The Old Cars & Trucks. how did we drive them?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 18:54
ThreadID: 90292 Views:5102 Replies:15 FollowUps:46
At the Speeds we used to do!, Had a drive of a VW Beetle 1200cc Today, ...Talk about going Back!!,I used to own one many moons ago, and to think i used to drive this thing on its limit most of the time, Top speed of 75mph down hill was often achieved,,,, The first two roundabouts i went thru today near had my heart pumping at record rate..lol , But to its credit if you slammed the door with the windows up youcould still feel that eardrum near burst..lol , What a basic thing they where , Big wheels, low reving,strong underneath, absolutley no frills what so ever with the early models , Just enough equipment to be able to sit in them and drive the thing!!...What a machine..lol....Oh!..& how good where they in the out Back.

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:07

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:07
Axle, fair dinkum mate, most of us old blokes learnt our sex lessons in the back of a VW beetle. Speed did not matter mate, just reliability!!! LOL
You are so right, these vehicles were simple & cheap, bit like the first Mini Minor!! Them were the days!! LOL & Cheers & thanks for the memories.
AnswerID: 470933

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:34

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:34
naahhh.......FJ Holden :-))))))))))
FollowupID: 745452

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:55

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:55
EH Special. 149, three speed with cross plys. You'd go around a corner and have to turn the steering wheel a few extra turns to initiate the turn then half way around the corner you'd have to back it off once the tyres caught up to the rims.

4 wheel drum brakes, metal dash board, no seat belts, poor fume sealing, no PCV recirc system - just the old walking stick, no power steering, no air cond, vinyl seats and headlights as bright as a match. How did we ever survive?

Fab.
FollowupID: 745457

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:37

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:37
Fab.......oh so funny, but oh so true hahahahahaha what times they were.
FollowupID: 745468

Follow Up By: dazren - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:43

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:43
64 EH Holden 179 ci twin carbs, extractors, deep dark red, and plenty of chrome, including wide chrome wheels, bl--dy great car, would Eat 186S monaro's for breakfast, and could beat a 253 monaro [if the driver did not know how to drive ] Knock off work friday meet the boys and girls go to the
Orama Dance in Footscray [ Vic ] Dance finished at 12pm load up my EH and mates HR premier and drive all over Victoria until late sunday OH ! those were the days, [ mates used to put in for petrol as it cost about $4 to fill tank
FollowupID: 745469

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 21:32

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 21:32
You old buggers lol I had a HQ panel van with a 253 V8 three on the tree lol even had an innerspring mattress hahahaha year 1975. 10' Firestone's on the back with pump up shocks, it was chocolate brown with the blacked out bonnet.
FollowupID: 745481

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 09:30

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 09:30
Talk about a crack up, how one simple below the belt comment gets you all off your chair. I do believe when you get older your memories of your younger days become clearer.
FollowupID: 745505

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:55

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:55
and more exciting Old girl :-)))))

It's the only adrenalin rush we get these days :-( LOL LOL

Fred
FollowupID: 745570

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 12:13

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 12:13
You know you're getting old when every sentence begins with "When I was your age........."
FollowupID: 745609

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:15
A mate had an old "VeeDub". We used to chase the surf with it. At Christmas 1967 we took a drive down the coast from Byron for four weeks. It went on any beach we could get to. Flooded creeks not a problem provided you hit them at the outrageous speed of 60 MPH. Thats the best we could get with the boards on top. We even had to replace a piston on one trip. Yep. On the driveway of a service station at Angourie. You try that these days. It seems that the piston did not take kindly running on the range fuel we "borrowed" from the kitchen cookers.

I may even tell you about my Kingswood!!! Maybe next time. Portsea to Liverpool every second weekend to see my girlfriend (now my wife) in Sydney. You could sit IN the bonnet while you took the head of it. Just to polish it up a bit. That's enough.

AnswerID: 470934

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:32

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:32
Phil you old bugga.....I can remember a XP Falcon full of "oh so young" sailors racing up the old Hume H'way, Friday arvo, from HMAS Cerberus on the Mornington Peninsular to have weekend recco with our girls in Sydney and Newcastle, then back again to be on board before 0700 hrs Monday.
BTW....Most of us survived. A few "RIP old Mates" did not. But the weekly ritual carried on.
And, I may add, there were a few Vee Dubs amongst the weekly event.

Thanks for reviving those memories.

Fred.
FollowupID: 745451

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:59

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 19:59
Don't you dare tell me you have memories of the red Kingswood later to be blue????

I was actually at Balcombe in 1968/9. Did a bit of Electronics and Communications study. I said Portsea as most would not know where Balcombe was. A mate Frank Ostrowski was at Cerberus and his girl and mine were mates at Lidcombe Hospital.

After we got married we ripped out the metal behind the back seat, dropped a mattress in it and used it as a surfing and sleeping wagon. Honestly just for sleeping!!! I don't think her Dad ever knew about the mattress. We had it for 18 years. Used to look good up on top of Skyline at Bathurst. Got chased at Tarcutta for 5 miles. I did not know it was a cop. Got off it also. No speed limits then.

Here it is.

FollowupID: 745458

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:05

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:05
AYE Phil.....I bet ya wished the bugga was still in ya shed mate. Sensational !!
I reckon ya got many a night of "Good Sleeps" in that old bus, aye ???

Fred
FollowupID: 745461

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:15
BTW Phil, I was at Cerberus in '69 when Balmain flogged souths to win the GF and Armstrong and Co. walked on the moon. The whole base at Cerberus had the day off for both occasions to watch a scratchy B&W TV of the occasions. Not long after that, back "Up Top" for six months :-((

Fred
FollowupID: 745462

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:21

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:21
Apparently my niece said it was still around in 2005.

And I would love to have it here now. But the running up and down beaches took its toll and she had a bundle of rust in the back two quarters. That's why we sold it. I couldn't afford to get the rust cut out.

Memories. Who the damn hell started this thread. I will dream about the Kingswood being chased by a SLR 5000 Torana with "double bubbles" on the top just south of Tarcutta. And I was only doing 135. Mph not kiddy klicks.

Catchya

FollowupID: 745463

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:25

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:25
That's when I got my first TV. A 12" B&W. You must recall the "huge" wages then!Well we used that tiny TV until 1983 when my wife went back to work.

Cruising in the Kingswood was more important and took any spare funds we could muster.

Mate; thanks.

FollowupID: 745464

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:33

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:33
Phil.......Luv ya mate.
Keep well aye.
There's more to do.

Fred.

FollowupID: 745467

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:53

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:53
Just to get back to the topic for the last post.

The question was "how did we drive them?". Like rockets compared to today. This 110 K is only 65 miler per hour. I was still in second gear. You must understand the Doug Chivas advised on how to do it up and thats what we did. He also had the holden garage across the road in Sefton. She was not standard and at 110MPH you could change down to third and pass that damned GT falcon.

How did we drive them. A lot better than today. I feel like I am asleep on these freeways. What ever happened to good old corners like the "S" bend over the train line at Bergo. Remember it. I used to get around it at 75.

At least we did chat about the topic for once!!!
FollowupID: 745470

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 21:48

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 21:48
Good point Phil, There taking the corners out these days to make safer roads,, .....What a joke someone wipes themself out every second day somewhere!, ,, We were simpley better drivers!!...lol.

FollowupID: 745485

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:48

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:48
Axle, I reckon your on the right track there. Those days our vehicles were not full of electronic gadgets for this and that. Ya had to drive the flamin' car, not like these days, just sit back and steer it, with a zillion distractions on the dashboard and in the cabin.

I'm not saying todays vehicles aren't light years ahead of what we drove back then, in terms of safety etc, it's just todays drivers use in vehicle technology to keep/get them out of trouble, and when that technology fails, so too often does the driver. Maybe they should be taught the basics first, in basic vehicles.

Fred.
FollowupID: 745542

Follow Up By: mbw650 - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 23:20

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 23:20
Hey Phil, the " S " bend over the train line at Bergo ? Sounds suspiciously like the " S " bend up the road just outside Bargo, about 20m up the road from me. If its the same one, you must remember the old petrol station 50m before the " S " bend. The old steel loop that held the sign is still there overgrown with some trees, my grandfather used to get the call out to all the cars that didnt quite make it !
FollowupID: 745580

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 07:34

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 07:34
That's the one. I will never forget it. We used the banking as well. It was the best set of corners on the whole trip.

No wonder that you could drive for ages with roads like the old Hume. No chance of nodding off.

Must go through there one day. I usually get the train up to Sydney on the weekends for the footy (Eels) and next time I drive I will check it out.

FollowupID: 745586

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:07

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:07
Hi Axle. I had a Morris Major in those days and it used to get up to 74mph. My mate had a beetle that he had modified and he bet me one night that it would not do 100mph down Mt Ousley (near wollongong.) I was in the passenger's seat and watched the speedo needle go round to the last indicator light ( I think it was high beam) which was close to the ton. Like you say, dunno how we survived. Cheers,Bob

AnswerID: 470935

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:26
Hey Bob, that revives a scary time for me. I had a mate, a trainee Navy Officer at Jervis Bay, about 1971, who had too much money and too little brains LOL. (After all he was from S.A.) We were down there on excercises, and on a day off, he took me for a run up to Nowra in his new Mini Cooper S. Faaaaark. With my freckle only inches off the tarmac, this was the first time I had been to 100 MPH in a motor car of any size. I have never forgotten the experience, and I may say, have never repeated it LOL.

Fred
FollowupID: 745465

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 23:33

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 23:33
1972. 140mph in a GT HO Falcon on a runway at an un-named capital city airport at 2:00am. Clutch failed half way through a gear change with a mile to go, stuck in neutral, to get off the airport before the next aircraft arrived. We made it through the gate, just.

Can't be having that sort of fun now :-(

Frank

PS Hydraulic clutch failed because the hard plastic line from the pedal cylinder to the slave was too long and kissed the exhaust manifold, which, after a couple of 140mph runs was, errr, warm, and melted!

FollowupID: 745581

Reply By: ross - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:58

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:58
I got to drive a HR ute a few years back,skinny steering wheel,3 sp on the tree,what a horrible machine.
My 1st car was a HT Kingswood with a 186 and 2sp powerglide and was quite a nice ride then,I dunno how it feel now.
Next car was a HK Premier with the 5 litre chev,I dont know if my arms could swing that steering wheel now with the Olympic steel radials it had on then.

One thing Ive noticed is that I could sleep comfortably all night on the back(or front seat) of my holdens with my girlfriend(Jenny).Not so now,anything less than a queen size inner spring mattress and there is no way I can close my eyes.
AnswerID: 470940

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:04

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011 at 16:04
My employers considered that Landrovers were the work vehicle.

So we were supplied with the Series 2A version in SWB & LWB varieties. The four cylinder version would 60 MPH tops, and the one 6 cylinder Landy would do about 75 MPH. As we didn't have to pay for the fuel and had long distances to travel, we did the fastest speed possible.

Four on the floor, no synchro between 1st & 2nd, and changing back from 3rd you had to double shuffle, and I still do that with my manual Triton.

No power steering and drum brakes of the Girling variety, which today wouldn't pass a rego check.

You got very strong upper arms turning the wheel as there was no power assist, and it was bloody cold or hot, depending on the season. You couldn't stop the drafts, and in the summer, if you wanted air conditioning you opened the vents or the window.

The grommets in the firewall always fell out and at night you could see a white hot exhaust manifold through the holes, and an exhaust pipe that passed directly underneath the aluminium floor.

On one occasion Jeep Australia conned the organisation into trialling one of their mid 60's abortions. It wouldn't start and had to be towed around town for ages before it would fire up, and we weren't game enough to shut it down so it idled whenever we had to stop and do anything. A very SWB and as rough as hell. It was returned after five weeks & we got a Landy, again.

Ah yes, they were the days (like hell).
FollowupID: 745868

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:59

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 20:59
G'day Axle , Know just where you are comming from , we have a 72 Torana and a 2010 Commodore Sv6 ,, when the Tori hasn't been out for a while , MAN , its a shock to the system !!

All the best ,, Neil ..

AnswerID: 470941

Reply By: menace- Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 23:58

Friday, Nov 25, 2011 at 23:58
I dont think any of us would give up the comfort of todays cars to completely return to the golden oldies but it certainally was a bit more exciting..and a bit scary to think of the things we used to do with them and having to actually been some of the survivors !..first car was an FC holden sedan and the biggest thing to happen to me at the time to actually not have to rely on anyone and the independence that came with it...some hoons set fire to it along with another blokes car under the unit i lived in in cabramatta..I was dirty because I had just bought a set or mags for it !!..borrowed the money off my employer and bought another one...I could never use public transport again after having had a taste of my own car .
I was then refused finance everywhere on a new GT and probably lucky for me and anyone else (i was 18) so I ended up with a 1966 chev impala (on finance )..the police used to pull me up all the time thinking I might have stolen it lol..it was immaculate..I eventually worked the 327 in it..it was the first V8 I built myself...even fabricating the engine stand myself to do it..EK ute with a 161 for the girlfriend at the time ...bought an FJ panel van running and in great condition ..left it in a U-Hire factorette in Queanbeyan when we moved down south..must have been like a barn find for someone !....built up a XW ute with a 351 windsor...I certainally wish I had a big shed and all of them in it now to play with...
AnswerID: 470961

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 11:53

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 11:53
Yeah I think of my brother in-law's XA GT coupe and giving that a bit of a squirt, and then going back to my BA the oldies are 'cool' to look at and drive for a bit but now that we've all been spoilt with modern cars, I couldn't go back to one. Driving my XG ute is like a shock to the system now! lol.

FollowupID: 745517

Reply By: menace- Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 00:08

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 00:08
Would really love to have an early split windscreen VW tradesman ute to play with ..but they seem to be too far gone or more expensive than a new ute !..so that is the end of that lol
AnswerID: 470962

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 02:42

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 02:42
My '59 beetle didn't have a fuel gauge. There was a lever down below you would flick with your foot when you ran out and it would give you an extra gallon. I remember getting passed by trucks going up hill but I would scream past them going down again. I could fill it up for $2.
AnswerID: 470966

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 05:10

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 05:10
Axle,
Here is one I drove with steering from heaven and a gearbox from hell. The big V8 just rolled on the torque.

RA.
AnswerID: 470967

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 09:15

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 09:15
Nice Fifth Wheeler there RA LOL LOL

Overdoing it a bit with the tug though mate, but al least you have aircon in the accomodation :-)

FollowupID: 745503

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 10:12

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 10:12
Fred,
best part of the tug was in winter you could drive her in your underpants and in summer you could strap one of those George Foreman vertical grills to the firewall and cook dinner while driving. No need for a cob cooker.

Reason for the big tug was so I could drag those pesky new V8 cruisers around by the nose. LOL.

Have a good one,
RA..

FollowupID: 745507

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:24

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:24
Drove one like this for a while in 1966-68 while doing Nashos in RAEME at Liverpool.

FollowupID: 745520

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:50

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:50
Phil,
nice chimney. You can put your hands out the window and warm them up.

Good to see a man carrying all his recovery gear.

Here is a photo of another vehicle I had. The photo was taken when she was in pristine condition.

[fi]/Members/143450.75/Forum/71[/f

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 745524

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:51

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:51
Phil,
nice chimney. You can put your hands out the window and warm them up.

Good to see a man carrying all his recovery gear.

Here is a photo of another vehicle I had. The photo was taken when she was in pristine condition.

[fi]/Members/143450.75/Forum/71[/f

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 745526

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:56

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 12:56
Will try that again, had a failure
FollowupID: 745527

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 13:31

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 13:31
RA.. Now thats what you call a quality Rig!!

FollowupID: 745532

Follow Up By: menace- Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:31

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:31
used one like that as a back ender crane for machinery moving in late 70's vk1dx..it was originally a tank recovery vehicle...an Oshkosh i think...you could get out and walk beside it while it chugged along in low low
FollowupID: 745537

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 16:19

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 16:19
The most interesting drive I ever had apart from the HK and tanks etc.

FollowupID: 745545

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:35

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:35
G'day Rockape , i see you worked for Curtin Bros as well , I worked for them out at Emu Ck west of Cairns , we had 2 of these with tipper bodies on them , only had 6 speed box in them ,, but they'd pull like nothing was on their back !!

All the best ,, Neil ..

FollowupID: 745566

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 04:39

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 04:39
Neil,
They really could pull but you would have to let the revs die right down before you could change gear. If I remember rightly uou would have to let them die from 1800 back to 1200 revs.

Have a great day,
RA.
FollowupID: 745582

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:06

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:06
Drove this from the Gong to Syd twice a day, some times do a third one if you could get loaded quick. The mountion was hard work with 671 naturals till the 42 ton permits came in, Then they replaced the motors with 871 GMs
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 470986

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:47

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 14:47
Dave,
bet you had a sore left arm in that old K model if I remember correctly that 671 only had about 180 neddies.

You also should be deaf like me by now from listening to that jimmy all day.

Do it easy,
RA.
FollowupID: 745539

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:08

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:08
First ute, '64 EH 179. Bought it for 795 quid, in '65, never cost much to run, and traded it for a new '70 HT ute, for 625 quid. The HT cost $2650 landed in Kununurra, in Aug. '70.

The EH was a better ute than the HT. Had the HT for about 8 years & in that time, put in 2 front cross-members, as well as repairing/welding broken upper spring turrets, numerous times.

The driving lights in the photo are Marchal lights, the "ultimate" QH lights available in 1966!!!

Punted this old "B" Model around the Urandangie & Barkly Tableland area for 6 years. Stubbie shorts & singlet during the winter, and guaranted 55 plus degrees in cab during summer. 18 speed Quad box with 2 sticks, many used 2 hand gear changing......not like the ease of the 18 speed Roadranger used these days.

Those were the days.........

AnswerID: 470992

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:24

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:24
Hi Axle,
Yeah the 15 speed was hard work on Mt Ousley, Worked our way down to 4th in mid range the throw the Deep reduction switch and straight into 5th Deep which was quicker than going into 3 mid range. All the 350 Big Bangers (LOL) used to bag us up, Then we got some SARs with 892TTA and that made it easyer till we went onto pulling tankers.

GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 470993

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:59

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 15:59
Dave,
drove a cab over 25.280 MAN with a 15speed RR. It was a dog, 237hp R models would pass you loaded. An intercooler and straight threw exhaust were fitted and it would keep up with 350 big cams.

Haven't driven an auto manual but a mate who does float work reckons they are the Bees Knees.

By the way, love the SAR's.

RA.

FollowupID: 745544

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 18:51

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 18:51
RA,
Mate of mine used to drive an R model Syd to Adel over the mountains, Man that was an experience watching him using both hands changing gears with one arm through the steering wheel.
Love the 904 ,Drove one for a bloke will he went to the States for 2 weeks C15 x 18 speed, Best part was the 50"Bunk LOL.

Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 745561

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:44

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 20:44
Maybe you think I am trying to trump your ace but as a 15 year old in 1948 I used to drive a '34 Reo semi around the farm (the boss used to take sheep to market with it) 3 speed NON- synchro (crash) gearbox. "Holdens? What 'olden the one I got is old enough" I want a Plymouth or a Dodge. If you were a snob - "A De Soto with fluid transmission if you please!"
FollowupID: 745567

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 04:45

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 04:45
Brian,
on the snob value I can remember a great aunt who was quite a refined lady going on and on about their Buick straight 8.

RA.
FollowupID: 745583

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 21:45

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 21:45
Hi Brian
The first truck I drove was Reo Speedwagon from around that era. Talk about double de-clutching these days and most young people wonder what you are talking about. I got my drivers license in 46 ford ute had to use the clutch a bit there too.
Those old V Dubs were pretty useful to, courted my wife in one of them, still married after 48 years.
FollowupID: 745664

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 22:18

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 22:18
Rus, I notice that nobody has mentioned "Eaton diffs". Were you of that era too? Little knob on the side of the gear lever up was "high" from memory. If you were a "smart-arse" you could shift ratios without using the clutch. (I was one LOL) BTW I turn 79 at Christmas. Lot of miles under the belt on unsealed roads not like the "cowboys" of today - auto transmissions - airconditioning, sleeper cabs, etc. It was good fun but then we did not know any different.
FollowupID: 745669

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 22:35

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 22:35
Brian,
I had a eaton/rockwell 2 speed diff in an old bedstead I owned.

I remember leaving that diff all over the road between Moonie and Goondiwindi.

If anyone finds it please let me know so I can go and hit it with a really big hammer, two times.

LOL.

All the best,
RA.

FollowupID: 745671

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 23:05

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 23:05
RA,
The old two speed diffs, If you got it wrong would sound like a bucket of nuts & bolts being draged behind you LOL.
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 745675

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 10:25

Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 10:25
Yes I was familiar with the Eaton as well.
I did not drive full time but at times I would get a call from the local carrier to take a load of lambs up to Finegand freezing works in a Bedstead 160 on board with a cab over crate. A bought 90 miles one way but lots of hills. Down to 2 second low at times but if the Eaton did not engage quick enough it as low low all the way up.
I soon found to take a newspaper with me, not to read but use as insulation to stop the left leg from burning from the exhaust heat.
Leave around 7pm get home around 3-4 in the morning depending on the wind direction.
FollowupID: 745703

Reply By: luhuanhuan l - Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 17:26

Saturday, Nov 26, 2011 at 17:26
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 471011

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 07:40

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 07:40
G/Day Axle

My first car was a 1957/58 FC Holden Station Wagon.

I had a mate who worked for Repco Engine Reconditioners.

The motor was in excellent condition when I got the vehicle but we thought we could improve the performance side of things.

He did all the machining free of charge and parts were at cost.

The external bolt on bits were Webber Carbies and Extractors ect.

Being an apprentice plumber I made up the twin exhausts out of heavy guage copper pipe with Lukey Mufflers, I used to replace the exhaust pipe every few months.

You could hear the thing comming a mile away.

I resprayed the wagon, the hood was Alpine White and the rest was British Racing Green.

I remember one night we were comming back from Brisbane heading to the Gold Coast, when this car behind us started flashing his headlights.

I just put the foot on the pedal and left him in the distance.

We pulled over at an all night servo to have a feed and while we were in there a Copper walked in and asked who owned the green station wagon parked out side.

Boofhead me said I did.

To cut a long story short, I used up all my points and lost my license for a month.

But mate those were great times, it's a wonder i'm still here.

AnswerID: 471064

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 16:34

Sunday, Nov 27, 2011 at 16:34
G/Day Dazza, It was Amazing what you could do to improve the perfomance

of those old Holden engines, and Boy they could go really well!!...It was just hanging onto the things..LOL.,,,,and another thing they very seldom blew up unless you cooked one, which was quiet remarkable really.

FollowupID: 745631

Reply By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 17:38

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2011 at 17:38
My employers considered that Landrovers were the work vehicle.

So we were supplied with the Series 2A version in SWB & LWB varieties. The four cylinder version would 60 MPH tops, and the one 6 cylinder Landy would do about 75 MPH. As we didn't have to pay for the fuel and had long distances to travel, we did the fastest speed possible.

Four on the floor, no synchro between 1st & 2nd, and changing back from 3rd you had to double shuffle, and I still do that with my manual Triton.

No power steering and drum brakes of the Girling variety, which today wouldn't pass a rego check.

You got very strong upper arms turning the wheel as there was no power assist, and it was bloody cold or hot, depending on the season. You couldn't stop the drafts, and in the summer, if you wanted air conditioning you opened the vents or the window.

The grommets in the firewall always fell out and at night you could see a white hot exhaust manifold through the holes, and an exhaust pipe that passed directly underneath the aluminium floor.

On one occasion Jeep Australia conned the organisation into trialling one of their mid 60's abortions. It wouldn't start and had to be towed around town for ages before it would fire up, and we weren't game enough to shut it down so it idled whenever we had to stop and do anything. A very SWB and as rough as hell. It was returned after five weeks & we got a Landy, again.

Ah yes, they were the days (like hell).

Then they went Tojo, but I had been elevated to driving a Kingswood.
AnswerID: 471371