would you by a 2nd hand Patrol/maverick ???

Submitted: Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:17
ThreadID: 9794 Views:1646 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
I'll still looking to buy a 2nd hand 4wd, seen some patrol's and maverircks (same car different badges) in my price range, most are dual fuel and 7 seaters, I've heard they can be thirsty suckers, any comments?

Reply By: Michael - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:22
Hey............. you aint so crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 43239

Follow Up By: Crazy-Mik - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:29

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:29
what makes you think that....

but as I said would you buy one?
FollowupID: 305550

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 07:43

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 07:43
Hi there, actually, no, i wouldnt myself as i have a 4.2 tdi GU, and my wife has one to, an earlier 4.2td GU, The diesel has much better fuel economy than the petrol and damn hard to find auto gas in the middle of nowhere. Besides economy the diesel has SOUL!!!!!!
FollowupID: 305608

Reply By: Michael - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:22
Hey............. you aint so crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 43240

Reply By: flappan - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:42

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:42
Yeah , they can be thirsty.

Dual Fueler would fix that prob to a fair degree. The issue would be though , what do you want to use it for. Whilst gas is available a large number of places . . . its not available everywhere.
AnswerID: 43243

Follow Up By: Crazy-Mik - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:49

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:49
Main use will be towing, and day trips, maybe the occasional weekender, but I don't think I'll cross the simpson or do the dog fence with it just yet....
FollowupID: 305552

Follow Up By: Brian - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:12

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:12
Side Question to dual fuel . Have heard that they are going to introduce a tax on lpg that will increase the cost dramatically. Like they did diesel back in the late 80's
Would this not negate any advantage of gas ?
As I see it the only reason for gas is cheap fuel???

FollowupID: 305553

Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:46

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:46
If its already installed . . . no biggie . . . get the benefit of it while you can.

Its supposed to be phased in over the next 8 years (it will get approved thru govt).

Plenty of time to get good mileage out of it.

I wouldn't be trying to convert one know, unless you do HEAPS of k's (something over 30 per yr)
FollowupID: 305558

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:57

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:57
If thats what you want it for duel fuel is fine, but if you can find a good diesel in your price range all the better.Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 43244

Reply By: wal - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:58

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 15:58
Hi mik
We have just completed a trip around oz including Cape York and Weipa,we travelled in a Nissan Patrol !990 model 3.0 ltr petrol rb30 motor, which had 267,000 km on departure. Overall we travelled 27,000 km fuel consumption 19ltper 100km, towing a 750kg van everywhere but the cape. I would not hesitate to do the trip again with the same vehicle, apart from replacing a battery repairs were nil.
Regards Wal
AnswerID: 43245

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:17

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:17
Hi Wal,

I also have the rb30 3.0l patrol and was interested in your reply. While mine has been a good vehicle it's certainly underpowered. I've had some work done to it to increase responsiveness but even when towing a heavy trailer eg full of sand or gravel I still find it a slug. How did you go on the highway was it a problem to stick to the speed limit? What sort of van did you tow? I'd rather stick with the same vehicle as now it's almost worthless as a trade in but am concerned it would struggle towing a camper or van with all our gear. Your opinions are appreciated.
FollowupID: 305554

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 19:20

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 19:20
gday ray.
i to have the rb30 patrol.
we have 6 in the family and tow a fairly heavy camper and unless its a big hill we dont have a problem keeping to the limits.
maake sure your carby is working on the secondaries.
make sure you vacume advance is working.
i fitted a bigger exhaust and extractors and that made all the difference.
we on duel fuel but 90% of the time we only on gas
uses about 20 litres per 100 ks towing ectyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 305574

Follow Up By: Ray - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:47
Hi Richard,

Thanks for the reply. I've also had the work done that your suggest. I'll have to hire a camper and try before I go down the path of upgrading.

FollowupID: 306096

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:28

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:28
There is a thread in the history on fuel econ, but Diamond is about normal, 20/100 for petrol.

Not cheap eh!

What is your price range?

Also check Diesels, very good bullet proof donks, gettin 500,000klms out of them easily...
AnswerID: 43278

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 07:47

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 07:47
Hi there, My wifes 4.2td 1999 GU has 290,000, never had a spanner on it except for regular service. goes better now than it ever did. Michael
FollowupID: 305609

Follow Up By: Crazy-Mik - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 08:45

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 08:45
price range is upto $15'000

seen some t/deisels but hard to find good ones, and if you find a good one in the trader by the time you get there to look at it it's gone.

but I'll keep looking

FollowupID: 305619

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 10:07

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 10:07
Here is a very special one, mate of mine is selling in Sydney.

Details as follows:
GQ ST TD42
Manual
White
270,000ks
Rear Diff Lock
Bolt-on 5 Link
6" Custom springs
OME L-series shocks
35" MTRs (90-95% tread) on 15x8s.
Koni Steering Dampner
Trimmed guards and flares and slotted wheel carrier.
Laminated control arms
Snorkel
Dual batteries, rear outlets, re-wired volt/m and acc o/ride sw.
GTiR seats
New CD player and speakers
Slim Uniden UHF
Fully Engineered with 6 months NSW Rego.
$16,000 neg.

If your interested or know someone who is email: timo_ed@yahoo.com.au

Rgds,
Tim
FollowupID: 305629

Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:22

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:22
I bought a 95 model in 98 - a 3 litre petrol - I could probably drive more economically, but I currently use around 16-18 litres per 100km.

Diesels are more economical, but may be dearer to buy.

I got mine at a good price so I'm still ahead in combined purchase + running costs.

I just passed 281,000km and it's running better now than when I bought it as I got the vacuum advance fixed. Also added extractors and a 2.5" exhaust and use a K&N air filter.

If the engine ever dies I'll most likely convert to a diesel (maybe a chev v8) but I certainly wouldn't change cars.

My father in law has the same year 4.2 EFI petrol and gets similar economy when driving sensibly - but lots more power is available. Still mine gets along nicely although have to use 3rd when towing the heavy camper up steep hills.
AnswerID: 43321

Reply By: wal - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 13:52

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 13:52
Hi Ray
The van we towed was a viscount poptop 14f 7in 750 kg empty, I must admit we were horribly overloaded both in the nissan and also on the roof rack .We never lacked speed but some large hills would have you serching for third, and never used overdrive, overall the nissan performance was great.
Regards Wal
AnswerID: 43334

Follow Up By: Ray - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:45

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:45
Hi Wal,

Thanks for the info, I might have to rethink my plans of upgrading before I head off. It's still a few years away so will have to see if it lasts the distance.

Thanks again
FollowupID: 306094