Tyres up or down?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 19:37
ThreadID: 98838 Views:6504 Replies:18 FollowUps:28
Maybe Im a bit old school (at 45!!!) but whats all this talk about dropping tyre pressures on gravel or rough tracks? I always keep them at 40 psi everywhere except on the beach or desert sand. Ive used 2 sets of BFG all terrains and 2 sets of BFG muds over the years and only ever spiked one all terrain (my fault, cutting firewood no track and staked the sidewall). This was on a defender and later on cruiser ute and troopy. I got 80000k out of the all terrains, and close to 70000k with the muddies. Lived on communities in the NT and also done Simpson and Cape York etc too so they all got well used.

So why is the recommendation now to lower pressures??

Craig

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:20

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:20
Hi Craig

This is always a very debatable topic and you will also get varied replies.

There will always be two set groups, 'NO' I never drop tyre pressures and it is a waste of time and effort, and the second group of 'YES' I drop them every time, as I respect my tyres and for very good reasons.

I personally fall into category 2, but if you have ever driven the Oodnadatta Track and been to the Pink Roadhouse, the late Adam Plate was a very good ambassador for lowering tyre pressures and would give out a small hand drawn leaflet with good examples of why you should drop them down. After all, Adam lived in area where you are a long way from anywhere, and the last thing that you would want is tyre trouble.

Another good reason why you should drop them down is this video link put out by Bridgestone - yet applicable to all brands of tyres. Have a watch, it is good sound advise, as well as some good four wheel driving.

Why you should drop your pressures

It is your call and your tyres, but in the long run it is very beneficial.

AnswerID: 497860

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:33

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:33
Hi Stephen

Is this the one you were talking about?

Adam Plate's Pink Roadhouse Tyre Pressure Guide

NB This link is to the Pink website and is the work of Adam Plate

Anthony

FollowupID: 773760

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:56

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:56
Hi Anthony

Yes, that's the one I was talking about. It was good sound advise that followed correctly, will save you a lot of trouble.

FollowupID: 773762

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:20

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:20
makes for a much more comfortable ride for a start, running lower pressures on corrogations for example is a lot nicer drive then running higher pressures i have found.
AnswerID: 497861

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:30

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:30
Your false teeth don' t rattle and you don't shake the bejeezes out of your vehicle

FollowupID: 773754

Reply By: KevinE - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:35

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:35
Hi Craig,

I do a LOT of travel on corrugated dirt roads & I follow the directions posted by the late Adam Plate on his "Pink Roadhouse" website. Adam REALLY REALLY knew what he was talking about!

Spiking IS NOT the main reason people loose tyres on dirt roads, over inflation IS. Tires simply "pop" when bounced too much with too much air in them.

As an example: I just recently travelled around 2,500km on dirt on the Oodndatta track, Peake Ruins road, Painted desert, Road to Finke, Mt Dare, Dalhousie, Lambert's centre, Old Ghan Heritage track, Palm valley, Mereenie loop, etc.

If you know those roads, you'll understand just how happy I am to say that I didn't have a single tyre "pop" on me.

On this trip, I spoke with numerous drivers who had ripped tyre walls to bits. When quizzed, they all admitted they had popped their passenger rear tyre (as Adam Plate suggests they might if their tyres were too high). When I asked them their tyre pressures, they were all up in crazy numbers (>30psi)

Maybe you haven't done much travel on these roads?

AnswerID: 497862

Follow Up By: craigandej - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:33

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:33

Ive done all those plus many other restricted areas around Alice Springs in all directions for almost 2 years while working out there. Done the Ghan, Chambers Pillar, Finke, Mereenie, Plenty highway, Birdsville, Strezlecki, Cape York all on BFG muddies at 40 PSI. Had OME suspension which took care of the corrugations, so I guess i owe it all to the tyres being good quality. Got great wear from them too so I still cant justify dropping pressures.

FollowupID: 773756

Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:46

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:46
It's all opinion mate even with the so-called experts as I have never seen any real specific tests on this subject. Pretty much all heresay from individual experiences.

Me, I believe lowering pressures on gravel roads for the reason of preventing tyre failure is laughable. I have never done it, run at 40-42psi in BFG AT over many many thousands of kms of corrugated and rocky roads, never had a fail. Know plenty of people with similar experience.

If you are lowering pressures for comfort and reducing vibration on your equipment then yes this will definitely help and there is a valid reason to that. But the trade-off is that the tyre will heat up as it is flexing more and the sidewalls are more exposed to the road surface. This will increase chances of tyre failure.

Dont be a sheep, use your own judgement.
AnswerID: 497864

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:51

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 21:51
I second what Off-Track has said. I do the same. Personal choice in the end but never had a problem with hard tyres on gravel. I do drop them on sand and sandy tracks - easier on the car and easier on the track.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 773755

Follow Up By: craigandej - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:37

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:37
Exactly!
Most times I was well loaded too. Using tyres as shockies has to stress them more.

FollowupID: 773758

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 09:50

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 09:50
you guys say that, but i've travelled thousands of klms also up to Cape York, across The Simpson Desert, down the Ghan Line, up through the Gulf over corrogations and sharp rocks at decent speed and also whilst towing a camper trailer, etc etc and never blown a tyre. the only time i have gotten a couple of flats when was i was running tyres that were barely street legal, and they were being run at normal pressures.
if it's a decent gravel road i don't deflate my tyres, but once the corrogations or sharp rocks start, it's deflate time in my book.
FollowupID: 773774

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 10:36

Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 10:36
I'm with Off -Track on this as well.

Run BFG AT at 40psi (actually at times 50 on the rear of the Landcruiser because of its load)......bitumen /gravel/rocks all the same and never drop pressures unless on sand when it needs the extra footprint and to reduce stress on the vehicle.

Yes I have travelled some pretty serious outback tracks in the NT and Pilbara / Kimberley. Side wall exposure and increased tyre temperature of the tyres when lowering on rocks/gravel I believe is too serious to risk.

As for tyre damage....not yet..apart from damage when off road making my own tracks...and thats nothing to do with pressure and all to do with scrub bashing.
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 773882

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 12:37

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 12:37
I am far from an expert on this but have read a heap on dropping pressures and I can say I am now a real fan of this. I picked up the same leaflet at Pink Roadhouse last year and it made perfect sense.

If you follow a vehicle over a rocky track (using that as an example) just watch a tyre with say 20-22 PSI V one with 40 PSI...the lower pressure tyre just glides over a sharp rock whereas the 40 PSI just bounces.

So I lower my pressures now every time I get on a rough road, and slow down accordingly to adjust....you can really feel the difference.

Have just returned from the Cape and can tell you people whom I spoke to saying the corrugations were horrendous were all running 40PSI, I thought they were fine and I was running 26 PSI....then went down to 22 when we did the Tele Track.

To each their own, but know which way I will always go!!

FollowupID: 774171

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:07

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:07
G'day Craig

Don't wish to sound rude - but - if you've been running your tyres at 40 psi everywhere except the beach or the desert and had no dramas then keep doing what's working for you ! Others may like the softer ride over corrugations with lower pressures - others may not have been so lucky as you with their punctures ( try bursting a fully blown up balloon with your fingers and then try burst one that is almost flat ) - others might have a bit more consideration for the track they are on and the damage high pressures can cause - some may not have a serious 4wd vehicle and rely on tyre pressure to help them get to where they are going.

Everybody does things different - whether it's 4wdriving, eating well done steak ( ? ) drinking beer or wine , following league, union or AFL or even supporting Ronald McDonalds red headed sister who is stuffing this once great country up - the choice is yours !

I have been the ONLY one with "fat" tyres in a group of 10 and got punctures when the others didn't - I have been the ONLY one with split rims and "skinnies" in a group of 10 and got punctures when the others didn't - there is a lot of luck out there in this big brown land when it comes to tyres and tyre pressures - but I will say this - from my experience - which is owning and operating a 4wd tour company ( part time) and clocking up over 5 million kilometres in and around this big brown land - I will never travel anywhere on tyres - doesn't matter what brand - that have less than half tread and apart from recently graded roads will nearly always drop my tyre pressure !

This is only my opinion - others may think otherwise.

Happy travelling ( and preferably without punctures )

Gazz

AnswerID: 497865

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:17

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:17
Expensive lesson: She says - let the tyres down (250 kms of corrugations). He say - no need.

It cost us $2,000 to replace the fridge when a gas line was severed.

AnswerID: 497866

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:20

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:20
LOL, Motherhen.

FollowupID: 773763

Reply By: Michaeljp - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:32

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 23:32
In 23 years of traveling ive only had 2 punctures. 1 was a nail just after leaving the Pink roadhouse (1990) and the other was a very sharp rock, in the Hamersley gorge area in (2008) on barely legal tyres that had had their day. I always ran them at road pressures 38 psi except on sand.
Some trips were Oodnadatta, Tanami, Gibb river road, and back the same way. Thats just on 5000km in a trip of corrugations. Bridgestone Dueler A/T's 693's since 1995 usually get 130-140,000km per set. 1989 hilux over 500000km in 11 years and a 1996 hilux just over 400000km in 12 years.
AnswerID: 497867

Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:19

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:19
Sorry but much of this whole tyre deflation debate is not opinion, its solid proven fact.
But a lot of people fail to reason properly and there is a lot of hokuspukus and mumbojumbo about.

First proven fact and possibly THE most important......if you are going to reduce tyre pressures you must reduce road speed.
If you are traveling above 80KPH you should be doing so at the correct tyre pressure for the load, as printed on the tyre plackard or calculated from the load V pressure tables for that tyre.
The more you reduce your tyre pressure the more you should reduce your road speed.....by how much....that is a whole other thread.

Second proven fact....before you even start you need to know what the correct normal tyre pressure is for your tyre with the load it is carrying.....and that will vary from tyre to tyre and vehicle to vehicle.
On almsot every 4wd forum you will find threads about..." how much tyre pressure do you run"..people expecting other people to tell them the correct tyre pressure for their car based on a completly unrelated tyre, vehicle load combination.

There is one properly correct way and that is to weigh the vehicle loaded as traveling and calculate the correct tyre presure for each axle from the load V pressure tables for that particular tyre.....I am sure someone will bring up "The 4psi rule"...sorry its not accurate

You must understand and deal with these first two matters before you think about pressure reduction...so many fail to do so.

AnswerID: 497868

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 01:01

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 01:01
I agree with most of what The Bantam has said. Particularly about lowering road speed with lowered tyre pressure.

Consider the function of pneumatic tyres. They absorb some of the bumps, hollows and undulations of the road surface. If the roads were perfectly smooth we could run on solid wheels as do trains.

However, as with most things, there is compromise. Very soft tyres absorb more of the uneven track, however being soft introduces some problems. The tyre flexes more creating heat and consuming more fuel. Low pressure can also introduce steering and handling issues. So the manufacturers establish recommended operating pressures based on load, speed, handling, economy, and durability, a satisfactory compromise.

However there can be reasons to sometimes operate outside of that envelope. Most, even you Craig, accept the value in significant pressure reduction for soft sand. Many prefer to reduce pressure to gain more comfort on rough or corrugated tracks and hopefully insure against sharp rocks. In reducing the pressure below the manufacturer's recommended pressure it is also necessary to compensate by proportionally reducing vehicle speed to avoid increasing tyre temperature. However it is personal choice, not a rule. Select the pressure that suits you, provided that the Load, Speed, Pressure relationship remains within safe operating limits. If you belt along corrugated roads at high speeds then you would need to maintain proportionally high tyre pressure.

Yes Craig, it may well increase the tyre stress to a degree but does increase ride comfort. But note that you are not using "tyres as shockies". Tyres at any pressure act more as springs. Shock absorbers act to damp the springs from sustained oscillation. Tyres however do posses some inherent damping.

FollowupID: 773766

Follow Up By: mfewster - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 07:49

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 07:49
The Bantam. That's the post that says it all. Spot on. For those who say they have never dropped tyre pressures for corrugated roads, try it. You will feel the difference immediately. No idea what it adds to suspension and other component life, but it must be considerable.
However. If you regularly drop tyres it is essential to have a good tyre pump. Once you get back on bitumen and want to raise your speed, you must increase pressures.
FollowupID: 773773

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:33

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:33
There are two things that are esential for a touring 4wd....a good pump and an accurate tyre pressure guage.

The first one is easy, the second one less so.

Once the first two issues I mention are dealt with, tyre pressures can be reduced with some sort of inteligent reasoning...but not before.

How many of you have weighed you vehicle and consulted the load V pressure tables for your tyres?...the specific tyres that are on your vehicle now.

If you are not reducing your tyre pressures off road, you are almost certainly doing excessive damage to the tracks, making life hard for your self and everbody else.

I have weighed my 4wd vehicle and as loaded.... the load V pressure tables say 28psi......very close to same weight on front and rear axles
I run 30psi on highway.
I carry two sets of stauns, one set to 24psi and the second set to 18psi.

I take the first pressure reduction as soon as I am off the bitumin and wont be going over 80KMH....its only a small reduction but it makes a big difference to comfort and traction.

I'll take the second reduction for soft sand or other situations that need more traction or less ground pressure. and limit myself to arround 60Kph

I have had people try and tell me my pressures are too low and my tyres look flat...but they wear evenly and the vehicle behaves.

If you are running way over prerssure......... I guarantee that some posters on here are, your braking performance and road holding will suffer, particuarly in wet weather.

Some vehicles are very intolerant of tyre pressure.....my old mitsui van drove very well sweetly in fact...with the tyres correctly inflated, 4 psi over and it was a pig of a thing.

Weigh ya vehicle and consult those charts folks..that is ya starting point.

FollowupID: 773783

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:52

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:52
This topic is rubbish really because people are saying the exact opposite for the same result so what's the point? Having noticed this, I personally take the comfortable option which is definately the lower pressure. I get 80k plus out of a set of tyres and rarely get any tyre damage so don't see a need to change. I was put onto it by Adam Plate.
AnswerID: 497869

Follow Up By: Member - Sanantone - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 06:22

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 06:22
Sorry Mike, but I disagree with your summation of the thread, what it does show is that there is no rule, but only common sense & speed will give you your best protection.

I think "motherhen" said it best, I just can't see travelling long km's over corragated roads can be good for anything at speed?

As you would know, a lot of things can go wrong, even more so if you are towing, to save these things then it seems to me a slower & more cushioned ride (lower TP) will help you arrive without too many other problems outside just your tyres?

Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

FollowupID: 773769

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 05:20

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 05:20
I have a nephew that runs 55 psi everywhere except in the Victorian High Country, where he drops them to 35....

Bloody hell, I start at 35 psi, and go down to 22-25 psi, on most outback roads, and down as low as 12 in the Deserts.

Less stress on me , SWMBO, and the Pooootrol.

Less pressure means less speed.

In saying that, I have just had a drive in my mates new V8 Toyota Ute.
Wow what a machine SMOOTH AS !
No need to drop pressures on basically anything but desert sands.

He tells me that it just ate up the horendous corrugations, from Well 32 to Wel 33 (Kunawarratji) in their first test run in August.

All I am saying it all depends on your driving style, the tyre used, and your vehicle.

AnswerID: 497871

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:21

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:21
On the matter of speed at reduced pressures, there's a very comprehensive treatment here on ExplorOz by member Rob D who investigated the load carrying capacity of tyres at reduced pressure. Most of us do drop our tyre pressures in rough terrain, making the ride more comfortable for vehicle and occupants, but it's easy to overlook the fact that we have also reduced the load carrying capacity of our tyres, and must slow down to avoid overheating them. Well worth a read.

AnswerID: 497875

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:43

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:43
I have read that thread and looked at the material, I believe it may be over conservative because the tyre companies are reluctant to release any quantative recommendations on load v pressure v speed at reduced tyre pressures and any information they release will be over conservative.

There are openly published load v pressure v speed tables, but they deal with increased load, at increased pressure and decreased speed in heavy vehicle tyres

BUT it is good to see the matter discussed and to get some idea of how the whole idea works.

The fact remaons that load, pressure and speed are inseperably linked.

FollowupID: 773786

Reply By: miandering fiander - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:31

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:31
I always reduce pressures on those Desert and beach trips, You say you got 80,000k's out of a set of BFG's. Don't worry about that that is great but I just changed a set of BFG,AT's that I got 120,000k's out of. My local tyre bloke said he has seen 130,000k's out of sets as well. I put it all down to pressure changing, -36psi black top, -25psi stoney/ corrogated, -15psi sand. I start at these and adjust if needed.
AnswerID: 497876

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:50

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 08:50
I find it interesting that the pressure indicated on the vehicle tyre placard is invariably a lot lower than what is used by tyre shops and those advocating higher pressures. It's as if the engineers and tyre company designers don't know what they are talking about? After all, they are EDUCATED and LEGALLY RESPONSIBLE for the figures they post. It's a big call to say you know better.
When I do get a new set of tyres, the first thing I do is let them down to the recommended pressure on the placard. Usually this means letting up to 10 psi out. That's my starting point and I adjust for road surfaces and load from there. Then I adjust my average speed to suit the pressure. That's what I do and everyone else can do what they like as long as they don't hit a rock, create a bulge on the sidewall, blow the tyre out and crash into me of course. :-)
AnswerID: 497877

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:02

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:02
I have come to the conclusion that tyre shops know nothing about tyre pressures and can not read a tyre plackard or the " tyre and rim association of australia -standards manual" which they all have coppies of.

In over 30 years of driving and buying tyres, I have not one single time come away from a tyre shop with the tyres correctly inflated to specifcation.
ALWAYS over inflated and often rediculously so.
My wifes factory standard RAV even came back from the dealer with the tyres significantly over inflated last service.

Consider that any vehicle without a clearly ledgeble tyre plackard is unrodaworthy, there is no excuse for a tyre shop to get it wrong on standard fitment tyres.

In general they tend to inflate all light truck & 4wd tyres to 55psi regardless.

When I picked up my 2wd hilux unladen...the tyres where all inflated to 55 psi......it drove and steered like a dray......I took 20psi......20 @#@&! PSI out of the tyres to get them down to specification.

I have worked thru all the recommended tyre pressures for the variuos options in the hilux manual..and they all pretty closely agree with the figures from the load V pressure tables in the standards manual.

There was a time where it was considered appropriate for manufacturers to recommend lower pressures for ride comfort.

In the past ...like back in the 70s, it was common to see differing round town and highway pressures in car handbooks......has anybody seen that in a recent manufacturers handbook or on a tyre plackard....thaught not.

Because back in the seventies we saw a lot of carcase failures in radials, because people did not increase their tyre pressure on the highway, to was was in fact the correct standard tyre pressure as we now find it.

I keep comming back to soo many vehicles not even being at the right starting point.

FollowupID: 773779

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 12:56

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 12:56
Had a very similar experience last month with my new Bridgestones Bantam. Tyre place had them 12 and 8psi (front/rear) above the placard. Even worse, as I found out on Monday when trying to take a wheel off, they set the wheel nuts way beyond the proper torque rating despite me asking them to ensure that they were not overtightened. Even my rattle gun wouldn't budge them. Took it back to get them retorqued but I still can't budge them manually. Yet to try the rattle gun. Could be back with them again later this week I suspect only this time they can just loosen them and I'll finish them off. Lucky for both of us that I didn't get a puncture in a remote location.
FollowupID: 774025

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 13:22

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 13:22
Yeh and people wonder why there is a spate of wheel stud failures.

Damn there are some meatheads out there.

OH...one thing if you havent got one....go get ya self a big 1/2 inch breaker bar and an impact socket to match ya wheel nuts.

I carry one in every vehicle now and that is what I use as a wheel brace

FollowupID: 774028

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 13:27

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 13:27
Me too Bantam. Plus I also carry a torque wrench and tighten my lubricated wheel nuts to the manufacturer's specification.

FollowupID: 774029

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 15:15

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 15:15
Any particular brands of breaker bar you blokes suggest? Just did a quick search and one bloke was not impressed by his Sidchrome.
FollowupID: 774035

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 16:50

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 16:50
Oh yeh...I've never been impressed with Sidchrome..even less so these days.

I baught mine from supercheap...
so many of the fancy brand name spanners are nothing nore than rebranded generic items these days.

The better generic stuff is everybit as good unless you are going up the price range into the top shelf esoteric brands that are still made in places like germany and sweeden

I also carry a good length of pipe in the tool box is has many uses

FollowupID: 774041

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:00

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:00
Hi Bazooka,

My breaker bar/wheel brace is telescopic, 500mm long when extended.
It is a solid type, without a swivelling joint for the socket. This type does not allow the socket to twist off line and provides handle offset to clear the rim & tyre.

Mine came with the vehicle. Not easy to find on the web but here is a reference to a source.

My torque wrench is 400mm long. I prefer not to use it to undo wheel nuts, only to torque-up.
My wheel studs & nuts are always lubricated with Loctite Antisieze to ensure torque accuracy and ease of removal.

FollowupID: 774042

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:27

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:27
Thanks chaps. Plenty of choices. I usually just give my nuts a squirt with WD40 but I'll have a look at the Loctite.
FollowupID: 774044

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 11:00

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 11:00
WD40s not got much body in it.

There are lots of things you can put on wheel studs...there are plenty od antisieze compounds ot there....and frankly we should all have a tube...a little goes a long way.

A little good quality waterproof grease will do the job just as well......blue grease is a good thing.

FollowupID: 774092

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 10:33

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 10:33
Interesting thread and the different opinions.
Prior to doing the Gibb last year I asked a wheel alignment specialist at Derby the tyre pressure question and he said to lower the pressure, but added do not forget to lower your speed, especially on the dips/creek crossings. I also asked the tyre repairer at Drysdale Station and he also said to lower the pressure. I guess they should know what is best. I did bruise the side wall on one tyre on the way to Mitchell Falls when I hit a very large rock at speed. Just did not see it until the last minute and was travelling at a nice speed for the corrugation. Did not have to change the tyre until we got to Mitchell Falls and then it was still Ok to keep as a spare until we got home (had two spares.).
Just to add another question. How would insurance go if you did have a collision, say after getting a tyre blow out, or just losing control of your vehicle for whatever reason and you admitted that you had lowered the tyre pressure?
Kevin
AnswerID: 497882

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:09

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:09
Technicaly, if your tyres are not inflated to the pressures on the tyre plackard the vehicle is unroadworthy.

How far the coppers or the insurance will take that is anybodies guess?

food for thaught?

FollowupID: 773780

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:04

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 11:04
A few months ago there was a post about how corrugations form - the link is here

A key point states:

"He found that corrugations came quickly if he had hard tyres, but slowly with soft tyres. The corrugations came readily in dry materials, but very slowly, if at all, in wet sand. It made no difference to the corrugations if the wheel was a driving wheel, or a driven (or rolling or idling) wheel. And he found that the major factor in generating corrugations was the road speed of the vehicle."

IF that experiment still holds true for modern suspensions, it follows that lower pressures and lower speeds do less damage to the road surface - or put another way, roads might stay in better condition for longer after grading if all vehicles had lower speed and lower tyre pressure.

Maybe there is more to it than just maximising the life of our own tyres - roads are shared by the whole community, and just maybe we all have a bit of responsibility towards other road users too.

Val

AnswerID: 497885

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 12:02

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 12:02
Sing up sister, I don't think they heard you at the back.

It is a proven fact and for all road surfaces, lower tyre pressures and therefor lower road surface pressure and lower speeds reduces damage to roads.

The harder the tyre and the faster it hits, the bigger it makes the pot hole ot whatever road imperfection.

The main reason heavy transports are limited to the loads they are....it to reduce damage to the roads, the tyres, axles, suspensions and the trucks themselves ar capable of carrying way more.

Tread lightly and go quietly and life will be better for us all.

FollowupID: 773789

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:17

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:17
x2
A couple of months ago, we were out in the NW of NSW.
At one camp site, a truckie told us that for them (a big company doing a lot of outback travel), tyre pressures were 100psi on blacktop, 50psi on unsealed.
The road out to Camerons Corner was very badly corrogated beyond Waka Stn. And the ranger's comment was "Yeh, tyre pressuress too high, too much speed. We'll get another fatality out there this year like every other year as the 4WDs with CTs rush through"
Andrew and Jen
FollowupID: 773795

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:05

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:05

I think saying I never need to tyre tyre pressures is as bad as saying you shoiuld always.........Horse for courses mate.
Some people are after a comfortable ride and time is no factor and others are carying a lot of weight and are in a hurry. Some tyres can handle lower pressures better than others and so can some vehicles and loads.
In my opinion a lot of the roads around Alice dont NEED lower pressures and arent used by locals because of heat, long bitumen sections, heavy loads and vehicles specifications.
Just because it works doesnt mean its the best choice.......try different pressures and see what you think.
Then use what suits your application.

AnswerID: 497891

Reply By: quincy - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 19:21

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 19:21
craig, i normally drop pressure's, but recently going arcross the Gibb River road i didnt, but all those who had punctures dropped pressure....so i dont know . it still comes down to how to drive and what tyres your running. safe travels chris
AnswerID: 497920

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 05:01

Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 05:01
If your tyres aren't chipping then there is no real need to drop your pressure apart from being a responsible road user and not wanting a bone jarring ride.
Recently graded, or unsealed roads along rock seams aka the plenty highway etc will see tyres which haven't been deflated simply eaten away. Generally the owners of which will then get on a tyre wear forum and say 'don't buy XYZ brand tyres, they're crap.' Fact is you will chip out a brand new set of tyres in 10 minutes running 40lb on those surfaces.
Maximum mileage is only one function I look for in a tyre. Traction, comfort, wet weather grip and the ability to save my life are others. Most of them don't require overinflation. (29lb at MAX axle weight in my Colorado.......who just spat their beer out?)
The OP didn't mention whether the 40lb on his defender/ute/troopy was in LT or P tyres, what size they were, or if he was running split rims. Nor did he mention speeds, or how he was loaded. If he knew HOW to inflate his tyres, he would have known his post was completely useless without that information.
There's no magic pressure that suits all vehicles. Not everyone runs LT's as a knee jerk just because it has 'truck' in it's name (hands up yoko geolander AT users -
i'm one).
Do yourself a favour and find the tyre manufacturer's load tables for your own tyre size and construction type and use it.
I've never met anyone in a tyre shop or in the tyre industry who's recommended I do this, and half of them wouldn't know where to look for the information themselves - no bloody wonder there's so much misinformation getting about.
AnswerID: 497939

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:11

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 17:11
I don't run Geolanders, I run the Perelli Scorpions in AT....not much between the two and two of the best all round all terains on the market.

BTW...it can be a little tiresome trying to get load V pressure tables out of manufacturers or tyre dealers...BUT the generic load V pressure tables in the wheel and tyre manual are pretty much spot on.

as long as you look up the correct tyre size, carcase family and ply rating.

It all comes down to air volume, with maximum pressure limited by carcase type.

And it is all pretty much standardised.

Our vehicles are held up by the air in the tyres, the tyre simply contains it........may be a little over simple but that is the physics

As I may have mentioned....I have looked up 3 tyres I could run on my existing rims.....all 3 tyres are about the same diameter and tread width or at least not massivly different.....because they are different tyre families and that causes them to be different shapes and different air volumes the correct tyre pressure for load in my vehicle is very much different for the 3 tyres.

Get those tables and weigh that vehicle.

FollowupID: 774043