Cape York fuel and water?

We are travelling around Australia next year and plan to go up to cape York. Just wondering what the availability of diesel and drinking water is up there and how many jerry cans we need to take with us. We have a Rodeo with no extra fuel tank and we have a camper trailer with 75L on water on board but were thinking of leaving the camper for that part of the trip, however we are not planning on doing the OTT so we may take it up. Any thoughts? This site has definately helped with our planning before which I must admit we have left a little late. Thanks, Carreen

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:36
Hi Careen

There is plenty of fuel, plenty of water and, there are plenty of corrugations.

Just fill up as you go. That's what we did. I never carry jerry cans.

Don't write off the OTT yet. We drove (both ways StoN and NtoS) 99% of both sections and the only one we did not go through was Gunshot. Yes we had problems getting out of one. It's the third one from the top coming south. We got out on our own. There are also plenty of others who would help you. Just make sure that you have your own snatch and extension straps. If you don't have Maxtracks buy or borrow a pair. Typical issue of "you get stuck = you provide the kit". We had a ball on it and I hope that you can at least try the southern section as we did but with using the Gunshot bypass.

This was a bit off topic but I think you get the idea.

AnswerID: 471880

Follow Up By: Carreen - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 22:54

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 22:54
Thanks Phil,
Will talk to others when we get up there and decide about the track. Good to know we don't need to load up with jerry cans. We are not travelling with a winch at this stage but may fit one in Darwin if we feel the need for it. Are the Maxtracks that good to take?
Carreen
FollowupID: 746674

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 23:11

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 23:11
We already had a winch so it was not a big expense. Especially second hand. I wouldn't fit a winch just for the OTT. But if you intend to do things like the desert drives or up in the Vic High areas then it may be worth it.

Maxtracks you bet. We don't have any yet. Just waiting for the right price. Maybe at a 4WD show. No big desert or Vic alps drives until after the wet so no rush. But if we decide to go to a place that may be a bit tricky I will buy them before we go. Especially as we mostly travel alone and have to be prepared.

There is a heap of info on the net about the track. Check out the Starckie Track. Its an easy slow 140Km drive through typical savannah bush between Cooktown and Cape Melville. Once past Starckie itself it turns into just a couple of wheel tracks that are easy to follow. Not a lot of traffic.

Which reminds me. What comms have you got before I advise you of anywhere remote. Have you got anything if you are out of mobile phone range?

FollowupID: 746679

Follow Up By: Carreen - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:19

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:19
Hi Phil, We are going to borrow a friend's sat phone but we are travelling by ourselves. We may be taking a road trail bike so have alternative transport if something untoward occurs and we need to get out of a sticky mess. Thanks for the info so far.
Carreen
FollowupID: 746718

Reply By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:46

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 14:46
Carreen,
My wife and I have just finished a 12 month around Australia trip including the cape . We found plenty of fuel out lets and they are not that far apart on the cape road. You will get your camper trailer up there no worries .. There is no sense in going via the OTT . That's only for the Rambo's and crocodile dundee people . We found that the best way to find out the condition of the road at the time you are up there, is to check out the caravan parks around the tableland and talk to the people who have just returned .. As you already know forget about the wet season.. Take a bit of ready cash for the ferry also.
We found the only people who had any problems were the people who screamed past us going way to fast for the road conditions.. We would catch up with them some had broken springs some wrecked their car .. I towed a 18 ft 6 in normal caravan up there and just took it easy and had no troubles at all none at all
Ron
Ron MACKENZIE

AnswerID: 471881

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:07

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:07
Hi Ron

I think that you are jumping on the OTT people a bit. We followed the track (NOT Gunshot though) as it was part of history. Just the same as when we went to Normanton we tried hard to follow the Burke and Wills route.

Also a very good point about the ferry fee. The eftpos was down and the only ones to get through were those with cash.

We travelled mainly at around 80KPH on the corrugations. And when we overtook we got as far to the right as we could and did it as fast and safe as we could. According to the shock absorber engineers that is around the optimum performance part of their design graph for our car.

Claiming that all who go on the OTT are "rambos and crocodile dundee" types is a bit rough. Most who go along the OTT are well adjusted types with a different interest in history. And heaps of families. Sure there are the hoons, just as there are annoying van types who think 80 on bitumen is good for them and all the souls trying to pass. You know the ones. Those who think that the only way to drive on corrugations is at such a slow place that your teeth fall out. And anyone going faster than them is a ratbag. I will never forget watching a stupid woman in the back making a cuppa while they were travelling along holding everyone up.

So are we "rambos and crocodile dundee" or ratbags?

FollowupID: 746611

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:02

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:02
Phil,
My comments were a bit harsh I suppose ..
My idea of having a good trip is not digging cars out of bogs or asking fellow travellers to tow me to the next town. So I take the mundane route and just poke along . I remember talking to a young fella in the caravan park in Borroloola he had just come across the road from Burketown . I asked how was it , He said it was great fun I got bogged to the axles and had to be pulled out twice by some cattlemen from a station , I shredded 2 tyres and had to borrow a tyre from a tourist , Then snapped the chassis and had to be towed in here by a truck it took me 6 days to do the trip ,, It was blast !!
That's not my idea of having a good trip .. But there are a lot of people old and young out there who think you have not been in the bush or the outback if you haven't wrecked your car or been stranded in a bog or gone without water for a day or so .. Believe me I have seen these people in my travels
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 746619

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:33
Fair enough. This will be my last comment on this issue.

I know the type in your last paragraph. And some of them have some very "colourful user id's" as well. The ones that say the only way through is with MOMENTUM. What a croc!!

We have only struck one lot of hoons on the OTT and they were having fun getting bogged cars out of Nolans. They had two stuck firm and no way could their little cars could pull them out. We were tempted but in the end good sense pervailed and we pulled their cars out. Five cars looking for muddy fun and not one winch or set of maxtracks among them!!!

But the comment we heard as we just "bubbled" past their stuck cars was "Bloody diesels". I think that says it all to me.

I don't go looking for mud fun but I won't shie away from going in but its only to get to the other side. Cheers

FollowupID: 746621

Follow Up By: Carreen - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 22:58

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 22:58
Hi Ron,
Thanks for the advice. Just one more thing, did you book caravan parks as you went along? We are travelling from Adelaide west to East. A few years ago we went with friends up the west coast and booked Broome and Coral Bay etc. a year in advance. This time we want to wander at our own pace and don't want to be tied down to book into caravan parks. How did you do it?
Carreen
FollowupID: 746675

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 11:25

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 11:25
Carreen,
We took 12mths to go around Australia and we seen every thing there is to see , When we started off we did book ahead but found that we had to keep ringing up to cancel because of a change of plans at the time . Some places charge you for the booking and its a waste of money sometimes..
We found the best way was , Ring ahead the day before you leave a certain place if nothing is available wait till it is . or move on to the next place and commute back to see the sights .. Its also a got idea to get a book called free camps of Australia .. As well as caravan parks of Australia..
Another piece of advice is beware of rip offs around Australia people think because your a tourist you are fair game .. Things like $85.00 for a carton of beer at Timber creek and $2.75 a litre for fuel at cape Crawford . but these are tourists prices and if you laugh as I did and say something they will then charge you the proper price .. We found out that not everyone in the tourist business are honest and friendly , There are some crooks and con men amongst them believe me.. We also found that a VHF radio is a must .. Instead of wasting money on winches and maxitraks spend it on a VHF radio and join a radio club..
It could save your life..
We have had winches maxitraks, recovery gear , and every thing known to man for bogs and survival and never even unwrapped them on the whole trip .
but used the UHF every day.. Lets know if there is any thing else we can help you with
Ron
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 746703

Follow Up By: Carreen - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:22

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 13:22
Hi Ron, Thanks for the advice it puts my mind at rest about booking ahead. We have a UHF radio and are borrowing a sat phone. I cannot wait to get out there and begin exploring.
Carreen
FollowupID: 746719

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 14:57

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 14:57
Ron

You seem hell bent on turning them away from anything that is not on the bitumen or hard standing roads. Did you actually "seen" everything in 12 months. All the desrts and the flower in them. Did you climb Mt Augusta which is tweice as big as Eyers Rock?

I cannot agree with ditching recovery gear when travelling on your own in remote areas. It's like travelling without a first aid kit. At least carry a few straps, a shovel and maxitracks or the like. They are almost irreplaceable in the deserts. Unless you were to stay on the bitumen. It's like travelling without a first aid kit.

Carreen

Don't bother booking into caravan parks. With the camper, provided its not too late in the day, you can usually get in wherever you go apart from school holidays and festivals. Get the Camps 6 book and camp in the national parks as much as you can. We go by the camp spots on the Hema maps which run on the GPS computer in the dash. The only time we use caravan parks is when my "problem" stuffs me up or we need to do a bit of washing etc.

Look around and don't be afraid to go off the beaten track. Just remember your car's ability and how you can match it with your own skills. Don't go beyond those markers and you will be fine. Don't be afraid to turn around if you think it is a bit much for you.

I am trying to give you an alternative to travelling on bitumen. By all means go where you wish but do not write any offroad excursion off like our friend does.

I have said my, hopefully "balanced" view and if you wish to drop me an email I shall happily answer any questions. Try: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.

FollowupID: 746730

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 15:38

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 15:38
One thing you got to remember about travelling around as a tourist ..
If its a good spot worth seeing and interesting , You will not need all your you beaut recovery winches and such , to get there because it will be a beaten track , Thats life . If its hard to get to or you need a sherman tank to go there You will not miss any thing . The only people who hack their way thru or need to be towed out .or rely on other people for help ,The ones that keep the 4x4 shops rich are the people I call the Rambos , They get tourists a bad name .. Do you just want a nice travelling holiday , or a survivor style man vs wild holiday when then go buy all the gear an combat cloths.
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 746736

Follow Up By: Carreen - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 22:10

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 22:10
Thanks Guys, I get the idea,
See what you want to see, be open to everything out there within you and your car's limitations. Carry your own recovery gear, be aware of Rambos and enjoy our beautiful country! Thanks
Carreen
FollowupID: 746772

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 22:36

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 22:36
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Off Topic Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 746774

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 11:17

Friday, Dec 09, 2011 at 11:17
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Off Topic Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 746820

Follow Up By: Life Member Dick B - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 11:25

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 11:25
Ron

Is that a winch I see on your Patrol.

Tyres don't look too bad either.

And the HF.

Think you have probably been there, and done that.

Dick

FollowupID: 746919

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 11:56

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 11:56
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 746924

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 13:34

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 13:34
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 746926

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 15:20

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 15:20
Gents, enough is enough. Ron your behaviour brings little value to the forum and or this thread in particular.

Carreen apologies that your thread was hijacked.

No further warnings gents. On topic only please.

The modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 746938

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 15:33

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 15:33
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 746941

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:29

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:29
Hi Carreen,

We travelled to the cape in the winter of 2010, and found the roads to be very good at that time of year. No issues with fuel or water. Just watch out for the Rambos on the bypass track, we witnessed a bad accident on one occasion and saw vehicles drifting across to the right side of the road on a number occasions without incident. In the good sections we travelled between 80 and 90 k depending on the corrugations.

AnswerID: 471948

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:44

Saturday, Dec 10, 2011 at 18:44
Carreen

My apologies. I got carried away.

AnswerID: 472169