Ban free camping???

Submitted: Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 23:59
ThreadID: 82770 Views:9515 Replies:28 FollowUps:38
Those poor caravan park owners...

Tale of Woe

...it's a free country...or at least it is supposed to be!

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:14

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:14
Off track,
Iwill be interested to see the replys to this post as I for one cannot agree with what has been said .Ihave travelled all over Australia for many years and during the 4 months of the tourist season you would battle to get a spot in a caravan park without booking.The average fees now are well above the $30 per night mark and as far as I am conscerned I free camp whenever I can and if the councils are providing more free camping(I have not experienced this) it would be a very good thing to allow more people to see the country without a strain on the budget.In fact in my experience more and more free camping spots are being closed down which only encourages rip off rates at the caravan parks.Everyone to their own but I will continue to free camp wherever possible and good luck to the developers who buy out the parks as I am sure the c. parks won't be selling at a loss.
AnswerID: 437348

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:20

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:20
Its not a free country - never has been never will be. We have many freedoms
- more than alot of countries but less than others
but were not a free country, dont confuse freedoms with free
AnswerID: 437349

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:40

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:40
So what do you define as a free country then?
FollowupID: 708863

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:29

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:29
Somalia
FollowupID: 709042

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:32

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:32
What a load of Rubbish :-)

I do not pay to watch TV for one.

I do not pay to walk on the beach :-)

I choose not to pay for camping whenever I can.

There are things I pay for, there are things I do not...............

Cheers Tony

Well maybe I do pay a price for free to air TV - I have to put up without watching it much due to the rubbish they put on :-)
FollowupID: 709043

Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:27

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 01:27
It's unorstrayan to ban free camping surely.

Anyway, if you want people to avoid your town go right ahead and remove access for 'freebasers'. Land value is undoubtedly a big issue in many cities and coastal areas though.
AnswerID: 437350

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 05:12

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 05:12
So they loose 50 caravan parks a year. Big deal!
What about all the businesses closing every day that get no government assistance at all & nor should they. It a free market.

Next thing you know they wil ban drink fountains because the poor bottled water companies are going broke!
AnswerID: 437352

Reply By: pepper2 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 06:58

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 06:58
i have found c/van parks refusing to give me a site for one night doesnt suit me when i am travelling to a distant destination forced to free camp.
AnswerID: 437353

Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:13

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:13
Ditto!

I have, on the odd occassion, paid for two nights and left after one as we were refused a one night stay.

Business is business and they do what they need to to make a dollar. I can't see our free camping options being removed alltogeter so the choice is our own.

Either way, get out there and do it!

Dan
FollowupID: 708836

Reply By: Sailinghampster - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:39

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:39
Quote..
"Mr Valli, who charges $28 a night for a powered site and $22 for an unpowered site, said business had dropped dramatically.

"We only have two or three vans in at the moment and it should be more - there's plenty of vans on the road,'' he said."

Some math and a question or two.

Is it two or three? Let's assume two and a half. That's seventy dollars.

We all know what we get for the privilege of staying in a caravan park and have our views on the value but I question the mentality business owners who keep putting the price up when sales and patronage goes down hoping that fewer purchases will pay the bills.

I reluctantly stay at expensive, poor value for money caravan parks on average two or three nights a week. Using Mr. Valli's figures that's about Seventy Dollars a week.

Now it's all about tolerance. There must be a line and personally that line for me is about Fourteen Dollars. By this I mean at that price I would probably be very happy to stay five nights a week in a C/P.

That's amazingly Seventy Dollars.. go figure.

It has often been said.. "Halve the price and triple the patronage"

So Mr. Valli and all your mates; do the math. Here's mine.....

"two or three" would become six or nine. Lets assume seven and a half at Fourteen dollars a night would be One hundred and five dollars.

I could go on with a pile of percentages but I don't think I would be anywhere near the actual figures.. Because I feel very confident in saying that if the price for a nights stay in a C/P was nearer to the value received say Ten Dollars a night the C/P's would be near to capacity.

AnswerID: 437357

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:04

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:04

I totally agree with the closing comment in this report:-

"We don't mind people pulling over on the side of the road 5km out of town, but to park in the middle of our town I think is an insult.''

We have travelled extensively up, down across Australia and free camp at every opportunity.

This is normally done outside town. If I expect to use the overnight facilities, supplied by the town council, I feel obligated to pay the admission to a caravan park, usually un-powered to reduce the cost.

I live in Wynnum Brisbane and unfortunately it is becoming increasingly common for nomads to look for free camps on the foreshore in council provided car parks.

I feel that council patrols should wake these people and move them on.

FollowupID: 708843

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:11

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:11
Kev,

Can you explain what exactly is the problem with the nomads freecamping on the foreshore.

Just being curious that's all.

R.
FollowupID: 708850

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:44

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:44
Hi Rob,

In a nutshell I simply feel that the foreshore is not made for that purpose.

I feel that one shouldn't free camp in any town centre and expect to use the daytime shower/toilet facilities that are provided by the local population and council mainly for the use of day travelers who are spending money in the town i.e. caravan park, bakery, local shop.

Lets face it the majority of grey nomads don't spent a hell of a lot in country towns. Most have long range tanks, get food supplies from major shopping centres and are self contained when it comes to meals and smokos.

I am all for the argument that if a town doesn't do something to attract tourists it doesn't deserve to be patronised but I think it's a bit rich to expect free camps when not supporting the town.

I agree with and use almost exclusively, free bush camps and totally support both financially and by recommendation the community that maintains that camp.

I also use free camps that are provided in hotel yards but always have a few coldies or a meal in that hotel to show my appreciation.

FollowupID: 708853

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:50

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:50
So basically, the benefits of freecampers in the centre of town are questionable and may not be worth the hassle.

Thanks.

R.
FollowupID: 708855

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:15

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:15
Rob,

We are misunderstanding. I would have no problem using a free camp in a small town if the community has provided such a camp. Like I said hotels provide free camps.

But your question was what do I have against nomads camping on the Wynnum foreshore. This area is a formed road with bitumen car parks and was never intended to cater to overnight camping.

Kev
FollowupID: 708858

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:19

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:19
Right
FollowupID: 708859

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:30

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:30
are they actually "camping" there, like bbq's and tables out, or are they just overnighting? ie, come and gone before council hours...
FollowupID: 708922

Follow Up By: wallabyshane - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:31

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:31
Sailinghampster,

As a motel operator(not owner, I'm on a salary and therefore neutral), your figures only come from the consumers side. You have neglected to mention the cost of electricity and water.

If the cost for 2 nights is $70 this takes into account - on average - how much water you would use for showering, toilet, not to mention the possibility of washing clothes. Let's just look at shower and toilet useage shall we. On top of this, there is the cost of electricity.

Now staying the 2 nights, the $70 covers this.

If the CP operator were to charge the $14 per night and you were to stay 5 nights, the electricity and water consumption would drastically increase therefore the CP operator would be running at a loss.

I think you need to maybe take a step back and look at the bigger picture. Running a motel or CP is an expensive business. Personally, my margin per night is about $13 give or take. Not a lot of money when you take into account the 16 hour days, 7 day a week job. Not complaining as I love my job, just trying to help you see the bigger picture.

What I do agree with you on is the CP operators charging a minimum 2 night stay is wrong. If people are charging this, then I say drive on by and stay somewhere for free. As one whom is an avid camper, I wholly support free camping areas.
FollowupID: 708980

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:47

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:47
Hi wallabyshane.

Thanks for your reply.

You wont get a fight from me but I don't need to take any steps backwards. I have been there already and don't wish to go back..

I agree it was a great lifestyle with lots of pluses; it was the cleaning up after the animals that did it for me but that's another forum.

Meanwhile my discussion point still stands.. Expenses are not directly connected to patronage.... More patronage equals more profit albeit not directly proportional.

To put it very simply,:-
If two or three people sit under a street light and have a chat it costs someone x amount of dollars for that street light. If twenty or thirty people sat under that same street light it ............

and it would be a lot more fun...

I still say "Halve the price and triple the patronage."
FollowupID: 709132

Reply By: WBS - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:54

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:54
I've just spent 3 months travelling up the centre and down the west coast. We always stayed in caravan parks and at times finding accommodation in caravan parks was problematical.

In my opinion most parks that close down are doing so because there are too many parks for the passing trade in that locality, the area is not attracting tourists, or the place is not up to expected standards.

Caravan parks should be like any other business, competitive, so if they aren't getting the customers then they need to assess their business plans and charge rates to try and attract more customers. Banning free camps won't resolve anything, in fact it will probably drive travellers to areas where free camping is permitted thereby making the whole community feel the effects of the loss of trade.

WBS
AnswerID: 437358

Reply By: Ronald P - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:11

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:11
Just recently stayed at park up here in far north Qld as couldn't find free campin close to a location and was shocked at the rates... The going rates up here are about $28 to $30 a night for two plus additional fee per person after that, all for an UNPOWERED SITE..... $30 a night to sleep in the paddock and use thier shower and toilet, glad i didn't have the whole family with me as it would've cost a bit... Any way such is life
AnswerID: 437359

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:50

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:50
We use caravan parks occasionally with our CT, and I get annoyed at the attitude of some of the parks that say they only have powered sites.

I tell them I don't need power, and in general I don't even carry a power cord.
I don't know why they refuse to just charge a smaller fee for powered site if you don't want power, they just say I have to pay for a powered site and that is it.

In defence of the parks on another point, I know how much my council rates, water rates and electricity costs have gone up, so I guess they have got to put fees up to cover these costs.
There are a lot of parks now with quite well equipped camp kitchens, so a lot of people use those facilities instead of cooking by the CT or near the tent. Use their gas instead of ours. These are free to use, so that is something that is built into the fees.
There are lots of people who have no idea how to reverse their big caravan into a site, and there is a demand for drive through sites to overcome this problem.
That of course means less sites in the park to cater for the drive throughs.
Many more large vans on the road now too, so, again less sites in some of the parks.
Less sites means less chance of covering rising costs.

I am amazed that very few Caravan Parks and even Motels do not have water saver shower heads on the showers, so goodness knows what their water bills would be like. Not to mention the waste of water.

I have noticed that there are a lot more cabins in the caravan parks now, and have been told that is where their market is.
So, I guess the next lot of complaints will be from the Motel operators complaining about the caravan parks taking their business.

I am not involved in Caravan Parks, but would not like the lifestyle they have, just about 15 hours a day, 7 days a week for a lot of them.
We stayed at a Caravan Park in Roxby Downs last week, and was amazed that they only open 9 - 12 Sunday mornings. Office closed Sunday afternoon. Never struck anything like that before.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 437362

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 10:13

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 10:13
I think the issue being raised here is that on one hand councils are charging park operator’s rates, and other government charges, and then at the same time setting up areas in town for RV’s, caravans and the like which can be used for free or a nominal fee and in direct competition to the van parks. Park owners, having invested money into a local business, might be entitled to feel a little ‘jibbed’ by Council actions in this regard.

But the long-term outcome almost looks guaranteed, and that will be the demise of Caravan Parks.

Many will say that is fine due to the price they charge, but without caravan parks to take the ‘slack’ we will eventually run out of ‘free’ camping. I’m sure there will be limitations as to how much land can be provided to this use and I doubt councils are going to provide facilities to the masses for nothing, forever.

An important consideration for those living in these towns and communities is the fact it will be them subsidising the cost of RV’ers, via council rates, staying in their towns for nothing. Who’d be happy with that?

Okay, an argument can be made that RV’ers will spend money in town, but not every town, and that only goes to those providing the services, the local shop-keeper or fuel outlet, not every resident. And for the RV’ers, eventually councils will need to police the ‘overnight’ only rule, so what happens when you want to stay longer and there is no caravan park to stay at?

I'm not sure that the demise of the local caravan park is in the interests of those travelling this great country.

But that’s progress, or is it?

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 437363

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:29

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:29
I will have to get a comment from the bloke who runs the Caravan park in Chinchilla ;)

He loves the fact that there is 2 free camps within 20km of Chinchilla. (Archers Crossing and The Chinchilla Weir).

He prefers people to free camp and stay longer in the region but spend 1-2 nights in his Caravan Park (to recharge batteries, do washing etc) and then go back to free camping. The longer they stay in the region the more $$$$$ are spent in the region.

I see a lot of caravan parks becomming Cabin Parks and moving away from catering for Caravans etc.

AnswerID: 437367

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 16:01

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 16:01
I like him already. That's a good attitude but at $25 a night I might stay two nights but at $10 a night I'd be tempted to stay all week.
FollowupID: 708896

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:44

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:44
Hi Kev

Chinchilla is one of many places in North Queensland that welcome visitors. They are gaining benefits from the trade. Good on them - more should copy their example.

Mh

FollowupID: 708910

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 19:33

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 19:33
Mh

We are not quite North Queensland LOL but we are in QUEENSLAND never the less. The owner regularly comes on road trips with me for company as I do lots of driving for work and we discuss lots of issues faced by travellers.

Sailinghampster,

It might be $25 a night but he is not worried if you only spend 1 night, the free camps are there to serve the traveller as a means to extend their stay in the region.

FollowupID: 708914

Reply By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:00

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:00
Gidday

As any of you who have travelled through the South West of WA would know, it is not the availability of free camping that is putting the caravan parks out of business but the propery developers. All those beachfront caravan parks are sitting on valuable land. There have been several big parks in the Busselton-Dunsborough area that have been lost to housing in the last decade and even those that are left are booked the year ahead for holiday times. There has been a bit of a push here within the caravan industry for some sort of government help to create some more parks but I am not sure what has come of it. The problem is that even if somebody can find a site, get around the planning regs to have it approved they must then raise the finance to build it. those ablution blocks aren't cheap and i would suspect that the business plan would not stack up. As much as some might dislike caravan parks they are part of the system that travelers use ... sort of a necessary evil.

Cheers Rocco
AnswerID: 437370

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 13:15

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 13:15
I second that ...

What is the difference of parking my 33' foot gooseneck + 22' additional length of towing vehicle somewhere on a public car park and stay in a motel or just sleep in the back, nothing else unpacked .. It is just greed, envy or poppy syndrome and Australians are great with these things, aren't they ??

With a completely self contained vehicle I should be allowed to stay "everywhere" anything else is protectionism. I use my own toilet, shower have gray and black water tanks and no trace left, not even an oil spill (I do not have a Japanese car - lol) ... oops maybe a bit of condensation overflow from the fridges airconditions
( and no - I am not running a generator).

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 709003

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:03

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:03
The problem may not be you, but the 20 others who come in behind you and do the same. No controls in place, rubbish will be strewn everywhere because that is what ends up happening, noise pollution, and no parking left for those it was intended for, and someone pays to clean it up with no direct monetary contribution to the local community.

And I’m not being argumentative here...nor defending caravan park proprietors', they can do that themselves......but I do believe in a 'fair go'...

The issue that initially started this thread was a newspaper article where a caravan park owner complained that he pays rates and all kinds of associated fees for the privilege of running a caravan park, and then the council opens the gates to the local school oval, town park, or parking area, down the road and allows people to overnight for free. I can appreciate his point; especially given they have made an investment in the local area only to be undermined by the very authority they pay rates to.

The big picture problem is as Rocco describes, in many cases the value of the land no longer makes it viable to operate as a Caravan Park. The operator’s can’t charge enough to cover costs and the travelling public can’t reconcile the cost for what they get. The issue will be how will this be dealt with, free camping only transfers your cost of an overnight stay to someone else.

With more people travelling in RV’s the problem can only get worse becauser Caravan Parks as we have grown to know them will disappear completely, or be converted into cabin style resorts.....

Cheers, The Landy

FollowupID: 709007

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:26

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:26
"The problem may not be you, but the 20 others who come in behind you and do the same."

And this is where I have a problem: We have modern technologies. Put CCTV in place, take a DNA databank use tracking technology and simply eradicate that low live behaviour. I am sick and tired of hearing the argument that a few spoil it for the rest ... there is too many of the "few". I have video cams running on my vehicle all the time and recorded several incidents where people just throw out rubbish even burning cigarettes. That video goes straight to the authorities ...
I am tired of people doing nothing and let the scum get away with it ...

It is a cheap excuse to put restrictions in place because a few spoil the party. Change your attitude people, don't look the other way when something is wrong .. 99% do ... bunch of cowards

have fun
gmd

FollowupID: 709008

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:50
So gmd , your fully self contained ! Ok where do you dump your waste from the toilet and your grey water , where do you dump your normal garbage , where do you refill your water tanks ? Oh , you use an approved dump point ? Guess what , ratepayers paid for it , the servo where you fill your water tanks pays for water ,, fully self contained , yeah right , Oh , and who paid for the carpark your bludging in ???
FollowupID: 709194

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 01:50

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 01:50
I pay tax ( probably ten times more than you) .. and did not say that I don't want to pay tax. I just don't want to pay for the privilege to park cramped in a tiny spot in something called a caravan park. Australia is big enough to afford public space for "self contained" vehicles, and I am happy to pay fees for a "service pass" which might entitle me to use dump points etc .. I just can't be bothered with caravan parks. You are just another good example why I think the way I do ...
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 710737

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:46

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:46
Just further to my earlier post...

I had a look to see if there was any ‘industry’ comment on the issue and found the following article which provides some perspective from a Park Owners point of view.

No such thing as free camping

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 437386

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:54

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:54

Bit of an awkward one I reckon.....
It would be pretty hard if the same council you pay rates to was also taking your business away.
I can understand the council opening up some extra camping areas if the caravan park isn't suitable or cant cope but not in direct competition, and doing it for free with rate payers money??????
Sure have a place for overnight stays out of town a bit for those who are just travelling through but....a free campground????
Like someone said....stay at the hotels, have a meal and a beer and its a win for your pocket and the town.

AnswerID: 437387

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 17:19

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 17:19
A tough one to balance I guess. Those that are self suffient such as motorhomes do not always want to stay at van parks because they offer nothing for them that they havent got. To pay $30-40 a night just to park the vehicle is a bit much if you are spending many months on the road.

As for the council in direct competition I guess it's not much different with private toll roads competing against council/govt supplied roads. Sure the toll roads are much better but they aren't for everyone.
FollowupID: 708902

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 17:44

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 17:44
FORBES HAS 4 CARAVAN PARKS!!!! Der!! You think this may be a problem in itself?? What if it was 4 takeaway food shops or 4 hardware stores. These are private enterprises and the market will dictate the number required. Why do these park operators think they are special? Some are run down dumps that shouldn't be able to operate, they are happy to take the money but don't upgrade their amenities.. The good ones thrive by word of mouth and the crook ones should have a look at the state of their amenities and either upgrade or sell of the land. Having said that, most of the parks are sitting on prime land and it was probably a long term plan to sell the land for their retirement anyway!! Michael
AnswerID: 437400

Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:04

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:04
"FORBES HAS 4 CARAVAN PARKS!!!!"

LOL, had a laugh over that as well Michael. You beat me to it.

FollowupID: 708919

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 03:47

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 03:47
Price war...Bring it on!
FollowupID: 708963

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:07

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:07
I am just reading an article by Gil Schott
Gil's article

A lot of common sense here, and i love his analogy about fishing and the fish and chips shop.

For those of us in business, it is up to us to be competitive and market to our potential clientèle, not whinge because they walk past our shop to the next shop or the town picnic area (hypothetical case).

AnswerID: 437406

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:36

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:36
Good one MH
I agree with you whole heartedly.

I have been looking at a few camping/caravaning forums and I have seen many posts by you re caravan parks, thanks for your input, I for one value your comments.

So I recon you have spent too long back home and need to get out again.
Hope to see you out there one day, regards, Colin.
FollowupID: 708925

Reply By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 19:59

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 19:59
as a single traveller who would like too use unpowered sites at caravan parkes ;have too pay the rate for 2 people ;the caravan parkes charge extra for a third person but no discount if staying there by myself ;thats what i call a rippoff ;roll on free camping ; please note the caravan park at cooper pedy has a single and a double rate ; i stay there instead of free camping ; do not mind paying bye barry
AnswerID: 437418

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:21

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:21
I agree the costs for the operator is governed by their expense's but for us to camp in our camper trailer with three children off peak per night
Inland Powered 44 un-powered 38
Coast Powered 52 un-powered 47

Sharon

AnswerID: 437422

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:45

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:45
Compare that to somewhere like Mystery Bay, run by the council, which is offpeak $12.00 per night (twin couple dollars extra kids) and $25.00 peak
FollowupID: 708936

Reply By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:33

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:33
I live near a town that has a lake, I often see freeloaders camping there for nicks.

Be it vaners , motor homes or backpacker vans they are there every morning by the dozen.

I also see the same people move on the next day at sunrise and empty their toilet at the FREE dump station, these ( ) insert whatever, set up after 6PM and leave before 6AM, without spending a cent in the town.

If you think that is fair then good luck to you, rest assure if you do it in my town, I am a wake at 430 and will drive past you before 5 and I will do wake you/ up.

Free camp if you will and I don't have a problem with it just do it in the bush, don't deprive a small town of a living.

AnswerID: 437429

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:00

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:00
LOL! They have to spend money somewhere!! Maybe yesterday they didnt spend anything at the last town and today they spend it at your town! You think they deliberately dont buy food and fuel and sightsee where you live? It must be a fairly ordinary place!! If its legal to stay at the lake then so be it. No one tells you where and how to spend your money! I think i have heard it all now.. ') Michael
FollowupID: 708939

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 23:20

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 23:20
It sounds like your town is progressive enough to provide a free dump point to encourage travellers to at least stop there.

Now I think it is up to the rest of the town there to provide other services and or attractions to make the travellers stay a bit longer and dip into their pockets.

You already have the people stopping there by what you say, many other towns just see traffic rolling past.
Your town has at least got something to build on if you want it to survive and prosper.

As you go past the campers at 5.00 a.m. drop a note at their door and tell them about the great pancakes and coffee for breakfast just down the street.
Help your town make a living.

FollowupID: 708959

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 00:13

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 00:13
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 708961

Follow Up By: Member - Darryl P (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:01

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:01
how would u know if they spent money in the town or not u would have to follow them around to know that and i dont thin u would be doing that
FollowupID: 709035

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:05

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:05
3Gobush! No swearing now!!!! See your post has been moderated as it should be.. Run along to another site where they tolerate foul language and the like!! BYE BYE! Michael
FollowupID: 709036

Reply By: briann532 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:34

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:34
After travelling for a month with my family through South Oz and Victoria in Spetember, I have an appreciation for both sides of the argument.

We stayed in caravan parks, some cheap some not, but it was very expensive.
We chose caravan parks, only for the use of their power for our heater as it was extremely cold. Wife, 5 year and 3 year old need some comfort or they don't enjoy it.

While I have no problem paying for the use of someones facilities, I believe over half of the places we stayed were certainly not value for money.
Purely business orientated.

Now that said, we have stayed in some lovely caravan parks where the operators and or owners have been very accommodating and the services and facilities have been great value for money.

"User pays". No problem with that.

However the flip side is that as many previous posters have said, not everyone wants to, or can afford to pay for a caravan park.
$25-35 per night equals around $175-245 per week.
A lot of towns that sort of money can rent you a 3 bedroom house with an ensuite......

I see no harm in free camps providing a service to these people.
One can only assume they are tax payers who have contibuted to these services anyway. They are also visting attractions, supporting local business and buying fuel. (someone commented on long range tanks etc, but there is always goign to be those folk who are tighter than a fish's 'ears')
As a general rule, I have always seen travellers frequent local pubs, bakeries, shops, service stations, museums, clubs, etc.

Unfortunately while I see the argument for caravan parks having their place, so do free parks.
If you don't like the competition, make your place a better place to stay or sell up and move on...............

AnswerID: 437430

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:03

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:03
A fair reply Brian Michael

FollowupID: 708941

Reply By: TensionWrench - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:01

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:01
Hi Guys

Speaking from experience A large part of the problem is the lack of vision by past and current councils. Take the Redlands, since the 1970's there have numerous individuals who have tried to get new caravan parks up and running (How many parks for tourists in Wynnum and Redlands). There is a budding tourism trade waiting to explode but the grey nomads and others have to cart their vans over on the ferries at exorbitant prices so they don't bother coming and yet these councils make a half hearted attempts at the tourism industry. Granted there are some towns that aren't interested in the Grey Nomads and that is thre choice. But the towns that embrace them prosper.
Wynnum is a different case as the foreshore is not designed for free camping ut the Redlands could accomodate some.

As for caravan parks they are a business and I have been turned away even if I book ahead so I am not a real fan. Best camping is free camping (not herded in to an organised park) as long as it does not infringe on others outlook or privacy.

Tension Wrench
AnswerID: 437432

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:05

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:05
I have been watching this thread develop but now I have to put in my 2cents worth.

I live just outside of Mission Beach FNQ and go up and down the main street along the foreshore several times a day. Also walk a couple of k's along the beach most afternoons after I finish work. (it's tough but someone has to do it, besides the dogs like a run)

We have 5 caravan parks of various standards and prices as well as a council "pay to stay" camping area.

Tourism is the main economic activity of the town. The regional council however is predominately based on agriculture. Like most councils there is never enough money to do everything with out doubling rates to homeowners.

I am happy to admit that there two sides to the free camping v caravan park issue.
BUT time and time and time and time again we have free campers in the foreshore car parks. SOME then really make an effort to abuse the facilities that are provided for day visitors.
Examples:
The dreaded brown stained paper trail.
Rubbish from their last three days piled into bins to overflowing
Bottles cans etc strewn everywhere.
Black water tanks emptied straight on the ground.
Tyres car parts broken jerry cans just left.
Fire on the beach with bottles food etc thrown in the fire.
Tree branches broken off to light said fires.
Driving on the beach at night.
All night parties with the associated noise

All this is right in town, meters away from from homes.

It is a minority of idiots that are the problem.
But it is a PROBLEM that isn't going to go away. Locals do not like having their town trashed and we do not like having our council spend scarce funds to clean up after them.

So far no one has come up with an answer, but I suspect the answer will be that a moronic few will spoil a good thing for many.

I suspect Mission Beach isn't the only place facing this conundrum.

AnswerID: 437454

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:51

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 09:51
Free camping ? The subject is complex , I live in a small town of less than 100 population , we have a small council c/van park and the fees are $12 per night for a powered site , no matter if your 1or 6 people on that site , 3rd night is free , ,,, Thing is the council office opens at 9am and closes at 4pm Mon- Fri and is shut over the w/end , ,,
Can honestly say that the ratio of payers to free bludgers is 50-50 , pull in at 3.30 or later during the week and gone by 7.30 in the morning or Fri afternoon and leave early on Monday morning , ,heaps of "free bludgers",, they wander up to the pub , buy 1 or sometimes 2 beers , generally complain about price of a meal and the cost of fuel at their last refill , promise to call into the council office to pay the c/van fee [ all promises ,no substance] and are on their merry way thinking and boasting that they have helped the towns economy by their grand gesture of buying a beer or two while at the same time stealing the council provided toilet paper rolls.
AnswerID: 437456

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:43

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:43
Shame there are these type of bludgers that make it bad for everyone else

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 709044

Reply By: Danger Mouse - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 10:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 10:04
Having recently returned from 15 weeks travelling around the Eastern Half with a van and 3 kids, we've seen both sides of the equation. We used free camps throughout Qld and NT, only stopping in Caravan Parks to use water & power to wash clothes/top up etc.... However, through SA, Vic & NSW we stayed in parks because it was cold and we needed the power for heating.

Both free camps and parks have their place. The big issue for us has been the extra fees charged for kids. Most places were a reasonable enough $28-$30 per night for a powered site, but how do you justify an extra $15 each for the kids in some places. It makes for an expensive stop when instead of $30, you have to pay $75. We use no more power in the van with five instead of two (the same heater, lights, stove etc. whether there's 1 or 10 really), and my kids certainly don't use that much water or toilet paper to justify $15 each.

It's this equation that makes travelling, especially with kids, a case of free camp as much as possible.
AnswerID: 437458

Reply By: John and Lynne - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 13:46

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 13:46
Surely there is room for a wide variety of accommodation options to suit different travellers. It seems that many operators of overpriced second (or third rate) CPs see vans going past and blame free camps for their problems. Their vocal lobby group has no hesitation in cramming in more cabins and undermining the local motel owners.
If a business is not doing well it is likely that the remedy lies in the hands of the owner/operator! It is usually not someone else's fault!
Many CPs make the false assumption that those travellers avoiding them could somehow be forced to use their facilities if free camps were abolished. This is nonsense. Just as we drive past motels, luxury resorts and B&Bs we will not stay at overpriced CPs which are becominbg less and less attractive as sites become smaller and cabins proliferate.
Many CPs need to look at their actual market and work out how to attract those customers ie develop a reasonable business plan. eg If they are in a grey nomad tourist area it is no use charging resort prices for very ordinary facilities!
The Peak Hill CP is a successful case in point - thriving in a very small town despite being surrounded by free camps. They deliberatelly target grey nomads, keep charges and facilities to a modest level and provide warm hospitality!
Of course grey nomads spend money in towns, if not every town every day! They eat and drink, buy fuel and visit attractions etc. This helps pay the wages of the locals working in those businesses and the money circulates!
The CP industry also needs to consider the implications of more people owning self contained vans etc and being on the road for longer periods. We certainly don't want to pay for facilities we don't need so unpowered sites at a lower rate etc should be offered. Lynne
AnswerID: 437480

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:36
Eat + drink + buy fuel + visit attractions = pays wages for the locals and the money circulates ?? ROFLMAO ,
The grey nomad in general is tighter than a fishes you know what , forever chasing the cheapest fuel so will only fill up in larger towns , buy 99% of their groceries at Woolies or Coles to get everything cheaper than the small tourist town store , Ergo no $ for the little town , Small town pubs can't compete with the prices of the large liquor chains , Ergo the grey nomad is only good for 1-2 beers over the bar at best ,never a ctn at the price a small town local has to pay ,
Attractions , nomads pay ???? Your joking , if there is a set charge they all demand a discount of some form or other , if the museum is manned by volunteers with a donation box , guess what ? ? nomads always leave the wallet in the car .,,,,, You want to help small towns ?? Let the moths out in the small places instead of giving the profits to the likes of Coles +Woolies.
FollowupID: 709010

Follow Up By: John and Lynne - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:52

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 14:52
Steady on Alloy! Where do you get your information? Many travellers are not mean or stupid and many, like us do support businesses in small towns that make us welcome! We like to visit small towns and do our best to avoid Coles and Woolies supermarkets which rip you off every way you turn! Sensible people don't think it is good economy to cart the weight of bulk groceries around the country! We have enjoyed many delicious MEALS in small town pubs or cafes, often in the company of fellow travellers! Like most people on a long trip we have had our vehicle serviced; bought new tyres; bought clothes and food; visited tourist info centres, wineries and tourist attractions; bought presents for the grandkids etc etc while on the road! Always we meet other travellers like ourselves, not rolling in money but enjoying the experiences travel offers and doing likwise! Lynne
FollowupID: 709012

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 15:24

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 15:24
Alloy, obviously you are not a grey nomad on a pension.
Sit down at the table and work out your budget and itinerary on less than $300 per week.
Fair chance you would be studying the loose change in your pocket.

Lots of grey nomads don't get much super as it only started less than 20 years ago, so if you want them to contribute a bit to your local economy, you have to cater for their demands as far as prices and services.

Admittedly there are a lot of self funded retirees around with a few more dollars to spend, but they are not the majority of grey nomads.

Many grey nomads gather in caravan parks and have a happy hour with others, have a yarn and exchange good and bad locations to camp.
There is also the newsroom (Laundry) in the parks, and many people make decisions on where to stay because of recommendations from these meetings.

Good news about various towns travels, but not as fast as bad news.

FollowupID: 709017

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:36

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:36
"Good news about various towns travels, but not as fast as bad news."

Definitely agree with that Dave B.

Seems like there's a lot of stereotyping occurring in regards to grey nomads and their spending habits. Anything to stir the pot on slow news days I guess.

FollowupID: 709053

Reply By: jezza68 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:11

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:11
A Perspective from a Resident of a popular Tourist Town,

I live in Broome, yeah I know love it or hate it!

We have 5 caravan parks and 6 overflow areas for the peak season.

Admittedly during the peak time this is not enough. However as a rate payer I take humbrage at the following.

1) You go to use the local boat ramp at first light and you can,t park due to all the "Free Campers".

2) You go to your house being constructed and find each evening some joker with a new cruiser and 24" van plugged into your power and water. Does he leave a donation other than whats left in the toilet and bin?

3) You go to have dinner at Cable Beach but you cannot park due to "Free Campers" taking up 2 bays each, 1 for the car and one for their deck chairs and washing line

4) You go for a fitness ride just out of town and have to hold your breath as you pass the truck and tourist info bays. Why ?because someone has left behind their used toilet paper, rotten food waste and beer cans.

I travel alot but dont expect to "Frre camp " in the most ideallic locations.
i also research my destinations and calculate the cost of fuel food and caravan parks. If I cant afford O don't go. Why? Because I don't think the rest of Oz owes me a living
AnswerID: 437497

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:12

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 18:12
Top speech Jezza,

I agree wholeheartedly. If you want to free camp do it out of town.
FollowupID: 709039

Reply By: John and Lynne - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:07

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:07
There are obviously places where it is unsuitable or rude to "free camp". There is no excuse for dumping rubbish or leaving any mess wherever you stay.
However councils have the power to fine rubbish dumpers, whether locals or others, and move on campers who ignore 'no camping' signs.
No council ever seems to do this, even those who claim to employ "rangers".
People who feel harassed by inconsiderate campers in their town should demand that the council they pay rates to police the rubbish and camping regulations. Troublemakers would soon get the message! There would be no need for constant expensive patrolling - just some judicious targetting!
One way some councils deal with illegal camping is to provide a reasonable camp site out of town! This, combined with some sensible policing, would solve most problems.Unfortunately most councils just take the easy option by banning everyone and everything, including dogs and camping! And so reasonable people lose out and tourism is not supported. Lynne
AnswerID: 437513

Reply By: Berny - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 00:12

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 00:12
I bet day travellers leave as much mess as do the night stop-over people so why is everyone getting stuck in to the night visitors only.

It's pretty simple really, if you don't want visitors in your town, have the council errect signs which say "Visitors Not Welcome" and we'll all stay away. If it's only the Grey Nomads you don't want then specify that on the signs. Really, we don't care a whole lot and we really don't want to be somewhere we aren't welcome.

berny
AnswerID: 438928