ranges. A magic place. Third time lucky next yr. We hope.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 707601

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:14

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:14
Hi Pa & Ma

If you decide to try again, let me know. I have a brother, three nieces and two nephews living in Kiwirrkurra, just down the road from Kintore, and they could let m,e know what local conditions are like any time I contact them.

FollowupID: 707606

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 21:07

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 21:07
Hi yet again Marc.
Thanks for that, that would be truly appreciated. It's been great speaking with you. I will certainly keep all of your contacts.
Hubby said to tell you about a sling we made for our dogs. to help us help them to walk.
Sadly though, in truth, it was us inflicting more suff ering on them because we just couldn't face loosing them.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 707611

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 17:23

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 17:23
RE the edit button.....
click the "preview" button before you click "submit" on your post. Re-read your post and if you need to change it, you have edit controls there. When its ok, then click "submit".
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 707658

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:34

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:34
Shame there are the few out there that ruin it for everyone else.....sound familar.
We came across a vehicle out the back of Kununurra with one flat tyre on the vehicle, one flat off the vehicle and a flat spare.I plugged all their tyres, fitted them and adjusted their tyre pressures.When finished they asked how much do we we you.I said give us $20 for the plugs.They refused and asked where we were staying in Kununurra.I told them and never gave it another thought.A couple of days later they called into our camp with 3 cartons of soft drink, bags of lollies for the kids and 2 lotto tickets.Some people deserve a good wrap, some dont.
AnswerID: 436254

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:34

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:34
HI Nick

Really great to hear that the people appreciated your time and help. Good on you my friend.

FollowupID: 707505

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:41

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:41
I think you are very tolerant with this type of person - however if you want money for your time, effort and equipment (and I would) this needs to be discussed and agreed before the work is done.

To help and then ask for payment is not maybe the best way to do it. Many people will gladly accept help but if they know they have to pay then they decline.

Their choice.

Garry
AnswerID: 436255

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:33

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:33
Good comment Garry.....many times I have helped by freely giving some spare fuel, time, water etc, and not wanting any payment other than the feeling of having helped a traveller in need.. (there but for the grace of God go I ) ..but woe betide the S O A B who has a lend of me and got under my guard....They don't get a second chance without massive pain :-))))
FollowupID: 707479

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:37

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:37
Hi GarryCol

Whilst I hear what you are saying, and perhaps I should have negotiated first, I do not understand why I should.

I was the one working in the stinking hot sun whilst they sat in the shade, I used all my own tools and equipment to do the repairs and refitting of the tyres.

Out here in the Great Sandy Desert I will help anyone. There have been times when I have met senior citizens in trouble, and I have refused payment from them, but preferred to listen to some of their tavel stories over a cuppa.

What the heck, we are all different and approach things differently. Common sense should prevail and people should prepare properly for this area.

FollowupID: 707496

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:13

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 19:13
Can you tell the forum a bit more about these people?????? where did they come from etc ???? what sort of vehicle etc ????? how old were they ???? nationality ????? did they enjoy their cuppa :-)) ????? did you inform the authorities of the disaster-in-waiting down the Tanami etc ????

Marc, you certainly get your bit of drama out there, we haven't had an on the spot correspondent from there before, so you're doing a sensational job mate, keep it up, aye.
AnswerID: 436258

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:05

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:05
Hi Fred

Firstly, they did not get a cuppa, that was for me and the wife. Secondly there was no disaster in waiting, I know they turned back.. The vehicle was a 2009 GXL, and the rest of the answers are in my other responses. I don't understand the relevance though.

FollowupID: 707493

Reply By: DBN05 tas - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:28

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:28
Hi Marc

yes there are people like that we meet them all the time, and they are never from overseas. the overseas group that do the harder trips ie csr the cape etc are well prepared and know what they are doing, the backers that a different story. the 4x4er's for the want of a better word are not far behind the b/packer, Two days ago i rang S.A. for an aboriginal land permit, had been told by mate i would have little to no hope of getting it but i rang anyway. spoke to a lady who was most helpfull and she said sorry but no go, my reply was no probs just asking and it's their land and they do have the right to close their land, this reply took her back said i have been working her for about 6/7 years and i was the FIRST person to say something like that she normally gets abused or they get upset and rave on bout it's their right to go wherever they like. So out there there are those people that think me me me and any left over its me.
Marc our group will talk to you about our trip around march/april next year when we do the CSR. we will travelling south to north.

that my two bobs worth and i stand by it
I NEVER get lost, but don't i see a lot of NEW places.

AnswerID: 436262

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:40

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:40
Hi DBN05

Please contact me before you travel at that time of the year, as it can be when we get our heaviest rains, and you would not get through the north end of the CSR.

Safe travels

FollowupID: 707499

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:48

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 20:48
I know what you mean Marc Luther B, We were up at Mt Baw Baw in Vic a few years ago in quite deep snow. We came across a reporter from Melbourne in a sedan with no chains nose first into the bank. He wanted to get some photos for an article he was writing on the snow coverage at Baw Baw. We towed him out and explained the area he was in is not used by people a lot mainly just hunters and he could've benn there a long time. Without the right gear he should turn around and head back down the mountain.
2 hours later we came across him again 400 mtrs further up the mountain back in the bank agian. He asked if we could pull him out again.
My mate replied sure but this time it will cost you $50. Get stuffed he replied. Ok we said and started to get back in the car. Ok he said I'll pay. That's fine but it's $100 now my mate says. His eyes bulged and before he said anything my mate said shut up or it's $500.
He handed over the $100 and we pulled him out. He was warned if he continued we would not stop again.
Some people just don't learn unless it hurts thier pocket.
Good on you for helping and I think the cost was fair. Hell of a lot cheaper than a funeral.

Josh
AnswerID: 436264

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:24

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:24
Hi Josh

Yes, there are most assuredly some flaming clowns around. You are also very right, some people do not learn unless it hurts their pocket.

Have a good one

FollowupID: 707503

Reply By: Member - Russler - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:03

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:03
Hi Marc,

That's an incredible story. Good onya for doing the right thing and stopping and helping. I certainly wouldn't want to read about a couple of tourists that'd passed away, knowing I'd driven past and said 'stuff ya'. Some would argue about Darwin's theory of evolution about here :)

Ignorance mixed with arrogance is a pretty hard blend to handle, but society seems to have depreciated compassion toward our fellow humans. I don't get it, and would have stopped to help. Mind you, I'd have certainly rolled my eyes up as we pulled over for the second time though, shrugging my shoulders, thinking 'not these idiots again'. Some of us are here to help though.
AnswerID: 436265

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:33

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 21:33
Hi Russler

No comment about Darwins theory of Evolution, some people reckon that one as big and ugly as me shouldn't be, but that's okay, the wife loves m,e and I couldn't give a damn about the others.

Unfortunately too many people do not realise how totally dangerous the desert can be when the heat starts building up, we have been known to make Marble Bar (the "hottest" place in Australia) look like a refridgerator now and then, fortunately very rarely though.

As you say, some of us are here to help. A couple of us have unofficially started the Desrt Rescue Squad, but we have not sought any funding, and we use our own vehicles. I guess we are lucky as we know all the back tracks, side tracks and bad places, so we can literally get to anyone in trouble. People do not realise that a rescue can cost us heaps of money in fuel, time and equipment, sometimes upwards of $2000-00 for the last one on the CSR, and when we showed the person what it cost us to get his vehicle out of the CSR, he immediately gave us a cheque (honoured) and also bought uis some spare equipment.

He realised that another full day and he, and his family, may have perished.

I guess these days I have to be polically correct and negotiate first.

PS I always thought politically correct meant when a politician told the truth, and that rarely happens.

FollowupID: 707504

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:04

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:04
The easiest way to remember a politician is to know when they are telling lies.

Whenever their mouths are open.

FollowupID: 707514

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:25

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:25
Hi Graham

I think you mean that you know a politician is telling fibs, because their lips are moving.

FollowupID: 707531

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:11

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:11
Hi Marc, totally agree with you. full backing. with over 20 years in customer service, i have met a very wide range of people. Face to face, over the phone and via email.

We as humans have our flaws, stupidity and other such moments. If that had of being me, i would have done the same thing, to the letter. Maybe a little bit more forceful!!! i don't know how i do it but i can growl at people really well.

Good on you for charging those people, for time and effort, plus materials. You don't realise that you need something till your out in the sticks somewhere with nothing. Everything costs!!! people forget that, it costs time, money and effort to get the plugs, to fix the tyres, to get the compressor, to get the water, to get the tools required. it doesnt grow on trees and you can't just wish it there.

As i have being a member for the last 3 years, i have read nearly all of the posts in that time, i have a box with random usefull bits and piece's in it. On our moreton island camping trip, My BIL asked if we had this and if we had that, or said wish we had that, out of all the things he asked for i furnished him with 8 out of 10 items.

So moral of above story is be kind to fellow travellers and don't expect anything for free, but be willing to part with some compensation without selfishness.

If i am out that way will look you up and have a can of coek or too, i have since had a gall stone attack and on a restricted diet, no fat and no booze. arrrggggghhhhhh.

oh well all for the better

AnswerID: 436270

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:45

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:45
Hi Christopher

Agree with all that you say, even though I have never been in Customer Service (whatever that is).

I do not drink alcohol because I am a diabetic, and only drin k Coke Zero when I want a soft drink, but prefer water, boiled with a bit of coffee or tea.

FollowupID: 707523

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 22:05

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 22:05
I can't drink alchol either due to gall stones. and i probaly won't be allowed to drink that much when they are out!

Will keep that in mind.

Thatnk you for the tips and advise.
FollowupID: 707616

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:13

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:13
Well at least we know we will be in good hands one day when we finally travel the Tanami, you look after travellers well Marc.
Coming across the French line heading to the Birdsville races in 98 we came across three retired truckies in their 80 towing a box trailer with a bent draw bar. Trailer was dumb but my husband and his mate still helped. They used a bit of bush mechanics and we towed them over and over the dunes even had our both vehicles pulling at times. It took us an extra day to cross. It was good for the blokes in the end with egos at full mast lets say they cant remember much of the races as they spent their time in the pub with out paying for anything.
On the other hand once over Fraser Is up past Indian head we came across a flash 4by towing at the time a top of the range camper wind up ones. They were stuck to the running boards and the tide was approaching fast. I think there was four vehicles in our group. The boys got out and physically unhooked the fully loaded camper turned it around pulled their car out then hooked the whole lot up including a couple of our cars to get them out. The boys saved their gear and got one beer each for their efforts and they took off embarrassed I think.
Would prefer to be helping than to be helped, Murphy's Law and calma can bite.
AnswerID: 436271

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:42

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 22:42
HI Old Girl

I very much doubt that the recent couple would agree with your comments about me looking after travellers well, but there you go.

FollowupID: 707521

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 23:23

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 23:23
Hi Marc Luther B

I fully support what you have done and how you have done it. I think it is the Australian way to help people in need and I think most people would be more than grateful and more than willing to compensate their rescuer.

I am disappointed there are people out there traveling ill prepared and even worse with shocking manners when they are rescued.

As many here I too have came to the aid of stranded travelers. Once an aboriginal couple out of fuel just out of Wiluna (1998). Luckily I had some unleaded and enough to get them into Wiluna. They followed me into town and refilled my jerry can.

Another time a bloke and an aboriginal elder (female) coming back from a big funeral in the kimberleys had run out of fuel between Halls creek and Kununurra (2005). This time I was coming from Darwin and had my boat in tow so had unleaded to offer them and while they had little money they gave me all they had as some payment for the fuel.

These are not too bad as travelers as they where on main roads and just misjudged the fuel.

The worst one was traveling through Arnhemland (1999) and at a crossing for a rather deep flowing river I had just restarted a holden ute that was having mechanical trouble when a suzuki pulled up to cross. I offered to have him hook onto the back of the cruiser and get towed across but he thought he could make it. Not a chance. Half way and he floated to the surface moved down stream and then sunk. Lucky they have large boulders in the water to stop cars going too far.

I then towed him out. He had not tow rope, no tools, 1 spare that was flat, no food or water and hoping to the 700km crossing of Arhhemland in one day after leaving Darwin (extra 600km) early that morning.

We managed to get the water out of his pistons and dewater the electrics, empty the airfilter box of water. All his gear was wet and his 12stacker CD player did not work anymore but we got him going again. He just took off.

We came apon him later that day at another crossing where his tyre was flat. He assured us it was just a slow leak so we pumped it up and he was on his way again.

We did not find him again but at his speed he could have slipped off into the thick bush - I hope not.

Sad that people do travel in Australian outback unprepared but I suppose we will just have to keep rescuing them.

AnswerID: 436274

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 23:39

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 23:39
Hi David

I have realised from what happened this time that thiskind of thing is still happening all over the place too often, and that is really bad.

With the Internet and all the really good information available, people are still travelling without correct preparation. I have taught all my kds and grandkids the same thing, if your are not sure of something, simply ask. Better to look foolish than be foolish, and a smart person is never afraid to seek knowledge whenever they can.

Good on you for helping the people.

FollowupID: 707530

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:41

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 00:41
What a story Marc

Love it. What goes around comes around....

Bad luck people can't be jailed for stupidy.

AnswerID: 436277

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:43

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 01:43
Hi JDWynn

Actually it is not a story, it happened, and yes, they were not the most sensible travellers that I had ever met.

I do not understand your comment "What goes around comes around.....", is there any chyance you could explain that in the context of what I have written.

FollowupID: 707537

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 06:49

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 06:49
Hi Marc, closest to a definition I could find was "What goes around comes around" means that if a person does something bad something bad will happen to him". I also think of it like that other saying "you reap what you sow" which means everything that happens to you is a result of your own actions. Cheers
FollowupID: 707545

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 12:14

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 12:14
HI JDWynn

I understand now, and if it ever comes the time that I need help, I will happily offer to pay for such assistance. I carry a satellite phone, 2 x UHF and HF radio, so I am normally okay.

FollowupID: 707567

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 04:12

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 04:12
Good on you Marc for helping these people - you are one of natures gentlemen. I don't think you will be hearing from the police, I expect that the mongrels would get scant sympathy from most outback coppers.

I think the karma fairy must have given them the second flat just so that you had the opportunity to speak to them again..

Pete
AnswerID: 436279

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:42

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:42
Hi Pete

I don't believe in any fairies, but I do beliueve in fate. The way they drive and the speed they drive at, fate has it that they will be seeking heaps more help if they are going to travel unsealed roads.

FollowupID: 707561

Reply By: Wokwon - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 08:26

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 08:26
They didn't learn the lesson the first time, hopefully they learnt it the second time.

Marc, you went above and beyond for them.

The sad thing is that when they recount that story back in their home country they will twist it to make them look like the victims.
AnswerID: 436285

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:51

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:51
Hi Wokwon

I guess in all honesty they were the victims in this story. Victims of their own stupidity, travelling in an area that could be fatal and not prepared, nothing else.

FollowupID: 707564

Reply By: Geobserver - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 08:46

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 08:46
It is great that you helped these people out... BUT... I'm with 'get outmore' on this issue. Charging them after the fact does not sit well with me and is almost unAustralian. This is exactly the type of rip-off Aussies whinge about when it happen to them overseas. Reagrdless of how stupid the people may seem, take the satisfaction yourself of the good deed - or don't do it in the first place!
AnswerID: 436286

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:49

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 11:49
Hi Geobserver

The wife and I counted, from our log book and diary, how many people we assisted during tourist/traveller season this year. 27 vehicles of various sorts we pulled over and assisted in some way or another, 11 of them ended up paying, only one we had to ask. The remainder were decent people who had minor problems, most simply did not have a multi-meter to locate a small problem.

This time the bloke sat in the shade whilst I worked, as he had no idea what he was doing. With the temperatures in the 40's it was not the most pleasant thing to do.

If you are ever brken down out here, and you notice the EO sticker on my vehicle, do us both a favour and tell me you don't ned help, and I will leave you sort out your own problems, not a worry.

Safe driving

Marc

FollowupID: 707562

Reply By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 13:59

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 13:59
Hi marc
After reading through this huge article, I can only say to you and your family & friends Thank You, as there could have been numerous fatalities, not only in your region but any remote area this year, if not for people like yoursef.
Having travelled most of WA I have had the opportunity to help fellow travellers faced with roadside problems, but not to the level of this instance, and always been thanked by these people and felt good about it.
As for "fees charged for services & parts" I would have been only too happy to fork it over and learn't a valuable lesson.
These people obviously think they already know everything, and are above all other's.
As for the second fee well why not?
As for get outmore and Geobserver's comment's well maybe they should think about going down the local servo and fill up the car and then argue the toss about the cost, there is afterall some thing's you can't argue about, and this case is one of them.
We will be travelling the CSR mid next year and will make the effort to catch up you.

AnswerID: 436301

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:19

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:19
Hi Paul

I would be most pleased to meet with you when you come this way. Some members have already met me, and as they know I am very hard to miss. I have no hair on top, a long grey beard, about 190cm and about 145 kg. I have many, many tattoos (from Army days), and always happy to sit and have a cuppa.

I would suggest one thing to think about if you are going to hit the CSR, allow for sufficient fuel, and add 10% more fuel (just in case), as the fuel costs out this way are very high. You can get water from some of the bores, but I tell everyone to boil it first, allow it to cool, then pour into another container and leave the bottom 10 - 15% and throw it away, that way you will have clean water. (Which you probably knew anyway).

I do not concernm myself with judgemental and threatening comments, everyone is entitled to their opinion, goodness if we were all the same, it would be a boring world.

Incidentally, the second "fee" was because they tried to make a fool of me and tried to not recompense me for materials and time, such is life.

FollowupID: 707573

Follow Up By: Geobserver - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:55

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:55
Whoa there big fella!! Judgemental comments yes, but threatening comments??? I don't think so.

Maybe we will meet out there one day... then we can retire to the nearest roadhouse and discuss over a cup of tea as I don't carry too much cash.

Over and out.
FollowupID: 707579

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:35

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:35
Geobserver

I have absolutely no recollection of mentioning your name in that comment. It wasnot you who made such comments and they do not bother me anyway.

The nearest roadhouse to me is 340 km to Halls Creek or 305 klm to Rabbit Flats, so I do not think that will happen. If we do meet, I would be happy to pay for the cuppa.

Have a good day

FollowupID: 707583

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:54

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:54
Good on you Marc
I do not have any problems charging to help idiots.
Most times when I help folks out, I say when you do the same for someone else I will be repaid.
There are exceptions of course like the guy that would suddenly be low on oil outside the gate, 3 times was a bit much, or the people that run out of fuel and say Oh we refill the container and drop it off, container and fuel gone.
Some people don't even say thanks.
A family from Sydney travelling on the Southern Scenic Route had got into trouble, when I came along the car was teetering on the bank of the Mataura River, not quite in flood but getting close.
When I pulled up the 3 kids in the back were about to get out, the parents in the front couldn't because if they did they would have dropped into 4 to 6 metres of water, I roared at the kids to stay put until I get an anchor on. being a rental there was no tow bar so I had to put the strop round a spring hanger, not a very nice feeling as the car would rock with any movement, got the old F100 hooked up and pulled the car back out, kids, Mother in tears and the Dad unable to make sense.
Suggested they should drove slowly up the road to check for damage, by the time I got my gear tidied away they were gone, I did not have a hope of catching them.
I suppose to them a change of under wear was more important than saying THANK YOU.
AnswerID: 436304

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:41

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:41
Hi Russnic

How are things in the land of the long white clouds. You definitely have a different landscape to me, and I do not think I would know what to do in country like yours, but it sounds like glorious countryside.

Good to hear there are likeminded people around, and if you ever head to Australia and hit the Kimberleys, I would happily share a yarn and a cuppa.

FollowupID: 707584

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:59

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:59
Marc

Bloody hell mate, some people are just so intelectually constipated..

Makes me wonder why there is not a gate, or a gate keeper, at either end of desert roads, just to turn back the "nuff nuffs"....
Then if we done that, the "nuff nuffs" , would be the first to whinge..

Dammed if you do ... Dammed if you don't

Think I would still help them, just to see who can top the list of stupidity,

Do you think it is natures way od getting rid of these people, ??

Cheers Mate

AnswerID: 436322

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:29
Hi Bucky

I reckon that foolish people exist to allow the rest of us see what not to do, and hopefully learn from it. Fortunately these days they do not perish as there is enough radio contact and chatter between the communities to know who is out there on the CSR or Tanami, and fools like me who will go out and help.

As Ned Kelly said "Such is life"

FollowupID: 707626

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 21:04

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 21:04
If you break down in the Simpson there are recovery services from Mt Dare and Birdsville.Expensive Yes but if you want your 4x4 safe you pay
I would think anyone offering similar service to travellers of the CSR would be appreciated
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 436323

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:24

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:24
There is a recovery service from Halls Creek. Talked to the driver this year while he was on the way to a recovery at the northern end of the CSR. Recoveries there are very expensive, as in incredibly expensive. Comes a point which is not very far down the CSR the vehicles are not worth recovering commercially and are written off. Some people seem to underestimate the costs of a full on recovery operation. If they knew just how expensive it can get maybe they would not do things like the travellers Marc has been telling us about.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 707625

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:34

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:34
Hi Mary

As Flynnie has said, there is a recovery service from Halls Creek, we are not official yet, as we do not have enough work to justify setting up a business, and then it would involve all sorts of inspections and the like.

My car carrier just went over the pits in Kununurra and passed no problems, but now I am building a much stronger one, though I will most likly use the one I have, as it is capable of also carryiong extra equipment in all its toolboixes and the like. I will eventually put a photo in my blog, just a matter of getting the time.

FollowupID: 707627

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:37

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:37
Hi Flynnie

You are right my friend, and they charge from Halls Creek out to the CSR or Tanami and back. WE are already close to both tracks, and will be soon trying to register officially.

I would only be prepared to go about half way down the CSR, or anywhere on the Tanami to recover a vehicle, and obviously it would not be cheap. I have done three cars to date, and declared them to Mr Taxman. That actually cost me nearly two grand for each car to transport them, so I lost money doing it, but learnt my lesson doing that.

FollowupID: 707628

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 00:15

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 00:15
Marc

Even on the Simpson it can be two recovery vehicles and their crews for several days. Costs would sure add up pretty quickly.

People helping travellers out can suffer heavy costs. One traveller I had a few beers with at Birdsville Pub had burnt out his clutch helping someone out. Cost him a week which meant he missed a week's work and some important engagements. He was not very happy that night. The person helping out is risking his vehicle and gear and sometimes risks injury as well to help out someone he does not know and will probably never see again.

Good luck with registering. If I am out that way again I hope to see you in action doing a recovery but on someone else's vehicle not mine. :)

Flynnie
FollowupID: 707633

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 10:14

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 10:14
Hi Flynnie

We use two vehicles as well for actual recoveries. My hilux is normally driven by my son in law, which has an extensive range of tools and the like, and room for passengers if they are stuck, which they would be.

The other vehicle I drive which pulls the car carrier, carries 2 x 200 litre drums of fuel, 200 litres of water, a generator and many other accessories. We have invested quite a large sum over the last 2 years,and on many occasions have not requested anything in return, but people do frequently offer replacement costs.

I have refused payment from some grey nomads, as I could see they were battling, and I get payment from sharing a cuppa, looking through some travel photos and learning about other places, so I am not such a hard mongrel after all, only when I choose to be.

FollowupID: 707641

Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:21

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:21
Marc,

I wonder, out of the 27 that was stranded this season what would they have done if you were not around.... Maybe someone else might have helped them, maybe not. We will never know. Why? Because you were there to help them. let them get someone out of Halls Creek or Alice Springs and see what it costs them. I believe in what you are doing is a fantastic thing. Having worked in the Pilbara and Kimberley for the last 14 years I understand the conditions. It is totaly different living in the area than just touring through it. I cant understand how people can have negative comments about your services that dont live in the area, if they did maybe their thoughts would be different. But like you said each to their own,everyone is entitled to their opinion. I still believe education is a must for these areas, for tourists and some locals as you stated. keep up the good work and who knows maybe one day we might catch up for a cuppa. But not broken down I hope....
Simon.
AnswerID: 436331

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:50

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:50
Hi Skmaint

I can tell you that a car recovery from Halls Creek to the NT border, through the current operator, is about $3500-00, from Alice Springs to the WA border is about $4500-00, and both services incorporate any and all distances.

That is not a price that I would even consider, we live out here at Mulan, about 300km out of Halls Creek, and we do not have to travel so far to recover a vehicle. I have already spoken with the others, and they would much prefer to stay on the bitumen to rfecover vehciles, and they get enough work doing that.

As you rightly point out, people that do not live out here have no real grasp of how dangerous this area can be. Without water one starts hallucinating after about 3 hours, and we have seen people trying to drink hot sand. Then when you give them water they try to gulp it, and that can be just as fatal. We always carry sponges, and let them have a moist sponge (not wet) to gradually rehydrate their mouth and lips first, thyen slowly allow them, small amounts of water, and believe me, it can be a fight to stop them when they are so dry.

Some years ago two of my family members were awarded for saving a lady on the CSR. AN elderly lady with an organised tour, suffering mild dementia, had walked away from the tour group. The fixed wing and land craft could not find her. Two trackers from my family were taken out there by the Balgo Police, and they located her within about 3 hours, used sponges and brought her back in. Fortunately she had collapsed under a small tree, that bit of shade kept her alive.

This area can kill quickly to those not fully prepared.

FollowupID: 707630

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:52

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 23:52
If you offer to help and say it'll cost x bucks, and they agree, it's a contract.

If you offer to help and they say yes please, and then you hit them for x bucks afterwards it's not a contract. They might reasonably think it's a sting.

The terms should be clear upfront.
AnswerID: 436333

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 00:00

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 00:00
Hi Sigmund

What happens if they ask for the help then, as that is what happened. I did say that I carry my satellite phone, and if they didn't want my help, I could have called for assistance for them. That is probably what I will do in future with International travellers.

I have never and would never sting someone, and I doubt you will find anyone in the bush that would. I charged them extra because of how foolish and obnoxious they were, and for trying to burn me the first time.

Either way you are entitled to your opinion and I fully respect that.

FollowupID: 707632

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 03:51

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 03:51
I would just like to clear something up

while I usuall help for free, I see nothing wrong with charging if the helper feels the need in the situation

BUT

I firmly believe this should be stated BEORE helping

it could be formal such as teling them how much you want to fix 2 tyres

or informal such as yea Ill pull you out but if the strap busts it will cost $80 to replace

while many people otherwise will offer money, without a request before hand its certainly not expected

- its up to karma (for them) and your learning

if they know how much you intend to charge them then its up to them to either accept or decline (in the case of a decline a lift not out of your way, some water or a phone call when you get back would be a minimum if they request)
AnswerID: 436334

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 09:52

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 09:52
Hi Get Out More

Let me clear something up

Out here water can be more valuable than anything else that you can put your hands on, as it can be the difference between life and death. Not carrying water told me they do not respect themselves, as they are willing to put their lives at risk, and not respecting others, as someone would have to search and then recover whatever is left.

Now, I have checked and the repair and refitting of two tyres in Halls Creek would have been $130-00, I requested only $100-00 after working in the hot sun without any assistance from the tourist.

A phone call on my Satellite phone would have cost me as well, and that was never requested. I would not have charged for something so simple.

I do not need to learn much out here, I have been in the desert most of my life, and have learned from experience and from the Elders.

At end end of the Tanami there are very LARGE signs sayingt o drive carefully for the conditions, which they obviously did NOT do.

You are welcome to your opinion, I respect that. Until you have travelled through these areas when the conditions are extremely hostile (and that I would not advise), leave your pedestal at home.

FollowupID: 707639

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 10:54

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 10:54
Get Out More
Get real!
When did you last help out someone?.
Most idiots I ask for cash up front,
Genuine folks that have a problem then it is not a problem to me to help them out.
Most times I just say "when you help someone else out I will be repaid."
FollowupID: 707642

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:06

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:06
get real about what?

about the fact if you intend charging people to help you should tell people before you start?

thats just common sense if you expect to be paid

i
FollowupID: 707652

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 12:58

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 12:58
Hi getout more
I only ask idiots for cash up first
Believe me I don't accept IOU or cheques.
No problem helping out genuine travellers that have a problem.
You can choose what category you fit into.
FollowupID: 707736

Reply By: Member - Richard C (ACT) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:16

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:16
Marc,
I followed this with interest and was a bit unsure which side of the fence I would be on.
I must admit I would be taken back a bit if some one stopped and offered some very grateful help and then asked for payment.

BUT I would hope I would have offered it before it was asked for it. I would however honored the payment either way. We have had a recent experience of this where I had a problem and was offered help by some one. We asked if we could give them something and they declined. My regret is I didn't get their details so I could send them a very BIG thank you.

I get the impression you would have taken a few bucks and a slab of beer if offered to you with the same manner you offered help.

In say in this I would have been very P$$%$%d with the way they treated you.

So I am unsure what is the right approach and is very hard to do sitting on a computer in a city. I was not there, I don't know what the conditions were like etc.

Overalll even though I am confused about what should be done I believe you have done the right thing by stopping and offering help and that is really the key issue for me.

Good on you,
RIchard

AnswerID: 436351

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:35

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:35
Hi Richard

I would have accepted a few bucks and a slab of cool drinks, given I do not drink alcochol.

To clarify something there as well. I stopped because I would stop if I saw anyone broken down, and they asked for help. It was my mistake to not type everything that happened, second by second. They were packing their car, as they had their fold up chairs and other items out, there was no thanks or anything, and some obnoxious comments when I decided to ask for some recompense.

FollowupID: 707646

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:28

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:28
To the detracters Leave the guy alone

He helped some idiots who the figuratively speaking Kicked sand in his face.

Have any of you been out where he lives to see the conditions.

If so you may apprecitae his comments and the fact that he gave them some

of his water that should he have broken down may have put him and his

passengers in an equally dangerous situation.

Some people dont deserve to be helped and to go and sit in the shade and watch someone the work in 40 plus heat is unforgiveable.

It shows the guy wasnt in the slightest bit interested in learning anything.

The only thing is I would have said "well mate you have to pay for the water, container and the materials for fixing tyres.
BUT as he treated you as he did I dont blame you one bit for jacking up on him.
The second time I would have stopped and said I have rung Halls Creek and they will come and get you for XXXXX $$$

Might have taught him a really expensive lesson.

Hope your recovery effort gets off the ground.

Hows the Canon going.

AnswerID: 436353

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:29

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:29
Woops sorry for the typos
FollowupID: 707645

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:47

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 11:47
Hi Graham

Asuming you are asking about the Canon camera, it is going okay. I am slowly learning and gradually getting better photos.

I am not concerned about the detractors at all. They obviously have no knowledge of travelling in extremely hostile country, and yes, if they were out here and broke down, I would help them.

Witrh the Recovery Registration everything s looking good. The only hitch is that the desk dwelling decision makers have no idea what things are like out here. Ther are heaps of "i's" to dot and "t's" to cross, but we are getting there. The first aid kit they reckon we should carry is pathetic, I already carry two kits that the RFDS reckon are the best they have seen for a long time.

SPeaking of that, I have attained RFDS certification, and can contact them directly on my HF if such should be required, and I have attained Grader certification, in case I rent to borrow one of the local graders to clear a track for an emergency landing.

Thankyou for your much appreciated support. If you ever travel this way, I live in Mulan Aboriginal Community (my wife is Aboriginal), I am the big bloke with the bald head and beard, I'd be happy to sit and have a cuppa.

FollowupID: 707647

Follow Up By: Tony LEE - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 19:08

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 19:08
"I will never turn my back on a stranded traveller, but I think it is fair and reasonable to ask for recompense, I don't care what anyone says. "

Certainly fair and reasonable to negotiate a fee BEFORE doing the work, but to demand payment afterwards is not what most travellers would expect. Not the way I work.
FollowupID: 707664

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:32

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:32
Tony Lee

Please let me know if you are ever broken down in the desert, and I shall ensure that I will not come out. I am now sick and tired of the negativity, and I am almost completely convinced that city folk who have never been out here really don't want to understand.

I have no need to justify myself to anyone, and couldn't be bothered anymore.

FollowupID: 707672

Follow Up By: Tony LEE - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:01

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:01
"Please let me know if you are ever broken down in the desert, and I shall ensure that I will not come out"

Childish retort if ever I saw one. We aren't discussing your right to refuse a request for assistance, but debating whether you did the right thing in pretending to be the white knight and then holding out your hand for payment.

As I said - you did it back the front and most reasonable people would see your first demand made after you helped them out as nothing more than taking advantage of someone who was in trouble.

Second time around you did at least act more honourably by setting out your conditions right from the start. At least he had the option of refusing your demand. First time he probably thought you were one of those regular Australians who stopped to give him a hand. Won't they have a story to tell when they get back home. Good one.

Trouble is you started the thread thinking everyone would agree with you and it has come as a bit of a shock to find a small number who regard your first actions as nothing more than preying on a stupid person.

Next time be honest about your intentions right from the start and either give them an hourly rate or just offer to contact someone who will come out and help them. Naturally you will ask them for the cost of the call. Then we might all have a higher opinion of your actions.
FollowupID: 707760

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:54

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:54
Next time be honest about your intentions right from the start and either give them an hourly rate or just offer to contact someone who will come out and help them. Naturally you will ask them for the cost of the call. Then we might all have a higher opinion of your actions.

I stated that I would not charge for the price of a call.

If I was worried about what you thought of my actions, I would never go out for anyone. I know that ample people support my actions, and the few retractors like yourself are the type of people who I have decided no longer require or deserve responses.

Have a good weekend.

FollowupID: 707762

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:37

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:37
Thanks for the comments

I have learned one thing for sure. EO members know what things are l;ike, and the free forum users love to stir and be negative. I do not think I will bother responding to any negativity in future, as it does my head in trying to explain things to people who will never understand.

Have a great weekend all.

AnswerID: 436392

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:38

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 20:38
"The wife and I counted, from our log book and diary, how many people we assisted during tourist/traveller season this year. 27 vehicles of various sorts we pulled over and assisted in some way or another, 11 of them ended up paying, only one we had to ask. "

What prompted you to pull these 27 vehicles over, and why. Are you out there drumming up business and offering services for financial gain or do you just happen to be Johnny on the spot for those who will always need outside assistance.
AnswerID: 436393

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:04

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:04
Very Clever Fred, you picked up on a missing word. We didn't pull them eover, we pulled over for them as theybwere stopped on the soide of the road. We frequently travel the CSR and the Tanami, as I live in Mulan but I work in Kununurra 12 days a month.

Good grief, I should have not listened to my friend another member and posted this thread, people have nothing better top do than jump all over others and I am sick of it.

The heck with people who want to be judgemental, you klnow what I look like from reading in the thread, if you see me, just tell me you don't agree with how I am, and I will not bother even talking to you.

I said most didn't require help or had a minor problem, why try misreprseent what I said, I should start a list of people not worth responsing to.

FollowupID: 707676

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:08

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:08
Perhaps its because He is the only one travelling in the area with any regularity
Its not exactly the M1 is it and from what has been said obviously a lot travel unprepared or completely un knowing.

You should be grateful someone is prepared to do this and not expect him to stand the cost of his efforts

Read what was said HE DIDNT PULL THEM OVER as I read it

He pulled over to help them.

One thing you have learned Luther is,

Dont post your efforts on here as you will get cut down like all good poppies.

Its a sad world when someone tries to help and for want of a small mistake gets cut to ribbons

Get over it you lot

I and other drivers in our Taxi fleet used to charge idiots who left their lights on when at the movies $15 for a jump start.
Was worth it or wait till someone came who may or may not have 5 meter jumper leads to reach their awkwardly parked car.

They were told when they rang that was the charge but some still argued so we got paid first or didnt do it.

Thats the way to go Luther get the dosh then do the job.

FollowupID: 707677

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:19

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:19
"The wife and I counted, from our log book and diary, how many people we assisted during tourist/traveller season this year. 27 vehicles of various sorts we pulled over and assisted in some way or another, 11 of them ended up paying, only one we had to ask. "

Ya better read it again old mate. I

Fred
FollowupID: 707678

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:33

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:33
"I and other drivers in our Taxi fleet used to charge idiots who left their lights on when at the movies $15 for a jump start. "

Graham, In the capacity of my Job description over many years, in various uniorms, I have often helped out taxi drivers in serious need, and have never considered any of them to be IDIOTS...but I am having serious doubts now.... LOL LOL
FollowupID: 707679

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:52

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 21:52
Fred

Allow me to spell it out...I missed one word, it should have read...

27 vehiclkes we pulled over for and assisted in some way or another. I missed the word "for" in between "over"...."and". I do apologise that I do not hold a professorship in written English as you obviously do.

Goodness gracious

FollowupID: 707681

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:10

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:10
Marc, I just read the Queen's english as she is spoke old mate. I don't make presumptions as you obviously do. ( :-)))))) )
FollowupID: 707683

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:13
Marc

This thread has well and truly demonstrated the best and worst of forums. The "going opposite" types are always there. It is a pity.

More than balancing that out is your contribution both to the travelling community and to this forum. Your posts certainly generate a lot of interest.

Don't be distracted by the "going opposite" types. That is the most positive way I can describe them. If you check the various threads enough you get to see the pattern.

For what it is worth I reckon someone breaking down in remote areas is obligated to pay the reasonable cost of assistance, whether asked for in advance or not. It is up to the giver of assistance whether he requires payment for his efforts. It is not up to the receiver to accept help of commercial value and then decline to pay. If the person requiring assistance is unwilling to pay that should be stated up front.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 707684

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:13
Perhaps Fred its not us that are having the trouble with simple English and inferring something other than has been written.

Why would a taxi driver be at the movies He would be working to take the punters home.

I will spell it out in small words for you.

We used to charge the idiot public who went to the movies and left their lights on.

When they rang the Taxis for help we charged $15 for a jump start.

We certainly wouldnt be ringing the compny for help we just call up a fellow driver as he would if it were him

Get real

Does that make it easy for you to understand.

What Marc Luther wrote about pulling over was perfectly understandable as was mine IF YOU WANTED TO.

Always someone who doesnt read what is written, as witnessed on a couple of threads this week.

FollowupID: 707685

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:17

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:17
If anything Marc missed a comma.

Perhaps you should read the text as a whole and not nitpick parts of it

Its English as its written on here not as it's spoken.

You cannot put inflections of speech in text.

Time this thread was locked enough of the brown stuff has been thrown.

FollowupID: 707687

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:28

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:28
Sorry Graham, but I can only respond to what I read, Not what you want me to read. And I stand by what I read, not any post script.
FollowupID: 707688

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:44

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:44
It is bad english to start a sentence with and, or have a capital after a comma.

That is if you wish to quote Queens english.

Enough is enough, you read what you want, most of us understand what was meant.

FollowupID: 707690

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:02

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:02
The OP has corrected any misunderstandings, we ask that all english lessons be suspended for now.

The Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 707693

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:06

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:06
Thankyou Modsquad

FollowupID: 707696

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:28

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:28
I have sent a request to the moderators to lock this thread.

AnswerID: 436403

Follow Up By: skmaint (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:47

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 22:47
Marc,

Dont be put off by the so called negative do gooders, as you can see most of the posts appreciate what you do, myself included. like you said the best way is to ignore them and not feed them. they just need to live in the real world out there to see what it is like.
I just hope your around when I come through so we can catch up and have that cuppa.
keep up the good work mate.

Simon.
FollowupID: 707691

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:04

Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 23:04
Hi Simon

Thankyou for your words. I have made a second request to have the thread locked. As you may have noted from what I write and how I write, I have no need to be obnoxious or negative towards anyone, and when I get upset it is for a very good reason.

I am tired of being judged by people just because I helped someone and they treated me like garbage, especially people who probably wouldn't get out of their car on such a hot day.

FollowupID: 707695

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 01:00

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 01:00
Hi Marc,

It’s easy to be put off by a minority - don’t take any notice of them – as you are aware the greater majority agree with the stance you took and wouldn’t even with hindsight change anything.

In all you're responses to posts in this thread, you have remained calm and not played the man as some others have, well done.

Maybe some people should look at themselves in the mirror and wonder why the whole world is wrong and they aren’t.

There’s a story I often tell.

In this outback town a fella called Marc was sitting under a tree minding his own business.
A car pulls up and a young bloke gets out, walks up to Marc and says; “I’m new in town, I got a transfer to work here as a school teacher. What’s’ this town like?”
Marc answers "What was your last place like?”
“It was great,” he answered. “I met lots of people; I was hardly home at night so many things to do.”
“That’s what this town is like;’ says Marc.

A few hours alter another car pulls up; a chap gets pout and walks over to Marc, who is again minding his own business.
“Hi I'm new to town; I’ve been transferred here as a bank teller.” He said.
“That’s nice;” says Marc.
“What’s this town like? The new teacher said.
“What was your last place like?” says Marc.
“Terrible”, the young bloke says, “People were clicky; they didn't let outsiders in; just bloody terrible it was.”
“That’s what this place is like”; said Marc.

And the moral of the story – I suspect those who need to get it wont and those who don’t need to will.

Keep your chin up Marc, don’t be put off future posting on ExplorOz, you’re a good bloke and I hope one day we meet in the bush for a good chat!

FollowupID: 707700

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 01:40

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 01:40
Hi Phil

I have not been put off as such, just very despondent that such a fantastic site can be spoiled by such negativity. Dave and Michelle have established something really good here, which is why I opted to pay for Lifetime Membership. I cannot see where negativity fits into Exploring this great country, and discussing events regarding this fantastic country of ours, no matter how seemingly small or impressively large.

FollowupID: 707703

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:53

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:53
Hi again Marc
Do not be put off the ignorant few on this Forum.
Far to many past contributers of this forum have disappeared from this site because of ignorant comments from the idiot few that have not got the guts to become members.
Keep up the good work.
We splashed our way up the Canning after the Wiluna Gathering, did not realise that you lived at Mulan, could have called round that way and had a cuppa and a yarn but then I suppose I did not have a permit for there.
If you ever get South of the Waitaki in New Zealand get in touch through the Members site, it would be great to have a yarn.
I doubt if I will be back up your way again having been there, but then not quite done that.
Every bit way off the beaten track needs some well meaning people like you folks to look after the idiot few.
Good on you
Russ
FollowupID: 707744

Follow Up By: Phil V (SA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:52

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 15:52
Hi Marc
I rarely write any comments on this site but love to read what's there. Really enjoy your threads and comments because they are straight to the point and never attack the person unlike some. It is good that you're willing to share your knowledge of your area with everyone who visits this site.
Thank-you

FollowupID: 707761

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:00

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:00
Hullo Marc
There is an old Arabic saying "People don't throw stones at barren trees"
I hope you keep posting from the perspective of your unique position and own strongly held values/beliefs.
I for one learn heaps by reading them as they often help me come to a position on some matter that I might otherwise have not thought of very deeply.
FollowupID: 707763

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:18

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:18
Hi Phil V

Thanks for that observation. Unfortunately this time I got a mild bit peeved and made a negative response, but seriously adminsihed myself afterwards.

In truth I believe negativity is a waste of communications, whilst positivity seems to bring out good people.

Have a great weekend

FollowupID: 707766

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:21

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:21
Hi Andrew

That expression I am going to have to contemplate for a while, but I will work it out, thankyou.

Unfortunately it is my values that get me into so much trouble, but I am not prepared to change how I am or who I am.

FollowupID: 707767

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:44

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:44
Marc,

No request to lock this thread has been received via the "Alert Moderator" button at the bottom of the thread. If you wish the thread locked please shoot us an alert to that tune and we will arrange.

The Squad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 707780

Reply By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:36

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:36
I have been involved in a few rescue services. Most rescuees, have a follow up letter sent to them, outlining the services provided, how much they cost ( just consumbles, not manpower) and that the service is purely run on donations and goodwill.

Most of the time the letter gets a donation and equipment, over and above the cost of the service provided. You will find after some research that most services have a hush/slush fund from grateful rescuees. It is kept hush/slush because the groups involved would lose government funding matching the donation, dolllar for dollar.

We had friend who worked on Flora Valley/Gordon Downs, as head stockman, for a few years, the things he told us about people who got lost on the station ( mainly overseas visitors) astounded us every time he came home for wet season, he lived with us doing wet season. My hubby also used to be a field service tech out of Meeka a few years ago, the things he saw from overseas vistors travelling out that way was amazing, he didn't charge for repairs, the company he worked for kept his ute stocked up, though.

When travelling if we see someone having trouble we always stop and try and help. Hoping that what goes around will come around when we eventually take a year off a go the long way home. Hoping to visit Derby, one day.

Debbie
AnswerID: 436465

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:52

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:52
Hi Deb

AS you may know, Flora Vallery has now been bought by Janet Holmes A Court, and Gordon Downs is owned by the Kundat Jaru mob, most of whom live at Ringers Soak on the Duncan Highway.

You are right however, the amount of paople that get into trouble between Halls Creek and Kalkaringi is incredible, that is one of the main strips that keep the Halls Creek mob for recovering vehicles busy, especially during the hotter times.

When you go to Derby, speak to some of the local mob, and they will tell you the best places to get huge mud crabs.

Have a great weekend

FollowupID: 707772