Julie

Matt & Julie

Reply By: Member - Josh- Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 22:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 22:15
It is a sad world we live in. We were always cautious with our girls going to the toilets or anywhere by themselves. They struggled to understand cause they saw others by themselves. You can't be to careful, as I said it is a sad world.

Josh
AnswerID: 473063

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 23:34

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 23:34
Yep, we bought a porta potty then started to use ensuite sites now have given up the camper for a caravan with ensuite. All these years of hanging around waiting for the kids to shower & toilet is over for us.
Sharon
FollowupID: 747885

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:13

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:13
Yes it really is a sad world we live in. I was born in 1936 and was in my prime in the 40s and 50s. I was able to go to school on my bike without mummy accompanying me. Perverts were very rare. Drugs were not heard of, except from a doctors. Hoons were not common and house invasions didn't happen. Fights and house parties were always well under control and most children were at home with their parents by sun down and not left to wander the streets at night. A house could be bought with just dad's pay so mum could look after the kids and house, which led to there not being too many latch key kids and the kids getting into mischief and getting bored. One car families were the way to go and very few "Mums Taxis"
Yes it is a sad world and sometime I wished that I could jump off.
AnswerID: 473072

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:39

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:39
I read somewhere that statistics prove it is actually safer now than it was in those days.
Some of the most heinous child abductions were in the 60's like the Wanda Beach murders, the abduction of the Beaumont children, Graham Thorne & Derek Percy (Mr Baldy) committed most of his foul acts in the 1960s.
FollowupID: 747893

Follow Up By: Member - Terra'Mer - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:49

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:49
I was born in 72 and still had the privilege of growing up in a relatively safe world. It is easy to focus on the bad stuff when the media is always throwing it our faces and sensationalising it. Overall 95% of the general population is still morally sound (that hasn't changed for over a century) but because our population has grown to 22 million there are approximately 1.1 million sickos and unethical scumbags in Australia. But don't lose focus on the good 95%. They're the ones who make it worth living.
Have you seen my marbles?

FollowupID: 747897

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:18

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:18
Sicko's have always been around. It's just that in the old days things were hushed up more than they are now.

There's no need to name the area that is being referred to. I am sure the problems extend to all parts of the country, so be vigilant.
FollowupID: 747901

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:28
I was watching Elders with Andrew Denton on TV & he was interviewing lady Packer or Lady Murdoch, I forget which one, as part of a series of interviews with Elder States people.
In the interview he asked if she thought the world was getting worse to live in than when she was younger.
She rolled her head back & gave one of those aristocratic chuckles & replied"Heavens no Andrew,how could anyone think that".
She went on to explain that she was born during WW1 when every family in Australia was asked to sacrifice a son for the Empire.
Then there was the Great Depression & for generations some Australian families suffered the effects of malnutrition.
Then came WW2 and once again every family was asked to put forward another son to be sent away. This all with WW1 still fresh in the memories of all.
Then she went on to mention the introduction of women's rights, domestic violence laws, aboriginals being recognised as Australians & being given the vote, Workers rights, the improvements in education & health services.
What horrible times this country has had to endure compared to the opulent secure lives we lead today.
I reckon their were more queers, wierdos & perverts around when I was younger.
The difference now is that people have become paranoid because of media SHOCK JOCKS scrambling to get attention.
Take a look at how the media makes the vulnerable think that street violence is on the increase. That's BS, with capitols.
Any bloke who talked to their father or grandfather or uncles or even big brothers on this subject when they were kids should know. Just look at how all those blokes born before WW2 had broken noses, or razor cuts on their faces from the razor fights.
So don't panic, just stop believing the shock jocks.
FollowupID: 747903

Reply By: old mate - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 09:28
What was so disturbing?
AnswerID: 473073

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:04

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:04
We use to do Plumbing Maintenance on Public Amenities and the amount of SICKOS we would come across would astound you.

Some would even drill peep holes in the toilet and shower cubicle walls and cover them with soap so they could go back later on ect.

We also found a small Wireles Video Camera hooked up in the ceiling, the owner of it would sit out side in his car with his laptop.

I reported the matter to our client who organised the police to catch the moron.

Shopping centres have the most offenders.

I told my Cook to never use amenities with false ceilings, thats where some of them do their perverted things.

AnswerID: 473078

Reply By: ModSquad - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 14:44
Thanks All. We're pretty confident we can all be thankful that we live in a great country like Australia. Public safety is always a matter of awareness and responsibility. The responsibility rests with us all so if you witness or encounter activities in public places, your first consideration should always be in notifying the local authorities.

To prevent this post moving into areas it shouldn't, and that are not wholly relevant to the forum, the post will be locked.

Thanks Matt and Julie.

The Modsquad.
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 473091