Lark Quarry

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:34
ThreadID: 90146 Views:2870 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
A bit late now, but on the ABC last night there was a show called dinosaur stampede which was about Lark Quarry. It was interesting how they went about identifying the foot prints and then matching them to the appropriate dinosaur. The end story as to what happened was the same as when I was there a few years back with them now knowing what sort of dinosaur's were there.Was good to get some more info about a place that youv'e been to.
Murray
Another Mexican

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:40

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:40
Gday Murray...long time no hear

My kids recon i'm an old dinosaur I could have been mentioned ?

AnswerID: 470204

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:45

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:45
Betty's still looking for enough candles to put on your cake LOL
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 744664

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:52

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:52
Thanks Betty
I am off to Sydney on Friday afternoon for a little work.
Any southern Sydney people want a beer and meet the old Muzbry?

FollowupID: 744665

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 00:04

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 00:04
Hey Muz.
I been to the Lark Quarry, I seen all them there prints and none were big enough for you, see you put your big foot in it didn't ya.

FollowupID: 744777

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:43

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:43
A fascinating story Murray, although i did not see the recent broadcast. It was high on our priorities list to see after first learning about the discovery years before. We got there in 2009. Most people have not idea that the most numbers were of little fellas about the size of chooks.

AnswerID: 470205

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:24

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:24
I think it was 2006 when we were there and they mentioned two size's. The big fella and all the other prints were the chook size. Last nights show said that there were two or three different sized smaller ones.
Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 744672

Follow Up By: Member - A J- Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:42

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:42
Motherhen - if you would like to view the program just google iview and search for the program. Most ABC shows are available for two weeks.

A J
FollowupID: 744674

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:11

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:11
I recall three different sizes of footprints; the multitude of little chook dinosaurs running in all directions, a number of sheep dinosaurs, and the big predator one chasing i think the sheep. Amazing that the prints were laid down then preserved in the clay, discovered and uncovered in our day so we can see them. You can see the big one's footprints digging in as he picked up speed and the steps became wider apart. The calculations they have done are fascinating.

Thanks for that tip AJ.

Mh

FollowupID: 744675

Follow Up By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 06:11

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 06:11
Watched the end of the doco and agree interesting to see what sort of Dinosaurs they thought made the tracks. Visited the site a few years ago.

The iview replay is available here:
Dinosaur Stampede

FollowupID: 744683

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:05

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:05
Yes, I saw it. It was good show.

Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 470207

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:29

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:29
Michelle
Yes I agree, was interesting to see how they used info from around the world to figure out what happened here.
Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 744673

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:19

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:19

This re-creation is set up in Winton and shows the compartive sizes. A sheep sized one is partially hidden behind the right hand sign, and the chook ones are running in all directions.

Mh

AnswerID: 470214

Follow Up By: mike39 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 09:48

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 09:48
We missed the show last night, but visited Lark Quarry in 1995, the year we commenced opal mining.

It was totally undeveloped then and one could walk over the footprints and prise loose fragments of rock covering the base.
This could reveal another impressed footprint leaving the opposite in the piece in your hand.
Naughty, but we have kept the remnants in our own little museum.

We also found "cuprolites"? , fossilised dino. poo in the area.

A couple of years ago, prospecting 80odd km. west of Eromanga I picked up a section of leg fossil about 17cm. long.
It was as if the bone was split longways revealing spongelike marrow inside. The bone would have been around 70mm. in diameter.

At the present time the Un.Qld. is excavating a huge dinosaur on Plevna Downs station with substantial funding coming from Santos.
A few years ago Santos put on day with the palaeontologists from Un.Qld. displaying a range of fossil casts from the site.

Sadly, cant find the pic of Chris standing beside the cast of the femur which is 180cm. long!
There is good info. available on this project in Eromanga.

Another large on is being excavated near Winton.

I find this subject most interesting when one considers how this W.Qld. landscape has changed. Part of the secret in opal mining is discovering the location of palao. drainage channels.
mike

FollowupID: 744695

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:09

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:09
The two times we have been to Q'land we were not able to get out there due to the roads being closed due to rain. Black dirt roads.
It is a pity that a tourist attraction like that did not have a bitumen road. With luck it has changed in the last three years.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 744740

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:22

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:22
We had a good look around Winton when we were there and I don't remember seeing that recreation of the stampede. Good see there is something to let the public know how big they were.
Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 744742

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:41

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:41
Murray, we saw a recreation however cannot recall whether it was in Winton or the next town along.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 744743

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:18

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:18
The display in my photo is at the Corfield and Fitzmaurice building in the main street (opposite side and a short way west of the Matilda Centre). The "Shinplaster" pass gives entrance to the Matilda Centre, Lark Quarry, Corfield and Fitzmaurice building, and other displays in Winton.

Seeing the 'dinosaur region' was high on our priorities, and the major one for Queensland. An awesome experience was holding a fossil 200 million years old at Boulia - gee i felt young :). I felt highly privileged that these amazing discoveries, buried beneath the clay for so many millions of years, are becoming uncovered now in our lifetime for us to see. We are a lucky generation.

In 2009, there were quite a few patches of the road to Lark Quarry bitumised. It was a dry year and the roads were in very good condition, and the Lark Quarry road well maintained for the droves of tourist coaches.

Mh

FollowupID: 744765

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 03:46

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 03:46
Thanks MH,
Maybe I will have to try and make another trip to Q'land. Last there in July 2008. Hmmm, cannot leave it to long as The cook and I will be past our towing years. 71 in a few weeks.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 744783

Reply By: buzzz - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:50

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:50
hey all, slightly off topic, actually way off, but my wife and i are considering a trip from brisbane out to lark quarry over the xmas, new year period. now apart from it being as hot as buggery would there be any concerns with driving from lark quarry across to old cork waterhole and beyond to eventually meet meet the Kennedy development road (outback hwy)? i'm not at all familiar with the area, is it subject to flooding with a bit off weather about? is that particular track quite tough and to risky to travel alone? any advice and tips would be greatly appreciated and sorry for the thread hijack.

jamie
AnswerID: 470289

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 12:07

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 12:07
Jamie,

Not even sure if Lark Quarry would even be open at that time? Waltzing Matilda Centre in Winton would know.

Road from Lark Quarry to Old Cork is pretty good, with only a few minor creeks to cross. Old Cork to Winton-Boulia road has a number of bigger creeks, as well as the Diamantina to cross. But it is usually in good condition, because it doesn't get a lot of use.

Even isolated storms could run one of these creeks, and put the road out for some days. Not the most populated area either.

Another option would be to travel up the Diamantina River Road, from Old Cork, coming out on the Winton-Boulia road, about 50 kms west of Winton. This is generally pretty good, and has some good scenery. BUT if the Diamantina has flooded recently, give it a miss.
You could give me a ring. closer to the time, and I might have some more up-to-date advice. 0427 727 302

FollowupID: 744804

Follow Up By: buzzz - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 21:40

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2011 at 21:40
thanks for the very useful info Bob. i emailed the dinosaur place and it will be closed till at least April they reckon, due to funding issues. but we will still be going out that way if the weather is favorable. looks to be a number of places of interest between winton and mt isa going the long way. thanks again mate
FollowupID: 745179