Engel fridge 12V cable

When up the Cape our son damaged his 12V cable for his Engel fridge. At Weippa at B*tt* Electrical he purchased a non-Engel cable for something around $20. Silly Philly did not get one as a spare at that price. They are around the $60 mark down here. We recently purchased a used second, small fridge without a 12V cable.

Anyone kno where a non-Engel 12V, DC, J type power cable can be purchased?

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 10:21

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 10:21
I buy all such stuff cheap on Ebay.......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 441899

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 10:44

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 10:44
Thanks Baz.

That's the first place I went to. They are there but at around $58 they can stay there. See item number 140500236308. That's the genuine part and as usual "genuine" parts are highly over priced.

I even went to an electronics parts supplier and they cannot even supply the plug from all the usual wholesaler huge catalogues like RS Spares etc. Grrrrrr.

FollowupID: 713997

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 12:16

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 12:16
Ring Weipa and ask them where they get them? Or buy one over the phone and get it sent, still be cheaper than genuine............

AnswerID: 441907

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 13:16

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 13:16
I suppose that I I should have done that before. I just sent hem an email. Lets see what they say. The franchise chain do not have a shop in the ACT.

FollowupID: 714006

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 16:58

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 16:58
Hi Phil

Check out the price at your nearest BCF store. I though we paid around $30 or so for ours.

Mh

AnswerID: 441937

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:30

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:30
I did. Its the dearer one. Maybe yours is the one we want. I wonder if yours is the J type connector. We need the one shown below. $59 is a total rip off.

FollowupID: 714036

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:33

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:33
Lets try with the photo again:

Engel Type J 12V power cord
FollowupID: 714038

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:52

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:52
G'day Phil, could the original lead not be repaired, ie: new cig plug, or cut and join cable.
Just a thought.
Barry
FollowupID: 714042

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:55

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 17:55
Oops, just re read OP, complete lead req for another fridge !
Barry
FollowupID: 714044

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 18:13

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 18:13
Yes Phil - ours it like that to fit the old fashioned Engels. We've purchased a few over the years but last one probably around three years ago. Our daughter bought a cig plug for my husband to fix one cord as the cig plug end had let us down, then she discovered a new BCF and got the whole cord. We've been back and bought more cords since as they tend to get lost. Like everything, price must have gone up to nearly double :(

However if that is the only thing that needs fixing on the bomb proof generation of Engels, it isn't too bad.

Mh

FollowupID: 714046

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 18:32

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 18:32
The fridge is a current model. Its not an old one.

The plug is the same as our 40litre one we purchased last year.

You may be talking about the C type that is grey in colour.

No worries. No rush and if needs be then I will buy a new Engel one.

FollowupID: 714047

Reply By: Mills5 - Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 21:57

Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 21:57
Got one in the garage ..SWMBO..says you can have it ,,

just pick up ..for free..!! stop her whingeing ..about all the stuff we need to collect and check every time we need a break !!

its in Mosman , Sydney .
AnswerID: 442056

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 22:25

Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 22:25
That sounds great.

The problem is we are in Canberra.

You wouldn't believe it. Our youngest son from Canberra was at the zoo yesterday. ?????

I am not a member so I cannot use the PM system. if you would like to send me an email, the address is vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.

FollowupID: 714165

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 13:49

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 13:49
Hi Mills5.

Drop me an email to: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au

FollowupID: 714198

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 12:51

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 12:51
If a member is reading this could they please send Mills5 a PM to get him to get in touch with me. He offered a cable but has not come back to me. Please feel free to give him my phone number 02 6292 3260.

FollowupID: 714267

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 09:19

Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 09:19
Thanks for nothing Mills5. I waited but heard nothing. Even risked putting my phone number up to make it easy for you. All promises and nothing produced.

Don't bother.

FollowupID: 714491

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:04

Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:04
What an ungratefull 'so and so' you are vk1dx.

You ask for help, get a wonderful offer and then abuse that person because you are too cheap to be a member, and are so dammed impatient that you can't even wait a few days.

The line I love is "Even risked putting my phone number up to make it easy for you"

Geez what a guy you are. You are so generous you make it easy for HIM!

FollowupID: 714504

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:15

Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:15
It has been almost a week since this bloke said he would help me. I tried several times to get in contact with him and he ignored me. The evidence is above. Her would have received three emails regard this and has ignored them all. What do you want me to do. I am done with him. He could have at least acknowledged my emails amd said he would get back to me. Zip nothing. And for me to put my phone number on the internet proves I am trusting him, keen and eager to get a response from him.

I gather that you had been watching this thread as its an old one. Why didn't you bother to help before when I asked for someone to PM him? Thanks for not helping.

But out.

FollowupID: 714506

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:20

Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:20
Also why do you think I am a not a member? You dont know why. You just assumed that I am cheap. What if I had to spend the money else where.

Hmm

Another judgenment without knowing the full facts.

If I was more financial, as you no doubt are then, I would have purchased a new fridge with the cable. But the situation does not allow it. I don't even have any beer or wine in the house. Now does that give you an idea. Nope wrong! I love a beer when I can. And just in case you think I waste it. I dont smoke not inhabit the TAB or pokies.

I hate people like you that think money grows on trees.

FollowupID: 714507

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:46

Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 12:46
Let's move on guys and not allow this thread to be moderated for personal attacks. You've both had an opportunity to reply, let's leave further responses for Mills5.

regards,
The modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 714510