Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 11:51
Member - Oldbaz. NSW.
Has anyone stayed here ?. It seems a nice spot to
camp (C/t) for a few days while doing day trips. Or has anyone a better suggestion. I am aware of the Wings Wildlife
Park in the same area. Any tips on other "dont miss" sights or camps in Tasmania
will also be very welcome. Have a month from early Feb. Yes, I've read the
excellent
blogs from Motherhen, David & Michelle & others.
cheers....oldbaz.
Reply By: westskip - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 12:53
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 12:53
Hi Old Baz
Drove past Rianna in May this year but didn't stop. Looked pretty good although it may have had a bit of a slope. $11 pn for 2 people and our Telstra Mobile phone worked.
We actaully camped at Wings which we thought was very ordinary - quite disorganised as the owners were away on holiday and their relief didn't seem quite up to it. $14.40 a night for 2 people, no mobile. To visit the animal
park is $17 ea.
With hindsight we should have stayed at Rianna.
PS Absolute highlight for us was a visit to Ledgerwood. Very moving. I"ll say no more than it is a real MUST.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 13:12
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 13:12
G'day John, thanks for the info..had Wings as a backup if Riana looked dodgy
but think it may be fine. We like to support community run thingys.
Had not heard of the Ledgerwood thing but a quick google & it is now on our
list...cheers...oldbaz.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:43
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:43
Hi OldBaz
Yes, sites are sloping - we used our levelling triangle for about the second time ever when there. It is a Pioneer
Park, and shower blocks are in keeping with the look, and a bit breezy if it is really cold. Coin showers, community members collected fees which were very reasonable. A very pleasant place to stay if you like the quiet life and supporting a small community who welcome campers.
My notes from 2006: Riana Pioneer
Park (community run). Run by local volunteers, who come around to collect fees and clean the bathrooms each day. South of Riana in a quiet pleasant parkland. Large area,
well back from the road, slightly sloping (used our levelling triangle).
Toilet and shower blocks in 'pioneer style buildings' of stone and weatherboard with open eaves. Basic and undecorated inside. Showers 20c for 3 minutes.
Bonus: Slatted board in the showers. Covered
picnic area, but no laundry. Good value at: Powered sites $7 for 1, $10 for two, $3 each extra person. Unpowered sites $5 for 1, $7 for 2 and $2 each extra person. Surprisingly, in busy Tasmania at peak tourist season, the
park was almost empty. A very pleasant place to stay.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:01
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:01
Thank you, Motherhen, it seems to fit the bill very
well. We intend to use it as a base to tour the central north area for a few days after arrival, & find it most
appealing to support community based operations. Your blog info has been carefully absorbed also. cheers....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:06
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:06
OldBaz (r u as old as me?)
We have camped at the Pioneer
Park on several occasions and really can't add any thing more than what MH has said, cause she is spot on.
Only other place's i can suggest are;
Alma
Park which is south of
Forth which is south west of
DevonportLake Gairdner again south west of
Devonport, but is off the beaten track
Lake Barrington just out of
Sheffield
Further along the coast, Black River,
Stanley, and on to the West Coast,
Arthur River, if you get that far do the river cruise, it's great.
Enjoy Tassie.
Baz
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:57
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:57
Good stuff Baz, Yes, the
Arthur River Cruise is on the list, along with the one at
Corinna. Dont know about the age thing, but I'm getting slow..got nailed by a steer this week. Was the time I would have leapt aside like a gazelle, but now
hobbling around like an..er...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:58
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:58
Sounds like we are about the same age.
If you get to the southern part of the state ie. Huon Valley, give us a burl
Baz
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 08:55
Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 08:55
Most kind Baz, I have noted the number.We will be in that area at some stage. No promises but the invitation is most
welcome.....oldbaz.
Reply By: westskip - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:33
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:33
Hi again Old Baz
We stayed a number of days in the showgrounds at Longford. $10 pn for power,
water and hot showers although the showers and
toilets were a bit basic.
Found Longford to be an excellent central spot to visit
Launceston & the Tamar plus area's to the west such as
Deloraine. There's an excellent butcher's
shop attached to the abattoir at Longford, good quality and very cheap.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:05
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:05
Appreciate
the tip re meat John, I killed my own for 40 years & now have a bit of a battle with the stuff from the
supermarket & some butchers. I generally buy a
beast & get it killed & cut up. That lasts the childbride & I about a year. Often the
forequarter lamb chops at Woolies are OK too..when on special.......oldbaz.
Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 19:53
Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 19:53
Hi oldbaz,
I am interested in reading the replies to your post as we are taking our van to Tassie for a couple of months, leaving end of January, and I am currently gathering any information I can find regarding campsites, walks, fishing
places...and more.
Maybe we will see you somewhere along the way.
regards,
Heather
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 09:00
Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 09:00
Hi Heather, we hit the boat on Feb 5 for a month with a C/t. I have a rough
itinerary with POI that I'm happy to share with you if you think it may be of use.
Let me know & I can MM some stuff if required. cheers....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:06
Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:06
Thanks oldbaz.
I havent any itinerary as yet but we have been to Tassie five times in the past so its not completely unknown territory. This will be a first towing the van. At this stage I am just taking note of any information on the
forum re campsites. We have bought the new
Camping around Australia book to complement our
well used Camps 5.
We are booked on the night ferry on 23rd January, returning 20th March so have 8 weeks and will be able to see the island in a leisurely way. I am looking forward to those delicious berries and cherries, also the crays and salmon.
Heather