Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 08:43
westozal
Hello everyone,
Just looking for information re what weight one of those telstra ute tradebody/canopy replacement ute backs would be.
A mate has just purchased a 2002 Patrol with one of these on the back which he wants to use as a camping truck.
I thought it looked pretty heavy and somewhat top heavy but would like to have opinions from those who may know better.
Thanks AL
Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 09:22
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 09:22
Hi AL,
That rig did'nt happen to to be in a yard on Parramatta Rd Granvile NSW, did it? I happened to be looking at an exact same set-up there on the weekend.
That configuration certainly lends it's self to being a great touring camper set-up.
Capt.
Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 12:29
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 12:29
Mine is 200kg lighter than the Aussie Work and Leisure Fibreglass unit I had on the back previously. Still with shelving installed and a kitchen, the Patrol is 3180 kg empty! (including fuel).
Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:04
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:04
Hi Al
I drive a similar vehicle for work (not Telstra) and use a Telstra style body built by Obeico in
Tamworth NSW - the body weighs 380 kgs from memory. A call to the business 02-67623954 will provide the right answer. We've used the body on 3 different Patrols and it has stood up the rough and tumble very
well - no leaks of water or dust under some lousy conditions.
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog My Position Send Message |
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:24
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:24
The canopy on the back of ‘The Landy’ weighs in around 300kg (roughly from memory) and was built by Dave Vella, Dave’s Metal Products,
Sydney. The set-up works perfectly for camping, and long range touring and we have plenty of space in the canopy to carry large, and small items, and provision to add a roof-top tent.
Whilst it doesn’t necessarily answer your original question fully, I can recommend this type of set-up...whether it be a Telstra canopy, or something more custom made. The flexibility having this set-up up is invaluable as you get to configure how it best suits.
Plenty of people making them these days... And at the risk of sounding like an advertisement, Dave Vella produces an excellent product with high quality workmanship. No leaks, no dust, and no problems... ticked all the right boxes for us!
Reply By: westozal - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 20:00
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 20:00
Hi fella's,
Thanks for the replies. It is a Ex Telstra truck.
The vehicle was brought in WA so no I don't think it was in NSW recently.
20k paid for 2002 240km on clock. Leaf sprung model. Appears in good order from a cursory look.
I was just a bit worried about the weight before adding gear etc.
Sounds like it will be ok hopefully.
Thanks AL
Follow Up By: Bigfish - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 20:05
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 20:05
Work for Telstra in remote area. The Nissan with the work body on with a small amount of gear in was close to legal limit. Load it up and its
well over. We had issues with chassis cracking too. Good work platforms , but heavy. Put it over a weighbridge and get exact weight.
Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 02:16
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 02:16
they roll very easily according to the guy with the telstra ute parked on its back about 30ks from
nullagine
Reply By: bruce b2 - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:41
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:41
g'day westozal - and a special mention to bigfish (same beloved ? employer and a reasonable amount of remote work), the box frequently has leaks where the ladder racks are fitted, the cabin is not exactly comfortable with limited
seat travel, noisy and last time i weighed
mine, a mere 400kgs over. oops. i'm guessing it is the old 4.2 litre 6 cylinder motor which is a good old clunker and my 3.0 litre now is not my favorite.
check the hinges and mounting arrangements for the back wings, we have had them vibrate loose and the wing can fall off which can be embarassing.
cheers - bb
Follow Up By: westozal - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 17:49
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 17:49
Hi again,
Thanks for further information. Ties in with my thoughts really.
thanks Al